paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The "Fluted" Barrel is the "Rifled Hammerhead Barrel" and can be used either for tournament or scenario play.

The BattleStikxx is a "military style" rifled barrel, than can be used in both woods and in scenario as well. Scenario players use this barrel quite a bit due to its Marine sniper profile and reverse porting.

For new players that purchase their own paint,or use field paint, we recommend the player purchase a fin and a front and add fins later.

For serious players that want long ball accuracy and must utilize tournament paint provided by others: We recommend a fin kit with with either 3 fins or 5 fins.

Starts at $129.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
tuflehundon Monday, November 14th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Edge Elite Kit, Evil Pipe Kit, Freak Kit, RAP4 rifled barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 Phenom Electro
TechT MRT Pro bolt w/ Phaze5 fitting
TechT fully upped Cyclone
Lots of cosmetic mods
Recommended
Paintballs:
Fired 5 types of paint through it with no issues. As always though, get good paint. Cheap paint doesn't do well with any barrel
Strengths: Looks really cool
Accurate
Lots of choices for barrel tips / muzzles
Weaknesses: Price (lot higher than most barrel kits)
Not as many options with barrel length
Review: I have used J&J Edge barrels for around 5 years and have loved them. Had heard a lot about these barrels but was skeptical. I had a friend selling one of these barrels with 5 fins, so I figured I'd give it a try. I tried to go in with an open mind.

I was very surprised at how accurate this barrel was. Still doesn't make sense to me because the rifling isn't supposed to do anything to help, but it does work. This was more accurate than my J&J Edge Elite barrel kit with comparable sized back. Did several tests with 5 different brands of paint.

Used this through a whole 2 day scenario game and loved it. I ended up selling my J&J kit to buy this one from my friend at the end of the scenario.

I wanted a 14" barrel so the lack of different lengths didn't bother me, and Hammerhead does sell other barrels with different lengths anyways.

Main drawback to this barrel kit is the cost. Around $200 new for the kit I have with the barrel, muzzle, and 5 fins. I do like the fact that you can buy the barrel with 1 or 2 fins, and then buy the extra fins later.
Conclusion: If you have the money for this kit, it is one of the better ones out there. It is worth getting.

I gave this an 8 out of 10 due to the high cost.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Austad The Dark Wednesday, May 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
opsgear 10" fluted barrel + diska suppressor *btw makes it louder* (hammerhead beats with accuracy)

trinity m4 barrel + hand guard (hammerhead beats with distance)
Marker Setup: tippmann A5 w/
opsgear 416 shroud
M4 Gas Through Magazine - Selector Switch Compatible
M4 collapsible stock
remote line with valve control
3000psi pure energy HPA
electric trigger
front M4 iron sight + rear iron sight carry handle
1 point sling
red hot power tube
X7 low profile hopper
(new) hammerhead battle stikxx barrel)
Recommended
Paintballs:
any kind will do fine just use the "fins" sizer
Strengths: Accuracy, distance ,sound suppression, looks
Weaknesses: Price if your cheep ,wind
Review: i have used the M4 16inch trinity barrel for some time also switching to the opsgear 10inch fluted barrel. now i used the 16inch for games on larger fields hence the distance. the 10inch barrel was for pure intimidation and CQB fields and games. i have been looking for a barrel that i could use for both big and small fields. my friend that plays paintball recommended the hammerhead barrel. taking a leap i purchased the barrel. in short with the extreme 3" to 6" grouping ranging from 50 FT to 200 FT this barrel performs above my expectation.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to anyone that wants performance looks and reliability when dealing with woodsball scenario and slight speedball games. Reliability performance and style all a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Monday, April 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Prior to the hammerhead, I've used only smooth bore barrels.

