paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Shocktech Aluminum HALO Drive Cone / Shocktech Aluminum HALO Drive Cone / Shocktech Aluminum HALO Drive Cone / Shocktech Aluminum HALO Drive Cone

Shocktech Aluminum HALO Drive Cone Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Shocktech

Buy Shocktech Aluminum HALO Drive Cone

Paintball Hopper / Loader Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Shocktech Aluminum HALO Drive Cone
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 6.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Lot's of people have talked about it, but WE did it! A new Drive Cone for the Halo. Some tournament players will break 3 or 4 an event, maybe more! Not anymore!!! Our new machined aluminum Drive Cone comes with a Lifetime Warranty. (Just don't throw it out your car window!) Available in Black, Silver, Blue, Red and Green; It will give you that custom look to match your stuff and deliver the rock solid performance you've come to expect from all Shocktech products. Driven by the demands of some of the greatest players in the sport today.
Product Availability 
The Shocktech Aluminum HALO Drive Cone is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
SpeedballSniper Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cone... lighter, less room for balls.
Marker Setup: '04 Empire, gloss Black
Redz Kit
Black Reloader B with suicide shell, hot rod kit
70/45 Dye Throttle
Black Hyrbid Rail, 1/4 turn On/Off/Bleed, Lady grips, Hyper flow kit
Shocktech torpedo piston, superfly bolt
Virtue Board!

Nasty Shocker (Custom Orange to Brown fade)
Hybrid K2 feedneck, Rail, 1/4 turn ASA, old school grips, adjustable detents
CP reg, 7 piece 14" freak w/ AA front (Matching anno)
Virtue Board
SP HE bolt
Critical Trigger
70/45 throttle
Black Reloader B with Suicide shell
Strengths: Durable, looks sexy, feeds more balls.
Weaknesses: Comes loose... when tight, feeds very slowly, as cone drags on hopper.
Review: Picked this thing up a few weeks ago in the hot rod kit... installed it, and my hopper just ripped.... for a bit. The screw would constantly some loose, and the cone wouldn't catch the spring, causing the hopper to feed slowly, inconsistently, and to run like an empty halo at times when it was full. Then, one game, my screw came out, I shot it and another piece of the kit out of the barrel, and my hopper was done for.

Luckily, after a half hour with electrical tape, and some ingenuity, I fixed it right up, so that she just flies, stays tight, and doesn't drag on the hopper at all. Complete with higher power batteries, this thing just goes crazy, compared to the stock cone.

Oh yeah... with 3 paddles, there's room for more balls to feed per spin, so you get better consistency, and a higher rate of fire. 'nuf said.

Conclusion: Killer product, after you work the kinks out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trevor0701 Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock halo drive cone
Marker Setup: freeflow autococker with E2 and MQ valve (its sick)
Strengths: Its aluminum so it wont break.
Weaknesses: heavy as hell
installation sucks
AND IT ACTUALLY MADE MY HALO FEED SLOWER
Review: The first thing i noticed was how freakin heavy the thing was, it feels like stainless steel, not aluminum. installing it was a b*tch, it was too tall for the screw that holds it in place so i had to locktite the screw and not put it all the way in, or else the cone would be bolted down to the motor (its supposed to be a little loose), once i got it in the paddles were hitting the blue thing inside right by where the paint drops down, i had to grind that down so it wouldnt rub, it was slowing the cone down and making a really annoying noise. once i got it all installed and working i took it out to the field. i could not rip my gun nearly as fast as before, i think it is because there is only 3 paddles on the newer shocktech cones, instead of 5 like the older ones and the stock cone. the batteries also died sooner than they should have due to its weight, overall i was very dissappointed, i will be selling the cone on ebay and just keeping the rip drive knob.
Conclusion: Dont buy this overpriced kit, buy a delrin one or just keep the stock one if it hasnt broken. i gave it a 4 because the cone sucks but the rip drive is pretty sweet.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thundercat101 Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Plastic cones and knobs
Marker Setup: ion shoctech feedneck, new designs qev, new designs rollert trigger, empire on/off with srail, empire eleven piece barrel kit, 47c 3000 pure energy tank with redz cover.........halo B w/rip shoctech rip knob and drive cone
Strengths: Durablity and looks
Weaknesses: Weight and it kills batteries way faster
Review: Overall this product is pretty good i realy bought it for the looks....hehe, just felt like spendin money after my rip knob got shot off, lol. well i say if u want something to replace your drivecone or knob.....this wont break......unlike everything else.the bad thing is it kills the hell out of batteries even the good kind.....plus its kinda heavy we all know how heavy a loaded halo is but with aan aluminum rip kit and drive cone....it gets heavier.
Conclusion: I give it a seven because its a battery killer and we all need our batteries now dont we...lol
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Koolaidman Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock halo cone
Marker Setup: pm5---
shocktech feedneck
shocktech degassing on/off
pm6---
proto feed neck
proto degassing on/off
vitrue
------------------
crossfire 68/4500
dye ultralight .692
halo w/ sucide shell, st hotrod kit, empire board
Strengths: No more breaking drive cones
Weaknesses: A bit on the expensive side
Review: Great idea. going to tournies id have to bring 3-4 of them. they'ed almost break on command. ever since getting the orginal design of the st cone havent had the need to buy another one. just recently they had updated their cone and rip drive cross. now the st drive cone comes with 3 paddles instead of 5. and a bit lighter than the previous model
Conclusion: No more broken drive cones
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigevil Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Halo drive cone.
Marker Setup: Xmag, Etac, Various Angels and cockers
Strengths: indestructable. Well made. Easy to install. Bling-Factor
Weaknesses: Fit a little wobbily.
Review: A nice, but pricey upgrade. I had never had any trouble with my drive cones, then last year I started breaking them like crazy. I went with the Shocktech over one of the other delrin ones because it was more readily available (and the fact that its aluminum and is annoed is a nice touch too).

