paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix

Proto Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 207
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $995

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Matching Proto Barrel - Internal Modular LPR - Hyper-2 in line regulator - Revised Anti-Chop eye system - An industry first, composite eyeplate - Continuous 3 dimensional body design - Compact ergonomicly designed milling - Lightweight compact body - Proto Matrix Sticky grip - LED program control - Ergonomic 45 grip frame - Removable one peice FUSE bolt system - Adjustable trigger sensitivity
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Derek1387 Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 5
Stiffi 14"
Shocktech on/off
CCM Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt
Strengths: Inexensive, light, accurate
Weaknesses: Eyes
Review: Well, i bought this gun for 400 BNIB, and two days after i got it, the eyes went bad. I have heard of issues of this happeneing, but didnt htink that fast. I love this gun. Way fast, way smooth, way light. All i need now is the new bolt, and a board, but this gun is pretty good out of the box. i mean, its a Dye gun... why wouldnt it be....
Conclusion: Buy it, if your on a budget, it is a GREAT gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pber13 Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom and played some games with a friends shocker
Marker Setup: Black Tippman 98 custom with a 14" teardrop barrel and a ricochet apache LED loader
Olive dust Matrix with Apache loader, violent products clamping feedneck, tadao board, and Empire quik flip ASA with a 70/45 centerflag fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
since i am the 3rd owner of this Matrix, the previous owners have set the gun up very well. I will soon be getting a new regulator, because this one is losing consistency, and a new bolt with top hat mod for improved efficiency. A new barrel will help long distance shooting accuracy - I recommend St!ffi barrel or kit - tried one and it really helped long distance accuracy
Strengths: Accurate
Shoots very fast very easily
Light weight
Small profile
Eyes
Weaknesses: Hard to adjust trigger
No ASA stock
Low shots per tank
Review: After playing some games of speedball with my 98 custom I had had enough and started looking around for my next gun. At the local Proshop where I work, someone was selling a Matrix for $550 OBO. I talked to him and he told me he'd sell it for $400. I saved up my money for a few weeks and then bought it About 2 days later I came back with some paint to shoot it for the first time. When i took it to the chrono, I was dissapointed by consistency (+/- 10). (I am the third owner of this gun, so the regulator is a little old). I was able to hit a target about a foot in diameter very easily and consistently from 35-40 feet away. I also noticed how easy it was to get the trigger shooting very fast. The first time I shot it was the first time i had shot a double trigger gun, yet i was hitting 16-17 bps easily. When I played it was great because I was able to keep guys in their bunkers by shooting so fast and the light weight made it easy to run and slide with, while the low profile helped me snapshoot much better. The weaknesses I found in the gun were the efficiency (only about 800-900 shots with a 68/4500), and the amount of side-to-side play in the trigger, which hinders speed.
*Edit*
I just went yesterday and played woodsball with friends during day and played speedball that night and shot almost 2 cases through it and not one ball break anywhere, so the eyes work great. I did notice that at distances of 85+ feet, the accuracy is not so good, some balls start to curve, and the shot grouping is large. I also noticed I was filling up my borrowed 68/4500 tank almost every other game during speed ball, shooting like 350-400 rounds per game. My velocity fluctuated like +/- 10 on the chrono, but since both previous owners were both tourney players, i have no doubt that there have probably been more than 100 cases shot through this gun, so I probably need to rebuild my reg or get a new one. The light weight helps snapshooting a lot, I was getting people out snapping on my left hand side almost as much as I was shooting from my right side
Conclusion: This is a wonderful gun to upgrade to from a 98 custom. It is great for rec play and it would also do very well in any tournament. I recommend this gun to pretty much anyone, especially if you are looking for a new gun to upgrade to from your first gun, since you can buy these off ebay for like $350-$400 used and $600 new. Good accuracy , fast shooting and light weight make this gun a great choice. I'm very happy with my purchase, the gun was definately worth the money I paid. I'm giving this gun a 10 because even though the efficiency wasn't that great, all the other aspects of this gun more than make up for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 29th, 2006 at 11:27 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Gundam Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Matrix LCD
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator
Lucky Un1 Board
Scenario Dreams DMT Chip
Violent Products Bolt
AKA 2-Liter
AKA SCM3 LPR
Kila Magnetic Detents
Dye Ultralite Barrel
CP Twistlock Feedneck
CP Rake Trigger
CP Adjustable Ram Cap
Eigenram
Bunkerking Bruce Lee Grips
Empire Balanced Ram Sleeve
Race Solenoid
Lucky Colored Laser Eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lucky Bolt
Strengths: Lightweight
Very Little Kick
Very Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Bad Effeciency Results
Review: The Proto PM5 is a great marker and I owned one for 6 months. It was a great gun to have, but it had troubles during tournaments. The only disappointment from it that I experienced was poor effeciency. It would get 1000 shots on a 68/4500 tank with the Lucky bolt and top hat mod installed. Recently, I got rid of it and built a custom Alias. If I had the chance to get another PM5, I would because of its reliability. There are many available upgrades options and Proto/Dye has great customer service.
Conclusion: This gun was great while it lasted and I wish that I could get another one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zaj Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: It has very good accuracy. It has a very quick shot.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love this gun it has great accuracy and doesn't need to be upgraded very much. I have shot around 4000 rounds and has never broke a ball in my playing and shooting time. When you bring it to the field it catches everyone's eye. It is an awesome all around gun in my opinion.
Conclusion: I think is a must buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

