paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The "Fluted" Barrel is the "Rifled Hammerhead Barrel" and can be used either for tournament or scenario play.

The BattleStikxx is a "military style" rifled barrel, than can be used in both woods and in scenario as well. Scenario players use this barrel quite a bit due to its Marine sniper profile and reverse porting.

For new players that purchase their own paint,or use field paint, we recommend the player purchase a fin and a front and add fins later.

For serious players that want long ball accuracy and must utilize tournament paint provided by others: We recommend a fin kit with with either 3 fins or 5 fins.

Starts at $129.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Niels Saustrup Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Autococker
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Quiet. 5 variable bore barrel breech inserts available.
Weaknesses: Expensive. Not the cheapest way to first rate accuracy.
Review: Bought Hammerhead years ago when first introduced, and then got their latest "second generation" barrel with stepbore barrel tip few months ago. Bought for "Scenario" games where you sometimes must use poor paint. I needed a variable bore system for my Autococker to handle paintballs that would run down the barrel and give bad chrono readings. No marker firing from "open bolt" needs "Hammerhead" or any other expensive variable bore system. My "Hammerheads" deliver accuracy no better and no worse than my Dye, J&J, and Lapco barrels. They are as quiet as quiet gets. My "Hammerheads" can chamber and shoot poor quality paint as well or better than my other "premium" barrels. Hammerhead does not handle ball break better than any other barrel, but seems to handle a little slime and keep shooting fine. My autococker tech and many others compare Hammerhead to Armson and other rifled barrels that did not live up to "hype", but myself and a lot of very experienced players think they are as accurate, and probably quieter than other premium barrels. Given the cost, "silence is golden". First "Hammerhead" bought years ago had minor quality issues, latest version is perfect.
Conclusion: Hammerhead is not a bunch of "hype", it is a well made variable bore system about as accurate, maybe quieter, and maybe more expensive than other "premium" barrels.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LongbowWilson Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiff
All-American
Marker Setup: Longbow
Hammerhead BattleStixx
HPA
Remote Line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high quality(so that ball sizes are more uniform)
Strengths: ACCURATE!!!
When flies past you sound intimidating
Weaknesses: Thicker paint will not allow shoot through
Review: The Hammerhead BattleStixx are amazing. I just got them and went out to play. I used to use a Stiffi, not any more these things are much more accurate. The rifling puts a spin on the ball allowing less air to effect its flight path. This also has the added bonus of makeing an intimidating whining noise as it flies past the OPFOR. Its relatively quite, it sounds louder to the user because of the reverse poting.

