paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Field / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Field / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Field / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Field

BT Paintball Design BT-16 Field Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-16 Field

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-16 Field
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $149

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• 6061 T-6 BILLET ALUMINUM RECEIVER
• VERTICAL FEED SYSTEM
• M-16 STYLE CHARGING HANDLE
• 1 YEAR FULL PARTS & LABOR WARRANTY
• HARD ANODIZED RECEIVER
• PRECISION BARREL SYSTEM
• ADJUSTABLE FRONT GRIP
• DUAL SIGHT/MOUNTING RAILS
• EXTERNAL VELOCITY ADDJUSTER
• EASY FIELD STRIPPING
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-16 Field is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
slog63 Saturday, July 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Brass Eagle T-Storm, several rentals before
Marker Setup: BT-16 with Stryker Carbon Fiber 12" barrel. Pretty much stock everything else
Brass Eagle T-Storm as back-up gun that my daughter uses too.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a foregrip, any foregrip
Try and get a tactical stock
DROP-FORWARD !!
Strengths: Solid made, solid made, solid made
Easy on the eyes
Tippmann 98C barrel thread
Weaknesses: No foregrip.
BT Customer Service....... UPDATE: (This was recently fixed in 08/05/2208)
Review: I bought this gun on eBay for cheap. I was expecting less than I actually got.
This is a solid gun, no plastic anywhere except the moving part on the trigger. No big deal there.
I liked the owner's manual; it's well written with pictures instead of drawings.
The one thing that annoyed me is the trigger guard. It's square, and close to the CO2 port, which is vertical. I tried a 20 lb bottle and it scratched the heck out of the trigger guard. I had to switch to a 9 lb bottle, which is lots narrower, but I have to reload CO2 more often. I have also ordered an ASA and Stainless Steel bottom line. That should solve the issue when they arrive. I have not shot it a lot in play, so I'll update this review in a week.

No offset ball feed
No picatinny rails
Vertical CO2 feed

UPDATE 07/22/2008: I went woodsballing last week. I put 700 rounds through it and NO CHOPS. It worked well, I knew I wasn't winning a BPS race, so I took it easy. I got me 5 kills, so it protected fairly well. Not a bad barrel either.

I added an ASA and a drop-forward. WHAT A DIFFERENCE. It's nice and confortable now. I'm just waiting for the remote coil I ordered online, to make it perfect. I'm just looking for a foregrip to make it a more confortable gun to shoot. Once I install the foregrip, I do not believe I'll modify it any further. This will probably end up being my backup gun next year, although it's my principal woodsball gun this season.

UPDATE ON BT SUPPORT; There's none still. They only support the BT-4 family, so if you have a BT-16 or plan on getting an online deal think about getting a second hand extra one for spares. Fortunately, it's a tank of a gun. I know that if you lube and clean it, you'll have no issues in a long time, but God forbid you damage something important. I'm online right now, hoping to get me another one for less than $50 including S&H. That would buy me some time

UPDATE # 2 ON BT SUPPORT (08-06-2008): I was able to find a phone number to call BT support (It is NOT mentioned on their website, only an e-mail address), and I finally got to talk to a very knowledgeable tech. I was having issues with cocking the gun so I was desperate. He told me to ship it in, and he'd fix it plus send me an o-ring kit for free. Guess what? When I put it together for the last time just prior to shipping it, I noticed I had not positioned the cocking pin correctly behind the T-frame slot, so it wasn't cocking (It can get underneath, small design change needed here). But once I put it together and tightened it all, it was all good. Thankfully this degree of dissassembly is not needed often. So I called the tech back to tell him I didn't need to send him the gun, and asked to buy the o-ring set anyways (they are not available in Canada anywhere, I have looked). He said no problem, he'd send it for free, plus a ball detent. He mentioned he had a BT-16 himself, and that the gun really doesn't deteriorate mechanically, just to keep it lubed, have o-rings at hand and to clean and add a drop of oil on the ball detent once in a blue moon. After that, it was all easy. I will change my review score to an 8, now that BT showed tech support.

UPDATE ON THE GUN (09/05/2008): I got an UPZ remote line for my HPA tank and a 14" carbon fiber barrel to lighten it up... what a difference. Try a remote with yours, it'll make all the difference.

