paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM5 / Dye DM5 / Dye DM5 / Dye DM5

Dye DM5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM5

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM5
[ View Photos (59) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 103
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
01. Accuracy at its finest, the standard Ultralite™ 14" barrel.
02. The DM5's integrated on/off air supply allows you to de-gas your marker at any time.
03. Consistent air plow through the Hyper2 in-line air regulator.
04. Internal anti-chop eye sensing system, provides trouble free high rate of fire.
05. The low 170psi operating pressure provides smooth operating performance with less shot bounce
06. Continuous three dimensional contoured body design boasts the elegant look of the DM5.
07. Completely adjustable trigger design allows you to customize your trigger position and refraction point. Trigger rolling bearing inserts give trigger stability and smooth swing return.
08. Light weight compact body, length reduced by 1/2 inch
09. DM5 Sticky3 grip is standard and provides an anatomically correct fit for your hand.
10. High intensity LED provides identification to program functions.
11. Ergonomic 45 frame provides the correct fit angle for trigger pull ease. Additional integrated dovetail and rear hook allows for easy carrying on and off the field.
12. Removable one-piece Fuse™ bolt system provides easy internal access and maintenance.
13. The modular internal LPR provides shot consistency and quality.
14. Low profile feed port with adjustable clamp neck allows you to use your hopper of choice.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Midget Mower Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well my friends dmc but i hate the composite : P
Marker Setup: DM5 with lady gripz ndz trigger ndz detent halo B and 92/45 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
None maby grips and a trigger barrels awesome!!!!
Strengths: Too much : * look below
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well playing a right backman on my team in 4 man speed ball you need a fast accurate marker and when my boss said we had overstock on the gun I got my hands on one for $980. No problems or chops so far i will get a pic up soon but cant find camera cables : ( . Dye has best service also no putting up wuth the hold crap and dosnt cost to ship gun out for when i need to fix it warranty covers all. Happy midget mowing

STRENGTHS

Barrel is amazing
Trigger is blazing speed
Reg is consistent check chrono on fps no more than 1 fps away from each shot
SPEED SPEED SPEED
Conclusion: Great little pricy but great gun if you want the speed of an angel eyes of a shocker and the hella looks of a timmy get this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Idenity Friday, June 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4 (Same pretty Much)
B2k4 (not as good)
Spyder (Do I even have to say?)
Marker Setup: Silver/Black B2k4
System-X Slider On/Off
CP Reg
JT 2 Piece barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, but if you have the money get a Tado or M3 chip or Virtue
Strengths: Stock UL
Light
No Kick
Nice Milling
Pretty Effienent
Great Quality
Weaknesses: Price Tag (as with all of Dye's products)
Review: I am purelly amazed how nice of a marker there is. It pretty much blows all other markers out of the water. This thing is amazing. There is no kick at all. Trigger is easy as hell to walk compared to my b2k4. With this gun I can keep a constiant speed while walking the trigger with ease. Stock barrel is a UL which is one of the best barrels made. Its pretty effienent. This marker is just amazing they only thing thats sucks is the price tag :(
Conclusion: Go buy this gun!!You wont regret it!!Its worth the money!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DyeDm5 Thursday, June 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
I am a new paintballer, I have tried other guns, but so far the Dye dm5 is one of a kind, except for it being like the Dye dm4. This gun shoots fast and efficeint.
Marker Setup: Spider Imagine, stock barrel, Egg hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a better barrel, but like I said im new to paintballin so I'm not really sure what else
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Gets the job done
One of a kind
Amazing
Efficient
Weaknesses: NONE At least i know of
Review: This gun is amazing and like I said one of a kind except for being like the dm4. This bad boy shoots fast and gets the job done. This Paintball gun also looks lean and slick. very light and accurate. There are probaly better guns out there but so far this is my favorite.
Conclusion: Who wouldnt want a gun like this?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ZAPCOnj Saturday, May 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months74 of 76 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DMC, Proto M5, DM4. Overall they all perform similar but the DM5 has much more adjustablitity over the Proto and dm4
Marker Setup: Dye DM5, DMC, Planet Eclipse DC2, Powerlyte Scepter barrel kit, Evil pipe kit. Centerflag 72/4500 stubby tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Clamping feed neck and System X slider on/off if you end up not liking the ones that come stock.
Strengths: Easy to shoot out of the box and easy to clean
Weaknesses: Price
Review: OK, since i've owned a DM5 for some time now and have used enough now to make a review here it is...



