paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical

BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $299

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• 6061 T-6 BILLET ALUMINUM RECEIVER
• VERTICAL FEED SYSTEM
• M-16 STYLE CHARGING HANDLE
• 1 YEAR FULL PARTS & LABOR WARRANTY
• HARD ANODIZED RECEIVER
• PRECISION BARREL SYSTEM
• ADJUSTABLE FRONT GRIP
• DUAL SIGHT/MOUNTING RAILS
• EXTERNAL VELOCITY ADJUSTER
• EASY FIELD STRIPPING
• INCLUDES BT-16 BARREL KIT
• CAR STOCK INSTALLED
• ADJUSTABLE SIGHT RAIL INCLUDED
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Promister 666 Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro Carbine- Much worse
98- Worse
A5- worse
Sims- Better but marginaly
Marker Setup: Electro-
Alien Intimidator
Dye Throttle Adjustable Air System
Empire 7 piece barrel kit
Reloader B
back up-
Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05
Replaced the alumionum ACS with Derlin
Eggy
Mech
Nasty Typhoon
Two Revys
back up/ senario
Ariakon SIM-4
Q loader
Sidearm
Overlord
Stock Class Phantom
Side arm
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q loader
Remote
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Rifle grip
Feel
APEX
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Review: Ok i was looking at BT for two reasons. One is that im a firm beliver that Spyder pwons all noob guns and wanted to see if this was true for BT, it was not. The secend is for a specific tatcial setup my team uses once in a while.

Ill explain the tactic cus its relevent to the way i tested the gun. The typical setup it on a hilled field. 5 man senario ball. Two of my guys have Carbines with BT Apex's, two have Phantoms, and one has a Nasty Typoon. We run like hell to the top of the hill. (the guns are attached by sholder strap to allow us to gun. The Carbiners, take out those who get in bunkers with there apexes, the snipers (phantomers) take out anything they see, and the Typooner covers from charges. Its a great strat, but the Carines are not the best guns.

What i was looking for. Large rifel like gun then can be held and aimed with a barrel piece and attahced with a strap. BT has not yet* given me what im looking for but i liked this gun anyway.

It didnt work as well as the Pros for a cuple reasons but one of my back players loved it. It has a great desighn for titting over bunkers to fire, and can be shot like a rifle. It has nice consistancy with HPA, and the barrels pretty good, though i recomend and APEX, cus well they kick ass. ITs better then any thing the other Tipman has put out and it truly one of the best low end guns out there. It shoots with as much speed as an A5 especialy if u put a Q loader on.
Conclusion: This is a great marker i would highly recomend it...one of my guys has been using it for a while in toneys and has had not problems, its modded like crazy, but either way its a great gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

hk_super104 Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: 32 degrees coiled remote kit
VL Smokey Electric Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
My setup
Strengths: Easy to Clean and Fix
Sturdy and Solid
Good Feel
Weaknesses: Inaccurate
Rear sight rendered useless by Hopper
Co2 hog
Stock a Little Wobbly
Review: BT I find is a very good company almost exactly the same as tippmann you can't go wrong. The gun is rather heavy but not a weight at which it becomes an annoyance but still heavy. This gun is VERY accurate amazingly accurate. With the coiled remote holseline this is probrably the best gun i've used it's amazingly comfortable when in play. This thing also get's alot of look and questions not to mention the intimidation factor. I like woodball the most so this gun is perfect, no flashy colors to catch some ones eye and shoot at you. But this gun does have a problem it's a Co2 hogger it can be annoying but I dont really worry about it because i get all day Co2 where I play (but it get's repetative). It's also very durable it made of aluminum and hard plastic the plastic may break but they have replaceable parts. The fore-handle on it bugs me so when i want an accurate shot i take off the handle which is easy by unscrewing the bottom and sliding it off, also you can move it around on the slide. the neck of the feed is ajudstable but the sight on the gun is useless comepletely. the trigger on it is nice as well being a compund trigger pulls back nicely. I STRONGLY suggest you get a remote hoseline there like $20 and makes a huge improvement on your game.
Conclusion: I say that this is the gun for you if you are an avid woodsball player. it's easy to maintain as is accurate and durable exactly what you want in a woodsball gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 29th, 2006 at 4:59 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