On the down side, if you put in a too small insert every ball will break; if your paint isnt all mostly the same size it will break, and if its anyt hicker than water and breaks. it will not shoot very well, be prepared to squeegee it.
Conclusion: This is in my opionion the most accurate barrel kit available.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ycfan456 Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
just everday barrels
none anywhere close to as good as this
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-Hammerhead BattleStixx 5 fin kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
good ones
dont use cheap ones because they will break in the barrel because of the rifling
Strengths: -Accurate
-Loud to you but quiet to people in front of you
Weaknesses: None
Review: My dad and I both bought the black, 5 fin, battle stixx kit off the website. We asked for quick delivery b/c we wanted to use them that weekend. They got there in plenty of time.
We took them out the day after we got them and tried them out. But, we had chosen to small of a fin. It chopped every 7 balls or so. We turned the velocity down and that helped a little. So we went out the next day with bigger fins and both of us were amazed. It shot so accuratly we could easily shoot leaves off of trees that were 50 feet tall with one shot.
When we played that weekend, It was awesome. The first game I sat in the back and was so busy picking people off I didn't need to move up.
The barrel does clean itself pretty well. After you chop you can see paint coming out the end. You should still carry a swab to get the paint out of the rifling.
Conclusion: This product is well worth the money you pay for it. It is super accurate and cool looking. If you have the money, BUY IT! I would give it a 12 if it were an option.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MultiGunMan Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatlines
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline, 98 custom with flatline , Spyder Shutter with hammerhead barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Blaze Or Empire. Higher Grade Paint
Strengths: Accurate works well and as advertised.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Barrel works well. very accurate and it does a good job of self cleaning after 2-3 shots. Has a nice look and the rifiling works very well, and is very quiet as apposed to the flatlines. Light doesnt add a lot of weight to the gun.Has a nice look to in either black or silver, and the fins and ball gauge help to make it work as well
Conclusion: Accurate light and quiet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gspence Sunday, December 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth, J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ tac cap or ricochet hopper, Hammerhead Battlestikxxx 14 inch or hammerhead Shark Tooth, ADCO red dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer, anything small.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet
Weaknesses: Aoes not self clean, needs small or hard-shelled balls
Review: i like this barrel. the first ball i shot broke in the barrel, but it was at the range so i just squeegeed it out. you either need a swab or anything else that's fuzzy. if the FPS isn't in the window (i think its 165-185), then it gets inaccurate. its great for city levels, because it can small targets. compared to my friends J&J, it was less affected by crosswind. its harder to clean, because of the ported end. i did very well in my last game, because of the barrel and experience i have gained. however, the fields weren't woodsball fields, so i didn't get to try ambushing.
Conclusion: i think that it is worth the money if you don't mind doing a little more cleaning, and if you plan to play ambush sniper. if you want a barrel that is almost as accurate for point man, i would get a J&J.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dmshooter Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite
Dye Boomstick
Flatline
J&J Ceramic
Hammerhead is better
Marker Setup: Dm5
14' Battlestik Hammerhead
Dye drop forward
Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with a thick fill and a round shell is good. I have read that thick fill works better with the spin created on the paintball by the barrel's rifling.
I am going to test new paintballs by Nelson called Special Forces paintballs. They are supposed to be absolutely round and have the thickest fill available.
I will also test the new Black ops paintballs that just came out a while ago.
Strengths: Best Accuracy
Very quiet dowrange
Perfectly match ball to barrel with the fins
Weaknesses: High price
The best is always expensive though
Review: I tested the 14' Hammerhead Battlestik (5 fin kit) against the 14' Dye ultralite that comes with the dm5. I shot scorch paintballs (basically crap paintballs.)
Our target was a tree about 150 feet away.
First off both barrels are great. The ultralite shot very well. The battlestik shot excellently however despite it being quite a windy day.
Even though the paintballs I shot were not that great they were still hitting their mark 7 out of 10 times with the Hammerhead.
I can't wait to test it with some good round paintballs.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to the player who like myself enjoys aiming and taking a few well placed shots to get a kill instead of spraying 32 balls per second spray and pray style. Accuracy by volume is never as satisfying as getting that aimed shot off at 200 feet. If you get this barrel get the kit with the 5 fins so that you can perfectly match your ball to the barrel with whatever brand of paintball you happen to be using.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HuLkAmAnIa16 Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi, Dye Ultra-lite, Freak Kit, Bigshot, numerous others.
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 05 with PSP and G7 Eyes
Recommended
Paintballs:
Newer Paint, Harder Shells
Strengths: -Light
-Queit down range
-ACCURATE
-Cleans itself
Weaknesses: -Price
Review: The hammerhead is a truely amazing barrel. It is extremely accurate do to the rifling on the inside of the bore. It's consist due to the ability to change "fins." It is quiet down range due to reverse porting.

I've used this barrel on a Superstock, DM4, 98 Custom, Angel Speed. And everytime I've used it performs beautifly. When a ball breaks, very rarely, the barrel with clean itself. And although the first few shots go a little crazy, after about 5 shots its back to normal and clean.

I recommend this barrel to anyone who is looking for a truely amazing barrel for the performance.
Conclusion: This barrel is the best barrel I've ever seen on the market today, I recommend to amany a people all who become very pleased with it. It's performance was off the charts on my scale and all I've seen use it! Go out and spend the extra money on the best barrel you can get, its well worth it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lostazncause Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
UL, STiffi, JT, AA, eclipse shaft, many stock barrels
Marker Setup: black ion
cp razor drop/asa
cp reg
egg2 (revvy backup)
nitro duck 68/300 carbon fiber
dye sticky3
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever works for you
Strengths: Accuracy, quiet
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: Ive been doing barrel tests for many barrels out on the market for some time now, just trying to find which designs seem to work better. A hammerhead with a .688 fin with an overall length of 12 inches was used with matching paint. Truth is, the Hammerhead performed admirably during the trials proving itself to be slightly more accurate over a dye UL and a stiffi one-piece.