Getting the box:

The first thing you notice when you get the DM5 is that the box is very small, being an A-5 owner you expect a large box with lots of Styrofoam. The DM5 box is about the size of a 3 ring binder and is packed with cut to fit open cell foam. There are some great sleek graphics on the box that are quite pleasing to the eye. you can tell that Dye has a pretty good Marketing and Graphics Department on staff.



What you get in the box:
Opening the box you will find your new marker, The Dm5 is secured in the box via a generous amount of open cell foam cut to the shape of the marker to hold it in place during shipping. Depending on where the person at dye put the instructions and warrantee card they are either on top as soon as you open the box or under the maker foam. To the right of the marker you will find a nice array of accessories from Dye. the first thing you notice is the small parts kit. The inclusion of this kit from dye is a great thing. It has some of the commonly lost and worn parts for the DM5. There are a number of o-rings and bolts that dye figures you will loose from time to time. There is also a 2oz tube of the DYE Slick Lube (aka Dye Sticky Glue), Dye DM5 branded barrel condom, full DYE branded hex key set and a good size piece of macro line that you can cut to suit your tastes. on top of the marker you will find the anno'd to match Dye UltraLite barrel.


Out of the box:

Out of the box, the DM5 has everything you will need to have the marker function perfectly without needing to buy anything else. you can tell that DYE took a look at what consumers wanted but was not included on the DM4. For '05 Dye included the same (slightly larger) Patented Fuse bolt system, integrated ON/OFF, and great milling and anno work but also added an external adjustable trigger, Clamping feed neck. The DM5 also comes with a very nice anno’d to match Dye Ultralite barrel (.688) that shoots very well out of the box with most types of paint. The DM5 also comes with an anno'd to match Dye Air port ASA.

The feel of the marker is very solid, almost all of the marker with the exception of the board, solenoid, and a small plastic regulator seat is aluminum. All milled perfectly! This gives you a sleek body that is balanced very nicely. The marker is in no way front end heavy with no tank attached but yet stays very well centered with a 70/45 stubby on it. The Dye sticky grips allow for a firm grip on the marker even with paint soaked gloves or bare hands. The adjustable hyper 2 collar allows for the air line to be routed on either side of the marker or with a little finesse you can put it at the back of the reg and have the air line out of the way completely. The Hyper 2 and it’s mounts were designed so that the user could grasp them as a front hand guard, Dye took it a step forward by adding cut lines for your fingers to rest in when you grip the marker. Being someone who can play ambidextrous and playing either side of the bunker with the marker in the correct hands proves a delight.


The anodizing on the marker is quite good and very durable. There is no power coat to peel or wear off. I’ve played in the woods while running though bushes and diving in to rocks and have not had any marks or scratches mar the finish on the DM5. This marker is flashy enough for the speedballer but tough enough for the woodsballer! Dye also built in a “snatch” grip in to the marker to help carrying the marker around and to help keep your fingers OUT of the trigger guard when not in play.

The user manual is like a work of art. It’s in FULL COLOR with lots of pictures/illustrations to help you roll though the info. There are a number of exploded views of the bolt system and marker it self that help you identify the parts! The size of the manual is also a delight. No longer are you forced to look at a tiny black and white booklet.

The DM5 has some user adjustable settings such as Debounce, Eye Sensitivity, Dwell, and Max Rate Of Fire. These settings are easily adjustable though the grip frame by removing 3 grip screws with the hex keys provided and adjusting a dip switch or two. The process is explained in detail in the user manual.

The DM5 is very user friendly... just turn it on and shoot!


Air:

The DYE DM5 can be run in both High Pressure and Low Pressure. I currently have mine set up in High Pressure mode using a Centerflag 72/45 Peanut tank with an output pressure of 900psi. The Input pressure is regulated by the Hyper2 inline reg that steps it down to about 300psi (give or take) and then the integrated LOW PRESSURE REGULATOR steps it down again to about 175psi. The Marker comes preset to about 285FPS but you are advised to chrono before use. The Velocity adjustments on the DM5 like most high end markers is done through the inline regulator. You can expect to get 5.5 pods and a hopper off of a 70/45 peanut tank depending on your settings (straight out of the box).

If you wanted to set your marker up for LOW PRESSURE USE it would involve adjusting your Hyper2 reg to a lower pressure then again adjusting your LPR to a lower pressure (if needed) The adjustments to both the Hyper2 and the intergrated LPR is quite simple. Insert a simple hex key that is provided via the tool kit and turn. Many people find that adjusting the LPR is sometimes tricky.

