paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical

BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $299

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• 6061 T-6 BILLET ALUMINUM RECEIVER
• VERTICAL FEED SYSTEM
• M-16 STYLE CHARGING HANDLE
• 1 YEAR FULL PARTS & LABOR WARRANTY
• HARD ANODIZED RECEIVER
• PRECISION BARREL SYSTEM
• ADJUSTABLE FRONT GRIP
• DUAL SIGHT/MOUNTING RAILS
• EXTERNAL VELOCITY ADJUSTER
• EASY FIELD STRIPPING
• INCLUDES BT-16 BARREL KIT
• CAR STOCK INSTALLED
• ADJUSTABLE SIGHT RAIL INCLUDED
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Pooker Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a tippman 98 & a5 thay worked quite well concedering i havent used my bt-16 Tactial yet
Strengths: The ajustable stock
The gun looks and feels very authintic
Weaknesses: Vert feed
Review: I just literally bought my BT-16 Tact yesterday so I haven’t used it at all (I fired a few blanks thru it but that’s it) and it was working fine from what I could tell then I noticed that the fore stock was loose as well as the top rail and the stock was a tad shaky also. So this morning I took the sight/handle off to tighten the rail low and behold my bolt won't go all the way back or forward dose any body know what i may have done? over all the gun is great!
Conclusion: Please help me
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

TruthbeTold Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM Series, Model 98, 98 Custom, Custom Pro, A-5, Numerous 'Cocker Series Markers, Classic BL Timmy, ION, Impy, Shocker, SIM-5, etc
Marker Setup: Too many markers to list - currently I am a well known airsmith in Central USA - since my reviews will be unbias, I rather not say who I am.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are recommended since at this time upgrades are not available otherthan a horz. bottle adpater which is a good way to break your jaw on a 5M rush - makes teh marker top heavy- an e-grip was supposed to be available to the public in the Spring of 2005 - but it failed to show.
Strengths: The name Tippmann is it's key strength.
Weaknesses: Shotty design in specific areas, upgradability limited.
Review: At first glance when you look at the BT Series from the Ben Tippmann Design group one would think "Great Deal" - which in itself it really is.
I know that may sound odd considering the review I am about to give this marker series.
The design theory behind the BT is basically that of any Ben Tippmann product - Connecting rod, rear bolt, front bolt, valve make-up, 98 threads on the barrel, etc.
The problem that I have seen with this marker is the failure to properly thread the marker body screws - using inferior heli-coils that break apart under the to rear rail where the body takes a licking under an awful amount of pressure rather than actually threading the receiver hole was a mistake, mismatching ball detents from one marker to the next (actually ball-bearings spring loaded - what happened to the good old peach colored ball stopper?).
The valve is a carbon copy of the A5 valve system which the guts are retained by a bur-bur o-ring rather than a retaining ring or even a "c"-clip - which makes it somewhat difficult for your layman to properly maintain.
I believe Ben will work out these kinks - making the ball detent old school rather than a different design not used in quite a long time - I don't know if he signed a no compete clause with K-2 - but his design could have, and should have been more user friendly as his past markers have been for about 20 yrs. These markers are more show than substance - the value is the purchase comparison of the aesthetic parts rather that the internal operating mechanics, which in the end is the most important reason for a purchase like this. Ben had a chance, and stills does if corrected, to basically knock Armotech, Ariakon, and the likes of out of the market once he cleans the bugs ot of what may be the next best thing in Rec-Paintball since the 98 Series from Tippmann Pneumatics.
Conclusion: Once these problems are corrected - and more options are available to the public i.e. RT, E-Grip, etc. this has a chance of cornering a market that Ben knows all too well - but until these kinks are worked out - I believe the Jury will remain behind closed doors, as too this marker should be - this is a piece of equipment that in my opinion was rushed into a market to be sold with a name of quality rather than the quality of the product.
As mistakenly stated by another reviewer - this company IS owned by the Tippmann's and you can call them at 260-424-9100 to ask.

NOTE: Addendum to my post - subsequently BT Designs has stopped production of the BT-16 Series because of the problems that I had mentioned - they now sport a BT-4 which believe it or not is almost a carbon copy of the Tippmann 98 Custom - with the ability to go ahead and drop an A5 RT kit in immediately and double trigger. That review to follow.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 7th, 2005 at 5:17 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Impreza Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Modded Spyder TL
Modded 98 Angel LED
Marker Setup: VL Motorized Hopper
Remote system on HPA Bottle
Rifle Sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote System
Rifle or Tactical Sling
Strengths: Accuracy
Dependability
Intimidation factor
Realistic Car15/M4 Proportions
Weaknesses: Weight
Size
Review: This is the first new marker I have bought. Being a woods-ball player and former military, more I play with BT Tactical, the more I like it.
Marker is quite accurate, little heavy, feels robust, is well balanced w/ remote and seems to be a Tippmann clone. (which are known for durability)
This not a gun for people who feel uneasy about extra weigh and size. Myself, I feel right at home, with realistic gun design vs. star wars sci-fi looking guns.
Crawling, sprinting, shooting in awkward positions is easy with the use of hand-guards and the adjustable front hand grip.

Marker does not require but could use a sling. With any marker it gets tiring having to hold the marker all the time while off the field, or walking on or off it. I got a cheap sling before the last day I played. World of difference.
The carrying handle needs to come off in order to clear some of the motorized hoppers.
Small price to pay for uninterrupted ammo supply.

