paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM5 / Dye DM5 / Dye DM5 / Dye DM5

Dye DM5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM5

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM5
[ View Photos (59) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 103
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
01. Accuracy at its finest, the standard Ultralite™ 14" barrel.
02. The DM5's integrated on/off air supply allows you to de-gas your marker at any time.
03. Consistent air plow through the Hyper2 in-line air regulator.
04. Internal anti-chop eye sensing system, provides trouble free high rate of fire.
05. The low 170psi operating pressure provides smooth operating performance with less shot bounce
06. Continuous three dimensional contoured body design boasts the elegant look of the DM5.
07. Completely adjustable trigger design allows you to customize your trigger position and refraction point. Trigger rolling bearing inserts give trigger stability and smooth swing return.
08. Light weight compact body, length reduced by 1/2 inch
09. DM5 Sticky3 grip is standard and provides an anatomically correct fit for your hand.
10. High intensity LED provides identification to program functions.
11. Ergonomic 45 frame provides the correct fit angle for trigger pull ease. Additional integrated dovetail and rear hook allows for easy carrying on and off the field.
12. Removable one-piece Fuse™ bolt system provides easy internal access and maintenance.
13. The modular internal LPR provides shot consistency and quality.
14. Low profile feed port with adjustable clamp neck allows you to use your hopper of choice.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Rex_recta Friday, October 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm6, Dmc, Dm4, Vintage trix's, Proto's, Other spool valves.
Marker Setup: Ego 05
Too many ups to list
Dye Peanut 71/45
Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ul frame if you want
Virtue chip
Bolt system if you want (I like stock just fine)
Strengths: Fast
Smooth
Light
Nice looking
Weaknesses: Stock setting efficiency
Sort of heavy for this day and age
Review: Well just because I am typing this as "only tested" doesn't mean I am only getting first impressions. I have used NUMEROUS Dm5's. Some UL'd, some stock framed, some sith framed.
Efficiency like most spool valves stock leaves a little to be desired.
Shoots insanely smooth (when properly kept up with).
Easy to use.
Accurate as hell with stock UL barrell.
Over the chrono with a good paint to barrel match is roughly up or down 2 or 3 fps.
Nice milling.
Stock stuff is good stuff (UL barrell, hyper 2, Fuse bolt system etc.)
Conclusion: Can find them for like....300 now. Awesome guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint_1 Thursday, October 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing,havent ever used the other dm's but i hear there alike but lighter
Marker Setup: current:

DM5
cp trigger
lucky barrel
cp barrel

2K5 shocker
cp feedneck
cp drop and asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
UL frame
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: So i went and got this off a dude mid summer after selling my stupid ion.I went to play with my DM about 3 weks later and it didnt work(thank god there was a dude there that let me use his ego).So i took it in to badlands calgary and they held it overnight and found the problem was the previous owner had managed to cross a couple wires or something really stupid like that,so ok 15 bucks and it was working flawlessly.I had heard from the guy that lent me the ego that his dm5 was crazy smooth but i didnt think he meant as smooth as it was when i tried mine.WOW,he wasnt kidding it shot sooooo nice it wasnt even funny,and im extremely happy with my purchase.
Conclusion: Dont get egos they rip but dms shoot so smooth youd never wanna use an ego again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blacklabel56 Friday, August 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix Rail
PM5
Marker Setup: Blue Dye DM5 with Tadao M5 chip, CP on/off, Ultralite barrel, 114/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really needed, I got mine already upgraded
Strengths: Dye name and warrranty
Flawless milling and anodizing
Quiet and smooth
Weaknesses: A little bit burly
Not a real fan of membranes
Review: Overall, I loved using this gun. I came back after two years of not playing paintball and got this gun for a great price. By just looking at the gun, you can tell the power and the name that Dye carries behind their guns. The trigger is very smooth and the gun itself is crazy efficient. I get a halo hopper and 4-5 pods from a 114/3000 tank...I couldn't believe it myself until I got onto the field. The only problem I had is the on/off coming loose. They should've made it a little easier to access the port and not have to make the user take out the board to get to it. Another problem I had (since this is my first matrix) is my hand accidentally turning off the gun, but that wasn't a huge issue, just something to get used to. The gun shot very smooth and fast, the trigger walks easily and is hard to put down. I find myself walking the trigger at home every day I'm not using it. Good job Dye!!
Conclusion: If you can find a used Dye DM5 for a crazy good price, I suggest you buy it rather than the "newest technology." This gun is all you need for tournament paintball or even rec ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 3rd, 2007 at 3:14 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jake42 Friday, July 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 EGO - Ego was better. But the DM5 held up and was right up on the list by the ego.