|[!nf4m0u$]| Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5
Dm6
DMC
PM6
Marker Setup: Lucky bolt, tadao m5, Ultralite, CP trigger, Unimount, Shocktech reg, CCM feedneck, 68/3000, VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Trigger
Feedneck
Strengths: Low kick
Speed
Stock barrel accuracy
Looks (size and milling)
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Blown o-ring here and there
Review: When i first opened the box for my proto matrix, i was super surprised to see how small it was, yet alone how small the box was. Right out of the box my gun ripped, and it ripped hard. This gun has yet to let me down, and has brought me to the podium many times. Get a good top hat mod and a nice barrel, fast hopper, and your set. Don't forget to bring LOTS of paint, as this thing will paint people all day. Shoots very accurate, and has very little kick. I have my LPR ar 3 turns out, with my dwell at 15, running VERY smooth. The odd bolt clean after a few practice it a must, but thats only a small price to pay for a gun of this caliber.
Conclusion: In the end, i find the proto matrix (with the right upgrades,) will out shoot almost any gun, even out of the box its mint. I highly reccomend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ifightthefoo Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm6, Dm4, Pm6
Marker Setup: Black Proto Matrix with Red eye covers, red misjunction grips, CP reg, JDS Lpr, Hybrid bolt guide, Dye ultralite barrel with stiffi tip, virtue board, Cp roller trigger, Dye feedneck, Pure Energy 45/4500 tank, and Empire Reloader B.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately get a new trigger, I really like the CP roller trigger. A new barrel too, the stock barrel isnt that bad but an ultralite is better. JDS lpr isnt a must but its nice to have. Hybrid bolt guide for a little better gas efficiancy and it looks cool and it requires no tool to get to the bolt. I would say get an adjustable feeneck too. And if you happen to have an extra $250, I would recommend getting an ultralite frame.
Strengths: Very little kick, quiet, shoots ropes, cheap.
Weaknesses: Unavailability of upgrades.
Review: First of all, this is one of my favorite guns I have ever shot. I love the feel and look of it. It is very quite and easy to maintain. If there is ever a problem with it, then there is just a broken o ring on the bolt. They are sooo simple. It only consist of a lpr, bolt, solonoid, reg, and bolt. There arent too many problems that can occur. I remeber the first time I shot a Pm5 I loved it. It shot ropes, was amazingly quite, and looked damn sexy. The trigger on this gun is amazing and smooth. I havent shot it with a stock board but with a virtue board this gun rippsss. It can shoot as fast as my hopper feeds. I put it on unlimited ramping and shot 28 bps! With no chops. This gun feels sooo nice in my hands and is really comfotable to shoot. This gun shoots ropes that are ball on ball. It is almost as accurate as my Karnivor. All I know is that this gun is a BEAST and if you can get one for around 500 then go for it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to paintballers of all ages. This gun is consistant, accurate, and fast. If you can get a stock one for around 450-500 then I would definately recommend getting it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

spagetti Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive tested dm5 and its basically the same gun just the the proto is a little hevier and different electronics(but i upgraded mine so now its exactally the same)
Marker Setup: 05 blue\black fade Proto Matrix
Empire Reloader B(diamond blue)
Dye PM5 Ultralite Grip frame
Dye Ultralite 2 peice Barrel 16inch .688
ANS 6800 with Empire 06 bottle cover
DMC feed neck
Hybrid on\off asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
it doesnt come with an asa so u have to get that
feed neck(any clamping feed neck will do)
Barrel(you already paid big big money on the gun so go ahead and get a dye ultralite)
PM5 Dye ultralite grip frame (not necessary at fist but u will need it later)
Strengths: Basically a dm but like $400-$500 cheaper
Weaknesses: Dosent come with asa
No clamping feed neck
Not the best stock barrel
Review: ok,here we go
I had been waiting all week for my new Matrix to get in.After snatching the package out of the delivery guy's hands and running inside I opened it. it was packaged very professionally but that is to be exspected after buying a $700 marker. When i look in the box it has all the normal things manual, tool kit,oring kit,barrel bag,and battery.But OH NOO!!! when i took the gun out and looked at the grip it had no groove for a slide on asa.
That meant i couldn't shoot it til the weekend. When the weekend came i took it to a local field that had a proshop they put a drop forward on it so i could put my asa on it.
I then put my tank on and it aired up fine and had no leaks.Then i grabbed my mask and went to the target range. I chronoed it and it was very consistent . The stock trigger was very fast without any adjustment. One weakness is right out of box is that it is a air hog.Ive been usin it for a year now and that has cleared up though.
As exspected the stock barrel wasn't any good. You should get a dye ultralite barrel.it is one of the best barrels in the world plus its looks so cool on Protos and DMs.
Also the feed neck was junk. just putt any clamping feed neck on there.
Later on if you feel like getting into tourney play or just like you are surpassing the guns abilites the Dye PM5 ultralite 45 grip frame is a necessary choice. It is a whole new bottom half for your gun. It comes with a new trigger, new grips a new board with psp and millinium series ramping modes, and a grove for your asa so u dont have to have a drop forward.