These days you can get these for about $270. I recommend the remote system for it, but a 20oz smaller co2 tank will attach to the gun stock.
People with Tippmann A5 and 98's can upgrade their markers to look somewhat like this model but they will likely spend as much as this marker is worth.


Conclusion: BT 16 Tactical, looks good, turns heads and gets asked about allot.
It is accurate, durable, comparable to Tippmann markers.
I would suggest buying this one if you like playing woods-ball. I'm having a great experience with it, and haven't had any issues with it so far.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Backwood Sniper Friday, April 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Sniper Rifle
Marker Setup: BT-16 Tactical
Strengths: -Durable
-Very accurate
Weaknesses: Very heavy
Sight rail is useless because of the vertical feed
Review: *EDIT*
I added this to my review because I would like to clear some things up with a new one. First off, this gun was taken off the market a while ago due to the fact that it has many design flaws, so this review probably doesn't matter to anyone except for those who have the gun and may be experiencing problems with it. My bt-16 tactical has not worked very good since the day i bought it.. I figured out the problem so I am posting this for anyone who may be having the same problem as I was. My gun was shooting poorly because my paintballs were being shot back into my hopper. This was causing paintballs to bust, then gum things up, and cause what few paintball did come out, to fly with little/no accuracy. I fixed this by drilling a few holes in the lower part of my vertical feed, and also by drilling a few holes in the lid of my hopper. I will put pictures on within the next few days to help anyone who needs it. After doing this, my gun seems to be working fine. It shoots faster and better than it did before.(yeah, its still not that fast, so speedballers stay off my case) Anyhow, now that i have it fixed i am fairly happy with it and hope that it will continue to work for a long time. BT has since come out with a BT4 line of markers and from what i hear they seem to be okay. However, in my past experiences with BT, i doubt i will ever buy another product from them again.

*OLD*
This gun is pretty decent. It looks cool and has great accuracy. Although, i dont really like it because it is too heavy. It is made of thick alloyed aluminum. It is very heavy compared to a Tippmann 98 Custom. Also, don't be fooled by the name ben "TIPPMANN" because this isn't an actual "Tippmann". This is a different company with the same name. As for CO2, this gun seems ok. I shot probaly over 500 rounds off of a 12oz and it still wasn't empty. Although, with this gun, you have to screw the CO2 Cylinder as far up as it can go or else it will leak CO2 and you wil waste the tank. This gun may seem cool and you may like the fact that it is accurate, but if you are considering buying this gun, I wouldn't if i was you. If you are looking for a good gun that is similar to this, then go with the Tippmann 98 Custom Sniper Rifle. That is a good gun and is very accurate. If you are looking for a gun that looks like this, then my advice would be to buy a Tippmann 98 Custom and buy the accessories on--- www.bentippmann.com ---to make it look like this gun. You can find a barrel attachment, stock, and sight rail to make it look almost exactly like this gun, but it will then be much lighter and CO2 efficent. Also, if you go with this setup, the sight rail will then work because tippmann 98s don't have a vertical feed to get in the way.
Conclusion: I wouldn't suggest buying this gun. I would suggest buying a Tippmann 98 Custom and just buying the accessories to make it look like a bt-16 tactical. It may cost a little more, but it will be a lot lighter, more CO2 efficent, just as accurate, and just as cool looking. Or, just buy the tippmann 98 custom w/ flatline barrel and stock.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 at 12:05 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Meathouse Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom w/flatline barrel
Marker Setup: BT- 16 Tactical (stock.) Ricochet AK hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
horizontal bottle adapter. Or a remote system
Strengths: Accurate, great velocity, easy breakdown, comfortable shooter, high intimidation factor.
Weaknesses: vertical ball feed makes the rear sight useless. Aftermarket offset sight needs to be used.
Review: Carefully break down and go over each part before using.The first time I used this marker out of the box I fired maybe 25 rounds and most of my shots were exploding back into my hopper! Upon further review I found that the hammer was installed backwards which was not creating any recoil. This caused thebolt to remain foreward thus causing the air pressure to send my paints into the hopper, not out the barrel. I corrected this and I have had 0 problems.
I have used it several times and it does'nt use much more CO2 than my Tippman 98.
I would recommend a remote system due to the weight of a larger bottle plus the marker. Although, the placement of the cylinder is centered well on the marker for small bottles. I adjusted the velocity to about 285fps and this seemed to be optimum for accuracy, distance and minimum ball breakage. I would recommend a side offset scope for you snipers out there as this marker works well for that purpose.

Conclusion: Overall I'am very pleased with this product. If you don't want to spend a small fortune on an Ariakon or Rap4 go with this one. It is user friendly and versatile. Overall a good value Mil-Sim.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

williewonka Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month36 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder aggressor xt
Marker Setup: bt-16 tactical(stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
horizontal bottle adapter
Strengths: Distance, Speed, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Uses way to much Co2
Review: This gun was awesome. I have been using it for about a month and I cant get enough of it. The speed and accuracy is awesome. This guns price is really good considering that it is used by the military for practice combat. The only downfall is that it uses way to much Co2. I played for about 2 hours and I only had a quarter tank left.
Conclusion: I recommend this product for its price and its durability
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media