paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask

Proto Switch EL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch EL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch EL Mask
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 162
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto Switch Entry Level (EL) Mask

-Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.

-Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custon fit. Just set it and forget it.

-The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrficing any ear protection.

-Our incredibly simple 1/4-turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.

-Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.

-The first tirodial lens in the world of paintball - all the clarity jet pilots have. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.

-Self-venting, low profile and removeable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

-Solid, lightweight one-piece construction face mask protects you from paintball impacts.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch EL Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
paintballer1182 Monday, November 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle something- crap
empire e vent- amazing
Marker Setup: spyder mr2
empire reloader b
Strengths: Comfortable
Weaknesses: Fog!!
Review: I don't know if I was just unlucky, but I borrowed this mask from my friend because my brass eagle is crap. He told me it was a great mask. As soon as we got out to our starting positions, the mask started to fog. before we had even began playing. It fogged all day and I had to hide and wipe it off every 10 minutes for 5 hours. I don't know if this one was bad, but it was horrible for me. I give it a 5/10 because it was really comfortable, but foggy.
Conclusion: Most of these reviews are great for this mask, but my experience was horrible. I would NOT recommend it to a friend.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

saladfingers Wednesday, September 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other masks
Marker Setup: A-5
Expansion Chamber
JT 24oz
New Designz X7 / A-5 Power Tube with Delrin Bolt
Response Trigger
12"Lapco Big Shot
Riochet Low Profile Hopper
Tech-T i-fit
Strengths: Looks good
Comfort
Foam earpieces
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Mask is very hard
Review: This is a great mask for All paintballers. The first thing I wanna say is, it is a breeze to clean with just a quarter turn of a knob the lens pops out as advertised. It has a good range of vision, It doesn't fog, and it protects like it supposed to. The price is also good, I picked it up at my local Army navy store for $29.99. The mask is pretty hard so dont expect a ball to bounce, I really dont care much for the chin strap, and the lens does scratch easily but with care it will last a long time.
Conclusion: Great mask, I am really happy I bought these and not some horribly expensive JT mask. This one works just fine, and for the price you cant really beat it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Janek566 Monday, May 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Same mask but with regular (single) lens.
Marker Setup: N/A
Strengths: - Lens quality,
- Field of view,
- Weight,
- Head ventilation,
- Overall head protection,
- Visor,
- ...and Price!
Weaknesses: - Quality of plastic,
- Do not fit the bottom of the face,
- Anti-fog coating,
Review: ~~ STRENGTHS ~~
This mask is great if you're looking for a cheap but reliable mask. Good for big but also smaller heads. The lens have great quality (but they are bit hard to clean because the anti fog coating is very "fragile"). The field of view is astonishing for such a massive mask. It is plastic and so, light. The head ventilation is perfect (look at the number of the ventilation holes :D

Head protection is full, ie. front part of the face, jaw, forehead and even the chin. The visor is also a cool feature. The mask would be very bad without it - the lens can't stand the light and you won't see much on the field.

The price - big advantage; I bought it in UK for 28 pounds - very cheap!


~~ WEAKNESSES ~~
The quality of plastic is poor - after the first use and the first cleaning the plastic developed a crack along the side (small but still),

The mask's shape suggests that people faces are equally wide from the forehead to the chin - weird;

Although the lenses have an anti-fog coating is doing its job, it will quickly wear off during regular usage, and even faster when cleaning too,

OVERALL THIS MASK KICK ASS!

... but if you are something more that the begginer get something better ... really...
Conclusion: I give it 8 because of the quality to price ratio
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sab541 Sunday, May 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Voltage (very good system but not as comfy)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with ACT
Smart Parts 14 in Linear Barrel
BT Rip Clip (98 Custom version)
Double Trigger kit
Remote Coil
Strengths: Comfortable, Inexpensive, Easy lens replacement.
Weaknesses: Fogs up
Review: I've used this mask for a while now and I love how comfortable it is. Out of the 5 or 6 outings I've used it I've had problems with it fogging up and so has my friend who has the same mask. I just now bought the amber colored thermal replacement lenses so I'm sure the fog will no longer be an issue from now on. If I could have done it all over again i would have bought the Proto FS system that already has the thermal installed. Changing lenses is a breeze and to me thats the best part of owning this mask since my wife's Scott Voltage is a pain to change. All in all this is a great mask and the fog issue probably has a lot to do with the Climate here in the Northwest and the way I breath when in a match. Best mask you can buy for 30 bucks.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a mask on the cheap then this is the one for you since it's only 30 bucks and can upgrade when you get the money for the thermal lenses. It's very comfortable and very nice looking.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The REV. 71 Tuesday, April 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Walmart specials, other JT products... None compare except in price
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Black Heart board/Stock board, Remote feed(Ninja) with Ninja Tank, Virtue Grips, Halo V35 hopper with RIP, Low profile locking feed neck (dont remember brand)... (Back up Marker) Old Spider compact (dont remember the year i think 92-95), Upgraded spring, locking feed neck and VL 200 RD hopper, (Same air setup as ion)
Strengths: FITS WELL WITH GLASSES!!
NO FOG
Comfortable foam around eyes
In-expensive price
Weaknesses: Back strap isn't the best for adjusting
Doesnt Cover my Neck well
Review: These are great Goggle, and have a great price. If I were to buy a second "Back-up" pair of goggles, I would get these protos in black. Haven't had a problem with them yet. (yet... yes everything eventually gives you trouble)

The biggest thing people reviewing goggles never put in reviews is if they fit well around glasses. (mostly because they aren't vision impared for those who have put how well they fit with your glasses thank you.) I mean VERY well around glasses. This is one of the biggest things for me because I am BLIND! I also wear some large lensed glasses because I perfer to have larger peripheral vision. I wear big sixties style Elvis Costello glasses. These fit perfectly with no bouncing (of your glasses) that I see happen alot to the Vision Impared because the mask doesnt fit the bows well.