kR15 Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, nothing compares that I have ever shot
Marker Setup: Stock with remote coil, 20 ounce Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Coil
Strengths: -Powerful
-Good Range
-Accurate
-Reliable
-Ergonomic
-Sturdy
-Good Rate of fire
-Intimadation
-Milsim
Weaknesses: -Uses alot of Co2
-Vert Sight
Review: I received this gun for Christmas and have used it twice. out of about 400 paintballs I did not have one break. I fired at a 2 foot wide target and all of the paintballs hit, after I readjusted my aim, and they all hit within a half foot radius.It had good range as they were hitting in the woods about 50-60yards behind my house with a lot of power. The Vert Sight makes the sight rail useless. It is heavy without a remote coil.it fires consistently .I dropped it twice now and has not even been scratched. It is extremely easy to field strip and reassemble, but on mine the rear strip pin is hard to remove. this could just be my gun, or it could be like it with all of them. because of this I would recommend carrying a pen or similarly shaped object to help get the rear pin out. I would also recommend carrying a small drill (such as the ones advertised in Canadian Tire) for removing the tank adapter. It intimidates anyone who sees it, or at least it has for me playing against my friends. Unlike most people, I did not find this gun very heavy.
Conclusion: I would give this gun a 9.5 if I could. It is very good. accurate, reliable and sturdy. it has good range and accuracy. This is a good gun for anyone willing to pay over $300 for a marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 30th, 2005 at 11:27 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fearmenow Monday, December 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann A-5 w/apex barrel
crossfire nitrogen 69ci tank
viewloader evo2 loader
Marker Setup: BT 16 Tactical marker
Worrgass 48ci tank
remote hose
stock everything else
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-loader>the vert feed is not a problem, but when you want to go long range, and you need some type of scope, its a problem. the q-loader will solve this for me.
Strengths: Accurate
Awesome looking
Intimidating features
Great distance
Weaknesses: Heavy
A little loud if you are into the sniper positions
Review: The BT 16 Tactical is an awesome gun. I think that all woodsballers should at least look at one.

When the marker arrived, some of the bolts and the screws were loose. I purchased some thread lock and put on them and they haven't came loose yet.

One of the key features that i love is the accuracy. I was taking out people that had pump cockers, angels, timmys, and A-5 assaults. This gun rips.

This gun is also a very fast marker for its size and its stock capabilties. I was able to get around 13 bps, thats fast enough if you only need to shoot one ball for every person on the field. I would have had the same results even if I would have had a single shot.

Another thing that i like about this gun is its high intimidation factor. Many people at the field asked if they could take it for a test run. I thought I was going to have to deck a guy out because he wouldn't give it back.

These guns are really easy to upgrade and modify. Take mine for instance, I didn't really like the look of the barrel shroud, so I took them off and now my once M-16 is now a low pro sniper that still shoots the same.

This is a great gun and it doesn't need any upgrades, although I am getting an interceptor barrel from "OPSGEAR" that should be in any time now. I will update this entry when i have a chance to test it out.
Conclusion: This is a must for the beginning to intermediate sniper. This gun has unmatched accuracy, distance, and looks. I do recommend some type of remote hose and remote hopper to accompany this dazzling piece of machinary. Other than the vert feed, there are no flaws with the gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Verbious Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 w/flatline, CAR stock, Response Trigger
Marker Setup: BT-16 Tactical with Bottom Line kit and Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom Line Kit and Remote
Strengths: Durable Material, Accurate, Lineage (Ben Tippmann)
Weaknesses: Needs thread locking compound from the factory, limited upgrades.
Review: This is my first marker. I wanted a gun that would be great for woods ball and had the military look. I had considered other markers with this look, but settled on the BT-16 Tactical because of the price and the Ben Tippmann lineage. Some of the other markers that I considered: the Recon E5 approx $280, Tippmann A5 with flatline and CAR Stock, Tippmann 98 Custom with CAR stock and BT-16 barrel kit.

When I tested the gun, I had paint blowing back into the hopper for some reason. The gun was assembled properly. There are two things that I can think of that could have caused this: I failed to cock the marker as prescribed by the instruction manual before I hooked up the CO2; and I could have had some broken balls that could have been causing a double feed or some type of jam.

The remote line is necessary to keep the weight off the gun from the tank.

I found the marker to be very accurate and was able to take out players that were using field guns from a greater distance than they could hit me.

My carrying handle and sight rail were loose when I got the gun. I tightened this and it has not come loose.

The front sight post was tight when I got the gun, but came loose during play. I will have to use some thread locking compound on the set screw.

Near the end of the day, I had a few broken balls in my hopper but the marker never missed a beat. It fired very well even with all the paint that was coating the inside of the barrel.

The marker chronoed in at 260 FPS and I got about 800-1000 shots from my 20 oz tank.

I got comments about the look of the gun all day and even let a few other players take it for a test drive. I thought I was going to have to fight one guy to get it back!
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker for any woods baller that wants a dependable, durable, accurate, powerful, easy to clean, and good looking marker.

I suggest that anyone buying this marker get some thread locking compound and use a wee bit on the front sight post set screw, the ring that holds the stock to the frame, and the screw that holds the top plate on.

I give it a 10 on looks and performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tipp_Mann_Man Friday, October 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: BT-16 Tactical totally stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger...(hard to find)
Strengths: Accuracy, rate of fire, intimidating.
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart.
Review: Overall I have to say this is a great gun. It's got a few mods out that not many people know about too. It's very accurate and loks great, however do not take it apart if you are inexperienced because mines broken on me more then once by attempting.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if your a woodsball player and mod it up for tourneys, it;s a good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bayruun Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, 98 Custom, Spyder Xtra (I guess it's similar)
Marker Setup: Stock MR2
9oz Co2, basic 200 round hopper
Ronin Gear Tactical Vest
PMI USP stock with Ronin holster - amazing pistol!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote, sling
Strengths: Realistic, decent stock, overall good ergonomics.
T-bolt is pretty cool
Pretty good effective range
Weaknesses: Feed neck blocks ironsights
Very complex internals
Low rate of fire
Review: The first thing that I noticed when I fired it was that it sounds very different. Most of the noise seems to be generated by the bolt, a kind of "bink, bink." It doesn't sound heathy, but there's nothing wrong with it.