07 EGO - 07 ego was alot mroe efficient.
Marker Setup: DM5
Tadao Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new board (Tadao)
Feedneck
UL Frame
Get a parts kit. Its worth it.
Strengths: Very Quiet
Not much kick
Accurate
Weaknesses: Kinda hard to maintain.
ALOT of orings.
Not too efficient.
Kinda big.
Review: This was a very good gun for the time I had it. It broke down on me once. But the Dye service was helpful. If it breaks down on you, DYE will replace the parts for free. And most of the time, you can fix it yourself. I would definently reccommend this gun to anyone who loves the sport of paintball. In conclusion, this gun is very quiet, little kick, and very accurate.
Conclusion: In conclusion, this gun is very quiet, little kick, and very accurate. Recommend this to anyone who loves the sport of paintball.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 13th, 2007 at 9:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protoman912 Tuesday, July 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything
Marker Setup: dye dm5 woth hater board

2004bko with hybrid grips and everything else stock
phantom pump!
Recommended
Upgrades:
ul frame bolt
Strengths: accuracy
Efficancy
Desighn
Durability
Weaknesses: Size
Weight
old tech
Review: I traded my shocker for one and i thinck its amazin i used it three times so far and it hasent had any probs the only prob i have is that its old tech but idc it is really sexy and efficiant i get about a hopper and 4 maybe five pods out of it. i wouldnt get this anymore becuse its older tech like i said b4 but if your short on cash get one u can get 1 for like 400 and its great but soon the dm6 will be araound the same area so i would wait.
Conclusion: Great marker get it if u dont care for size and you will be happy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_cool_cuban Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
trauma dm6 and other dm's prodebly every proto ever made shockers ions and
Marker Setup: 2007 shocker nxt silver and black w/ a cp reg w/ empire reloader b and a 68/3000 tank
blue and black ans razor ion with cp reg w/ empire reloader b and a 68/3000 tank
black dusted dye dm5 with a Musashi board
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new feed neck, Musashi board or get the ul frame that's what i will end up doing, if u dont like the ul then a new trigger and a new asa enery thing is great thow
Strengths: Fast as hell light accurate sexy as hell
Weaknesses: Gas hog thats all and most filds have all day air so that solves that
Review: so i went to a paintball shop yesterday and sold my ion for $240 and baught a dm5 used for 440 great deal well i played today and when i first aired up the gun it was leaking from the back of the bolt but that was my falt at the field i play at we are alowed to ramp and man it shoots fast. i have a Musashi board so that helps i will end up getting a ul frame that will be nice. this is the 2nd best gun i own the first best is my 2007 shocker nxt it has a v board in it but i love my dm 2. it is damn sexy and it light fast fast fast.
Conclusion: Well i reconmend this gun to every one i is fast light and sexy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Demondmaster Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, DMC, DM6, Dm7, PM6, Evil Minion, They are all very similar other then weight and size, and they're a few more markers out there that are very similar, so pick and chose.
Marker Setup: Dye DM5
FBM Wave Ball Bearing Trigger
Virtue Board
Contrack Killer Grips and Halo Button Pad
Evil Pipe Kit
Crossfire 68/45
Hybrid shell Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any Board that can Ramp if you like ramping
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Light
No kick
Quit
Air efficient
Weaknesses: Cost, can't say I regret buying it
Review: Ok the be honest I bought this gun b/c my buddy had a DM and he showed me the finger test (where take a gassed up DM and you adjust your lpr and stick your finger in the breach and pull the trigger) The Matrix Is a great marker in my book, I use it in the SCPFOA and CFOA events, they are reliable and in the end that's what counts. The day I received My Dm5 I couldn't wait to tinker with it. Out the box, it's set up for you to play with just add air, in the box you get a repair kit allen tools and dye grease, and a handy dandy manual with it, The Dye manuals is probably one of the best manuals I've seen. ok field test.... this gun rips like no other, the efficiency of the marker is all in how you have your marker set up. I get about 500 ball shots give or take out of 1000 psi give or take, and distance shooting wise I can hit died box to died box on a standard size field give or take, The Matrix is a very accurate gun with no kick, I have very little ball breaks in my barrel and can shoot any paint, I'm am very happy with my marker, I even bought and tried out aftermarket parts and played doctor on my gun (bolts and bolt guides, top hat mods, regulators) and in the end my marker is back stock pretty much other then the Virtue Board. I've tested different similar Matrix's out there I have to say you pay for what you get, but to each their own
Conclusion: The Matrix family is getting bigger and bigger and they are great markers and they are all similar so pick out one that's for you .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CAOL_98 Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Dye DM4
-Shocktech Shocker
Marker Setup: -DM5 w/Ultralite Frame & Orange Bolt w/tophat mod
-'06 Ion Pro w/ ups
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: -Fast
-Quiet
-Easy to Maintain
-Amazingly milling and design
Weaknesses: -Size
-Lack of a better on/off system (explained below)
-TOO MANY ORINGS!!!
Review: The first thing that I noticed about the DM5 was how amazing it looks! I know this review is a little behind the times, but I have been spending the last couple of years with 'cockers...this is my first foray into the matrix realm. So bear with me, and believe me when I say, pictures do not do this marker justice. It is so damn amazing when you can hold it, and rotate it around in your hands to see every last detail that Dye has so lovingly crafted into this marker.
