paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades / Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades / Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades

Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Atomic Ordnance

Buy Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades

Paintball Miscellaneous

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $7

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Atomic Big Boys have over 10oz of paint in every Grenade and have an unparalleled reputation for reliability. Reliability is the key reason so many scenario teams prefer the Atomic Ordnance Big Boys to any other grenade on the market. 5 years of constant development have led us to produce a grenade that burst the first time you throw it 99+percent of the time.
Product Availability 
The Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
G36C Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann squad buster (works but needs alot of prep time, remove netting, shake well, pull the pin throw)
Marker Setup: tippmann A5
ops gear g36c foregrip/sight rail
opsgear g36c mag
opsgear g36c folding stock
ops gear m4 barrel (16 inch)
bt bipod, bt bipod barrel adapter
tiberius laser site
tiberius tactical flashlight
techt vortex mod
techt cyclone feed lightning rod
jt tactical sling
tiberius vertical fore grip
beoranged howitzer bolt
rap4 hopper offset
polished internals
a5 flatline
response trigger
Strengths: 99% effectiveness
Bright fill
Easy to use
Weaknesses: Plastic is a pain to get off sometimes
Review: These grenades are the best out there right now! their so good specialops paintball slaps their label on them and sells them as their own lol! they have a rubber ring on top so you can hang them from your vest or belt. one thing to remember with these grenades is don't remove the plastic until your ready to throw it. one thing i do is i make a small cut in the plastic so its easier to tear off when its time to chuck it. they've never failed me yet. when they go off they bounce about 5ft straight up and then spew paint everywhere. this is good if you threw it just in front of a bunker someone is hiding behind because it may bounce itself over the bunker or it may bounce high enough to spray over top of it, this way they work even if you have no aim like me. these work great inside trenches and pillboxes too.


go to atomicordinance.com or pcs-paintball.com to see a video of one going off
Conclusion: These are great! if your going to spend money on grenades spend the extra buck and get one of these.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 at 11:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

diablo/ionlover Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Little bettys, pod rockets booby bombs
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath, Evlution 2, Crossfire 3000 47ci, Fireball Mountain Delrin Wave Trigger
Strengths: Lots of paint, spins around for great coverage
Weaknesses: Kind of bulky to carry.
Review: Well what cant be said about it. It is a great grenade for scenario play or anything else. In my opinion it is the best grenade out there. These can save you from certainlyt being lit up or bunkered. BUY IT OVER ANYTHING ELSE ON THE MARKET!!! It is great and the atomic ordanance company is to be trusted with grenades for years to come.
Conclusion: Great grenade buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

superdestro Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
These were the first grenades I've ever used.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, no accesories, just basic stuff.
Strengths: Very messy.
Weaknesses: Explode easily.
Review: My review is that they are VERY good to use, because they friggin kick a$$ when they explode. The bad thing is that they explode very easily. So, you do the math % grenades+ 1 kid who's friggin runnin for his life from a guy with an Angel= BOOM paint flies everywhere.


I give this a 9, because they own people when they explode, but they also can own YOU when they explode.
Conclusion: Buy them, because they own on they field.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rooster1 Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squadbouncers, I mean "Busters" Not as consistent as the Atomic Ordnance grenades but I do like the thicker fill.
Marker Setup: '95 Automag, bone stock, '03 Autococker, bone stock
Strengths: Excellent coverage spray, large, consistent, minty fresh bright fill.
Weaknesses: Fill is not thick.
Review: I've thrown 7 of these so far since i ordered them about a month ago, and had about as many thrown at me. I have a case of them on order for the West Point Scenario!!

I love these grenades. They are large with a good amount of paint in them.

These are consistent, I have yet to have one not break when thrown. They bounce a good 4-5 foot high too when going off and have a good spiral spin to them to give a large coverage area. Go to warpig.com and see their review, the pics you see of them going off are what you get.

These are easy to use, just pull off the plastic they are wrapped in and throw, do NOT remove the rubber band.

The rubber band holds the rubber tube closed, unlike the Tippmanns which use a BBs lodged in the tubes. The BBs and paint combo in the Tippmanns can get clogged when they sit and settle. The Atomic Ordnance grenades don't use BBs, and also the paint mix has a food grade anti seperation ingredient in it to keep the paint from settling.

