paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM5 / Dye DM5 / Dye DM5 / Dye DM5

Dye DM5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM5

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM5
[ View Photos (59) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 103
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
01. Accuracy at its finest, the standard Ultralite™ 14" barrel.
02. The DM5's integrated on/off air supply allows you to de-gas your marker at any time.
03. Consistent air plow through the Hyper2 in-line air regulator.
04. Internal anti-chop eye sensing system, provides trouble free high rate of fire.
05. The low 170psi operating pressure provides smooth operating performance with less shot bounce
06. Continuous three dimensional contoured body design boasts the elegant look of the DM5.
07. Completely adjustable trigger design allows you to customize your trigger position and refraction point. Trigger rolling bearing inserts give trigger stability and smooth swing return.
08. Light weight compact body, length reduced by 1/2 inch
09. DM5 Sticky3 grip is standard and provides an anatomically correct fit for your hand.
10. High intensity LED provides identification to program functions.
11. Ergonomic 45 frame provides the correct fit angle for trigger pull ease. Additional integrated dovetail and rear hook allows for easy carrying on and off the field.
12. Removable one-piece Fuse™ bolt system provides easy internal access and maintenance.
13. The modular internal LPR provides shot consistency and quality.
14. Low profile feed port with adjustable clamp neck allows you to use your hopper of choice.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
morrie11 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM3, proto, DM6, DM4, DMC, Timmys, Impulses
Marker Setup: Black/Yellow DM5
Tadao Board
Orange Carbon Fiber Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Orange Carbon Fiber Bolt - increases efficiancy
Tadao Board
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Weight
Volume
Weaknesses: Efficiancy
Review: This gun rips! I owned one for a year with the above upgrades. Everything about it works great. This gun would be amazing stock, and with all the upgrades you can get for it just make it better. Its small, versatile, and FAST. The stock trigger is perfect and easy to adjust, and perfect for anyone that likes to rake. The only problem i ever had was the trigger spring somehow falling out of the gun while playing???
Conclusion: All in all, this gun is great. It has everything needed stock for an extreme tournament or recreactional baller.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

intruder2600 Sunday, October 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed, Invert mini, not very similar but...
Marker Setup: DYE DM5 With EVO 2 Loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger maybe,
Strengths: If it works, accuracy, not kicking, fast,
Weaknesses: 48 orings ? mistake ! It hisses and loose the pressure !
Review: This is a big mistake ! After trying couple of companies I've heard lots of great opinions for DYE DM5 marker as one of the best world markers. I've bought it - almost 800$ ok, what did i get ? big nothing ! I screwd on HP system and then it started to hiss. I've shot about 3 shots with about 30 fps and it was the end. 3 times in service, still the same problem after couple of shots and I said "no thanks". Never again !
Conclusion: My friends told me that High_End markers should be adjusted before using it. Ok - it may not shot correctly straight from the box, but it should shot ! I've had Autococker - screwd on HP system, and it was shooting fine. I've bought Spyder Imagine for 100 $ and again - it was shooting, working fine and there was no problems at all. I've bought DYE for 800 $ and what ? and it pissed me off !
If they they sell markers that are suposed to be like a Mercedes cars, sorry - it should work fine. I've lost all my day, drive so far to play paintball and i only watched my friends in action. FOR MODERATORS -please don't trash my opinion - it's true and honest - let my example be warring to DYE to test their products before selling it and for other customers to try DYE markers before buying it.

ps. as you wish I've changed my review, sorry for me english, it's my second language.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 26th, 2007 at 2:33 am PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

iankid Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tournament Uped Ion
various Angels
03 shocker
Marker Setup: Dm5 Olive Dust
CP rail and on/off
Crossfire LP 68/45
Halo B CCM feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
More efficiant bolt if your field doesnt have a convienient fill station or 4500 fills
trigger - personal preferance, i like stock better than sling or humped triggers
CP trigger and rail = the best
Strengths: Easy on paint
Speed
Maintainance
Ease of board functions and adjustment
External trigger adjustments
Weaknesses: Efficiancy
Membrane pads
Trigger gaurd could be a little bigger
Review: overall the best paintball investment i have ever made. the lack of kick and low cyclying pressure make chopping almost obsolete. i dont carry a squeegee onto the field anymore unless it is really cold outside, and in the really cold weather the breaks happen in the barrel for me.