I havent had any issues with breaking paint with it, and my battery life seems about the same.
Conclusion: So all-in-all, other than the slop, the product does what its supposed to. I don't see any preference for this over the delrin cones, or vice-versa,. If you can afford this, its a good up grade. You will never have to worry about your drive cone again.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ShaggyNate Tuesday, January 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Half-Ass Razor E2 with Checkit Low Rise, Nexus Ram w/qevs, Tickler Reg, Bob Long Torpedo, Dye Ultralite

Dark Timmy w/ lucky 15 , Pretty much stock

Toxic Trix w/ new Designz breech, Chipley low pro rise, Tadao 5.0w/M3
Strengths: Strong compared to plastic. Faster speed (with kit)
Weaknesses: Doesn't fit too well, feels a little shakey
Review: Well, I had broke the stock cone and had to buy a replacement. I got a good deal on the whole kit and since my rip drive know was also broken, it seemed like a good idea. I have had no problems with this kit. I found it to be rather reliable and to not have any problems. I also found with the addition of the pulley slip on piece that it makes my reloader B much faster so I can use a lower setting. I use the lowest setting with a 4 battery pack and have no problems. Others have said that is causes ball breaks and chops, but I have not expeirenced this problem. Only thing that I don't like is when you put the drive cone in it sort of wobbles, I did not like this and was the first and only complaint I have about this.
Conclusion: I recommend this is your stock cone breaks and you need a replacement. The weight is not really a factor because it is only a few ounces at most. The weight is not going to throw off your game. I have to give a 9 instead of a 10 because of the improper fit causing the annoying wobble.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iplaypaintbal77 Friday, October 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock wich is better
get the delrin one
Marker Setup: black ego
Strengths: Metal
looks cool
thats it
Weaknesses: Chops like a mother
causes alot of jams
horrable
heavy
Review: Errrrrrrr i hate this thing! I have had 2 of them and no i didnt get miss milled ones because no one that has this at my feild likes it.

Ok well i get home put it in do a drop test and nothing happend. I was like wtf, then i realized it was jamming. so i was like hmm so i restarted it and it dropped like 4 balls and chopped 2. I was pisseed! and then i put nice good paint in it and the choping was gone but it went sooo much slower, and still jams! ahh just trust me and dont get this.
Conclusion: Its a pos get a delrin, i give it a 2 because it looks cool
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

THEBETTERONE Tuesday, October 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Drive cone
Marker Setup: Dm5, stiffi switch, orange bolt, ccm no pro, dye airport, empire B, crossfire 45/45, custom trigger
Strengths: It will never break
Weaknesses: Heavy, breaks balls, the noise of it against the loader activates an empire B
Review: Well I bought this cone with high hopes... but they were dashed to pieces.

Pros: It won't break, it looks nice, thats it


Cons:

Its aluminum, and its not a good material for a drive cone

Its really heavy, wears the batteries down faster because the motor works harder

makes the hopper feed slower by just a little bit

breaks balls

When the hopper spins the cone nicks the nuts holding the gear cover on under the cone just enough to make noise which in turn spins the cone inadvertantly and thus it breaks balls and turns the hopper into a blender. (Used in an Empire B)

they sent me the shaft and rip drive knob, the shocktech shaft was really small, the cone just rattled around on it, so i used the stock shaft over it.

I'm completely dissapointed in this cone, I modded my stock cone with a pin and put it back in.
Conclusion: Don't buy it If you have an Empire B, don't buy it at all, if you really need a different cone get one made out of delrin.

Shocktech makes great products, but they sure fell short with the drivecone.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 11th, 2005 at 5:16 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Skinz Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock placstic drive cone & plastic rip knob
Marker Setup: FBM Half Assed Cocker w/ E2
Freak Barrel w/ SS inserts
45/4500 Max Flo
Strengths: Sturdy - won't have to worry about drive cone or rip knob breaks anymore
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: Needed to replace broken rip knob, so i went a ahead and got the aluminum drive cone also. Because it's aluminum, it's definitely sturdy and you won't have to worry about the drive cone and rip knob breakage anymore.

My only complaint is that it does make the loader heavier. It's not significant, but you will definitely notice it.

There are also delrin options availalbe although i have not tried them.
Conclusion: If you don't mind replacing the pastic drive cones or rip knobs, then i say don't get it. If you are tired of all those breaks, then this is definitely a good upgrade. Won't have to waste time taking loader apart and replacing parts. Although the plastic drive cone will last for awhile. If the weight is a concer, you might want to opt for the delrin drive cones.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scoots Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Plastic drive cones and plastic knobs
Marker Setup: Red Nerve with Red Halo B Victory Board+Ripdrive
Strengths: Won't Break
Shiny!!
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: Ok, basically I bought this thing cause I break at least 2 plastic drive cones a year and they cost me about 10$-12$ a piece(canadian). So I decided it was worth me buying this aluminum drive cone because yeah know funny thing I just don't think it will break.

So if your tired of cones breaking in tourney's, shooting platic pieces out of your expensive marker then just chip out the 30$(canadian) and get this thing. If you don't have problems with the plastic cones then don't worry about this product.



"don't fix it if it ain't broke"

ps. I've found it to wear out batteries a little quicker due to the weight difference between aluminum and the standard plastic polymer.
Conclusion: So yeah good product for those who have a need, but if you don't need it don't buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media