I actually like the paint in the Tippmann grenades much better. It is much thicker and harder to wipe and leaves a nice blue mark on the opponent. The paint in the Atomic Ordnance grenades is thinner, more watery, and almost evaporates leaving only a wet mark on an opponent. Good colors though, and easy to see on an opponent, but I feel not as long as lasting as the Tippmann paint.

In my opinion though, a more reliable grenade outweighs the sacrifice of a thinner fill.

I've carried these in my Tac Vest pockets with no problems, and also hung them off the included beaner from the nifty rubber ring.

(EDIT...EDIT...4/9/06... I used a ton of these at the West Point game a few weeks ago. Like I said above, I had them in my vest pockets and hanging from the beaner. I even had a few of the little betty kinds in my jeans pocket. I belly crawled, slid down hills, ran full speed, basically played my hardest game to date using these grenades. They all remained intact till I decided to use them.
By the way, they make GREAT tank killers!! ...end of EDIT...end of EDIT)
Conclusion: I will be using these from now on, despite the thinner fill. I like the detonation on these much better than the Tippmanns. Worth making the switch.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 9th, 2006 at 7:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Les Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman SquadBusters
Strengths: Will Break on what you want it to break on
Weaknesses: -None-
Review: Paint is Bright and thicker than the Tippman, Little or no chance of this grenade being thrown back at you because it will break on what you throw it at! When you are hit with it will NOT stain any clothing or goggles. It Will Not Stink of old musty paint It WILL Put a bright thick blop of paint on your body for everyone to see!
Conclusion: For the price.... it is very well made, breaks on a target NOT in your pocket!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintball333 Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipman (not really personaly used but seen used and they are really bad)
Marker Setup: 2003 wgp orracle white-blue-black
wgp torpedo drop
14in evil pipe kit blue-black
68/4500 crossfire hp tank
empire reloader
Strengths: A lot of paint
spray
Weaknesses: Maybe a little big
Review: Pretty nice grenades, they can be bulky to carry around and sometimes can go off easily if hit but at least they will go off unlike the tippman ones. they have a good spray and good coverage but if you carry them on the out side of you clothes/ pack /vest the color can be kind of bright if you are trying to conseal your self.

The only "problems" with them are really just a flaw of the way they have to work. they can go off sometimes by accident but they always go off when you throw them (i have only seen one that did not go off and it was old and had been left in heat a while)
Conclusion: Probably the best grenades on the market, they are the only ones i suggest.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 8:18 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

grubermann Saturday, November 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann squad buster
bananna bombs
Marker Setup: does it really mattaer in a review of a grenade?
Strengths: Large size great fill, ease of use
Weaknesses: Size could be a limiting factor
Review: I'v been using these grenades for over 2 yerars now and with each case they get better and better. (for the poster who said that the fill was watery, yall need to shake it up, the pigment is a solid in the liquid vehicle ((thats the watery stuff)) the paint will settle after a while but a quick shake will take care of it. if these granades are left out in the sun they react similar to regular paintballs, they will swell, its Boyle's Law man. treat them like paintballs and i guarentee they will be the best youve ever carried.
Conclusion: In summation, i wont carry any other paint grenade. PERIOD nothing else compares in area of coverage, ease of use, price vs worth. In one word PERFECT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1MG ^Hawk^ Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squadbusters, Wet Willlies, various no-name brands.
Marker Setup: A-5 with RT, various demolition gear including grenades, mines and LAW systems.
Strengths: Always go off, and no doubt as to who was hit
Weaknesses: Honestly, none
Review: I'm a firm believer in using grenades during scenario games. They can rapidly clear areas and allow your team to push forward and take over objectives fast. I personally throw at least 3 cases of grenades per scenario game, and it's not unusual to see me with 2 cases hanging off of me during the final battle. Why would I waste all of that money if these things didn't work? I've had Tippmanns and no-names thrown back at me, that is never a problem with Atomics. The fill marks decisively, there will be no arguments on whether you hit someone or not. The manufacturer listens to his customers, and has greatly improved on the product over this past year. The fill is 100% stable and now comes slightly scented.
Conclusion: There's a reason why the best scenario teams in the country use Atomic Ordnance Grenades. They work everytime, all the time. I've tried the rest and I'll stick with the best. Atomic Big Boys!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EqualsP Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years40 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Squadbusters (SquadBouncers...)
various Homemade grenades
Marker Setup: Marker setup has no bearing on this review
Strengths: 99% detonation rate.
Consistent size/wieght.
No prepwork.
Large volumn of bright paint.
Weaknesses: Can be fragile
Review: Strengths:
* 99% detonation rate (I have literally thrown hundreds of these grenades, the number of times I have NOT seen them go off I can count on 1 hand. Everytime they failed was when they landed in something soft: Very Tall Grass and Snow).
* It is the appx size and wieght of a baseball, meaning you can throw it like a baseball.
* no pin to pull, they explode on contact.
* larger volume of paint than other grenades I have used.
* Very very very bright fill. it doesn't soak into clothes right away and is fairly easy to see from a distance.
* large spray pattern when it explodes. The grenade tends to propel itself around while spraying paint.
* age doesn't affect the grenade's effectiveness - it will still go off.
* come with loops to hook onto your belt or to make holding multiple grenades in your hand very easy.

