paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II

Tippmann SL-68 II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann SL-68 II

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann SL-68 II
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 116
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann is reintroducing a paintball legend with a few modern updates, including a redesigned integrated feed neck that fits most current standard hoppers, as well as a redesigned ergonomic grip for enhanced comfort and control. Most of the other great features that helped establish the original as a true paintball legend still remain.

Key Features:
• 11” Performance Aluminum Barrel For Accuracy
• Smooth Short Stroke Design For Speed
• Redesigned Integrated Feed Neck Fits Most Standard Hoppers
• Auto Receiver For Faster Firing – Hold trigger and pump repeatedly for continuous firing
• Solid Cast Aluminum Receiver and Non Corrosive Internals for Durability
• Redesigned Ergonomic Grip For Comfort And Control
• Integrated Tank Adapter with Built-in Gas Line
• Front and Rear Sling Mounts
Product Availability 
The Tippmann SL-68 II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, October 10th, 2001
Strengths: Extremely Accurate! - with cr@ppy viewloader paint I hit the trunk of a tree sapling 75 yards away 3/3 times.

Auto Fire - with the auto fire option you can keep up with semi's

Very Simple - I have never seen this gun b4 getting it, even I managed to take the gun apart, replace a worn o-ring and put it back together with no guide.

Tough As A hell itself - when out of paint you can use this gun as a club and not worry about breaking it

Handy Cleaning Port - makes for very easy field cleaning for ball breaks (which I have never had in 200 shots)
Weaknesses: Foregrip feels ackward - this is probably just me but I couldnt get used to the feel. I strapped on a sniper foregrip (similar to grip on m98) and problem is solved.

Pump action get stiff if you use autofire continuously, most likely from friction heat, easily remedied with gun oil or a 10 second wait =P

hard to find aftermarket barrels
Conclusion: I suggest buying a tippmann sl-68 sniper barrel, and a red dot sight of some sort. This is what I have and I have never looked back to the days of spray and pray. it's now one shot, one kill, very useful and efficient on paint.

buy this gun if you are new, if you are amateur or if you are pro, this pump gun outshoots all other pumps and is a lot of fun against semi's, you won't feel any disadvantage in the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 1st, 2001
Strengths: This gun is really accurate even with the stock barrel. I have an electric point sight on mine and I can hit in a 3 inch diameter at 30 yards every shot with a clean barrel. And besides the fact that this thing isn't too expensive.
Weaknesses: I might add a better barel to it like the J+J ceramic. There isn't many aftermarket parts (but you don't need very many). Also if you get shooting too quick while trying to hold off a semi than you break a lot of paint.
Conclusion: This gun is pretty good for the money, if you want a little more challange in the game or if you are just starting out this gun is good, I would get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 30th, 2001
Strengths: This paintball gun has probably the BEST accuracy and range of anything and everything that comes off the market (with exception of maybe the flatline barrel). I play against guys with semi-autos like the spyder and the M98, but I can intimidate them easily with the range that I get. This gun is so accurate with an after market barrel that I made a kill from 100 feet away through sticks, trees, and bushes on the first shot. I usually find myself to be one of the best players on the feild inspite of being the only pump gun playing. What this gun lacks in volume of fire, it makes up for it in acuracy and range, and then some.
Also, this gun in virtually indestructable. I bought mine used from a rental field and it has not needed any repairs or replacement parts in over a year of play. You can't bust it.
Weaknesses: It's a bit loud, but that adds a little intimidation, so it is not that much of a downfall. Another downer is that it hurts like a b*^#$ when you get hit. That's not much of a problem for the guy who's got the SL-68, but if you're playing against one, watch out!
I've occasionally chopped balls trying to use the autotrigger feature, but if you make your first shot count,which is not hard to do (especially eith a new barrel), you might never break a ball.
Conclusion: This gun can match up against, and beat, semi autos even without any upgrades or modifications. At not much more than $100, it is deffinately worth its price, in fact, it's a bargain. The SL-68 is officially called a stock-class gun, but no other stock class gun that I've seen can even compare to this gun. The only reason I wouldn't recomend this gun is because I would hate to run into another guy who uses one of them! Deffinately get this gun if you want to out-do any pump and square up with semi-autos.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Demos Saturday, August 4th, 2001
Strengths: The most accurate paintball gun in stock form I have ever shot! I took it out yesterday to great results, and did a little testing in my backyard. I made 3 out of 3 shots on a 4 inch wide pole from 72 feet away. The grouping size was 1.5 inches!!!

Also, this thing rarely chops paint, and fires right through it! I only had to fire once after a break and it was still shooting as accurately as before. This thing has the best range...Sure, you can hit people who can't hit you, but they won't break usually...still gets good respect though.

