paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II

Tippmann SL-68 II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann SL-68 II

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann SL-68 II
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 116
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann is reintroducing a paintball legend with a few modern updates, including a redesigned integrated feed neck that fits most current standard hoppers, as well as a redesigned ergonomic grip for enhanced comfort and control. Most of the other great features that helped establish the original as a true paintball legend still remain.

Key Features:
• 11” Performance Aluminum Barrel For Accuracy
• Smooth Short Stroke Design For Speed
• Redesigned Integrated Feed Neck Fits Most Standard Hoppers
• Auto Receiver For Faster Firing – Hold trigger and pump repeatedly for continuous firing
• Solid Cast Aluminum Receiver and Non Corrosive Internals for Durability
• Redesigned Ergonomic Grip For Comfort And Control
• Integrated Tank Adapter with Built-in Gas Line
• Front and Rear Sling Mounts
Product Availability 
The Tippmann SL-68 II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
paintballer2389 Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter, Tippmann Model 98 Custom, Tippmann Pro/Carbine
Marker Setup: Only Tested this one
Strengths: This gun is good for a pump.
Weaknesses: Well its a pump.
Review: Its a good little gun. Its one of the best pumps i've ever used. I just would hold the trigger down and pump it so it would be like a semi-auto. Its really cool when you get someone w/ an auto out with this gun. I like tippmann guns, they have always worked good for me.
Conclusion: Its a nice little gun. Nothing to complicated. I'll give it a ten because it worked good for me and didnt chop any balls.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 26th, 2003 at 7:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SUPERMAN2865 Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade 2
Marker Setup: Tippmann SL-68 II, no upgrades really
Recommended
Upgrades:
Umm maybe a new barrel.
Strengths: 200+ Feet in range,
Not a Co2 waister,
DURRABLE.
Weaknesses: Pump,
kinda loud,
Review: Well im kinda a sniper so when i play forest ball I play with this gun and it is always on target and very relieable. Its not too heavy, that i like about it, time to time it can get a little inaccurate but its a good gun overall. When i play I am mainly a sniper so it is good when I can take just one shot at a time then pump cause with a semi auto you can tend to waist ammo and Co2
Conclusion: Buy its the best pump gun there is. I doubt you will find better its great for forest ball, and if your a sniper like me only takeing shots when you know you can hit them this gun is great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CPDeluxe Sunday, May 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
seriously i don't know
Marker Setup: sl-68 II
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel
Strengths: brings lots of fun
Weaknesses: accuracy on mine was bad.
Review: i like this pump. its my first marker and i love it! only thing i didn't like was the accuracy at first but its probably me who did something. not enough velocity or something, and if anyone knows the reason for my accuracy on this pump can you pm me your response
k thanks
Conclusion: get it! i got a good deal on this pump. i got it new with jt x fire mask and chrome molly 12 oz co2 all for only 90 ! thats with shipping too! get this pump its great !
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DeusExMachina Wednesday, April 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade (Just cause it's pump) Talon (uh-oh, 2 brass eagle) and Maverick (not a bad gun)
Marker Setup: SL 68 II with 10 SHot Tube or Clear hopper (depends on game) 9 0z c02 and Sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sling (like on a pro/carbine), Hopper adapter (or have one shaved off or made custom by a friend like me) and Barrel, still looking for that one.
Strengths: VERY accurate out of the box with stock. It's a Tippmann and invincible.
Weaknesses: It's a bit loud, has that tippmann ping.
Review: I just bought my SL and I would highly recommend this gun to people who want to star out with a well priced, sturdy gun or those who aspire to Snipe their enemies. At about 106-109 dollars, this is one of the best affordable pump guns out there.

The only problem is that is does not come with a hopper and standard sized hoppers will not fit so have one shaved or have a tube custom made or make an ammo box yourself. The gun is sling ready, I installed mine today with little trouble I just bought my brother's sling off his pro/carbine and installed it on mine.

Conclusion: This is a great pump gun for beginners. It's reliable, and it's tippmann, nothing more needs to be said.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper003 Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing that is a pump
Marker Setup: Just a regular SL-68 II witha red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Red dot sight
silencer
14 inch barrel (its out there)
stock
remote line
a lot of c02
Strengths: Accurate
pretty much indestructable
only 1 thing can rust (pumping rod)
Weaknesses: extremmly loud
need a hopper adapter
sight is kinda messed up
Review: This gun is great. Its my second gun and i luv it. VERY ACCURATE even if u through it in the mud. (ive done it) Shoots through brush. Velocity limit kinda sucks. not many after market upgrades. Good sniper gun, although loud. Light without c02. Can take any kind of c02.
Conclusion: This gun is a really good gun, if your a sharp shooter u should get this. Best with working with a semi-auto for cover.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntfreak Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PGP Pump Pistol
Marker Setup: -98 Custom -SL-68II
12" Lapco Bigshot Green Paintjob
CP Drop Scope
14 and 16 oz tanks SL bow adaptor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Scope for looking around, SL Elbow adaptor, 4oz tank
Strengths: Accurate, Light, Fun to use
Weaknesses: Not many Aftermarket Parts
Review: This thing is very accurate for the price. Its like 100 bucks for it and its well worth it. I would suggest a 4oz bottle if u dont need a stock because it makes it lighter then ne other size.