All of these upgrades are expensive so I just bought them over a period of time. I would recomend getting barrel and feed neck first.
Conclusion: it is a great gun, if u want the preformance of a dye Dm but dont have $1200 pick this baby up.nothing is perfect so i give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 24th, 2006 at 10:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

styxmiller101 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A-5 not similar but its the only other gun ive used, 05 proto makes the A-5 look like garbage.
Marker Setup: Empire reloader B
stock barrel
4500 psi nitro system X
Recommended
Upgrades:
either a feed neck or sand down your hopper.
Strengths: Very fast, light, cool looking, awesome trigger.
Weaknesses: Kicks a little bit.
Review: This gun is amazing. I recently upgraded from an A-5 and it was the best decision of my life. this gun is extreamly accurate with its stock barrel. very light. This gun can take on any other gun.I would reccomend this gun to any one who wants to be the best. The trigger on this gun is sweet. I was shooting guys through tiny cracks in there bunkers, this gun is accurate as heck.
Conclusion: very good buy. A little expensive though. i bought mine used and it still is amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 24th, 2006 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lenore996 Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have not actually fired the proto 06 but i hve held it. It does surpass some aspects of the proto 05, but it is also 100 dollars more. pretty much the only reason i would buy the 06 is because its lighter and has a better board.
Marker Setup: proto 05 with a chrome custom products bottomline.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a custom products bottomline and a virtue board.
Strengths: Its FAST!! its light, it has a pretty decent stock board.
Weaknesses: It does not include a bottom lline. Other than that none what so ever.
Review: Through out all my years playing paintball i have never encountered a high end inexpensive gun quite like the proto 05. Its light, its fast (24 balls a second with ramp) and it looks cool! The only fault i found was there was no bottom line included. other than that this gun is amazing. I would reccomend the proto 05 to anyone lookin to buy a high end inexpensive gun.
Conclusion: Buy this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tmac01baller Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom - Great gun for beginners with tons of upgrades
Spyder Pilot ACS '06 - Cool firing modes but chopped way more that i liked. ACS bolt is basically pointless.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 2005
CP on/off
Hybrid Grips
Virtue Board
Halo B w/ Victory board and RIp Drive
Crossfire 68ci/4500
CCM no rise feedneck
CP roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
- A new board, stock board has no modes
- Some may want a new barrel but it worked fine for me
- Trigger, though stock one is easy to walk
- Feedneck
- Really fast hopper


- ASA, as one is not included
Strengths: Accurate stock
Very Efficient
Fast
Quiet
Light
Weaknesses: My experience with it has had no problems whatsoever.
Review: Where do i begin. This gun is amazing. At first i was a little hesistant as i was not sure whether i should get a DM4 or DM5 but after just taking it to the field i can now say that my choice was a good one. This gun is super fast and with the virtue board you will not be stopped. The gun is super efficient as i was always at +/- 2! There is no kick and the gun is really quiet. The stock barrel was crazy accurate. I could easily get a headshot playing woodsball at 90ft. In one game a guy didnt think i could hit him so he kept poking his head out and taking snap shots. Well i took 3 quick shots at him and he walked off. After the game he showed me where i hit him twice in his mask (I patted myself on the back). I didnt even have to arc the barrel. One of the guys had a DM5 at the field when i arrived and he was shooting it off to the side trying to show off. So i went and got my Proto and with the a little Virtue i was able to easily outshoot him. He let me try out his Ultralite barrel and the gun got even quiter. I did get a chop on the field but when i looked down i saw that i had been playing on a low battery for like 20 minutes. Had i fully read the manual i would have seen that the flashing light had been telling me that the whole time. Another thing i was worried about was the ease of use. I had been using a Spyder pilot which was fairly easy to keep and maintain so when i got the Proto i was worried about me not knowing how to take care of it. Well let me tell you the manual makes it so a baby could maintain the gun. The eyes are also a big plus as they always made sure a ball was fully seated in the breach. They can even tell the difference between a paintball and you finger just blocking it!
Conclusion: There is really no point in getting a DM4 or DM5 as they are just a much more expensive upgraded Proto. I almost made that mistake and now i see how much more money i would have had to spend. You feel you have a good gun when people come up to you and aske you what it is. But you know you have a good one when you are the first picked for every game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media