paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix

Proto Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 207
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $995

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Matching Proto Barrel - Internal Modular LPR - Hyper-2 in line regulator - Revised Anti-Chop eye system - An industry first, composite eyeplate - Continuous 3 dimensional body design - Compact ergonomicly designed milling - Lightweight compact body - Proto Matrix Sticky grip - LED program control - Ergonomic 45 grip frame - Removable one peice FUSE bolt system - Adjustable trigger sensitivity
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
prostock05 Thursday, September 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viking, Shockers, ion, blowbacks.
Marker Setup: Proto matrix
Tag factroy installed Predator 5.0 board
STD JDS LPR
cp trigger
full cp pro kit
Hybrid Helock 2 Feedneck
Hybrid Whatta (Bruce Lee) grips
Trinity Bad Habitz On/Off Unimount
Halo B
68/4500 HP Crossfire Nitrogen tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel/barrel kit
feedneck
on/off uni
maybe a trigger
Strengths: Speed
kick (or lack off)
weight
size
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: What can I say, it's absoloutley amazing, light, small, and fast and for the price it's great. Predator 5.0 flat out rips. When I opened the box I just stared in amazement....if you think good looking in pics, wait until you see it in person. I suggest not adjusting the trigger though it makes it stick a little, i'd just buy a cp trigger if you feel the need for change.
Conclusion: It's amazing. Best gun for this price range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Proto_Matrix2 Sunday, September 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: proto matrix, system x barrel kit, orange bolt, hybrid bolt guide, system x uni mount, cp trigger, virtue board, halo b, and 68/4500 hp java tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
all the ones i have, fast as hell
Strengths: No kick very fast small and light
Weaknesses: Air lasting is alright stock but with the bolt and the guide awsome air lasting
Review: I took this gun over a autococker superstock, i took it over a shocker and a system x nme but the reason is because it is built to last and like the dm4 arnt built to last they are good for years then they will start to have one after another problems(friend had one and got rid of it because of problems)
Conclusion: Get this gun u wont be disappointed with it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellomoto Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse,shocker.
Marker Setup: custom products mount rail, ccm no-pro.
Recommended
Upgrades:
ultralite, hybrid bolt guide, virtue.
Strengths: Weight
Speed
Accuracy
Looks
Weaknesses: Strength of eye wire
Internal trigger adujustment.
Review: After my impulse completely blew up on me I had to search for a new gun. After researching, I went ahead and purchased a new proto matrix. When it arrived at my door I almost dropped the box becuase it was so light. This thing IS light, don't let anyone tell you different. After i opened it up and admired it for awhile ( it is quite good looking) I gased it up and took it out to shoot. I began shooting and it leaked air through the barrel. I went inside to investigate the problem , and found I had the pressure to high and blew and o ring in the bolt. The o-ring was easily replaced and after an adjustment of the pressure this thing ripped. Much faster than my impy. Your gonna need a halo b becuase my egg couldn't feed this beast. On the field I was able to hit people's packs and googles sticking out of bunkers, the accuracy was fantastic. The internal adjustment of the trigger was however a pain. This should be improved in future models, as well as the weakness of the eye harness. It seems very breakable, just be careful with it.
Conclusion: I would most definately reccomend this product i would give it an 11 if i could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angelo Thursday, September 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DMC ---it looks nicer, in semi mode its a few balls faster, bit less kick.
Impulse --- Was bigger and couldent get it to Spit Ropes, accurate tho.
WGP Prostock --- Awesome accuracy and sound levels, bit slow.
Verious other low end guns.
Marker Setup: 2k4 Proto Matrix Black 2 Blue Fade.
Black Dye Mini Drop
Black Dye ASA
Silver Ultralight 14"
Dye Throttle 45 4500
Smoker Empire B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel --- dont miss Critical hits when they could change the game and regret it when you see you team getting Creamed by the player you missed on the break.
Stock trigger rocks.
Get a bottem line set up that helps your game --- not looks the most pimpin.