I have found that for high pressure use, f you bottom out the LPR adjustment screw… then turn 5.5 turns out you will have no problem shooting any kind of paint. Note that you will have to adjust your velocity after changing any of the regulators settings.

The DM5 has an integrated ON/OFF system built right in to the marker and it is user serviceable. If for some reason your ON/OFF you blow the o-ring in it it will take you a few minutes to replace it.



Shooting:

For this portion of the review I will use a compilation of shooting sessions that I have had over the ownership of the marker. The Primary paint of choice is X-Ball Bronze and PMI Premiums shot through the stock ultralite barrel.

Shooting the DM5 proves to be as much fun as just walking around pulling the trigger in the house with no air or paint attached. The trigger being adjustable is easy to set up by some simple adjustments that can be done with the marker gassed up and ready to shoot. I spent about 30 minutes the first night I had it playing around with trigger adjustments to find a good jump off point to start with. After I had some trigger time on the marker I adjusted it even more so that I can have a silly ROF on semi mode (the only mode that comes STOCK with the DM5) while using either hand to shoot. The Roller trigger that comes stock takes a little bit to get use to especially anyone who is use to a BLADE style trigger or a forward rake but once you get the feel of it there is no stopping you.

If you’re not use to shooting a lower pressure marker like a cocker, timmy, or Matrix the first few shots will make you think that there is something wrong. There is little to no kick with the DM5. Oh… and it’s very very quiet. It brought back memories of me playing in the woods where I couldn’t hear nor see where the balls were coming from but felt them hammering the front of my bunker….. after some time on the marker shooting the DM5 proved to be a great delight. The balls flew straight and fast! Shooting Darts is a good description of the feeling you get. Even with the regulator not broken in the fluctuations in strings were negligible. There was very little drop off with long strings and I would say that 95% of the strings were ball on ball with the stock barrel. I believe that the lack of “kick” has a lot to do with this as well as there being only ONE moving part in the whole marker. Matching paint to the barrel can only improve on your shots here. At distances of 50, 75, 100, and 125 feet I had ball on ball accuracy after finding my target. I will have to take some photos of the groupings. At distances of 125 or more I had to slightly arc my shots but this is expected with any non flatline type barrel. Needless to say the distance and accuracy of the marker/barrel/paint combo proved to be very pleasing! Anyone shooting this marker will not be disappointed.

The only limit to the DM5’s shooting capabilities is the Loader and the speed at which you can feed the marker! I currently use a Halo B Ripped with a V.35 Board and lithium batteries. Simply put… the marker will shoot as fast as you can feed it. The DM5 is equipped with break beam eyes that allow it to sense when there is a ball in the chamber. The marker will not shoot unless there is a ball present in the breach. In the event that the eyes fail you can turn them off and shoot at a reduced rate of fire (you set this) but you run the risk of shooting too fast and chopping balls that may be ½ fed in to the breach.

With over 15 cases of Xball paint though the marker I have had only a few gun related breaks and this was mainly due to dirt in the barrel. The eye system on the DM5 is great and I will go as far as saying that it’s the best that I’ve seen so far.

Cleaning/Maintenance:

Being an A-5 owner and having owned various Autocockers Cleaning a paintball marker has always been a pain. I was very surprised on how simple it is to clean and maintain the DYE DM5.

The bolt – The bolt system on the DM5 is the patented FUSE bolt system. While it sounds and looks complicated, the bolt system is quite simple. To remove the FUSE you take the largest hex key that comes in the kit provided by Dye and screw the Fuse bolt 1.5 turns out and the system slides out of the marker. SIMPLE as that! There is noting else that needs regular after use maintenance. After you get the FUSE out of the marker the outer housing screws apart in to 3 shells with a center BOLT. Take these 4 parts apart, wipe them down with a clean rag, re-lube with your lube of choice (I prefer Slick Honey vs the Dye stuff they give you) and screw the system back together and then slide the bolt right back in to the marker and 1.5 turns in and you’re done! The whole process can take about 3 or 4 minutes depending on how familiar you are with the process. The first time I did it, it took me about 8 minutes because I was being super careful and wanted to make sure I knew what I was doing.

Every 3-4 months you will want to take apart the Hyper 2 regulator and make sure that everything is lubed up and in good condition but this is standard practice with any inline regulator. Every 6-8 months you will want to remove and perform the same cleaning and lubing process you did on the hyper2 with the LPR. Many Dye Matrix owners tend to do both at the same time just to save time down the road. After you get this process under your belts you can do it in about 10 minutes (hyper 2 and LPR) again you can use the lube of your choice and like many of my fellow DYE Matrix users, I prefer Slick Honey over the DYE SLICK LUBE (DYE STICKY GLUE) they provide you. Although they will not admit to it publicly the Dye techs also use Slick Honey in the team markers.


