paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix

Proto Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 207
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $995

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Matching Proto Barrel - Internal Modular LPR - Hyper-2 in line regulator - Revised Anti-Chop eye system - An industry first, composite eyeplate - Continuous 3 dimensional body design - Compact ergonomicly designed milling - Lightweight compact body - Proto Matrix Sticky grip - LED program control - Ergonomic 45 grip frame - Removable one peice FUSE bolt system - Adjustable trigger sensitivity
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21
        Next Page
teamdamage05 Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker,timmy,ecockers,bushmasters,freestyles,spyders
Marker Setup: proto matrix blck/red ,45/45 crossfire low,red halo with rip drive,all american barrel,system x slider on/off,cp roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
if u want a feed neck,if u need a cheater board,for sho a barrel
Strengths: This gun rips better than any gun ever used
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This gun hella rips with the board i recommend this gun to anyone .Its cheap and better looking than a dm5 or dm4 .I got mine for 975 with a board on it from thematrixcenter but u can get it at paintballace for 899 but thats me though.What i really like about it is that its light and small.
Conclusion: I recommend the gun to anyone u will save money if u get this instead of a dm4 or dm5
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 15th, 2005 at 6:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintfreak612 Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4's and 5's, they are very similar to the proto.
Marker Setup: Red/Black Proto Matrix #462
Cp Roller Trigger
Hybrid Grips
CCM Lo Rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cp Roller Trigger
New Feedneck
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Weight
Looks
Consistant
Great Eyes
Dye fixes everything for free
Price
Weaknesses: Mine's a gas hog
Has some Problems sometimes
Review: STRENGTHS-

SPEED/ACCURACY-
This is a very fast gun. It rarely breaks paint (1 in like 2000), and it is very accurate. This gun amazed the first time I shot it. I shoot awesome ropes, a consistant 16 bps every time. This is definately up in the ranks of DM4's and DM5's.

WEIGHT-
This gun is also very light. 1.9 lbs. Amazing. It is 2 oz. lighter than a DM5 and 4 oz. lighter than a DM4. It also remains light with a full tank and loader.

LOOKS-
At first, I wasn't all too big a fan of the milling, but it eventually grew on me. This gun is flat out sexy.

CONSISTANCY-
A very consistant gun (if your LPR is set right). I chrono like this: 289, 289, 290, 291, 290. A +/-2 fps tolerance, with a stock reg! Unreal! No chops, with great accuracy, what more can I ask for?

GREAT EYES-
The Proto uses break beam eyes, allowing any paint you might want. And they work very well. I've had only one eye problem, and that was fixed with an air compressor. Since then my eyes haven't failed me.

DYES FIXES EVERYTHING FOR FREE-
Self-explanatory.

PRICE-
$950 is a steal for such a great gun.

WEAKNESSES-

EFFICIENCY-
This is my major problem. I only get like 4 pods off of a 68/3000 fill. I have learned to deal with this, but it is annoying to fill my tank so often. I am hoping the bolt-tape mod will help.

OTHER PROBLEMS-
You must be very careful with this gun. I have already broken 2 wires. I am afraid to work on my gun because of it. When working on your gun, you must be careful. Thankfully, Dye fixes everything for free.
Conclusion: This gun is great. It has everything I could ever ask for. It does have minor problems, but for every weakness, there is a lot more good. And because of this, I give it a 10. Good job Dye/Proto, keep up the good work. Go ahead and buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dienasty123 Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5, DM4, angels
Marker Setup: Proto matrix Black/Blue fade
68ci 4500 Lpr crossfire n2
new designs twister feedneck (no rise)
Egg2
System x Drop
Dye ultralight 14 in barrel
Mushasi 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
N2 (you need it)
Fast hopper to keep up w/ how fast you will rip with it
Strengths: accuracy
speed (It is FAST)
weight
People you will get out with it
Weaknesses: Feedneck is not clamp. For $35 problem sloved.
Review: This gun is very nice. If you are thinking about buying one do it. I did and was very happy when i played with it. The gun is so fast. You will be getting people out all day with it. The barrel that comes stock with it is ok... but you could get a new one. If you don't have the money for a new barrel, you will still be fine. The gun is very accurate even with the stock barrel. Buy this gun and you will be very happy.
Conclusion: Buy the gun it is amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 29th, 2005 at 1:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