Strengths: Absolute firepower at your two lil finggers.
Tight profile.
Confidence.
Snappability(light)
Weaknesses: You might make others Jelous.
Paint bill through the roof.

Review: Well I had a WGP Prostock before my Proto, and its fairly obvious but man, dont ever skimp on the best if its possible.
By that i mean if its possible to get high end get it, if not play hard and play with heart and you will make a difference no matter what.
i nailed high ends with my Prostock most of the time, because unfortunatly the PB world want bigger faster stonger all the time.
its like a Chrono show, everyone is ramping and bouncing at the Chrono but in game you dont stand still and beast away, you are focused at getting your shots to count.
after all if some Guy is blasting away at 18 BPS feeling all mucho at the back loving the site of his own Strings.
All it take is 1 Good Snap shot and 1 Ball in his face to eliminate him.
Electros have their place but people just go OFF these days bout nothing, its like if you dont have the best then ur a nobody.
think bout it, put Friggen Tippmans in Avalanches hands and still watch them destroy your local team-----why-----Skill boys skill --- anyone can throw a rope, big deal...not everyone can read the game and play like a champ...think bout it.

Anyway my Proto is friggen sweet, its tight which helps couse i play alot of mid Front.
so at times i got crazy angles to work with, when the ball are Skimming by you head.
its light so it allows good snapping, and on the break its speed helps me to provide firepower for my team.
its nice and quiet sometimes guys dont here the balls comming until its dripping of their mask.
i love the sound of balls bouncing of bunkers, but you gun is silent.
i struggeled to ajust the trigger(never owned an electro before)
but its all good now.
this gun is Speedy, and it does help at times, it hasnt got much kick at all...the guys who complain bout kick are just being Pedantic, what do you guys expect, nothing is perfect.
who cares if this guys gun can kick less or ramp more, just shoot the guy with the biggest mouth, that makes a man feel good.

ultra light is awesome it helps with distance and Arc...puts the balls anywher you want them to go, bring noise down to.

and feed it good paint and your Trix should be a happy camper.
love the Fuse bolt, its so sexy and you can just see the quality.
lube it up and paint some faces.



Conclusion: I recon go for this product, its made by Dye and those guys dont Skimp on Quality in any area.
bit steap on the price but thats Paintball, if you dont have the best play with what you got, thats just as good.
go out and hook this baby up.
Caution: once you hold it you will want to own it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 1st, 2005 at 12:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bmxer22225 Tuesday, August 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive used cocker,spyders,and freestyles and 1 angel speed
Marker Setup: black 2k5 proto matrix
virtue board
cp roler trigger
cp unimount
68/4500 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
juss barrel mostly and a virtue board(althoug stock 1 is fine) it is a very nice board
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Price!!!!!!
Looks
Weaknesses: Little bit of a gas hog
None others really
Review: Only problem i had was that it was a gas hog but i did the 530 mod and tape mod now i get 1500+ shots off a 68/4100 fill.
When compared 2 an angel there is no comparison this gun hands down is better for the price u get way more and good consistancy out of box without upgrades.
Conclusion: Buy this now if u dont u will regret it!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

onswitchkid Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: '05 Proto Matrix w/ tadao m5 board, halo b, redz pepper sticks barrel, crossfire 70/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you like having a 2 peice barrel but the stock barrel shoots ropes. the feedneck is a little big so i suggest going to a clamping feedneck.
Strengths: Weight, size, speed, effeciency, eyes
Weaknesses: Only the feedneck
Review: Took the gun out of the box, mounted an asa, gassed it up and let some reballs fly and i was astounded. I could walk the trigger better than any other gun i've ever tried. accuracy with the stock barrel was unbelievable and the nonexistant recoil blew me away. i emptied my halo with the gun with no upgrades in a bout 7 or 8 seconds. i strongly urge getting this gun instead of a DM4 or DM5 because you save almost $500 that can be used on accessories.
Conclusion: Best marker i've ever shot
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamBzuka Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, DM5 (very similar to both of these just lighter and a few different things that are different)
Marker Setup: Dye Proto Matrix (2005)
Empire Reloader B
Dye 14" Ultralite barrel (12" Insert soon to come :D)
4500 70 CI STUBBY Crossfire tank
shocktech mini drop forward (getting rid of soon.. email or pm if u want to buy)
Hybrid Grind rail w/ easy on off
Shocktech -no rise- clamping feedneck