The second thing is that the sights are useless. You have to sight down the side of the barrel like most other guns. It isn't as much of a handicap as it seems, but being able to use the ironsights would be nice.

When I was test-firing the gun, i found that it was very accurate at longer ranges. That's why I bought it; I needed a long-range marker. There's some curve to the balls which will cause problems, but that's common among most markers.

I don't like the positioning of the tank, which is straight down. A remote will fix that, but until that's rectified, being prone isn't much of an option.

[EDIT Oct. 24th 2005]
Just played with the thing in the cold and the rain. Where my Spyder Xtra worked as well as ever, the BT16 multi-fed like a demon. I had to use the thing like a shotgun due to the sheer amount of paint I'd put through the barrel in one shot.

Basically, the thing has no tolerance to poor weather conditions. While performing admirably on clear days, I found myself finishing missions with a pistol more than once due to the fact that "shotgunning" uses massive amounts of paint.

[EDIT April 17th 2006]
The thing won't work this year. I've been maintaining the thing properly, but it chops like crazy, and won't shoot straight at all. Repairs have already cost me a fortune on this, so I'm just going to sell off the parts. In my opinion, it isn't worth your $300. Maybe worth your $100, but certainly not three hundred.
Conclusion: I was initially impressed by the range and feel of the marker, but I've since had innumerable problems with the gun.
The BT16 has troubles in poor weather, and seems to have reduced effectiveness as it ages (I've never had that happen to any other marker).

I don't suggest it at all.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 17th, 2006 at 5:53 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

jacobsmith384 Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: BT-16 tactical,remote,20 ounce co2 tank,spring loaded hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote for tank
Strengths: *Accurate
Weaknesses: *Heavy
*Sight rail is useless
Review: Even though i have not had this gun very long,I really like it alot.It is very accurate,and the balls hardly ever bust in the barrel.One thing I like about it is that it is designed like a real gun.One thing i recomend is to buy a remote for it bcuz it is heavy,and a remote will be very usefull instead of adding another couple of pounds with your air tank to a 6 pound gun.The other day I was testing out the gun and it shoots very far,when they say it shoots 150+ feet they mean 150+ feet.And after seeing that it could actually shoot this far I like the gun even more.They dont lie when they say how far it can shoot.I really like this gun and if you are thinking about buying it,it would not be a bad idea to.And after only haveing this gun a few weeks I can see that it is very reliable from when I have tested it.
Conclusion: Overall I really like this gun,it is very accurate,can shoot really far,and is reliable.I think it is a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 2nd, 2005 at 10:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlooJay06 Tuesday, September 13th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 Hammer Head Barrell
Marker Setup: Bt-16 Tactical, Ricochete 2k, Remote Line, Pure Energy 88ci-4500psi, Bottom Line, Broadsword Vest, Profiler, E Vents.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Line, Ricochete Hopper, high preasure tank, Bottom Line
Strengths: Accurate, Durable, and Light Weight.
Weaknesses: Hand Guard falls apart.
Review: My review on the Bt-16 Tactical is that it is a very reliable marker. It is very accurate, Durable, and others say it is heavy but for me it is pretty light compared to other markers I have used. I play woodsball and I need those accurate shots and this is the Marker to do it. I have dropped it a couple of times and I was just able to pick it up and continue on with the scenario. The marker is light weight and it allows me to hold it in one position for quite some time to get the shot I need.
One bad thing I noticed about the Bt-16 is that the upper hand guard falls apart when being used as a grip. My suggestion is that who ever buys this marker should tight the screw underneith the front sight right under the front swivel with an allan wrench. And also put loc tite on the screw to keep it from unscrewing it self.
Conclusion: All woodsball and urban assault players need to give the Bt-16 a try.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 24th, 2006 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

joelewicki Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, 98
Marker Setup: BT-16 Tatical w sling o yeah and a bipod
USp holstered back
Delta holstered left side
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-loader
Strengths: Power, Sexy looking, Accuracy, unearned Popularity
Weaknesses: VERTICAL FEED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What is the point of the sight rail?
Review: I must have been on crack when I bought this gun. I walked into the store going to buy a gun that wasnt vertical feed but BAM I looked at it. With the bipod and the stock and the Barrel and I was out of that store in 5 minutes. Now 7 months later i'm disgusted. But today I hade a change of heart when I saw the Q-Loader for the first time. Buying it tomorrow. Gun Is going to be nuts with out the hopper.
Conclusion: BUY THE q-loader or dont buy it at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media