Great looks, comfortable to hold. AND suprizing EASY TO MAINTAIN!!! This being my first Matrix i heard stories about o rings blowing all the time. but just about once a month if you use the gun every weekend is enough.

I always say the more times you take the gun apart the more likely you are to break it, just after every day of play slide the bolt out and look at it, only about once a month does it need to be cleaned and re lubed. and since i clean and relube it once a month i just do the lpr and reg at the same time. I can tell already this gun is going to last a long time.

Speed is great, capable of running with anything onthe market today. Stock barrel is perfect, ultralites are my first and only choice on any gun i own.


Conclusion: for a speedball player looking for a gun that holds its own. this is a perfect buy

This gun gets a 10 from me because its just so easy to use, maintain, and roll with
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
lots of markers, angels, Timmys, Shocker, etc.
Marker Setup: Ion with Smartparts On/Off ASA, New designs feeneck, CP Reg and Smartparts S-rail
Spyder E-99 Avant with Hybrid feedneck, dye Sticky Grip
Bob Long Ripper Timmy with CP reg, custom bolt, CP on/off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Quite
Fast
Accurate
easy on paint
Weaknesses: None
Review: I tested this marker on a warm summer day and it shot perfectly, I was really impressed

Pros

Very quite marker, one of the quitest I ever shot, very useful for you front players

Its very accurate, I shot 2 diffrent brands of paint out of the stock barrel and it was shoting excellent, at about 10 yards it was a nail driver and at about 25 yards it was still a nail driver and at longer distances the spread was no bigger than a inch or two, very accurate, great for backs and deadly while snap shotting

Is also very fast, but not the fastest, there markers out there that shot faster but its not slow, I could still rip strings and it plenty fast but there are faster markers out there

Consistansy over the crono was very good a string of 10 looked like this- 286, 286, 283, 285, 287, 285, 288, 285, 284, 286, very good
Conclusion: Great marker, even if its out dated it can still rip and hold its own against the newer markers, very nice marker smooth performance and it looks sexy, great marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j-man19 Wednesday, July 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all other dyes, impie, timmys, shocker, protos

many more and only the dye dm6 compares (when dm5 has the ul frame)
Marker Setup: dm5
ul frame
crossfire 68/3000
rhino tank cova
halo b
stiffi for backup
gittin an orange bolt for les kick
Recommended
Upgrades:
orange bolt
ul frame
Strengths: Accurate as hell
fast as hell
fun as hell
nice looking.... as hell : )
Weaknesses: Some kick but all u need is an orange bolt
Review: well well well, i finally got this bad boy and i am extremely pleased with my purchase... i will tell u how it shoots after a short story about what i went through this year (im 15 so dont get confused)

sometime in january:
i wake up and decide to buy a new gun and trash my crappy bushie... after some reserch, i thought of gettin an automag for shats and giggles...

sometime in february:
i find a sp nerve and think, well, hmm, it looks good and fast, so mabie il get that instead...

just sometime:
i call a few peeps and they say "why dont u just get a shocker?", well im like "ok what the hell"

april:
im saving up for the shocker and GASP oh whats this on the shelf of the pb store, hmm "proto matrix 6..725 bucks" a litle more than i expected on spending but hey, it looks cool and i got more money now

june and payd and ready to get a gun:
ok, im at the store about to buy a pm6 and the manager says "hey, were gitin a big deal on some dm5s in a few days, comes with the dm5, a ul frame, and a 70 dolar dye case" .....ALL FOR 800 FRICKEN DOLLARS BRAND FRICKIN NEW i couldent turn down a deal like that so i got it

now its time for the review and i hope u liked my story : )...

strengths:

-fastnes with ul frame: this thing rips, first time shooting it i can already outshoot my halo b (i have fast fingers) shooting massive ropes is a breeze, also, the balls dont evn start to seperate much until about 150 feet (and this is my first 500 rds) u wil have no problem shooting fast with this gun

accuracy: it is amazingley accurate, i wuz shooting 2 month old white box at 22 bps and from about 100 feet, the grouping wuz about 18 inches apart (now rember, this is still the first 500 rds).... now, when i used some brand new marbs in it (they work the best for me after a few comparisons) i started shooting a basket ball from around 60 feet away and still 20 bps and i never missed the ball NOT 1CE

consistancy: i havent cronod it yet, but im guessing it is about +/-5 when shooting slow and still not broken in

air usage: i get about 5 pods from a 68 3000 fill wich is good (imagine with the bolt)

funness: i have had a blast shooting it today, it is just ball on ball the whole time... this gun will not fail u

looks: like all dye guns, u have to see one in person to believe how ellagent and beutifull they are, the pics on internet do them absolutely zero justice ( i have a blue to black fade and it is the BEST COLOR if u want to get one)

weakness (if u are nitpicky like me)

the kick: it has a little bit of kick but that can be fixed easily and mine isnt broken in yet so im happy with it


overall, this gun is absolutely great, it is perfect for any play and i could not complain (especialy for the price i got mine from the STORE i mean i got it for 100 dolars off, with a free ul frame and 50 dolar gun case


**EDIT**
i just unscrewd the tank, and left it setting there for a while, and i started messing around with the led lights (id put my finger in the breech, and wach the light turn green) then i accidentally pulled the trigger, and it shot... WITH MY FINGER IN THE BREECH, it didnt evn leave a mark, it just stung for a few seconds... AMAZINGLEY EASY ON THE BALLS
**
Conclusion: i give this gun a 10 outa 10 in every department, u cant go wrong

by the way, the master tech at our store (master tech of almost every brand of marker there is) said that the dm5 with a ul frame performs EXACTLEY the same as the dm6
(the only difference is a few ounces

and if u wana dispute this, plz dont cuz that is what i herd from one of the most knowledgable ppl in the paintball world there is (he would know what he is talking about) : ) happy shooting - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 12th, 2006 at 11:11 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Nick29 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm5, shocker, alias, other timmies, pm5, pm6, dm6
Marker Setup: Red Dm5
Dye throttle 68/45
Halo B
THump
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ramping board
-either a THump or M5,etc
a new bolt makes it more air effiecient
maybe a new trigger
Strengths: Reliable
Quiet
Easy to maintain
Shoots great
Weaknesses: Stock board
Hyper2 leaks at first
Resale value
Review: The Dm5 is a great gun to choose from. From when i got mine, i've only had a few problems with leaking, which most guns have. The Dm5 is pretty good when it comes to efficiency. The stock trigger is very good in my opinion and easy to rip. Like i said before the resale value isnt that good and when i first got my gun i had to keep chaning o-rings in my inline regulator constantly until i got a few cases through it..

Conclusion: Overall its a great gun minus the weaknesses above.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dynasty88 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4,Shocker, and others......
Marker Setup: Dm5
Ul Frame
Cp on/off
68/4500
Empire B2 Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL FRAME its freagin awesome man makes it about 8 ounces lighter but it will matter in a game trust me, o and maybe a bolt of some sort your pick
Strengths: Accuracy
Not bad efficiency
GET UL FRAME


Weaknesses: None
Review: Overall the gun is great the minute you get it you feel alot better about yourself it wont make you better but it looks cool the desing with the ul frame makes it a lil lighter but any weight reduction counts i recommned this to all dye fans looking to get into the dye family the gun is as accurate as you want it to be all depends on bore size and paint i use the stock barrel and its still accurate but everyone has diff taste so if ur debating on getting a dm5 i recommend it THANKS
Conclusion: If you like the DM5 and your on a budget get and just slap a ul frame on it its only like 210 where im at and itll make it lighter and look exactly like the dm6 but if ur money savy and u have to have the latest gear get the DM6 i recommend the DM5 though
THANKS HOPE THIS HELPS
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rebel7612 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4 PM5
Marker Setup: color-cobalt