~TEAM BZUKA~
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck would be nice...
Orange SAM BOLT (if you would like your gun more efficient or hybrid bolt guide)
**TRIGGER DOES NOT NEED TO BE UPGRADED**
See review for more..
Strengths: Speed +++
Its DYE +++++++ :D
Light Weight always a +++++++
*SEE REVIEW*
Weaknesses: None really...
*SEE REVIEW*
Review: Well first off i bought this marker at my local proshop in Edmonton (alberta) i picked the black dust marker... when i brought it home and took it out of the box it looked like a DIAMOND!! it was beautiful... i mean it was like waking up on christmas morning and looking at all your christmas presents... (i love this gat!) it was an awesome marker with no milling lines seen... and looked just like a dm4 & dm5...

I'll start with the key strengths first and work my way down..

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Key Strengths~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This whole gun is a key strength i mean everything is beautiful but their is a couple of upgrades to consider... the key strengths in this gun are:

-SPEED +++ (very fast... when i mean fast i mean.. Empire and halo better come out with a new loader cause this thing rips..
-LIGHT WEIGHT +++
-SMALL PROFILE (perfect for a frontman or even a back man or mid.. im front and it works perfect when you wanna get tight in your bunker...) 10/10
-Its Dye ++++... its the most advanced technology and best markers on the market... and if anything ever goes wrong they'll help you out no problem..
-Marker also comes with parts kit +and Dye slick lube +ich keeps your marker in great maintance... :D

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Key Weaknesses~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Not very many weaknesses in this gat :D just a few things you might wanna upgrade
-
Efficiency.... a little bit of a gas hog.. but can easily be fixed by the new ORANGE S.A.M BOLT and/or the HYBRID BOLT GUIDE. moving on to Reccomended upgrades.. 9/10

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Recommended Upgrades~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Their are a few upgrades you may wanna consider after you buy this gat and get some cash $$$ :D (just some prefrence upgrades and some accuracy ups.. and etc.)

-New feedneck (not a need.. but nice to have.. maybe get a clamping one... the shocktech ones work great!) about $40
-New Barrel (this one is kinda of a need.. i mean the stock works O.K. but i myself have an ultralite on this baby and it shoots ropes no problem.. about.. $160
-ORANGE S.A.M BOLT (VERY NICE UPGRADE not a need. although the proto is a bit of a gas hog.. i only seem to get 3 1/2 pods.and a hopper (and a hopper in an empire reloader b is like 180 balls/rounds
*YOU DONT EVEN NEED A NEW TRIGGER! THE STOCK ONE IS PERFECT AND AWESOME ALREADY... JUST DO A TRIGGER JOB AND YOU'LL BE FINE*

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~PERFORMANCE~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~
My favorite part of the review :D yaya!
- the night before i played i read the manual (seriously read the manual incase anything ever goes wrong it can be easy to fix.. but dms never fail :D)
-Right when i pulled this marker out the box .. setted up the fittings and put on the rail etc.. i set it up at the field (indoor of course) and shot it in the chrono it shot 285.. 286.. 285... and 287.. and it was right out of the box no adjustments needed :D SO NICE!
-This thing rips once you get a perfect trigger job... (you dont even need a new trigger.. the one that comes stock is awesome.. already)
- I REAPEAT this THING RIPS.. SCREAMS..RAILS what ever you wanna call it..
- I can easily rip 16 bps in the chrono room without trying...
-THIS THING RIPS! 10/10
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
so an overall veiw:
Key Strengths: 10/10
Key Weaknesses: 10/10
Performance: 10/10