DO NOT EVER USE ANY PAINTBALL OIL IN A MATRIX MARKER!

If for some reason you were to break a ball in the breach or if your break beam eyes are dirty cleaning is simple! Again you locate the proper size Hex Key that is provided in the kit from DYE and remove the eye covers. This exposes the Ball Detents and the Eyes. Carefully remove the ball detents being careful not to loose the spring and wipe clean, you can use some windex or goggle spray to help remove any paint residue. The eyes can be also removed in the same manner (no spring though) and wiped clean with a soft cloth, qtip, or paper towel. Using some windex or goggle spray is recommended. After you have cleaned the eyes and ball detents you just reassemble in reverse order. The whole process can take up to about 4 or 5 minutes tops and is not needed unless you break paint in the breach or use especially oily paint. There is a sensor and the DM5 will let you know via a flashing LED that your eyes are working or malfunctioning.

If you take a hit on the marker you can wipe it off and spritz the marker with Windex or goggle spray to remove the greasy paintball residue.

Because of the simplicity in the design of the FUSE BOLT system, and because there is only ONE moving part in the firing cycle. 98% of the time if there is something wrong or a leak in the marker it’s just an o-ring that needs to be replaced. This task can often be done in about 5 or 6 minutes.

The 9volt battery that is required for operation is good for about 20,000 shots and the DM5 has a Low Batter Indicator or LBI to let you know if you have enough juice to get though the day!



Diverse marker:

Depending on what format or style of paintball you play you can adjust the factory programming to allow for as little or as much bounce you want. The tournament players will go for an almost 0 bounce on the marker to comply with the tournament rules while a woodsballer can set the debounce at 1 or 2 to help get the ROF up. There are also an abundance of aftermarket programs you can get for your DM5 including the S.I.T.H. Program and the S.I.T.H. Tournament programs. The Marker is cocker threaded so pretty much ANY Autococker barrel will fit on the marker allowing you a wide range of barrels and kits to choose from. I have two kits I use on my DM5, I have a 14” Evil Pipe kit and a 12” Scepter systems kit. Both work great and fit the style and feel of the DM5 perfectly! You may find that you use the Dye ultralite barrel that comes with it quite often. There are also a few after market bolts that boast higher rates of fire and increased gas efficiency… the upgrades are for another thread…


Playing with the DM5:

As many of you would think playing speedball with the DM5 is a joy. It’s light, fast, and fun to shoot! Sweet spotting or Lanning is easy since the triggers are so walk able. Also, because the marker is so light it’s easy to run to your bunker on the break while maneuvering your marker from the running to the shooting position. Switching hands is also very easy again due to its size and shape you can play either side of the bunker easily. The DM5 tends to be one of the most popular Markers in the speedball world.

Not many people would expect to see a DM5 in the woods as most people feel that the sheer cost of the marker and it’s association with speedball would inhibit it’s performance in the woods. This is not true. I’ve played some rec ball days at the local field in the woods using the same techniques and playing styles as I did with my A-5 but I felt I played better. Even though I did not have a custom Cops911.com sling made in time for play carrying around the marker all day proved to be no different than carrying my a-5… it’s acutely lighter even with the tank and full hopper on it! Using a quiet marker in the woods is a joy. You can stalk your adversary and let off a few rounds and they would never know where they got hit from. The marker it self does not stand out as commonly stated by some woodsballers. Unless you have a Bright Colored marker it blends in just like any other marker out there.

Fire power- when you need to pour it on the DM5 is your answer. You can lay in to a position with extreme prejudice or you can single shot them to death. The DM5 will provide great cover fire as any one who has played along side me and asked for cover will attest. The best part is even while shooting heavy strings of paint the marker is still very very quiet and ball on ball accurate! A fellow team member recalls a few games where people were asking us to provide cover so they can advance on a position 150 feet away. I laid in to the bunker though a small hole with a short string and told the kid to forget it since I just shot out the guy he was going to get!

I have also played in the pouring rain with the DM5 and have had no problems. As with any electro you will want to keep the electronics dry so I fashioned a small “rain coat” for the marker out of a Paintball bag and some black tape. I played a good 3 hours before the rain got the better of me and I was soaking wet. The marker had no problems before or after the rain and is still in great working order!