(PICTURE UPDATE0; I just put up a picture of my baby as it will stay for a while... I got me a WGP Trilogy Tactical Mechanical Autococker (I'm old school, no electronics fro woodsball, for that I have two pimped up black Odyssey RPM's with 16" barrels and Eggy II hoppers), and I will concentrate on that one for a while now...
Conclusion: It's a nice gun, my issues are not technical with it. It's not easy to take apart, but it's a modern design that allows (and also requires) for the trigger to completely separate from the hammer area prior to lubing. There's Not a lot of support from BT. It seems they only support the BT-4 nowadays, and although they offered to sell me spares, they took it back on a follow up e-mail. You imagine your paintgun manufacturer telling you they have no spares available for their product / your gun?
All in all, I like the gun, hate their customer service. I would recommed owners to stock up on spares or buy an old one online. I would rate it higher had it not been for the lack of BT support.

UPDATE: I take back the lack of support bit. It's just hard to get through to the techs, that's why the gun still does not get a higher score. They are reasonable, helpful, and offer extra stuff to make up for your initial shipment cost of the gun to them in case of needing repair. The BT-16 is still a slow and heavy gun, but it's a TANK. Use it, abuse it, it will shoot for you. I believe it's a very solid woodsball gun, if you stay within its shooting speed limitations. Never mind about the weight, woodsball players want a mil-sim gun, right?
It is a shame there are no aftermarket mods for it except for a better barrel, but one learns to live with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 5th, 2008 at 6:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Compulsion Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 is very similar.
Marker Setup: BT-16 Field (Backup)
ICD Regulator
Mini-drop
HPA

2004 Bushmaster PDS
T2 Trayless Kit
AKA Sidewinder
Egg 2 or Q-Loader (q when playing woodsball)
SmartParts Freak kit with Apex tip
MacDev Sonic LPR
Hybrid Grenade Grips
Q-Lock Ion Clamping Feedneck
PMI 68/5000 tank
Vaporworks 2004 Chaos Board
Lapco Stock (when playing woodsball)
Recommended
Upgrades:
It does not come with a bottom-line.
If you're running CO2, an expansion chamber would probably be helpful.
Strengths: Inexpensive
Sturdy
Excellent clamping feedneck stock
Weaknesses: Heavy
Relatively Slow
Review: I purchased this marker as a backup. It was a floor model at my local paintball store. I paid very little for it and didn't expect much.

My primary marker went out of commission during the middle of a scenario game this weekend. I pulled out the BT-16, expecting the rest of my day to be less than optimal.

I'd installed a regulator to the marker, but it was originally intended for a low pressure gun, and I wasn't sure how it would perform. With some fiddling, the marker chronoed in at a consistent 272-275. I hadn't expected that. I was using HPA.

The gun performed well. I was using an Egg2 and I put a little under 1000 balls through it without a single chop. I had some double feeds, but it just shot out two balls instead of one. The stock barrel yielded acceptable accuracy. I'd have weird corkscrewing shots every once in a while, but nothing upsetting.

It's a single-trigger mechanical marker, so it doesn't shoot rapidly. I'm not going to make an estimate on how many BPS I was getting, but I can say it wasn't a lot.

The marker feels good in your hands. It's sturdy, with no give in the frame or body. The ASA jiggles slightly, but doesn't affect performance. The trigger pull is solid without being tiresome. There is plenty of kick. That may not be the best for tourny play, but it makes the gun tremendous fun to shoot.

All in all, I was ridiculously impressed by this unassuming marker. I hadn't expected much, but $/performance it's one of the best paintball purchases I've made.
Conclusion: Fun, reliable marker for woodsball.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 7:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

soldiergone2war Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bt-4 Assault.
A-5
98 Custom
Marker Setup: Dragun Fire
Bt-4
Recommended
Upgrades:
Foregrip.
Strengths: Accurate and little.
Weaknesses: It is a gas hog and is little.
Review: I shot this gun and it worked good. It was like a a-5 without cyclone feed. The gun works pretty good on any ball. Sean segal likes pizza. The gun is light and and little in both good and bad ways. It is little in a good way to be manuverable and in bad it looks pretty dorky but some people dont care about looks.
Conclusion: If you are a starter and want a gun that you can upgrade alot, buy this one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media