Empire Reloader b, Dye Throttle 71 cu., Freak back-All American front berral, Virtue chip (AWSOME UPGRADE)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue!!!!!!!!!!!!
Strengths: Milling
Weight
speed (with virtue)
easy to take care of
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This is one of the best markers you can get. As long as you take it apart(which is very easy to do) you will never have any problems with it. If you want a very good upgrade for it, get a virtue chip. Their only like 80 bucks and it helps your gun so much. I have mine set at 23 BPS with ramping, and if you press the DIP switch down it will be capped at 15 BPS for tournaments. I completly recomend getting a DM5.
Conclusion: Get a DM5.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

underoathpb Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye dm4, 06 ego, proto pm5, dye dmc, dye dm6
Marker Setup: dye dm5
musashi III chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
tadeo chip
Strengths: Accuracy
Lightweight
Fast
Compact
Reliable
Comfortable
Small
Weaknesses: Price
Review: -box:
the dm5 comes in a box that is slid into a box cover with dm graphics on it. inside the box there is a soft foam to cushion the gun to make sure that it does not get damaged while being shipped or carried and also it is easy to carry around with the handle on the box. inside the box also is the gun, 2-piece dye ultralite barrel, dye-slick lube, dye extra parts like o-rings/screws, easy-to-read/understand manual, and a dye dm5 barrel cover. also a piece of macro line that can be cut to the size of your desire and it is the same color as the marker.

-barrel:
the stock barrel on the dye dm5 is a dye ultralite barrel 14" which is a very light and accurate barrel. it is one of the most accurate barrels in the world and it comes stock.

-body:
the body of the dm5 is very closely detailed and is very small. the marker is also very lightweight which makes it easy to switch hands with the gun and to also run with the gun, even with a tank on it. the dye sticky grips are very comfortable to use and they have indents for the player to rest his fingers which gives a better grip on the gun.the membrane pad on the dm5 is also much easier to use on this marker. you hold the top button for 2 secs and it turns on and then you can hold the bottom button for 2 secs to turn on the eyes. the anti-chop eyes on this marker are also very helpful. i havent chopped a ball yet. this is kind of an overlooked detail, but the dm5 is very quiet. unlike the dm4, egos, and some other high-end markers, you cant hear the dm5 shootin at you.

-performance:
the performance of this gun is incredible. it has pin-point accuracy and it keeps this accuracy at high speeds. most guns start to lose accuracy as they shoot faster. the speed of this gun is pretty fast. this marker tops out at 22-23bps. the trigger is very easy to shoot and it is very easy to adjust the trigger and make it shoot even faster. the gun also never leaks unless it is the tank or the owner broke it and it NEVER chops. also it has the clamp feed neck stock which lets the user use the hopper of choice.

-cleaning:
it is very easy to clean the dm5. you basically take a paper towel and whipe the outside of the gun off. to clean the eyes, you can just blow into the eye cover. and you have to lube up the bolt every 2 times you use it about. the bolt is very easy to take out.

-looks:
the dm5 has a hot, sleek, but deadly look. it is a small body with great detail. the eye cover doesnt stick out on the dm5 like it does on the ego, pm's. the bodywork of this marker just kind of flows together nicely.
Conclusion: Basically, the dm5 is a great marker. It is pricy, but cheaper than the dm6 and is basically the same thing. Slap a dye ultralite fram on there and it will basically be a dm6.Save yourself some money. This gun is one of the fastest, lightest, most accurate, guns that i have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noob with a DM5 Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, matrix LCD, shocker
Marker Setup: blue w/ black parts DM5
Virtue chip
hybrid bolt guide
CP roller trigger
System X slider on/off
orange bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Accurate
Weaknesses: Weight maybe
Review: So i had a shocker and it kept having problems. solenoid broke due to grip screw, velocity spikes, etc. just a bad design. so i tried my friends DM4 and matrix LCD and loved how they both had no kick and was dead on accurate. However, both of those ere very heavy and big. Then the DM5 came out and it was only 1/2 and inch shorter and cost alot more at the time. i got a deal on one for 685 which came with orange bolt, cp roller, hybrid bolt guide, and system X slider on/off. When i took it out of the box i was expeting it to be very big since it was only 1/2 an inch shorter then a DM4 but this thing was small. not ego small but much smaller and lighter then the DM4 and it was very ell balanced and has a built in snatch grip in the back to carry it areound with. then i put the barrel on, slap a tank and hopper with paint on that thing and went to shoot it. ball on ball accuracy at 50+ feet and it was so quiet. all you hear is ffffffft fffft fffft ffft and even when shooting ropes there was no kick. i get about 1500 per 45/5000. great gun overall getit it is fully worth your money and you won't be disapointed. hasn't broken down on me to this day.
Conclusion: Great gun and you can find some as low as 550 on pbnation nowadays. well worth your money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media