Over all:

Overall I’m very pleased with the DYE DM5, and recommend it and it’s little brother the PROTO M5 to almost anyone looking to upgrade to a midlevel or high end marker. I see the DM5 marker having a place in my long term marker arsenal. The ease of use and the easy maintenance make it a dream to own. I almost kick myself for not getting one sooner. The warrantee is great, if anything breaks call DYE and they will fix or replace the part 98% of the time for free (less shipping to them). If you’re looking for a great high end marker then go for the DYE DM5. If the DM5 is a little bit out of your price range then take a look at the Proto Matrix.

Conclusion: Over all:

Overall I’m very pleased with the DYE DM5, and recommend it and it’s little brother the PROTO M5 to almost anyone looking to upgrade to a midlevel or high end marker. I see the DM5 marker having a place in my long term marker arsenal. The ease of use and the easy maintenance make it a dream to own. I almost kick myself for not getting one sooner. The warrantee is great, if anything breaks call DYE and they will fix or replace the part 98% of the time for free (less shipping to them). If you’re looking for a great high end marker then go for the DYE DM5. If the DM5 is a little bit out of your price range then take a look at the Proto Matrix.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Pball131313 Friday, May 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, Matrix, Shocker, etc.
Marker Setup: DM5, Dye airport, all stock. Halo B with rip and victory board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, try something a little better like a lapco snapshot, titanium longbow, or others.
Strengths: Rate Of Fire, Weight, overall quality
Weaknesses: Durability, price, and design
Review: I shot this gun in the IAO before it was released to the public and I was quite impressed. I liked the feel and the overall look of the gun itself. I also liked the milling. (If you look closely you can read DYE in it. ) It impressed me. I later took it apart with on of the airsmiths from dye to look inside. I was somewhat weary of the bolt design but it wasn't as bad as the previous model (regular matrix) where you had to pull a bunch of orings over a threaded surface... not good. But it wasnt too bad. Overall I trust the gun design because one of the greats Aaron Carter had his hand in the buiding of this marker. I like the feel of the shot with little to no recoil. Also the rof was tremendous. But I still am waiting for the DMC. A quote from one of the dye people "It will make the DM5 feel like an anchor" So I'll wait and see.
Conclusion: Good. But work some of the little bugs out.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BaconTheory Friday, April 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've tested a bunch of guns like Spyders, Cockers and other similar things.
Marker Setup: System X Type-X 2005
14'' Stiffi
Evolution II w/ Z-Board
Shocktech Superfly bolt
PureEnergy 68/3000 tank



Recommended
Upgrades:
None really
Strengths: -Hella fast
-Looks awesome
-Made by DYE
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I had tested this gun out at a paintball shop out in NJ. I went out there to look at some Cockers and some parts to fix up my Spyder for sale. They had a DM5 sitting there and the guy said he would let me try it out. Oh dear lord. This thing is freakin' fast. Don't know the exact BPS on the thing but its gotta be in to 25+ range at least. This gun owns your soul. If you have about $1100 to burn, go out and buy this gun.
Conclusion: Great gun, buy it if you have money to burn.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

piper2893 Thursday, April 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot, Tippmann A5, Spyder Imagine, Shocker
Marker Setup: A5 with flatline and remote. Spyder Pilot, & Spyder imagine Running 4500/68psi compressed air. Current setup is Dye DM5 Running crossfire LP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Must use Halo/Empire Reloader B. Nothing else needed but new chip Advantage etc would be nice
Strengths: Fast, accurate.
Shoots like a hose
Simple to work on
Ready to go out/box.
Weaknesses: 1) Price
2) Could be a little more efficient
Review: I upgraded from a pilot and oh my gosh is this unbelievable. Of course it should be when you pay 7 times the amount of what the pilot cost. I have used other top quality markers and for my money this unit is almost unbelievable. It is great at everything. It will outshoot any decent hopper. You must get a halo/reloader or you won't get the full effect of the firepower of this marker. Accuracy was without question unbeatable. I was shooting a little round plastic cap, 8inches in diameter at 60 feet. I am not bragging when I say I could put ball on ball almost at will. Of course there was no wind but this thing really opened my eyes. I want to emphasize that I am not a spectacular shot so I was astounded. I like to tinker, so I completely broke the marker down. It is very simplistic and easy for anyone to replace an Oring. They include a Dye Ultralight barrel, Allen wrench set, barrel condum, and a complete Oring kit. I guess for the money you should get something extra but I felt like they went above and beyond. They state 40,000 shots from a standard 9V battery. And greasing every 10-15000 shots, holy smoke! Regarding the Efficiency, after the 1st case of paint or so, my reg was broken in, and efficiency improved greatly. All day air is pretty standard so who cares? Lastly, over the chorono, only about 2-5FPS variation max with average about 2FPS.
Conclusion: It was hard for me to justify spending this much money on a paintball marker (you should have heard me telling my wife that I needed a $1400 marker) I must be the best salesman in the world. The bottom line though is that I don't regret it and I would do it again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 28th, 2005 at 7:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nick_DyeOwner Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed, Angel Fly, Dm4s, Impulses, Naughty Dog Timmy, Alias Timmy, Ego, Abomb Timmys, and many other Timmys and guns.
Marker Setup: Blue to Black Dm5
Dye Ultralight
Empire B Reloader
68/4500 Tank