DURABLE! Very reliable! Great for a beginner or pro, it is extremely easy to strip and clean, and the stock barrel is great. (not that aftermarket barrels aren't good).
Weaknesses: Needed an adapter for the feeder, but thats about it. Also, on a hot day the CO2 was expanding so fast I couldn't get the gun to fire at legal speeds. These was fixed easily though. You can use compressed air, or (like I did) clip the hammer spring about 2 coils. It sounds odd to fire when the gun is un-air-assisted, but it works.
Conclusion: If you need a gun that you can use all day without any repairs, GET THIS! It is accurate, long range, durable, easy to strip and clean, and doesn't need as many upgrades as other guns! It kicks @ss stock! If it does so well against semis, I can't wait to use it in stock-class.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 31st, 2001
Strengths: -It is very accurate
-The power feed isn't in the way of the sight rail
- great for sniping if you get the right barrel
- regular stock barrel is still acurate
- Great for all players, beginner to pro
Weaknesses: - I couldn't fit my viewloader hopper o it
- louder than usual, need to buy a ported barrel if you are up against 3 or more people
Conclusion: - only a barrel upgrade is a possible upgrade
- Exetremely accurate
- Great or sniping
- Buy it
- Great Price for what you get
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HEyGuYsMYnAMeIsJOhnLenTZ Saturday, July 28th, 2001
Strengths: This Gun Is Good Because:

1. Accurate
2. Reliable
3. Great Price
4. Light Weight
5. Not A Lot Of Parts To Worry About
Weaknesses: This Gun Is Bad Because:

1. Not A Lot Of Barrels To Choose From
2. Hoppers Do Not Fit (View Loader/Brass Eagle)
3. Balls Do Not Load As Fast As They Should
4. Takes Awhile To Clean The Barrel (You Have To Unscrew Everything First)
5. When Taking Off The Co2 A Little Bit Of Air Comes Out
Conclusion: This gun is a VERY GOOD GUN to start out with or even to play with your peers. When I first got it I was hitting people left and right. The price is certainly well worth it. You can not get lot of upgrades but if there was you do not really need them except maybe the barrel. So if you get this gun you will like it guarenteed for it helped me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 17th, 2001
Strengths: -Most accurate gun ive ever used right out of the box (just as accurate as my 2k cocker)
-Smooth pumping action
-Easy to adjust velocity and clean
-LOUD as a mofo, sounds like a twelve gauge ( i think its good scaring opponents) =P
-Fits hopper on without an elbow
-Has tippmann warranty and support which is great
-Very well built
-PRICE
-Distance
Weaknesses: -Not many aftermarket parts (although you dont need them)
-Needs more aftermarket barrels (has weird threads, actually it doesnt have threads)
- Thats it!~
Conclusion: All in all this is an awesome gun. Cheap price, accurate, reliable. Whether this is your first gun, or you want to play stock, this is a very good gun in all aspects.
This one of my favorite paintball guns just for the loudness. hehe. Buy this gun, you will not be dissapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder4life Monday, June 11th, 2001
Strengths: This is the BEST pump gun ever! With a new barrel you can easily take out semi's. Even without one you still will get some kills.
Weaknesses: This is the best PUMP gun ever. It doesn't really seem to fit my style of play because half the retards I play with just sit around and you can't bunker people or charge at them cuz you will get smoked. Still, I average about 3 kills a game with this gun. You just have to pick the right times to shoot.
Conclusion: If all your competition plays with pumps, this is the gun you should buy. It kinda sux playing against semi's with pumps though, not much you can do except wait for the right shots. Still, it's indestructible and never breaks down. so it's well worth the 10 I gave it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, June 7th, 2001
Strengths: AWESOME! Ive owned mine now for 2 years and havent even had ONE problem with it! Its very easily field stripped, extremely accurate, very durable, and I absolutely love the feel of it!
Weaknesses: you have to buy a hopper adapter because it doesnt fit regular hoppers.
Besides universal upgrades, the only upgrade made specifically for the gun is aa aftermarket barrel.
Conclusion: GREAT GUN, for new players and old! Very accurate and light weight. EXTREMELY DURABLE! There may not be very many upgrades for this gun....but it doesnt realy need any! It works great out of the box!

there are not many barrels out there for this gun...but james Masse at Masse machine shop can make barrel adapters for the Sl-68 II that will fit nearly any other barrel!!! They cost about $30. For more info, email him at marshalfounder@juno.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 6th, 2001
Strengths: Why this marker ROCKS:
1:The gun is accurate and the
sights are aligned perfectly, hits where you point it.
2: Easily cleaned and taken apart, few parts.
3: Autotrigger will let you play with semi's and not feel completely outgunned.
I can get 5bps without ball chopping, but its hard to be accurate. Good out
to 60 feet.
4: Pump action is smooth and allows you to reload fairly quickly(2-3bps).
However, the pump action may take a bit more muscle than expected, but
not a lot.
Weaknesses: 1: Needs a hopper adapter.Wont fit a Viewloader hopper.
2: Cant use medium/Standard bore paintalls(unless you want everybody to
know where u are), they will make the marker very loud. I use Diablo Inferno
painballs, they fit perfectly and really cut down on the noise as well as
increase accuracy. However, the marker is louder than average to begin
with.


Conclusion: Overall, this marker is great for newbie and pro because is doesnt allow you to depend on rate of fire, instead, you can depend on the marker's accuracy and range to get you through a game; for example at 100 feet, with no upgrades, the shots will cover a 14'' diameter spread.(Inferno paintballs used)Autotrigger is great when volume is more important than accuracy(suppression).
This gun may be the only one you'll ever need. Buy it, your game will improve.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media