paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II

Tippmann SL-68 II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann SL-68 II

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann SL-68 II
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 116
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann is reintroducing a paintball legend with a few modern updates, including a redesigned integrated feed neck that fits most current standard hoppers, as well as a redesigned ergonomic grip for enhanced comfort and control. Most of the other great features that helped establish the original as a true paintball legend still remain.

Key Features:
• 11” Performance Aluminum Barrel For Accuracy
• Smooth Short Stroke Design For Speed
• Redesigned Integrated Feed Neck Fits Most Standard Hoppers
• Auto Receiver For Faster Firing – Hold trigger and pump repeatedly for continuous firing
• Solid Cast Aluminum Receiver and Non Corrosive Internals for Durability
• Redesigned Ergonomic Grip For Comfort And Control
• Integrated Tank Adapter with Built-in Gas Line
• Front and Rear Sling Mounts
Product Availability 
The Tippmann SL-68 II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, May 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan XTS nemisis, Stingray II, ACI Maverick, Tippman procarbine, Tippman custom
Marker Setup: SLII, with 12oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Is very accurate, is made by tippman (can't go wrong) looks sharp, loud; will scare crap out of animals and opponents, built in elbow, very consevative on co2, can go semi by holding trigger and pumping, durable, simple to take apart
Weaknesses: breaks balls if you try to go semi for too long, so don't. is a Little heavy, when balls break, hafta take apart gun to clean
Conclusion: Overall, I really liked this gun. I planned to, after moving down from a semi, sell it and move back up, but once I tried it, I loved it. Is a perfect gun for an anxious beginner, will definately suprise your friends, and gives new meaning to the word "pump"
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A slow and accurate semi - auto.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is a must, and maybe a scope.
Strengths: Well its a Tippmann, it has good accuracy, and its not as loud as other pump markers.
Weaknesses: For a pump gun I would have to say that the range is kind of poor, but a new barrel should take care of the problem.
Conclusion: I have only used this gun for a day just to try it out. The accuracy is great but Tippmann could have donea little better with the fire range of the gun. The range is about the same as a good semi. Being that it is over a 100 bucks the range should have been made better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
talon
Marker Setup: sl-68II stock but im gettin a jnj ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: this marker is well built the frame is all metal so it can take a beating the marker is easy to feild strip all u have to do is take out a screw that holds on the barrel then point it down and pull the trigger and the action will come out also its accurat but if u want to put on a scope or red dot sight on it get a better barrel also it has the spray and pray feature that is nice but i wouldent recomend dowing it all the time and finnaly it has a open compartment in the bottom of the handle that u can but squeeges in
Weaknesses: u have to get the adaptor for the feeder
also if u use the feature to much or to fast it chops balls
Conclusion: i like the marker a lot its a good all purpose marker that is durable and accurate the only problem is that u have to get the adaptor for it or buy a tippman feeder
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used no pump gun this good
Marker Setup: allan paintball products210 round loader
hopper adapter
14 inch sniper barrel
12 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
allan paintball products210 round loader
hopper adapter
12 inch sniper barrel my neibor has it and it is just as good as my 14 inch
12 oz co2 tank
Strengths: 1. accurate can shoot 350 feet and hit a basket ball
2. durable it lasted my neibor sceince it first came out
3. easy to pump i can pump it faster than any other pump i have ever used
4. built in asa adapter so you dont need to buy a duckbill for it
5. cheap prise for how good it is $110 it lasted my neibor sceince it first came out
6. good on co2 about 750 shots per 12 oz co2 tank
7. anti double pump so you dont pump it 2 times and put 2 balls in the barrel
Weaknesses: 1. to powerful volocity it to high my friend was shot in his arm from 350 feet away and he had a welt as big as a 50 cent peice and it was sticking out about half an inch
2. loud i have a mini mag with an all american barrel and i can shoot that across my feild and my opponents wont hear it but my neibors can hear my sl- 68
3. balls break easy
Conclusion: over all it is a good relyable gun with my 14 inch sniper barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Trracer, SL- 68, BE Tigershark (belonged to a friend)
Marker Setup: Tippmann SL-68 II, 12 ounce tank, 200 round Tippmann hopper with the Tippmann hopper adapter and a APP 12 ounce butt plate.

Soon will have a Air-Tipps stock for it later this month. You have to e-mail Air-Tipps about the stock its not listed on thier site yet. Also getting a remote line so as to take better advantge of the stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would reccomend the hopper adapter, a must have in order to mount "normal" hoppers. Also get the 68-Carbine front sight, it just slides over the stock barrel and the Pro/Carbine sling with keepers and two sling swivels. The SL-68 II use to come stock with these two items but they no longer come with the sling or the front barrel sight.
Strengths: The SL-68 II is a good marker, its been around for over a decade. Which in itself is a testament to its durability and reliability. For years I played paintball with my cousins and some friends that used the SL-68 and SL-68 II. Other than routine maintenance, oil and replace o-rings, they never had any problems. And after 7 years I finally broke down and bought one .

My only disappointment with this marker is that it no longer comes with the shoulder sling. Of course there is hardly any aftermarket upgrades for it, but then again it doesn`t need anything. You'll need the hopper adapter so you can fit a "normal" hopper on it. The stock barrel is one of those flukes in that its actually very good. Its a perfect gun for new players and even old veterans. Its great for learning the sport, or just as a back up.

Another good quality about this marker is how light it is. With a 12 ounce tank it is very nearly perfectly balanced.
Weaknesses: Nothing really bad about it. Although I think Tippmann should enlarge the feeder neck to fit the current hoppers or just include the hopper adapter free with purchase of the SL-68 II.