After the initial shock of the asthetics, I took the trigger for a dry-fire spin. There is absolutly little to no pull in the stock ultralite trigger. Sorry for all of you reading this that want to know how the stock frame is...I had the luxery of getting mine with the ultralite frame installed. You'll have to look elsewhere for that review. The ultralite frame is amazing. I've held DM6's in proshops before, and fell madly in love with the frame...Actually getting to spend as much time with it as possible now, is a benefit beyond words...It's just that amazing. My only real complaint with the frame is the buttons on the back. Yes they're better then the old membranes, but they're hard to push. I guess if you have gloves on, the material might cram into them hard enough to turn them on, but I found myself using the tip of my fingernail to switch them effeciently. But really, they look better then the cheap membranes...so I can't hold that much against it.
Onto the internals. When I first got my DM5, I decided to turn my hyper 2 all the way down to keep from blowing stuff up. When I attached my air source I had a major leak on my fuse bolt. So I started troubleshooting my orings. I ended up replacing every single on, and getting VERY familiar with the internal workings of the fusebolt design...then I moved onto my LPR. Which I also removed and replaced many of the orings. Lastly, I took on my solenoid. I cleaned and regreased things, then put it all together...and it still leaked! So, at my wits end, I reattached my air source, and slowly turned up the pressure...the leak finally stopped...and after a few minor tweaks of my LPR, I managed to get it cycing consistantly. After that, it began to operate like a dream...the entire point of this little story though is to point out that I found it VERY easy to disassemble and maintain every aspect of the internal workings of my DM5. This is a VERY easy marker to maintain. I will say in rebutle however, that the fuse bolt is LITTERED with orings. I can't remember how many exactly, but it's a ridiculous amount. Just make sure if you decide to purchase a matrix, that you have plenty of extras on hand, not because the go bad, but because there are so many of them. But if you keep up with regular maintenence, you'll be just fine. Just take out the fuse bolt after play, clean it off, clean your breech, relube the bolt, clean your eyes and detents, and reinstall the bolt. That's about it.
I cannot comment on the air effeciency because I haven't had the chance to really play to much with this gun. I purchased it back in November, and haven't been since to play with it. I had the chance to shoot of a few hoppers full though. I will say this: it is dead accurate, with absolutly little to no kick, and very little sound. That's why I purchased this marker in the first place. Because of how amazing it shoots, and with such little noise and movement. There's not many guns that can compare. Plus the breakbeam eyes and ball detents worked masterfully! Not a single chop, and not a single ball off cue. This gun puts paint out of the barrel faster and more effeciently then most guns can when fully upgraded. Granted I was shooting with the ultralite and orange bolt, but everything else was stock. That's pretty damn amazing.
On the downside, I was really put off by the size. I know it's not that big of a deal, but it's a little on the tall side for my tastes. Other then the height, it's a damn small, lean marker. When you look down the sides, it's milled down to, next to nothing.
Another problem I had with the gun was the lack of a bottomline ASA. I REALLY like the integrated on/off on the body of the gun. It does it's job wonderfully, but when it comes time to take off your tank, there's still air built up in the vertical reg and bottomline. If there was an on/off on the bottomline with a purge, there wouldn't be nearly as much pressure, if any. I was blowing orings on my tank left and right. I did figure out how to remedy this problem though: back your tank out slowly. If you do it slow enough, the pressure bleeds off not quite as erratically.
Also I must comment on the feedneck and stock barrel. The ultralite is without peer. I'm sure the stiffi's are wonderful, as are the SP barrels, but dye has such a keen eye for perfection and design, that the ultralite barrel fees and looks leagues beyond it's nearest competition. Some may agree, others may not, but I stand by my declaration that the ultralite is amazing. Included with my gun was a 14"...although it's of a single caliber (.689) it still does it's job with style and grace.
The feedneck, although simple, gripped my Empire B, tightly. I was very impressed and happy with this simple little addition. The only downside, was that you need an allen wrench to tighten it...but you should have plenty of time between games to ensure your loaders security...I would imagine it would only become a problem in the most rare of circumstances.
So all in all, if you decide to make a DM5 your own there's not much to go wrong. It's gorgeous, fast, consistant, loaded with advantageous features, and pretty much does what it's supposed to do and what many markers fail at: puts lots of paint where you want it, and keeps the owner happy by keeping things simple.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone that wants a quality paintball product. Dye worked it's ass off on the design and function of this marker, and it shows. Aside from a few minor hiccups, there's not much competition out there for a marker of this caliber. I HIGHLY recommend this gun!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DM5P8ntBalla08 Friday, January 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shockers, Timmys, DM4,5,6,7,C, Freestyles, Promasters, Ions, Legends, XSV Ego, Ego5,6,7.
Marker Setup: Red & Blue DM5