The only thing bad about it is that the whole body of it is made of steel. this leads to few aftermarket upgrades. You can get a CAR stock to fit in the rear part if u get it custo ordered. You can swap out the barrel for a J&J Ceramic barrel
Conclusion: If your lookin to go for a cheap but good pump, buy this one, it wont let you down
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crosshead1 Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha
Marker Setup: 100 round hopper,9oz co2,shoulder strap
Recommended
Upgrades:
tippmann did a great job as to giving it the best!i wouldn't upgrade/change anything on here.unless you can find a better barrel(good luck),the barrel is great,very accurate and durable
Strengths: -great accuacy if good velocity
-co2 efficent
-small
-very tough
-fast field striping
Weaknesses: -heavy
-cannot really get to trigger spring
Review: if you are looking for a gun that will last forever,shoot accurately,and is the best quality.this is the gun for you.i would still be using it if my bolt hadn't broken.and that's because this gun is 10 y/o(it was my dad's).it works like cr*p in cold weather!but in summer the best pump gun out there,and it's fairly priced...$195.the aluminum body is amazing,over the 10 years we(me and my dad)have had this,i've never seen anything majorly wrong with it.it's very easy to maintain.it's not quite as easy to clean.the trigger spring isn't very easy to get to.
Conclusion: if i ever wanted to buy a pump gun again,this would be the one i'd buy!it's an all-around perfect gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Myrddyn Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom,and a few other pumps that were easily forgetable
Marker Setup: Tippy SL-68 II with custom made pump handle, bolt and barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
There aren't really any aftermarket parts for it anymore, you have to know a machinist to upgrade it.
Strengths: Fairly accurate, VERY DURABLE, and of course the satisfying CLUNK-CLUNK when you rack it
Weaknesses: only 2, the loudness of the stock barrel and the lack of aftermarket parts
Review: I would not play without my SL! Even with the stock barel it is fairly accurate (aprox.3-6 inch groupings @ 90 ft with very few flyaways providing you are using good paint),and absolutely scary if you can find other barrels (very dificult to find though)
As far as pumps go it is a bit heavier than most, but I think that gives it a better overall feel.
Conclusion: As I said earlier, I would not play w/o my SL. It is a very nice piece of work with a low pricetag (seen it as low as $109 U.S.), makes it worth the extra effort to find/make parts and upgrades.

EVRYONE should play at least once with a decent pump!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Black_Ice_4 Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon, Aci Maverick Deluxe (with 14 inch barrel)
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tippmann 14 inch sniper barrel, Hopper adapter, Sling (all of which i am getting from Tippmann soon).
Strengths: Great gun right out of the box. Very accurate stock. Replace my broke Aci maverick (cant find parts for it) with a sl 68 II. Parts are easy to get right from tippmann. Bottomline intergrated into handle. easy to aim sights. Exellent back up for your semi or good begginer gun. Best pump I have ever shot, period.
Weaknesses: Needs a hopper adapter, but Tippmann will sell you one if u call them. Barrel dosn't mount to reciever like other threaded barrel so it takes longer to remove. The pump handle rattles slightly but does not affect prefomance.
Review: I just bought my sl 68 II about a week ago. I use a tricked out piranha as my main gun and have used a aci maverick with a 14 inch terminator style barrel as a back up, rental, and pump only game gun. My maverick which is about five years old is now leaking down the barrel and I cant find any parts for it. So I bought the sl 68 II new for $90! I am very happy with it and cant wait to upgrade the barrel plus get the hopper adapter. this gun is now my second gun and will be my teams sniper gun after being upgraded. Seems to be a very solid gun, no little pump handle screws to lose like my maverick. Looks as ggod as it preforms. Nice flat projectory. overall the best made and prefoming pump at a price that is in reach of most everbody.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are getting into paintball or want a pump for a back up. Pump only players, this is the gun to get! For about $100 you get $200 of value.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wegtester Monday, March 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sterling - the consummate pump-marker
Various rental pumps - generally crap.
Marker Setup: ICD Panther w/ vertical CO2, wooden grip, and Smart Parts spiral drilled barrel
Tippmann SL-68II w/ 18" muzzlebrake barrel (of unknown origin) and 30mm dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
An aftermarket barrel can help these 'guns, but they are pretty accurate with the stock barrel. A dot sight of some kind IS a vast improvement over the fixed sights on the 'gun, though.
Strengths: These things are INDESTRUCTABLE!! With the solid cast aluminum body housing well-machined, easily maintained "guts", this 'gun will last for years (I've played with mine in all sorts of games for about 12 years!).
The accuracy out of the box is hard to beat.
Can "auto-trigger" to get you out of a tight spot.
Weaknesses: Kind of loud in its stock configuration and ALWAYS has the characteristic Tippmann "ping" when fired.
The fixed sights are no good beyond about 40 feet since the front blade twists so easily.
Requires a hopper adapter.
Conclusion: This is definitely a gun for the true sport of paintball. It's use requires some patience, stealth, and nerves if up against "spray-and-pray" players with 9000 round per second auto-'guns. BUT... there is no better feeling than nailing an opponent dead center with 1 ball as he lays down a 1/2 case trying to find you.
I lost 2 games to my own SL-II the other day while using my Panther semi-auto! :(
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media