paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix

Proto Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 207
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $995

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Matching Proto Barrel - Internal Modular LPR - Hyper-2 in line regulator - Revised Anti-Chop eye system - An industry first, composite eyeplate - Continuous 3 dimensional body design - Compact ergonomicly designed milling - Lightweight compact body - Proto Matrix Sticky grip - LED program control - Ergonomic 45 grip frame - Removable one peice FUSE bolt system - Adjustable trigger sensitivity
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
ikey Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, other high ends
Marker Setup: stock karnivor
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck, trigger, bolt, baord
Strengths: Light, fast with new trigger, high quality, crazy accurate!!!
Weaknesses: Air isnt super good, trigger could be better
Review: this is a great gun. it is light weightin in at 2 pounds 15.8 ounces with teh stock barrel and bottom line. keep in mind my karni weights 3 pounds exactly and a shocker with a brrel and bottom line is 2.5 pounds. so its pretty light. it feels lighter due to great weight distribution. the trigger is a bit lacking, but with an aftermarket trigger the gun is very fast. This gun is crazy accurate!!! i can put ball on bal without even trying. i know know why some people say statistically trixs are the most accurate guns. it was probably one of the most accurate guns ive ever shot. the baord is good for stock, but not as good as the WAS and frezy baords and junk other guns come stock with. i guess if you feel teh need you can upgrade it. if you halo is unsanded you might want a feedneck. this gun gets about 1100 off a 68/4500, and has noooo kick, just like any otehr matrix. shoots very very smooth. it is one of my favorite guns for this reason. milling and anno is very good....much better looking in person. the gun is super high quality just liek all of dye products. it is very easy matenece. all around great gun. very few guns are worth their money, but this one is. for example, i have a karni. i bought it used but 1000 new....rediculous. when the g7 came out, 2000, no way. is a XSV ego really worth 1600? dude ur rich, or you have nothing to do with your money, cause 05 egos are like 800. these are amazing guns but im trying to say for 700 you get sooo much with this gun.
Conclusion: This gun is definitely worth the 700 new for it. it screams of dye quality and just overall shoots great. i give it a 9 for teh littel things it lacks that some other high ends come stock with these days (feed neck, better trigger), and because it could have better effiecny and baord and stuff, minor, but they could be there so its not perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 7:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BeeB Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
tippmanns
spyders
custom cockers
ravens
06 proto
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
collapse able stock
drop foward
16' sniper barrel
gettin 2005 proto
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
new trigger
Strengths: Speed(30bps)
looks
feel
Weaknesses: None
Review: These guns r very nice they r made very good and shoot very nice and there really light and look good and right now they cost really cheap so the totally worth it.The guns shoot up 2 30bps and the up 2 40-50cps so there insanley fast and there 1heck of a gun u have to buy!!
Conclusion: Great gun must get!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ProtoMTRX Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo-doesn't even come close.
Marker Setup: '05 Olive Matrix
CP on/off ASA
Hybrid Contract Killer grips
New reverse-rake trigger
Brand New light weight Bolt - NO KICK AT ALL
CP Feed Stack
Code-X chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a new on/off ASA; The stock trigger is great, But a new one, you just can't beat it; New Feed neck... and maybe a new barrel. Stock is great, but you can always use a new barrel. Also, a new chip in the gun.
Strengths: Very Light-weight. Great design. Stock Barrel very accurate. Very durable.
Weaknesses: Some Kick, New bolt fixes right up.
