paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 / Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Giving A5 owners another option in hoppers is Ricochet Development. Ricochet’s new R5 hopper combines their well known “deflection engineering” faceted shape with an A5 size feed neck.

Ricochet’s deflection engineered shape is somewhat elongated, presenting mostly slight angles as a target to anyone shooting from directly ahead. This design carries the purpose of increasing the change of a paintball glancing off of its surface, rather than breaking and eliminating the player.

Because all of the Cyclone feed components are on the receiver, the R5 has not electronics or active feed mechanism, and functionally works just the same as the stock hopper. Aside from the shape, the other chief difference is that the R5 holds approximately 210 paintballs as opposed to the stock hopper’s 180.

The Ricochet R5 gives Tippmann A5 owners another choice in hoppers with the opportunity to give their A5 a more unique profile, and carry a bit more paint on the field.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet R-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
SCAP Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, E-Grip, R5 Ricoche, Bullit Drop Forward, 20 oz co2
Strengths: -Paintballs "Ricoche" off it
-Cool look
-Clear Lid
Weaknesses: -Lid is kinda flimsy
-Paintballs rattle louder
Review: The R5 Ricoche hopper is overall a pretty good upgrade for people who want a better look for there A-5. But the lid i found was kinda flimsy but thats just about the only thing wrong. The only reason y i got it because of the more paintballs it can hold.
Conclusion: In conclusion the hopper is an overall good buy for 15 bucks. Buy it now! Because you should!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AMslipknot666 Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock a-5 hopper
Marker Setup: my brother has owns this product, he as an a5 with
e grip
teardrop
r5
Strengths: -Lower profile
-Cool shape
-Nice flip lid
Weaknesses: No comment.
Review: first of all my brother is the one who has this product, it is great.
it makes the a5 not as scenario-like and more speedball compadible.
it holds more paint then the stock hopper
VERY VERY UNIQUE hopper. I suggest this to anybody who wants it.


looks are prefrence..but i dig it...
Conclusion: I would give it a ten, but because of personal problems with this, it gets a nine
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Terial Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: All Red Bushmaster 2004 with PDS
-Egg II with z Board
-2005 Custom products feed neck
-Custom Products Regulator
-Custom Products Barrel Kit
-Stiletto drop
-Custom Products self blead ASA
-Mac Dev Value
-Choas Board
-Mac Dev Sonic LPR
-Black Dye Sticky 3
-4500/91 BULLDOG III
And a whole lot of paint


A-5 with everything upgraded but no weird stocks or annoying recon style barrels that dont work....

And soon to have, and looking forward to get a NAUGHTY DOG FREESTYLE!! WOOOHA
Strengths: best aftermarket hopper for the A-5
Looks
Deflection
Weaknesses: Lid flimsy when open
Review: The R-5 defiantly has a unique look to it that makes your A-5 look even cooler.

I have found that it holds more balls then the stock one.

The lid when open gets a little flimsy

The R-5 Hopper goes on the same as the stock on, and fits great, doesn't not move around.

It has deflected balls off mine before.

Rumor says black ones are more durable than clear/smoke ones

A-5 hopper takes up alot of space if your right handed, and its exposed easy, this hopper helps take away that with the delfection
Conclusion: Get this hopper ASAP if you have a A-5, fo sheezy if you play speedball... thanks
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spartan-III Wednesday, January 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 hopper
Marker Setup: A-5, R/T, 8" Bigshot, Lapco Suppressor, A-5A2 Foregrip, Dual offset mount, yada yada yada...
Strengths: Increased ball capacity
Deflection capabilities
Clear lid
Weaknesses: VERY thin plastic body
Serious durability issues
Noisy due to thin plastic
Review: I conducted a test of the R-5 on www.a5og.net. While I meant to test the R-5's deflection capabilities I wound up finding out about its durability the hard way. I was taking shots at the R-5 from 60 ft to see whether it does indeed deflect shots. After fifty or so shots the hopper CRACKED at the neck. Some say that if the hopper had been on an A-5 it would not have cracked but after taking more shots it cracked again on the upper right side of the hopper.

Note that I wiped down the R-5 between shots. And, after 100 shots at the hopper the R-5 DID INDEED DEFLECT 3 SHOTS.
Conclusion: The R-5 is really flimsy and not made to OEM spec at all. Even still, I like the increased ball capacity and the overall look of the hopper. I was given another R-5 as a gift so I have outfitted it with stealth liner on the inside to quiet the rattle, and I have also outfitted the outside with a cover as well to protect it from any direct hits. While the outside cover takes away from the deflection properties, I'd rather not have this one break.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BLIX666 Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The stock A-5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
E-Grip
GTA Expansion Chamber
Shocktech Front Bolt
Rear Velocity Adjustment
Smart Parts All American 14" Barrel
Ricochet Hopper
Strengths: Unique Look
Perfect Fit
Price
Larger Ball-Capacity
Weaknesses: None Yet
Review: Well, if you're like me and you enjoy having something a little bet unique about your gear, then this is a good first step. It looks awesome on the gun. I didn't encounter any problems with the fit or the lid being flimsy. I puchased the "smoke" model so i could see at all times how much paint I had left. It also does seem to hold more paint than the stock hopper, although I did not test this...maybe it's just a mental thing. Also, you really can't go wrong with the price. It's less than $20. There aren't many worth-while mods out there that are this cheap.
Conclusion: The second best $20 i've spent on my gun...next the the R.V.A.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DethWshBkr Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5- E-Grip - J&J 14" ceramic / Tippmann Flatline - JCS Double trigger, Crossfire 65/4500 carbon HPA Tank w/remote line. Tombstone adaptor removed - remote line plugged directly into tombstone.
Strengths: SOLID. Sweet looks. Larger than stock.
Weaknesses: Hardness of plastic. Could create a breakage issue in cold weather.
Review: I only used this hopper one time so far, (Christmas present which I tested out), but it is nice.