Weaknesses:
* fragile. if you don't treat it like a grenade, it will go off on you when you aren't expecting it.
* if your throwing style puts undue pressure on the end of the grenade, it can go off in the air.
* Age affects the paint mixture (as you would expect..) old grenades just need a good shaking before the game.
* Long grass and very soft objects are it's archnemisis.

weakness AND strength:
* due to the large volumn of paint, it is a LOT of paint to clean up after 1 goes off.

Review:
Menohl's problem comes down to user error. As I stated above I have thrown hundreds of these grenades (I'm serious, this is no exaggeration). You have to treat this grenade like you would any other grenade or your paintballs. You don't shoot broken paintballs expecting them to travel straight do you?

If he didn't abuse it and knock the band off it would have exploded on contact with an object instead on in flight. The Rubber Band needs to remain ON the grenade for it to maintain it's payload until it hits it's target. If you treat the grenade too rough the elastic band WILL pop off and cause the grenade to explode on you.

Because of the way the grenade propels itself around when it explodes it is perfect for clearing out houses/huts and other contained bunkers, I have seen it shoot itself around corners and bounce around in a small hut eliminating everyone

If there is a slight spin in the grenade when it explodes, it tends to tumble around spraying paint on everything within 6 or so feet of itself.

I had a grenade roll off the tailgate of my truck and hover 2 feet off the ground due to the force of the paint expelling from the end, until it was light enough that it shot 10 feet into the air.

The best way to carry these grenades is on a Caribiner on your belt loop, unless your a runner (or tend to slide a lot) then you will want to loop your fingers through the provided loop and carry it in your offhand. It is possible to shoot and hold the grenade in the same hand too.

I have never had one of these grenades I have thrown, thrown back to me, where as a member of the opposing side and I unwillingly played catch with a Squadbuster for the duration of a 1 hour MXS final battle. The SquadBuster never went off.

I have sold these grenades next to Tippman Squadbusters (even for a price more expensive than the Squadbusters) the Atomic Ordnance grenades out sell them every time for the sole reason that they WORK!.

I admit it, I am a member of Pub Crawling, I am Sponsored by Atomic Ordnance. But I use these grenades due to my own free will. If they didn't work, I personally wouldn't use them, I wouldn't waste my energy carrying them around.

(=Pedit: spelling and to clarify a point)
Conclusion: A very good grenade provided you treat it for what it is, a liquid filled device under pressure designed to eliminate people from the field safely. If you handle it too rough it will go off. But that is what makes it so good, IT WILL GO OFF!! and there is no prep work required to make it explode!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 26th, 2004 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

canadianchris Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman Squad Buster
Wet Willie
Strengths: They go off and people leave the game.
Weaknesses: Being on the receiving end of 1 and having to clean up.
Review: After having used this product for 2 years I can safely say that it is the best Grenade in paintball. I have thrown over 100 of these grenades in the last 2 years and the go off every time they can. (I have had 2 not go off, But this was found to be because of the long grass I threw them into. The grass cushioned the impact and it did not go off.) But 2 of over 100 is a pretty good percentage.... If you ever want to see the carnage that these baby's do just ask Blue from EMR to show you the Blues Crew Video. Check out the bombing run from the Michigan Monster Game and you will never look back again.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anybody that asks. Not only is the product good But the support is great from the company. After talking to them that is how I found out about the long grass causing the problem with breaking. I changed my throwing style in long grass and haven't had a problem since......
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media