paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix

Proto Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 207
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $995

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Matching Proto Barrel - Internal Modular LPR - Hyper-2 in line regulator - Revised Anti-Chop eye system - An industry first, composite eyeplate - Continuous 3 dimensional body design - Compact ergonomicly designed milling - Lightweight compact body - Proto Matrix Sticky grip - LED program control - Ergonomic 45 grip frame - Removable one peice FUSE bolt system - Adjustable trigger sensitivity
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21
                            
pspoolman Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine- No Comparison
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix
Empire B
3000/47 air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (instantly)
Strengths: Quiet
Fast
Air Efficient
Weaknesses: Small bore Barrel
Review: I recently upgraded from a Spyder Imagine to the Matrix. They are like night and day. I was unsure between the dm4 and the matrix but after talking to my local store and semi pro players I decided on the matrix. In my area some players are selling the dm4s and buying Matrixs. Out of the box my matrix had a small air leak which disappointed me. After changing a couple of o-rings on the bolt I loaded some Proballs in the hopper and went out shooting barrel plugged about every 20 balls so I took the balls and gun to my local shop for some answers it turned out the barrel bore size is very small, so after a new dye barrel I went back out to try it again. The gun rips I have broke 1-2 balls out of about 3000. The eyes work great. As the manual says " get a very fast hopper". The gun is very quiet with no noticeable kick. I have been getting very good air efficiency. I love this gun. I have shot a DM4 and cant tell the difference. I don't think the DM4 is a better gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to any one wishing to step up there game. This will be the last gun you buy for a very long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wazzzup032190 Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, maybe dm5 if u throw an ultralight on it.
Marker Setup: dust blue/black fade, reloader b, centerflag 45/45, dust black 14" dye ul, shocktech micro drop, shocktech on/off, shocktech no rise.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, i went with dye ultralight, clamping feedneck, new board maybe???
Strengths: Fast, light, small, accurate and easy to maintain
Weaknesses: None
Review: I think this marker totally kicks a** it is very light and compact making it easy to run for the 50 off break or just to sit in the back and shoot lots of paint!!!

all u need is a fast loader, i went wit reloader b, and a nice tank and ur set to go.
this marker is set to go out of the box... it is ready to rip no pressure or setting needed.
all u need to throw on is a st no rise.

this gun comes in sick colors and u dont need to add anything!!!!

grab yours today!!
Conclusion: Get this gun as soon as possible!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andis149 Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
everything
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Proto Matrix
Diamond Blue Empire Reloader B
J&J Edge
Hybrid- grips, rail, and asa
shocktech trigger
ccm pro feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit
feedneck
Strengths: Lighter, cooler, faster, and less $$$ than dm4 or dm5
Buttery smooth trigger and opperation
Weaknesses: Dont mess w/ anything untill it's broken in!!!!!!!!atleast 2500 shots
Review: This gun is so fast and comfortable, much lighter than a dm4 and just about the same as a dm5. If you buy this gun make sure not to mess with ANYTHING out of the box untill it's broken in because it will screw evrything up(I learned from experiance). I really like how the feedneck fits a stock unsanded halo, makes it not completly necessary to get a new feedneck. Stock barrel is crap, just use a good kit.
Love this gun and the price makes it 10000x better!!
***no kick at all, but still bounces like crazy on a low DB setting*** Love It!
Conclusion: Buy this gun over any of dye's other guns and any other high end gun it just comes down to preference. I was kind of scared switching from my awsome timmy to this but now I have no regrets what so ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