Accuracy is the product of quite a few things people neglect:
consistency: a good consistent regulator
Accuracy of shooter: If you cant shoot you wont hit anything. Most players believe theyre decent shots, but until you can hit a paintball tossed into the air, you havent truly mastered aiming. Years in the military will teach you to hold a gun steady.
good paint: Find the best you can get. THIS IS KEY!!!!

First shots were always more on target than other barrels and noticeably less outliers (balls that would curve away from the shot grouping) were observed than both the UL and Stiffi. Is it possible that I just got lucky witht he outliers? well I used up 3 cases of paint in that test and my wallet screams to me. If thats lucky Im going to shoot myself. No chops were observed, even under rapid fire situations.

Sound is indistinguisable from a UL or Stiffy from 40ft away and greater.
Slightly on the heavy side.

I did not test with fins/paint larger or smaller than .688. Notice while the fin is .688 the barrel ID itself very closely matches the fin at .687. For all intents and purposes, it shot like a one-piece as opposed to a 2-piece breech sizer system.
Conclusion: Too early to tell for me if the price is worth it, but this barrel performed slightly better than a dye UL and a stiffi. All barrels were of the same size and all paint matched all barrels. The HH came out on top.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 11:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Highrise Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month31 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Twister Barrel
Armson Rifled Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 4 Chamber Expansion Chamber
Modified Lapco Sight-rail Extension
BSA Red-dot Sight
Ricochet Hopper
Starfire Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Marballizer
But I've shot all kinds of paint through it
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Hello fellow paint flingers! So, we've all heard of the elusive, ultimately accurate barrel. Legends are spoken in hushed tones in dark corners of fields around the country. The shining epitome of paintball marker barrel perfection that we've all heard about but knew would never come to pass has arrived. Read on, and listen.

History:
My roommate purchased this barrel in the summer of 2004. At the time Hammerhead didn't have any A-5 fins available so they included an autococker adapter with his three fin set. He boasted of his new barrel and showed many a video of incredible feats being accomplished by players who were using it. Unfortunately for my roommate, this is where his enthusiasm ended. The first time he got to try out his barrel, it broke paint on the second shot. Then the fifth. Then the eighth. You see where this is going. There wasn't an instance where he didn't break paint in his barrel when he tried it. Needless to say he was extremely upset and frustrated with this useless and expensive barrel he had wasted his time and money on. However, thanks to the man who first introduced me to this wonderful sport, the story doesn't end there. My other paintball cohort purchased the new 5 fin system for his 98 custom, and was delighted with his results. At his suggestions, my roommate sent his whole setup back to the company with a letter explaining his complaints and requesting any help the manufacturer's could supply. The same day that his barrel arrived, a new one had been sent out to him. Apparently there was a batch of around 40 fin sets that had been made that were erroneous, and Hammerhead was glad to fix the problem for NO charge. Not only that, they sent him a 5 fin setup instead of the original 3 he had purchased. He had his new setup in under a weeks time from when he sent his barrel off. Impressive to say the least. Over the next few months I witnessed his game improve and it got me thinking that I might like to partake of this barrely goodness. The opportunity arose at this years (2005) Oklahoma D-Day. The Hammerhead guys had a table set up in one of the tents and low and behold, they were selling full setups for $50 under their sticker price. I took the plunge, and let me say that I'm oh-so-very happy I did.

Durabilty:
The barrel comes in a sturdy carrying case made of black abs plastic with the groovy "Hammerhead" logo embazoned on the side in yellow. There are two opening latches, both with lock holes to secure your barrel when not in use. Upon opening the case, you see contoured foam snuggly holding your barrel, fins, ball sizer, and thread lube in place. The barrel itself is constructed of a solid metal (I believe its aluminum).

Weight:
The barrel isn't too heavy at all, especially when compared to some other barrels such as the Dye stainless steel barrel or a flatline.

Sound:
Due to the reverse porting at the end of the barrel, most of the sound is actually pushed back at you, the firer. This sometimes makes you believe that its very loud, and is therefore a disadvantage. Don't be fooled. Let someone shoot the marker in your direction from 20 yards away and you'll be amazed at the sound transferrence.