Review: All in all, this is a great gun over-all. Very light weight, easy to clean/fix/upgrade. Shoots very straight and VERY fast. Has Some kick with the stock bolt in the gun, but just buy the upgraded bolt, and you'll be all set. The stock board also is a great feature about the gun. The set-up for any chip of this gun is very easy. The matrix also uses the 12v battery pretty quick. Probably around 3-4 cases of paint, you'll need to change the battery but that understandable.
Conclusion: This marker is deffinetly 1 of the best. Numerous upgrades available. Buy te gun stock, and you are ready to play in a tourny. Great overall performance, maintenance and appearance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheArk Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
almost every type of high end gat
Marker Setup: olive 05 proto matrix
NDZ on/off
modded eggy
nitro duck x-stream
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, barrel, trigger, asa, bolt
Strengths: Light
sexy
fast
Weaknesses: Leaky
Review: Around september i got a 05 olive proto matrix and it was the sweetest thing ever. first thing i did was re-adjust the trigger, get nice bouncy settings, change the lpr and get an asa cuz it dosnt come with one, then i slapped on my tank and hopper and went out to the chrony. As with any un-broken in reg the hyper 2 wasnt at its best out of the box so efficiancy wasnt too great but it was +/- 5 out of the box, so i was happy. This thing mows mad faces, its fast as an ego or any other high end and its even quieter, with absolutly zero kick. After having it for a few months it sprung a few leaks, so dye is teching it for me for free, cuz they're customer service is the best ever =) buy one
Conclusion: Get one...unless your rich, then get the 06 modle
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mkimmer Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, DM5, etc.
Marker Setup: 05 Proto Matrix with M3 programming, Freak barrel, 68/4500 Angel Air, Grey Dye Rhino cover, Smoke Halo B with Victory Board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Updated ramping board, JDS reg (not required, but really really good to have)
Strengths: Small, Lightweight, Efficient, Spool Valve gun, quiet.
Weaknesses: As with all DM's first shot drop off can be a problem.
Review: I used this gun for a little while. It has been by far my favorite gun to use. I love the way it shoots. It is so quiet and it is really accurate. I would recomend this gun to anyone wanting a high end gun that is easy to maintain. The Proto is not very complicated, so anyone can take it apart and put it back together. I love how small and light it is. Just get you a nice barrel kit and you are basically ready to go!
Conclusion: This Proto is just like the other Dye matric series, only smaller and more efficient. I love this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BunkeringBacon Wednesday, January 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech Matrix, E-Cocker, Angel Speed, Angel IR3, Bob Long Timmy
Marker Setup: 18" and 14" inch Dye Ultralight
Crossfire 92cu 4500psi
Tadao Technologies Musashi 5.0 Programming
Dye No-Rise Rubber Feedneck
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
1.) New Board or Memory Flash (If you are planning on doing tournaments that allow different firing modes)
2.) Barrel
3.) Feedneck
4.) Bottom Line (Not really an upgrade, since it didn't come w/ one)
5.) Roller Trigger (or the new Ultralight Frame)
6.) Halo B (This is almost a must)
Strengths: 1.) Fast RoF
2.) Price
3.) Accurate
4.) Quiet
5.) Low Pressure
6.) Light weight
Weaknesses: 1.) No bottom line feed
2.) Feed Neck
3.) Weak wires
4.) Gas efficiency
Review: Looks and Feel
When I first got the marker, I was quite surprise how small it was (not to mention how it was really light too). All the market ads made this marker look a lot larger then it really was, it isnít until you actually hold it, that you realize how small it really is. The milling in my opinion isnít the sweetest looking on the market, but that is just my opinion, yet it still has a really nice look to it. As for the feel, it is light weight and compact, which makes it a pleasure to carry around. I know some people have complained about the Matrix series having too little of a kick, but I like the low kick on all the matrixes, which gives it a really smooth feel when shooting strings of paint. Overall it has a good look and a great light weight feel.