I put my stock hopper back on now until Christmas, and I hate it! (THe stock hopper) The Ricochet hopper has a very tight fit (can be semi-tough to remove), but it doens't move on the gun. THe stock hopper is sometimes too easy to spin (turns slightly during play for me if I bump it right) and it wobbles a little in the Cyclone. THe Ricochet has a very nice, tight fit, and doens't wobble. The clear lid makes it VERY easy to see paint quantities, as opposed to the smoked lid on the stock hopper.


THe only thing I would see as a POSSIBLE freak issue would be breakage. The plastic the hopper is composed of is hard, and SEMI-thin. If you got hit square in the hopper, on a very cold day, it's possible it would crack. I've seen normal hoppers crack already in a game I played a few weeks ago, and that was a normal gravity hopper for a 98 Custom. This plastic is harder, which COULD mean more brittle. I have nothing to confirm this however.


The only other "inconvenience" of this hopper is that it is wider. This means - it can and will get in the way of something mounted on your top rails.
I mounted a BSA laser on the top of my A5, and with the Ricochet - the beam grazes the hopper. The stock A5 hopper clears the laser beam fine. I have a Lapco 45 offset coming, so it will be a non-issue, but the Ricochet is wider. (Wider = more ammo though)
Conclusion: I love this thing. It looks sweet, and it just flat out gives the A5 a nice crisp look! Buy it! It's cheap enough!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghettostomp Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper, Ricochet 2k
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline
Ricochet R5
Shocktech Drop
Strengths: Capacity
Deflection
Looks
Uniqueness
Clear Lid
Weaknesses: Lid flimsy when open
Review: I feel that the R5 hopper is a pretty solid investment for any A-5 owner. Besides the great design and looks of the hopper, it is also very functional. It holds more paint and keeps more from hitting it than the old one. One of the best $25 that I have spent on my paintball gun.
Conclusion: I recommend that you DON'T go out and buy it because then it won't be as unique for me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Teak Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Shocktech Dropforward
68 4000 Nitro Duck
14" Teardrop
DOP RVA
Pro Team Star Front Bolt
Ricochet R5 Hopper
Strengths: Its looks very cool. And it deflects balls.
Weaknesses: The lid feels a little flimsy when open, but stays firmly shut when closed.
Review: I feel that everyone A-5 owner should have this. It allows for you to have more balls in your hopper, deflects paintballs, and look very good with the marker. I bought it for the looks, I didn't really care for the extra balls or the deflection, I just hated that blimp of a hopper the A-5 came with stock. One other thing I noticed is that when it is on, it stays on. It has a very tight lock on the cyclone which makes the marker feel tighter and personally although it may have no effect what so ever, it feels stronger to me, the overall feel is better, more secure. The clear cap is very nice, no longer will I have to open up the cap to see how much paint I have left, which will save that oh so important half a second that I need to spot the enemy ; )
Conclusion: Every A-5 owner should have this, I got mine for $14 off ebay. So its a cheap investment that will make your marker look even more impressive.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 12:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

imp41 Friday, December 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 hopper
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline
E-Grip
JCS RVA
R-5 Hopper
Lapco 45* Offset
42mm Red Dot
Strengths: Sloped design - better for deflecting balls
Higher ball Capacity
Weaknesses: Haven't had any problems yet
Review: A nice alternative to the Stock A-5 Hopper (which has this huge flat surface on the front that always seems to catch 1-4 balls per day on the field). Well the R-5 (Ricochet) is here to help reduce the number of direct hits to your hopper, its designed to help deflect a few balls from the front. Also I think aesthetically its a bit more snazzy than the stock hopper.

I believe the R-5 has a slightly lower profile than the Stock A-5 Hopper, giving your opponents a tiny bit less to hit.

also with a clear lid its very easy to check your ammo situation without having to pop open the hopper to check.

Lastly the R-5 has a slightly higher ball capacity (20 more balls i believe)

although I haven't experienced any problems with my R-5, i have heard reports of the R5s lid coming open from time to time....i guess a potential problem you might want to be aware of...

Conclusion: If you woudn't mind trying out a different hopper for you A-5 that can on occasions deflect a few balls from the front, with a slightly lower profile, a nice clear lid, and an extra 20 ball carrying capacity...than at around $15-20 this would be a great purchase!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 at 2:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crsbrx Thursday, December 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet Hoppers for other markers
A-5 Stock Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12 inch J&J Ceramic barrel
Palmer Pursuit Stabilizer
BSA 30mm Red Dot sight
16 ounce tank
Strengths: Looks better than the stock hopper
Fits a few more rounds in
Bounces rounds off (?)
Weaknesses: One may not like the look
Some sights may not fit better than stock hopper
Review: I would have to say that overall, this is worth the 15 dollars or less that it costs to buy one. They're a little hard to find right now, but ask your local shop to order you one. I could only really think of one main problem that I have with this hopper, just that I can't fit my particular sight on there any better than it did with the stock hopper. However, I remedied the problem by removing the rear peep sight (which I've never seen used) and moving the Red Dot sight back a little ways. Also, I would have preferred the lid to be black, but that's personal preference, and I can get a black Ricochet lid to do that with, because they're all the same size.

Conclusion: Bottomline, it is worth it as long as you can handle moving your sight or get over the look of it (if you don't like it). IT WORKS!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media