Overall: 10/10
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GREAT JOB DYE on another great marker! keep up the good work..
For any Questions email me, or add me at: bmorris320@hotmail.com
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone who has the money, and who is looking to really go into serious paintball... (an awesome marker a 10/10)i wish i could give it 100/10 but it wont let me :( lol.. A great tourney marker.. and professional marker :D
for any questions email me, or add me at: bmorris320@hotmail.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PaintballPimp90 Sunday, August 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all high end markers
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix- blue
Custom products on/off direct mount- blue
halo b/ rip drive - blue
68/4500 PMI n2 tank- blue
empire tank cover - blue
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Speed
Soo quiet
Very light
Nice trigger
Weaknesses: None that i know of now.
Review: My first impressions of the gun were very good besides a small leak in the mount ( very easy to fix) i went to the target range it chronoed 2+/- it noticed it had no kick and was very quiet i was done and went out to the field we started to playa nd then gun was very quick and silent some of the players had no clue where i was shooting from.... the gun worked great all day but i still need to break in the regulator it was a bit of a gas hog inconclusion id recomend this gun to anyone
Conclusion: All in all a great gun quiet fast, very light go out and buy one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

satyn7 Sunday, August 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4- same quality with a larger price tag
DM5- same as DM4
Eblade cockers- slower rate of fire(E1 versions)
Marker Setup: Olive DM4, 14" ultralite, Crossfire 45/45, Reloader B, CP rail, SP on/off
Olive Proto, M3 software, Crossfire 45/45, Reloader B, Function on/off, Function clamping feedneck, Powerlyte Sceptre kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feedneck a must
barrel
Strengths: ROF(outta box), Liteweight, Low Profile, User friendly LED, and PRICE...
Weaknesses: No clamping feedneck
Noisey(not a real issue)
Air efficiency
Review: When I got my proto, I was amazed that the pix did it no justice. It is a serious work of art! Now down to the nitty gritty:

ROF- it was very ez to get this thing ripping right out of the box. Just a slight trigger job and off she went. It was very consistent with about 15-17 BPS, and with not one chop. The eyes on this thing are the same as the DM4/5.

Weight/profile- it is by far the lightest marker I haved owned, which is nice for a front/mid player. The profile makes it a front players dream. Not the lowest out there, but in the running I think.

The proto is very ez to use. I highly recommend you read the manual completely before you try to operate it. The manual will tell you everything you need to know about putting your beast into operation.

PRICE- the $$$ is the best I have seen in a while. At $900(+ or -) you can use the rest you would have paid for a DM4/5, G7 Angel, etc. to put on an air system, get a hopper, and clamping feedneck and you are ready to play.

Weaknesses- are pretty self explanatory, so I wont bore you with the details.

Conclusion: This is a marker for new and old skool ballers alike. Great for the tourneys or rec ball scene. The price gives you more options to look into with getting it ready for play. I would definately recommend this marker for anyone who is serious about their game, no matter what game it may be.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MoneyBags56 Wednesday, August 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
G7, Impulse, E-blade, Ion,
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix, Pb Advantage Virtue Board, Dye Ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any upgrade board, clamp feed neck, barrel
Strengths: Right out of the box shoots great, good trigger allows anyone to rip on it,
Weaknesses: There isn't a clamping feed neck, barrel
Review: I got this gun less than a month ago and have played with it for about 3 or 4 times. Throughout that time i have shot maybe 2 cases of paint threw it and it hasn't broken a single ball either in the breech or the barrel (ultralite not stock). Out of the box it shot fine and with no problem i could easily rip. Not only that but it could shoot at both low and high pressure which didn't make me have to buy a low or high pressure screw on. However there was just one little thing i disliked about the gun and that was, no clamp feed neck. In the end it is still a great gun and with a new board it makes it all so much sweeter. Also its a great buy!
Conclusion: Great
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media