UL Frame

v35 Halo B Rip drive

68ci 4500psi Fiber Wrapped tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
No2 Tank (Suggested 68ci 4500psi approxamately 1400-1500) shots per fill
Strengths: Small
Light
Consistant
Air Efficent
Totally owns...
Weaknesses: None this marker owns stock
Review: The DM5 is one of the best markers I have shot in my entire career.

The DM5 is an amazing marker. Totally the stock the gun is light, small and crazy fast.

Lets get down to the basics of the gun.

Air Works

On my DM5, I use a Fiber wrapped 68ci 4500psi Pure Energy No2 tank. If I could take a

guess, I would say I get nearly 1400-1500 shots per fill which is plenty for me. Also, on

my DM5 I purchased an on off asa. It works greak, simple twist to turn the air on and

off. The integrated on off. I suggest this is not messed with it, just another way to

turn the air on or off.

Accuracy

Stock, the DM5 comes complete with the best barrel ive ever used. The 14" inch

ultralite is very light, looks real nice & cool, and lastly very consistant. Also, very easy

to clean.

The bolt and Hyper2

The bolt is practically tied up with o-rings which means high maintenence! Be carefull

when taking out the bolt, you can easily slit open an o-ring. Simply unscrew and

gently pull out, and take a squegee and clean the breech. Then take a towel and wipe

off any paint on there. O-rings will eventually puff up, or damage if they are not

periodically changed. Once the bolt is cleaned simple lube the bolt with proper lube.

No liquidy lubes, rather get SHOCKER LUBE (I use) or, the lube it comes with.

The Hyper2 reg is small light and sexy. Though, the o-rings must always be clean.

Inside the frame

Inside the DM5 frame, its very complicated looking. The right side exposes the battery,

and the dip switches and the membrane workings. The dip switches are neat. They

controll ABS (Anti Bolt Stick) and Tourny Lock and a few other cool little things. Always

make sure there are no pinched wires, and make sure the battery is full. When

closing up the grips, dont screw in the screws to tight, it can hurt your mother board.

That would be my quick overview of the DM5 marker
Conclusion: The DM5 is an all around amazing marker and has great potentials.

When people say the gun breaks down it's because they don't take care of their

marker. I would suggest buying this marker to anybody who is serious about the game

of paintball, and its definately worth every penny. The DM5 has neve rlet me down.

The DM5 gives you a lightweight, compact marker which makes it very durable, and

easy to switch hands and such. For 4 months of using this amazing gun, the DM

has given me much experience and its definately going to be a marker i'll never forget

as one of the best markers ive owned in my whole life. If you have the money but the

Dye Matrix #5. The best marker i've ever used
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DM592 Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, worked and tested lots of other high-ends, but this is my first high-end
Marker Setup: Femme Fatales Dm5
Ultralite
stubby tank
empire b
Recommended
Upgrades:
ultralite
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Weight
Looks
Weaknesses: A bit of a gas hog, but not too bad
Review: I got my Dye Dm5 Femme Fatale off eBay abouta month ago. I open the box and i'm shocked by how awesome this gun looks. The Femme Fatale Dm5 has a Black/yellow gloss fade that looks really nice. Mine came with the Ultralite and a Halo b for $550, which is a pretty good price. I screwed my tank and hopper and unloaded on a tree. WOW! Out of the box it was amazing! Light, fast, and accurate as hell! After fiddling around with it, I finally played at a local field. It was more than enough to intimidate, and even when we didn't win, i gave 'em hell! You need to see it to believe it, and if you can get a decent deal, go for it.
Conclusion: Get it if you can find an OK deal, do it.Works great as a back-up or a main gun. With the Ultralite, it rocks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media