Another thing is that Tippmann no longer makes the old 50 round ammo boxes. These use to come stock with the SL-68 II and fit perfectly in the hopper neck. I bought the adapter and used my Tippmann 200 round hopper that came with my Pro/Carbine. I use a 12volt Revolution on my Pro/Carbine so I had no use for the extra hopper.

Also something that really disappointed me was that it no longer comes from the factory with the sling. This was a trademark of Tippmann markers for over a decade. If you want the sling you have to call Tippmann and order the Pro/Carbine sling kit for $5.00 and make sure you order the sling swivels thier only .75 cents each. You'll need two of them.
Conclusion: People complain that there is no upgrades for this marker. Well to be honest. It doesn`t need anything. One could argue that it needs a new barrel but even then its really up to the owner. Personally I would hold off on getting a new barrel. The stock barrel is actually very good. All it needs is to be polished with some Mag wheel polish (buy it at a autoparts store). Just polish it like you would mag wheel rims and you'll have a slick and smooth barrel that'll really reach out and touch someone.

The best way I've found to polish the inside of the barrel is to use an old clothes hanger and put a rag over it and just push it through a few times with the polish and then get a clean rag and use it to clean the polish off and smooth the inside.

The SL-68 II is a great marker for someone just starting out in paintball or even a veteran. Its good to go out of the box, just need the hopper adapter. Because of the need for the adapter I have given a 9 rateing, although it should be a perfect 10 but the need to spend another $8.00 for the hopper adapter hurts its over all rateing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Pump, I liked the armson a little bit better but not as accurate or powerful
Marker Setup: 7 oz Co2 tank (lasts a long time), mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
Strengths: Very accurate
Very powerful
Doesn't use very much Co2 at all
Durable
Weaknesses: will break paint somewhat easily MUST USE GOOD BALLS but if you pump good it will be fine, works somewhat ok when breaks paint but I wouldn't reccomend trying to clean it in the middle of a war unless you have a good pull through squiji and can do it fast. if you dont have a pull through: shuv a paper towel down the barrel with a long thin stick then cock the gun upside down so no paint gets in and them shoot the towel out
Conclusion: great gun, works as a good sniper gun if you have a good spot good for beginners better for more advanced players
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Brass Eagle Talon
Marker Setup: SL-68 II, custom-made barrel extension/silencer, glowsights
Recommended
Upgrades:
sniper barrel
Strengths: 1) cheap - you can buy one now for about $120
2) durable - you can't bust it!
3) accurate - even with the stock barrel
4) simple - field strip w/ just an allen wrench in about 10 sec
5) it's a tippmann!
Weaknesses: 1) it's a little loud, which could be a good thing I suppose
2) can't think of anything else
Conclusion: This gun is great. I bought mine as a starter gun and I have seen no reason yet to buy a more expensive, less accurate and durable semi auto. I've had people mistake me for my bud, who owns a M98 w/ flatline. The auto trigger is a no-lose feature. If you find yourself in a corner, or you need to provide some cover, just hold it and let loose. This is a great gun, and I'd recommend it to any starting or experianced player.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint flinger Tuesday, April 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i dont exactly own this gun but my team uses these as last resort back ups.
Marker Setup: we have the sl-68 2 they r totally stock asside from the barrles
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would recomend a new barrel for this gun the stock is good but a longer one would be better.
Strengths: this gun is really good for a pump. me and my team were playin in a game when my gun got messed up so i used this gun. we were playin speed ball i got this gun out and everyone simply laughed. i walked on to the feild and got ready wehen we took of on the break i went right to the front i would make shots and come back down. are team dropped one guy so i moved to the snake. i sat there and waited for a chance to move. when i got the chance i moved in and bunkered a player shooting an angel man was he pissed.
Weaknesses: it sucks if u break paint
Conclusion: git it it is a great back up as u can see
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
1) - WGP Sniper II (98)
2) - Sheridan KP-3
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
good luck finding any!
Strengths: 1) - strong
2) - dependable
3) - accurate
4) - auto-trigger
5) - velocity adjustment... well, it's at least easy to get to
6) - durable (all metal construction)
Weaknesses: 1) - upgrade poor
2) - LOUD... (someone duck hunting here?? NAH!! That's just Brian and his pump)
3) - a royal pain in the A$$ to clean if you puke a ball in the barrel
4) - NOT too awful light (see # 6 above)
Conclusion: Compact, durable, accurate, great range and a rate of fire that rivals most semi's (using the auto trigger), the SL68-II is a GREAT entry level pump, however it's almost impossible to find upgrade pars for these guns, unless you find a store with an old supply of parts.
The gun is loud... VERY loud and one shot (two at the most) will let everyone in a three county area know where you're at.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a Bob Long Millenium which I recently just bought 2 months ago and can't seem to find a barrel that will work with the millenium to create better accuracy then the stand-a-lone stock SL 68 II. I've also used a M98 for two days in a row, and was pleased with its consistancy and durability, but it still didn't match the great feel and accuracy and top notch reliability as the sl 68.
Marker Setup: I have the only upgrade I know about on the sl 68 II which is its sniper barrel that puts a little more accuracy and a good amount of more distance on the ball.
Recommended
Upgrades:
------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------------------------------ --------------------none------------------------------------ ------------------
Strengths: As i have already stated this gun is very accurate, has a pretty long shot, uses little c02 per shot, is almost impossible to have a ball break in the barrel, unless accidently 2 balls are loaded at the same time.
Weaknesses: not much at all, except for is a kinda loud, but man does it feel good to hear the powerful, explosive noise of a great marker (sl 68 II)
Conclusion: Im goin to face the facts. This gun cannot match the fast shooting of a semi or stealth, but can outlast one in consistancy and accuracy. After about a year though you going to want to consider a semi gun like how i bought the millenium, which does great shooting for me now, and really helps in speedball and short range shooting, but i still remmember the swift sl 68 II
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media