greeney123 Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
evil omen, autococker, 03 matrix, tippmann 98c response, nothing compares!!!
Marker Setup: 05 blue proto matrix
halo b
68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
roller bearing trigger
FAST, FAST, loader
longer barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
speed
light weight
easily maintained
dosnt chop
Weaknesses: Only comes with a 12" barrel
Review: Right when i got the proto i fell in love with it. I got an Eclipse bottomline and that's all it need and was ready to. I went to the field and ripped it and almost died the thing is so fast AT 24BPS. It was so accurate the shots were never more than 2 inches apart .
It is basically a DM4. The box it came in was so small i was suprised it could fit in it.
For under 1K it is definitely the best gun you could buy
Conclusion: Every1 should have 1
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Twitch_Kamakazi Saturday, March 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4 Fly, 2k2 Angel, 2k1 Angel, DM4, DM5, Dark Impulse, E-Cockers
Marker Setup: 2005 Proto Matrix Black/Blue Fade
Function On/Off
New Designz Clamping Feeneck
Empire Reloader- B
NitroDuck 68ci/3,000 PSI Fiber Wrapped tank
04 DYE Rhino Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feeneck
Fast Hopper
An On/Off (It doesn't come with one)
Strengths: Rate of Fire
Weight (2.8 lbs)
Reg
Stock Preformance
Matrix Rebuild Kit
Weaknesses: No On/Off included
Stock feedneck doesn't clamp
Review: This gun is simply amazing, by far the best marker I have ever shot. If I had to choose between a Proto, DM4 or DM5, I would choose the Proto. The Proto opperates at a slightly higher pressure than a DM4 or DM5, about 220psi. It makes it more air efficiant, but also adds a little kick. Its nothing to worry about though, its not like it will throw your aim off. It is smaller than a DM4 or DM5, making it lighter. Something that surprised me was how quiet this gun is. I've read reviews that complain a lot about the stock barrel. First off, no, it isn't an Ultralite or Boomstick. It is still made by DYE though, so it is very accurate for a stock barrel. The only problem I ever had was the paint didn't match exactly, I think it had been left in the sun and it had swolen so it didn't fit exactly. I switched out barrels and cleaned off my bolt and re-lubed it, and never had another problem with it. I shot about 3 cases through it within the first 2 days of getting it, and never chopped once. The eyes are some of the best I have ever used. The reg is very consistant, and the entire gun is easy to take care of. Lube your bolt often, and you shouldn't have a problem. The gun comes with a Matrix Rebuild Kit that has replacement screws, o-rings, ball detents, just about everything you need if something goes wrong with your gun.
Conclusion: This is by far the best gun for the money I have ever shot. Consistant, accurate, quiet, light, and fast. I give this gun a 9/10 because I think it should include an On/Off as well as a clamping feeneck. Everything else is excelent though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 8:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stopher185 Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dm4
dm5
shockers of all types
impulses
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix
function clamping feedneck
halo b w/ rip drive
PMI 68cu x 4500psi hpa tank
shocktech on/off w/ #1 mini drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
as always a new barrel
new feedneck
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: ~~STRENGTHS~~
-fast
-weighs next to nothing
-fully adjustable (lpr, trigger dwell, trigger sensitivity, ROF, etc)
-accurate
-quiet (especially when lpr is turned down)
-no kick (also with lpr turned down)
-super efficient (with lpr adjusted)
-pretty much ready to rip out of box
-Pwnes like no other