Silver Dust Angel Speed
Freak Barrel
Empire B Reloader
68/4500 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, just a fast hopper.
Strengths: Fast, Smaller, User Friendly,
Weaknesses: Requires alot of Maitenance, need to buy a fast loader, membrane pad, gas efficent.
Review: I bought a Dm5 in early March and the only thing i can say is wow. As soon as a picked up this gun i noticed the amazingly nice dust finish. The gun just looks so clean. From previous experiances with Dm4s, this gun felt much nicer in my hands, and felt lighter and smaller, when i turned it on i needed a new battery. So i replaced it and i was set to go.

I brought it to my local field and was amazed by how quiet and smooth this gun shot compared to all of the others, it shot very quick and the eyes worked flawlessly. I chopped one ball as i was finishing up, (just in the barrel) and was amazed that the gun was shooting darts again after 2 curved balls, which still werent that bad. When i looked in my barrel there was like no paint either. The Ul worked perfect.

Another thing i noticed was the gun is really user friendly, the eyes are easy to turn on and off and the overall board is easy to set. This gun is very user friendly. I noticed it wasnt that efficent. But if you are playing at fields or tourneys air is there whenever i need so that is not a real problem at all. This gun has to be lubed alot but you have to expect to maintain any gun you own for the peak of its performance.
Conclusion: After all of the points i stated above i have relized i would take this gun over and of the others i have owned or shot. It just out shoots them so much. It works flawlessly and i would never get another gun. Im going to be shooting this all season. I give it a 10 because there is nothing wrong with this gun, and it mows like no other.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theredguy1 Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm3, dm4, lots of timmies, and a few angels
Marker Setup: dye DM5, check it on-off, reloader b, evil scion tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe an orange bolt, don't get an evolve, though.
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Stock gas efficiency
Review: this gun is the best ever made! there is absolutely nothing wrong with it. as for the people that say that it is the same as a dm4, they are wrong. the dm5 is a dm4, with all of the kinks worked out. it seems that everything that was wrong with the dm4, was cured in this gun. it is lighter, it is smaller, it has a ton of awesome features. the board is programed better, and makes the gun even faster, and more responsive. the trigger is absolutely perfect, and as far as efficiency goes, just do a tape mod(wrapping a piece of electrical tape arond a part of the bolt) and you're set to go. i can get 13 pods off of my 68/4500! not to mention, this thing is crazy accurate and quiet. as far as timmies goes, this thing bloes most of them away, and when timmies break(and believe me, they do a lot) they are very hard to find parts for. With matrixes, it very easy to get replacement parts, but you don't need to anyway.
Conclusion: Best gun ever conceived by man! those who appose it, are just trying to be different, and trying to "not conform". there is nothing wrong with this gun at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AftermathJesus Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4
Speed 05 (= blows)
ego
nothing else really compares
Marker Setup: black DM5
virtue chip
CCM no pro
halo b v 35
crossfire 68/4500 lp
Recommended
Upgrades:
chip for some cool and/or useful firing modes
CCM feedneck
more ultralite backs
Strengths: Fast.
Light.
No kick.
Consistant.
Comfortable.
Weaknesses: Efficiency (relative to some guns).
O rings.
Review: a while back i shot it for the first time
i was blown away
I played for the first time with my new DM5
i was blown away all over again
it is simply the best thing out right now

the only bad things are efficiency, which isn't that bad (about the same as an 05 speed)
and o rings
one o ring busted after about 1,00o shots but it wasn't greased properly in the first place, i should have checked
dye gave me so much free stuf i had to problem fixing it in a matter of minutes

Conclusion: if you have the money
buy the DM5

overall i'd give it a 9.7, so lets call it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media