Accuracy:
The real test of a barrel. The question that we all want to know: How accurate is it? Let me tell you. I have never fired a more accurate barrel aside from real firearms. Period. Thats all there is to it. When I turn on my site, I hit EXACTLY where I aim 9 out of 10 times, with the tenth only slightly deviating. I was shooting holes in the leaves of the tree 25 yards away from my porch like a cowboy shooting the ace of spades. I've shot Boomsticks, Freaks, Empires, Tippmann Werks and Flatlines, Armson's, Dyes and J&J's, and NOTHING comes close. At close range (20-30 ft) I got 10 shots with 3in grouping. At mid range (30-60 ft) I got 10 shots with 5-6in grouping. And at long range (60-150 ft) I got 10 shots with 8in grouping. These tests were done using PMI Marballizer paint using the .683 fin.

Paint:
I've mostly shot Marballizer through it, but I bought a case of Draxxus and Blue Streak to test other paint quality. Through the bore sizing, you can shoot almost any brand of paint without fuss or deviation. All paint shot straight and true without a single break.

Price:
This is an expensive setup, no two ways about it. The 5 fin setup with barrel and case will run you about $200 or so from the company. Thats more expensive than most entry level markers. But what price do you put on perfection. What would you pay to be able to hit your opponent with only one squeeze of the trigger, knowing full well that a second shot won't be needed?

Customer Service:
If there is a category that outshines the accuracy of this little baby it would be this one. As I mentioned earlier, the company sent a new setup to my roommate free of charge. Most of us would say that's nothing to boast about; that the company owed it to my friend for selling him damaged goods in the first place. And of course you would be right. But how many people can get an e-mail response from a company the same day you sent in your question? Or actually get an honest-to-God live human being with an accomplished vocabulary on the phone when you call them up? And here's another wonder. My roommate upgraded to a WGP VF Tactical Autococker this year after D-Day. He emailed the company wondering what cost he would be looking at to replace his A-5 fins for autococker ones, and they said that he shouldn't worry about it. All he needs to do is send in his old ones, and they will send him a brand new set of cocker fins for no cost. Its been over a year since he originally purchased his barrel and he is still getting this kind of treatment. This company stands behind their product, and they have every right to do so, and be proud of it. If your barrel isn't shooting like what I've described, then send it back to them explaining your concern. Believe me, they'll do EVERYTHING they can to correct the issue and to get you back out on the field with their barrel.
Conclusion: In conclusion, this is the most accurate barrel on the market today. And with the superb customer service of Hammerhead standing behind it, its worth every penny of the retail price. Save your allowance, bug your friends, beg your parents and loved ones, do whatever it takes for you to own one, because when you do, you'll be like me and every other Hammerhead owner out there. I feel almost like I'm cheating when I play with this barrel and I mourn for the poor people about to be shot out by me. Then I chuckle slightly.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icycold68 Thursday, June 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick, CP one-piece barrel, stock
Marker Setup: '04 cocker w/ e-2
slik bolt and lightened back block
twisted cocking rod
CP vert reg
MacDev sonic red valve
Nexus ram w QEV's
Q-Loader system and pure energy 48/3000
Runs at 170 PSI and max ROF so far is 26 BPS
Strengths: Extremely accurate when you match the barrel to the paint. Very quiet
Weaknesses: Does not clean ball breaks well.
Review: I have to say, i love this barrel, it shoot like my 'stick, but is alot more versatile with the ability to match the paint and barrel together. The grouping that can be shot from this barrel will match up to or beat any of the "best" barrels out there. If you break a ball, your done for, this is the biggest problem. its not bad for me, i just pull my bolt and run a swab through my entire gun in about 10 seconds, but for some people it could be a nightmare.
Conclusion: Its a great barrel, shoots very, very nicely, you will be impresses with it's consistancy to put paint on top of paint at 75' or closer, once you get to about 100' range, you start to hit a 12-14" grouping, and at 26 BPS, i'm sure ONE will hit the target. Love the barrel, just wished it would self-clean better, or hell, wish it would self-clean AT ALL.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 9th, 2005 at 11:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media