DYE Ultralite- considered to be the finest smooth bore barrel there is. Very accurate, but doesn't hold up to this.
Smart Parts Freak (stainless steel version)- very adaptable barrel system, but lacks pin point accuracy
Eclipse SL Kit: as good or better than the DYE Ultralite, these fine barrels also don't measure up to the hammerhead.
Marker Setup: White/Blue Planet Eclipse SL8R w/ RF chip installed, Empire Prophecy, Ninja Paintball 50 ci/4500 PSI stubby tank, Hammerhead Barrel system



Backup marker:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ autococker->98 barrel adapter, Empire two-piece 14" barrel, DYE rotor loader, DXS 45/3000 N2 tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
You can use just about anything, really, especially if you have the five fin set.
Strengths: - Adaptable
- Highly accurate
- Durable
- Light for its construction
Weaknesses: - Pricey
Review: I first read into the hammerhead myth when I heard about Tippmann's release of their straightline barrel. having knowledge of how effective actual rifling is, I was very interested to find out just how effective it was on paintballs. After a lot of research, I finally decided to buy the barrel. Fortunately I got a good deal on e-bay. The following has been my experience with it over the past six months.

For anyone on the fence about getting the barrel, I will say this; much of the hype about these things is true. However, for the rifling to work, you MUST SIZE YOUR BORE CORRECTLY. Improper paint-to-barrel match will result in poor accuracy no matter which barrel you use. For this reason, I'd recommend, despite its higher asking price, taking the plunge and buying a five-fin kit. This adaptability is part of this barrel's strength; simply use the included bore sizer, attach the right "fin," and you'll be good to go.

If all of the above is said and done (which should be done on any barrel, anyway), the barrel is a nail-driver. I won't bother to make any fantastic game winning claims, but I did notice a slight increase in effective range over the SL kit i'd previously used. My shots were much more consistent and precise than they were before.

I'll note now that I'm using this barrel on a Planet Eclipse SL8R for speedball type games. The barrel is extremely light for a barrel of its kind (granted, it's no Ultralite or stiffi) and will keep you mobile. I'd even go so far to as to say It's much lighter than Smart Parts' freak system.

The only downside I could find about this is its high asking price. In this writer's opinion, the price asked is well worth the product received, though I would check around E-bay for these things first for a better deal.

As I have yet to break a ball in the hammerhead, I can't say anything about claims that it self cleans. I can only say that it never breaks paint.
Conclusion: For anyone looking for a highly adaptable, highly accurate, and long lasting barrel system, pick up a hammerhead. It is quite possibly the best barrel I've ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Loki33 Saturday, November 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic 14"
Stock Tippmann
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7
JCS Powertube
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't really matter have tried Evil, Diablo, Draxxus, Monsoon.
Strengths: Well built
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as claimed by company
Overpriced
Review: Bought the full barrel kit in hopes of improving the accuracy of my X7. I had a J&J ceramic barrel and liked it, but wanted more from my marker. I spent well over a month reading various reviews from magazines to users. I finally broke down and bought it. I found the barrel to be well built, but nothing to get go head over heals about. Side by side with my J&J there was a minimal increase in accuracy. Nothing worth 200.00 dollars for. This barrel will not have you shooting ropes down range. I'm not saying it's not an improvement, just no where near worth the price.
Conclusion: Save your money. Your not going to get the value out of this that you will expect. My friend bought a barrel from Rap4, that has similar rifled groves, for about 34 bucks and side by side he shoots just as straight as I do. This barrel will not turn your marker into a tournament accurate marker. I'm going to put mine on e-bay very soon.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smallstuffx2 Friday, November 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Products 18" barrel
Marker Setup: -Modded Tippmann A5 RT
-Modded Tippmann A5 E-Grip + Vortec Mod and "soft paddles" + Airthrough stock+ Flatline Barrel

-Custom AGD "RT Ule" with X valve and level 10 ultralight bolt + Cobra Trigger

-Warsensor Zeus G2+

-Empire Prophecy Hopper
-A5 Hammerhead Battlestixx 5 fin barrel kit
-Autococker Hammerhead Battlestixx 5 fin barrel kit
-8.5" Hammerhead Battlestixx barrel
-Custom Products 18" sniper Barrel
-Pure Energy 48ci 3000psi steel tank
-Pure Energy 68ci 4500psi Carbon Fiber Wrapped tank
-Pure Energy 70ci 4500psi Carbon Fiber Wrapped tank with 4+ Pure Energy Reg.
-Pure Energy Coiled Remote Line
-Empire packs
-2 full Ghillie suits
-VForce Profiler Mask




Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Marbilizers
Strengths: VERY ACCURATE. No tuning or adjusting. Great for all play. Helps with cheaper paint.
Weaknesses: Cant think of any at all!
Review: I have been using the Hammerhead Battlestixx 5-fin barrel kit for 3 months. The results are amazing! Very accurate, and no tuning or adjusting for loop. Also, it is very quite down range which is such an advantage when playing woods or scenario. I liked it so much I purchased 2 (5-fin barrek kits), one for my A5's and one for my AGD. Helpful in all paintball play but I would recommend getting the barrel kit unless you like over boreing.
Conclusion: Great barrel and worth every cent of the money!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 20th, 2009 at 3:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gonzo98 Wednesday, August 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Freak
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom pro platinum, hammerhead 14" barrel, cyclone feed system, APE e-grip, metadyne industries shroud, colapsible stock, m-16 carry hndle, acog red dot, bossman mag kit, m16 front sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any good quality paintballs- mine works best with marbs since i only use a .688 fin
Strengths: Accurate
Able to size w/ fins
Durable
Shoots through breaks
Weaknesses: A little loud
Price
Review: I have been using this barrel for a long time and i have to say i love it. I have no problems with it, and if i do get a break in the barrel( usually do to bad paint quality or shooting hot) I am able to shoot through the breaks and still get good accuracy. You could use any paint since you could size the paint with different size fins to get the best accuracy, however I only have the .688 fin and I shoot fine with all good paint. It is a little loud but if what hammerhead advertised is correct the reverse porting should redirect the sound oward the shoot making it quiet to the target (kinda like the barret 50 cal). I don't know if the reverse porting works or not because I haven't really paid attention to it or asked anyone.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to anyone who is willing to pay for it, it is one of the best barrels I have used. 9/10 for price and its a little loud.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bellerophon Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel, JJ 14"
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with a drop forward
HPA 3000 and 4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used WPN Weapons Grade, Marblizer and house paint from Giant Paintball in Bellflower
Strengths: Reach
Consistency
Weaknesses: Cost
Review: The cost is hefty. $100 for the barrel and .688 fin. $200 for the barrel and 5 fin package.


I bought the barrel without any additional fins and used it like that for some practice, chrono and a day of paintballing in SC Village (around 100 degress out, and I am sure that affected my paint a little) and I wasn't all that impressed. It was my first day with my own gun (I had rented up until that point) and I was still trying to get used to everything. Looking back, I didn't take the time to really test the gun out like I should have. I was anxious to get in a match and put some paint on players. Who isn't right?

The next time I went, I spent some time watching tragectory instead of where the paint was landing. Don't get me wrong, both are important, but after reading a little more and having some patience, getting the right fps is crucial to accuracy. I had been shooting at 285 fps (the upper limit of the accuracy spectrum), but after dialing it down to about 270, my accuracy went way up. When I was first reading the ravings of ball on ball double and triple taps I didn't believe any of it. At 30 ft, my grouping was about the size of a softball. At 50 ft, around basketball size. Not too bad. I am still a novice when it comes to aiming properly, so I was pretty proud of myself.

Recently, I went to Hollywood Paintball in Bellflower. This time, after purchasing the 5 fin set, I was ready to dial in again. House paint only, so it was a great opportunity to compare accuracy with everyone else without the paint variable. I tested the fins and decided on the .683. Some of the paint was still falling through it without catching, but most of it was snug and pushed through without a problem. The chrono guy was surprised when he watched me tune down to 260-265, right past the max of 275. And I was the happiest I have ever been. I was now the guy picking off hoppers, barrels and in a couple instances, trigger hands. So impressed. Even though I was chrono'd lower than the limit, I still had the range of the other guns on my team. Moving through the buildings, I could pick guys off 50 feet away showing a barrel around a corner. At no less than 40 ft, I tagged a cheater on the barrel, above the trigger and finally twice in the hand to make sure he knew he was out. I think I spent 6 or 7 rounds doing that.
Conclusion: I recommend buying the 5 fin kit with the barrel. If you can afford it, you will not be disappointed. If $200 is too pricey ( and it is pretty pricey) then you may want to look elsewhere. I might add that their customer support is awesome. I spent a few hours emailing back and forth with one of their sales reps trying to figure out the best way for me to get the 5 fin set since no paintball shop in my area sold it. Gave me a tshirt with the set too.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Odoylesfury Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flat line, Apex, Lapco Snap Shot, Stiffi
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline, Apex, Ricochet R5, Adco edot, Vortex mod, Lightning Rod, QEV kit, JCS Red Hot Power Tube, ShockTech Supa Fly Bolt, polished internals, R-2000 regulator, JCS laser sight with Spira grip, JCS folding stock