~~WEAKNESSES~~
-long trigger pull out of box (personal preference)
-non- adjustable feedneck
-stock barrel isnt as good as it could be but still quite accurate
-doesnt come with tank adapter
Conclusion: Its a great gun, pricy, but very, very much worth the extra $$$. There isnt really anything that needs to be adjusted right out of the box, although you have to buy a tank adapter but after that its all just a matter of readjusting for personal preference. you will not regret buying this terriffic marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squid05 Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4 with halo b and v board
05 shocker dynasty
shocker vision
Diadem
Marker Setup: Autococker 04 prostock with eblade, freak kit, delrin bolt, Pure energy regulator, Halo B rip drive an dvictory board
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel 2 piece
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
bets overall gun i have shot
Weaknesses: Poor barrel for the amount of money spent on this gun
Review: Best gun i have ever used/ tested most accurate and fast gun to perfect out of the box i shot a case of paint opne hopper without breakin one ball at 20-21 bps. this has a good look but could have changed it a little so it doesnt look like a dm4 or dm5 it is extremely light even with my heavy halo fully loaded.
Conclusion: this is an amazing gun BUY it if you are looking for a tournemant ready gun right out of the box it is way better then a dm4 or dm5 in my opinion.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Catfish2850 Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older Trixes
Timmy's
And others
Marker Setup: Black to blue Proto Matrix
68/4500 PE
Halo B
Empire Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
1st get a clamping feedneck I got a Function clamp.
2nd get better barrel, stock is ok
Strengths: Quiet
Light
Fast
Accurate
Weaknesses: Needs a clamping feedneck.
Review: 1st I took my new Proto out of the box and looked it over.Anno on my marker was very good.No flaws on anno no scratches of any kind any where on marker.I then took a look in the book for operating instructions.2nd manual on the Proto was well written and had real good diagrams of the internals of the Proto.It also gives you valuable info for maintaining your Proto for optimal performance.So after reading manual I learned that the settings were very user friendly.3rd i added my air source to the Proto and turned it on.The marker pressurized and I had no leaks at all.4th I took Proto to chrono to test it out.According to the manual it should be shooting around 285fps out of the box.I chronoed gun and got 288,285.290.I was impressed with the settings out of the box so I left the velocity alone.5th I shot marker and noticed that it was very quiet with my barrel I was using(did not use stock barrel because paint was not matched to it).Also I noticed that I had little to no kick with this gun,which was a big plus for me.6th went to airball field to play a game.Proto was fast and accurate.Marker was real comfortable to hold, no fatigue at all while holding marker.After running 500 balls through marker I went to chrono again and was getting same results as when first testing.So back to field I go.After shooting 2500 balls on the first day I called it a day.I have had zero problems as of date.Marker never chopped and never had any shoot down problems.Air efficiency seemed to be good with my 45/4500 tank.
Conclusion: Personally for the price at my local shop I could have not gotten better deal.This marker really surprised me with its performance.I would suggest shopping around for one because I got mine around 125.00 less than most internet sites list them for.I give it a 9 for performance and looks.But with the well written manual which many markers don't come with now and days its getting 10 overall.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 11:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rudgore Friday, March 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4
Marker Setup: proto dye clamping feed neck redz pepper stick kit reloader-b crossfire 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, barrel
Strengths: Price, Speed, Weight, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck and barrel
Review: This marker for the price is the best that you can go with smaller and more air efficient than a dm4 and costs less than a dm4 or dm5. The only thing you really have to do is put a different barrel on it the feed neck wil fit a stock unsanded halo tightly with no problems at all. Like the dm4/5 the wireing could be better but at least they got rid of the stupid membrane buttons that always burn out. if for any reason you are thinking of spending the money for a dm5 dont take the extra 300 and buy a good barrel kit and a feed neck and then use the rest to play.
Conclusion: Buy it you wont be sorry best bang for the buck out there
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyefire77 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4 and shocker w/ nerve board
Marker Setup: proto matrix
14" sceptar barrel kit
egg
dye drop forward
cp roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
and if u dont have an egg or halo u will need one
Strengths: -Very accurate
-Silent
-Small
-no kick
-Fast
-Cheaper then dm4 and better
-Nice stock trigger
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel isn't the greatest
Review: This a very nice gun. it is small and sleek looking. it shoots extremely accurate and is very quiet. I like it better then the dm4. it shoots faster then the dm4, its lighter, smaller and cheaper. I like the stock trigger better then many of the other aftermarket triggers. overall its a really nice gun
Conclusion: I would say buy this gun if u can it's well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 2:10 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media