keala Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Chick Chick Ir3 Fly, Impulse, Storm Timmy, 03 Matrix, 2003 shocker, tippman lol
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Proto Dm5, Halo B Victory Board, Freak Kit, tmc mini drop, kapp on/off, 3A 68ci 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
A clamp feed if you want
differant barrel
Strengths: This gun is uber fast, small lite, awesome operating pressure.
Weaknesses: None
Review: When I first saw this gun i had to have one, it looked sexy i the pictures and when i opened it it was ever better looking. the first thing i recomend is a trigger job. when i shot it it was uber fast and accurate at first i thought it was bouncing but thankfuly it was not. i didnt break or chop a single ball the whole time it was awesome the bolt was easy to take care of just like the dm4 but smaller a plus in my mind is to have gotten rid of the on off on the fron and just put the lpr in, cutting down on wieght and making the lpr easy to set. After shooting a Storm Timmy i switched to a 03 matrix and now i havn't left the matrix family yet these guns rock even the 03s if you are man enough to take the wieght, the proto is as realiable as the 03 and alot faster.
Conclusion: This gun kick a$$ you should buy one over a angel or timmy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkangel23_25 Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-cocker, DM4, DM5, Dye Matrix, Various Angels, Various timmys
Marker Setup: Blk/Red Proto Matrix
Shock tech claping feed neck
05 Dye mini drop
Dye throttle 68/4500
Halo B W/ rip drive and victory board
freak kit with stiffi tip
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast loader
fast loader
barrel
clamping feed neck
oh yeah! did i say fast loader?
Strengths: Speed
weight
price
speed
reliability
ease of use
Weaknesses: None
Review: When I first laid my hands on this gun I knew I was going to buy it. i went and sold my
E-cocker and went to my pro shop (Burleson paintball and scuba). Laid down $850.00
and was on my way. So i read the owners Manuel and realized that this would be the easist gun to get to know out of all i have owned. I aired it up and let it rip. Right off the bat i out ran my friends egg II with z board. 21 BPS (this right out of the box). then i traded and put the halo on it. a amazing 29 BPS. You don't get much higher than that. me and my friend compaired the proto and DM4 in speed, air efficency, and weight. the Proto came out on top in the speed and weight. And the air efficency was about the same. so next I compaired it to the new DM5. All of the tests came out the same. proto and DM5 seemed the same except the milling. i was shooting all of the guns so shooter was not the difference in the speed. angel 4 fly is not faster either so save your money. also tested and was not as good as the DM4.
Conclusion: As stated before this gun hangs with the best of them so unles you just have to have the newest and most talked about guns then save your money and buy the proto matrix. i am giving it a 10 because it compaired with these guns and the price was so much lower
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 26th, 2004 at 8:14 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

LiVe4PaiNtBaLL Thursday, November 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month33 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, Trauma Matrix
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Dust Proto Matrix
Custom Products Rail
Empire on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrel if you like bigger barrels.
Strengths: Trigger Programming, Accuracy, Consistency, The strings of paint you can rip with it.
Weaknesses: No weakness really, unless you like at least a 14 inch barrel.
Review: I just bought the proto matrix. I set it up, air'd it up and let her rip. The eyes are great and out of about 1000 shots no chopping at all, Every single ball hits the same spot, very air consistent as well. The trigger is awesome because its really light and it sort swings back like the DM4 trigger, which if you didnt know makes walking awesome.
A lot of people doubt the gun, I dont know why. Its a DM4/DM5 with a lil different looks and a different name on it. People think it dont say DYE on it so it cant be good, and the funny thing is, that is is made by dye, Proto is owned by them, and on the box it ses dye. This gun rips harder then most of the guns I ever played with
Conclusion: If you like to rip, and love the feeling of a perfect gun get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 11th, 2004 at 6:06 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Superdude169698 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month74 of 88 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, matrix
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix
Cp Roller Trigger
Proto 12" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Barrel if you want a 14" one
Strengths: Faster than dm4 stock
Accurate
Small and super light
Weaknesses: Comes with a 12" barrel
Review: This thing is better than the dm4! It is smaller and more compact then the dm4....and if you put them side by side stock, the proto shoots faster. The stock barrel on the proto is a 12" proto one piece barrel....and it throws darts. The only thing is that its not 14", so the range might be not as good as a 14"....but its great for a mid/ front player. This gun is so light... so it counteracts the heavy halos.... to be more center balanced. The kick on this is not even noticable. Its less than the dm4...to hardly nothing. This thing is a lot more air effecient than its predecessor, with only 1000 psi spent on a hopper and 3pods. The looks are great, and with the lpr being in front instead of the annoying on/off of the dm4....makes for a very user friendly gun. Just turn on and go. The buttons are the same for the dm4. The settings are friendly as well....all in the led interface. It says in the manual that this beast has trigger sensitivity (debounce) that can go to one.... and it warns you not to put it on one cause it will shoot full auto, and at 24.6 bps thats not a bad feature to have. Its definately a fun one.
Conclusion: All in all a great gun to get, save your money from getting a dm4 and get one of these... youll be just as happy, if not happier;
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
41 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media