On to something that applies to everyone. These goggles havent fogged up on me yet. Which I havent used them in the summer yet so I dont know the full stress test of them. I figure if they do a no fog spray would fix that right up.
They have very comfortable foam around the eyes and are very light weight. They hold on strong (if adjusted right) and do not slip. I haven't used a higher end goggle before but for the price these are the best goggles I have used.
For me they have great peripheral vision my glasses dont even cover how wide the view is so that great for people who wear contacts or have good eye sight.
They are a harder shell which is a plus for me and I also like how they come in a good forest camo. So poping you head out from time to time atleast feels safer.
The goggles also hang far off your face which I like to an extent. As said in the weaknesses because they hang far off your face (which keeps them cool and less foggy) they dont protect your neck the best which isnt a big problem drop the ten dollars and get a neck gaurd if you are that concerned. (getting shot in the neck does make me sit out a good thirty minutes but doesnt happen that often.) The back strap isnt the best I've seen for adjusting compared to the higher end goggles, but if you take them off and adjust you can get a good range from a big fat head to a pea head like mine. Just takes some trial and error.
Conclusion: Final conclusion. These are the best goggles I have used and I am probably going to stick to proto for my eye protection based on that. For anyone that has big clunky glasses keep looking cool on and off the field and get a pair of these. Anyone can afford them and they are built like a tank from the first timer to the professional. (Good for woods, senario, and speedball)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mnunpb Saturday, April 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt masks?
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ 14 inch sniper barrel
Strengths: Cheap, strong, easy to take apart and clean
Weaknesses: New lenses cost as much as the mask
Review: First off, man this is a great mask! I have the camoflauge version and the camo print has yet to fade. one downside though is that it stains easily. Now i look like a pretty pink princess out in the woods! Another con, i had trouble getting the visor on, but i just wear a beenie and it works just as well. I also reccomend a better lense, it is very strong though,,
Conclusion: Buy it buy it buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jesse_G Wednesday, November 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 09 Invert Mini with Halo Too loader and 4000psi
Strengths: Looks cool, very comfortable, great price, nice lens
Weaknesses: Hard, does not bounce
Review: Great Mask!

Lens is awesome! Super comforatble lots of padding and protection! Best mask for under $60 Canadian! It's small. I would recommend the camo one for woodsball! This mask just looks and is awesome! Only problem is if you get shot in the mask it WILL splatter unfortuanatley, yet it's my favourite mask!
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone who plays or is interested in playing paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ERLUFRAL Tuesday, October 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
only had used the rentals previously
Marker Setup: S-P-1 WITH E HOPPER
Strengths: Nice looking, cheap price, stayed in place well.
Weaknesses: Instantly fogged up.
Review: The mask did stay in place and they were inexpensive comparatively, but all three people who used them had problems and they are all different body sizes and shapes. They all complained of fogging within the first 5 minutes of wearing them. They did put on some anti fog substance that someone at the field had which helped for a round or two but then they started fogging again. It was so bad my children wanted us to rent them the masks rather than use these.

Conclusion: I would not buy them or recommend them. I don't know a whole lot about masks I bought them based on the reviews I saw, maybe we got a bad batch but like i said all three people had problems with fogging. They mask did stay in place well because of the chin strap and head strap and they were comfortable, looked good the price was cheap too, but it is no bargain if you can't see to play. I was lucky because the store owner took them back but you may not be so think twice about spending the extra money and getting a pair you know won't fog.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

danewbie Friday, September 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock mask from viewloader triton 2 gun package.
Marker Setup: 08 spyder pilot with trinity t lock(needs ion threads), invert reloader 2, j&j s2 14inch barrel and a 48ci 4500psi guerrilla air HPA tank.
Strengths: Doesnt fog,
easy to adjust,
clear view with
180 degrees
Weaknesses: Maybe when you sweat the eye things soak it up.
Review: This mask is clear with a wide view along with a budget aforrdable price. Sometimes sweat builds up in the eye things but that is a easy fix and is no problem at all. It looks good and keeps me wondering why people spend anywhere from $50 to $150. Its just crazy
Conclusion: Buy this mask works great and is cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Landerpurex Thursday, September 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Old JT mask
Old brass eagle mask
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
universal spyder virtue board
infiniti trigger
12" CP barrel
new designz feed neck
HALO B w/ rip and v35 board
48ci 3000 psi NO2 tank.
Strengths: Fits Well
Easy lens switch
CHEAP
Weaknesses: Fogs
Scratches easily
Hard to adjust
Review: I JUST bought this mask, because my old one is getting old and very scratched up from woodsball play. I was also looking for something that doesn't fog, or at least NOT AS MUCH. Needless to say, I played speedball a week ago using this mask for the first time and it didn't fog up quite as bad as my trusty old JT mask, it stilled fogged up badly after awhile. Also, I wear glasses beneath my mask, and after a day's play the inside of this thing was scratched up like an angry baby badger had been caught in there.

Granted, this mask is very cheap for the quality. It IS made of hard material, but it didn't bother me that much. It fit my face really well, my JT mask used to slip off my face from time to time, this was nice and tight. The straps can be tough to adjust, I'm hoping they get easier with wear. The chin strap was very nice, it came with a little padded thing so it doesn't cut into your chin. Switching lenses is relatively easy, it's good because it's possible without tools, but newer masks are coming up with faster, easier ways of doing it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to someone looking for a new mask and has a tight budget. It's a good mask, but it was a swing and a miss for me personally.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media