Performance
This is where your money makes it really the worth while; this thing can send stings of paint just like its DM cousins and is just as accurate. The low pressure operation, gives it a smooth rhythm when firing. The accuracy was really nice too, and all the shoots had nice tight groupings. Like all Matrixes, the gas efficiency isnít the greatest in the world, although I was able to shoot off around a 1000 balls (full hopper and 6 pods) w/ a 2800psi fill in a 92psi tank. Although I also had the ghetto hat mod on it too, this raises the operating pressure to make it more efficient, although I still had air to spare after that too, so I plan to remove the mod in favor of a lower operating pressure. Since I am speedball/tournament player (which is the target customer of this marker), this really isnít a problem, since I fill my tank before each game (call me paranoid, but I donít want to run out of air during a game). All in all this is an excellent performing marker just like its DM cousins, and is lighter then most of them too.

Maintenance
Well the general preventive maintenance is nice in easy. The FUSE bolt makes it extremely easy, as all you need is an Allen/hex wrench to remove the stock version. All you need is lube it and check the all the O-rings are in good shape. Although here is downside of the maintenance, the wiring is pretty weak and you need to be careful when removing the frame, although this is not a common procedure for preventive maintenance. Also Other then that it is a pretty easy marker to maintain.

Needed Improvements
First off, it was missing a bottom-line feed, which I really didnít care about, since I wanted to buy the Dye bottom-line feed anyway. Yet this helps cut down on some of the cost too. The feed neck is okay by my standard, as it can hold a Halo B hopper (thatís un-sanded too), which was nice. Although if you are one of those players that run and slide, you will definitely need to get a clamping feed neck, so your hopper doesnít fall off. A new board or a memory flash would also be a good idea too, so you can tournament legal for some tournaments. Also upgrade software generally has better coding for the trigger sensitivity and anti-bouncing. As for the barrel, I honestly never used it, so I can not give you my opinion on it. I look at barrels like hoppers and air tanks, as being necessary add-ons to the marker. Also I highly recommend getting a Halo B with it, so you can take advantage of its speed.
Conclusion: This is an excellent marker, and you get more then you pay for. I highly recommend this marker to anybody wanting to get into the tournaments, yet do not want to spend the money on more expensive markers. This is great because you get the about the same performance as the Dye Matrixes (DM), but at a lower price. And since Proto is owned by Dye, you are pretty much getting the same quality from Dye.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 20th, 2006 at 7:40 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PB CHAMP Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
Marker Setup: proto matrix 5
50/68 evil scion tank
cp on/off
cp feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
locking feed neck
on/off air switch
Strengths: this gun has every aspect
-speed
-weight
-size
-ACE
-style
Weaknesses: There were no problems that i have seen, and probably wont be any.
Review: this gun is ready right out of the box. i need a new hopper because my EVO II cant feed over 19bps and this gun can go over 20+ BPS like nothing. its much lighter than an ion, looks sexy, is compact,never chops NEVER,and makes everyone around you look at it in awe. this gun is by far the best gun ever. its very reliable, and doesnt chop, and shoots fast as hell. also this gun is cheap. i got mine for $730 brand new because it was a 2005 model. i would reccommend this gun to anyone that takes this sport seriously. and i dont want anyone writing a comment saying "o this gun sucks, your all wrong"!!! do you know why i dont want to hear that? BECAUSE ITS NOT TRUE!!!
Conclusion: Thisgun is perfect in all aspects. i give it a 10/10 because thats the highest. i wanted to give it like a 200,000/10!!! lol
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Di Notte I Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trauma Matrix, DM4, Nerve, Shocker, Strange Impulse
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Black/Blue
Dye Ultralight 14"
Dye DMC Feedneck
Dye Drop
Dye 05 on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck - I'm comfortable w/ the DMC feedneck
Barrel - Not saying the stock barrel is bad, but there's always room for improvement.
Trigger - I recommend you get the spring trimmed down

Strengths: Light
Fast
Accurate
What more could you ask for?
Weaknesses: ...No problems, Yet.
Review: Excellent gun. I like how it performs. Taking it apart is fairly easy, It's lighter more compact and faster then the DM4. It has excellent air efficency. I also like messing with the settings. Debounce is a fun one to play around with. Setting it lower increases the speed of your gun. I clocked mine at 28 bps with the debounce set on 1, did i mention this is all with the stock board? Not only does it perform flawlessly but it's dead sexy. This gun will definately bring you to the next level of paintball.
Conclusion: Buying one used seems like it'd be the best way to go. I've seem a few go for under $400 and for that price and the performancem, how can you go wrong with it? I'd deffinately recommend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow21 Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gameface
WGP
System X
Kingman
etc...
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix
Halo B
PMI 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
barrel
bolt
Strengths: Stock trigger
Barrel
Fast
Eye covers
Accurate
Cheap
Weaknesses: Little kick
Feedneck
Review: I finally had a chance to shoot this with over 500 balls...

Speed:

It rips. With an uncapped board with the eyes on, of course it is fast. Still, fast at 24 bps with eyes off. I highly reccomend getting a force feed hopper of any kind, HALO, Reloader, Eggy. At higher speeds, you will have a little kick with everything stock.

Accuracy:

The stock barrel is extremly good. About a 12'' spread with 50 balls at 50 -70 ft. I was using off brand balls, yet extremly good. I would reccomend upgrading it anyways.

Weight:

Fairly light, not the lightest. The milling is pretty plain, yet is still very light. The weight of the gun effects the kick also. As I said, it has some pretty good kick at higher ROF and higher FPS.

Efficency:

Fair efficency. I am getting roughly 700 shots off a 68/3000. I havent had time to sweetspot the regulator yet. I am sure I can get atleast 800 off it later.

Consistency:

Very good. I had a consistency change of about 2+/- fps once my regulator finally got broken in. I wouldnt say you have to upgrade it, since it is one of the more consistent regs out there.

Maintenance:

You have to oil and lube everything overy 60,000 shots, not bad. Very easy to get bolt out and lube it. Everything else is pretty much teh same, unscrewing with allen wrench.

Overall: I would give this a 10 due to reliability, what it comes with stock. Very quiet, accurate, overall a great gun...I cant describe it any other way than a great gun.
Conclusion: Get it...make sure you use AIR, and make sure you have fun...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coleman13 Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4,dm5
Marker Setup: 06 ego
Dye throttle peanut tank
all maerican barrel
halo b w/ rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend a feedneck and a new trigger
Strengths: Fast, quiet, small
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sux
Review: This is a good gun, I had some problems with it at first though, the o ring in the swivle seat kept going bad. But once I got it working it never messed up on me again, and has brought our team to many wins. This gun is good gun for both front and back or in between.
Conclusion: Overall I would recomend this gun to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media