Evil Omen 2.0
All stock, evo 2 hopper, Pure Energy tank, Stiffi barrel, Lapco barrel

Psychoballistics Lightning
Shocktech bolt, CCM front block, evo 2 hopper

Spyder Compact
After market bolt and barrel

Recommended
Paintballs:
Correct size for fins
Strengths: Accurate, A bit more distance.
Weaknesses: Fins not accurate to size.
Review: Barrel is accurate and a noticable difference in distance of shooting compared to other barrels besides flatline and apex. I dont know if it was the place that I ordered my barrel from, or if it was from the manufactor, but my fins are all the same size from what I can tell. Fins are vary in accurate in the size they say. From test (the barrel roll) I found that Scorch paintballs would come out of a Stiffi barrel .687 with just a little blow, but with a .693 fin I could hardly fit a Scorch paintball through the fin of a Hammerhead. I was a little nervous of this one I decided to use the barrel at a game, but I will never look back. Never broke a ball. Accuracy was through the roof compared to other barrels that I own. Distance was better than Stiffi or the Lapco Snap Shot type barrels, not saying that their barrels are horrible, but I was quit impressed in the difference in accuracy and distance. When ever my A-5 brakes down, I am sad because I can't use my Hammerhead on my Omen, it almost makes me want to leave the game.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to any one. I will not buy another barrel for my A-5. I am currenlty going to buy this barrel for my Omen just for the reason that I hate not being able to use the Hammerhead on my Omen. I fill out of my element with out the Hammerhead.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UberGeekGamer Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Kit
Orbium 3 Kit
Marker Setup: AGD Emag
Orbium 3 Kit
Reloader B
Crossfire 68/3k
Recommended
Paintballs:
As with any barrel, use the best paintballs that you can afford.
I personally use Toxic.
Strengths: Pretty accurate
Fairly quite
Light
Weaknesses: Fins are short
Not as quite as some kits
Pricey
Review: Before buying this kit I was running on a stock autococker barrel and wasn't happy with it so I researched and thought that this would be a good kit and it is.

Look: Personally I think the barrel looks really nice and have a black tip and silver fins make a really good looking kit.

Fins: I have the 5 fin kit so being able to switch the bores is great, but that's the point for kits, and the only problem with the fins are that they are really short so if your markers body sinks in, like my ULE body, it can be tough to get the barrel out with the fin still attached.

Barrel: Comes only in 14" size and can be a little long but it makes up for that in accurately.
Compared to stock, this barrel is really accurate as I was able to have a 5" grouping of shots from 40 feet away and from 80+ feet there wasn't that much deviation.
The barrel is also fairly quite, as the shooter it doesn't sound that way due to the reverse porting but down range I asked players I knew I hit and asked if they heard it and replied that they did but was difficult and they asked what my set up was.
Conclusion: Overall I found the whole kit to be a really good kit, it's light, quite, accurate, and can be found pretty cheap second hand (I got mine for $100) but is a little pricey new.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 10:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mad4tv15 Monday, January 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
cp one piece
stock barrel
siffi barrel (briefly)
Marker Setup: A-5 with tapco stock and response trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi marbaliserz stinger all highgrade paint
Strengths: Accuracy and speed sleek and tuff looks add to intimidation factor air efficiency
Weaknesses: Ball breakage
pricy
Review: This barrel is a good barrel over all

the air efficiency varies greatly with differnt fin bores so be warned crono before every game and dont chnge fin in skirmishes.

it does self clean however it take a lot of shot to do it so dont stop firing when you break a ball

accuracy is un matched by any barrel i have seen of yet its cluster is amasing however it does require the correct fin the fins do effect accuracy so be warned change the fin change accuracy and velocity

Conclusion: This is the best barrel money can buy however it is very pricy but worth every penny
if youve got an extra 200 buck lying around go for it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media