paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask

Proto Switch EL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch EL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch EL Mask
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 162
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto Switch Entry Level (EL) Mask

-Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.

-Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custon fit. Just set it and forget it.

-The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrficing any ear protection.

-Our incredibly simple 1/4-turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.

-Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.

-The first tirodial lens in the world of paintball - all the clarity jet pilots have. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.

-Self-venting, low profile and removeable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

-Solid, lightweight one-piece construction face mask protects you from paintball impacts.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch EL Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
naughtydogpball Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Random assortment of JT and vforce masks
Strengths: Great vision, looks cool, padding makes it very comfy.
Weaknesses: No bounces whatsoever, very hard mask. Alsothe chin strap is useless, i cut it out.
Review: I bought this mask as a step up form the crappy rental masks and i like it. Its got great padding in the ears and around the face. It gets a 9.5 for comfort.
Unfortunately it does not get anywhere near that in performance. The outside of the mask is very hard and wont get you any bounces. Its also very large compared to my next mask which will be the pro flex, it seems more like a helmet sometimes than a mask. However, if you dont play tournament paintball and just want something comfortable for a great price, this is for you.
Conclusion: Get it if you only care about comfort and price. If your looking for bounces, dont buy this mask.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Big Toddzilla Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann/scott goggle
Marker Setup: A-5, double trigger, 72ci 3000 psi tank, flatline, j & j 14 inch ceramic, freak jr kit, M249 saw stock
Strengths: Comfort, protection, sight lines, NO FOG
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I used these on a cold winter day in Ohio. It was 22 degrees outside and we were playing scenario games at Battlefront Paintball. It has old bombed out buildings and lots of trees and brush. It is very important to have peripheral vision going from building to building. I am a rather large man and my lungs do not like the cold. i was running and breathing hard and they NEVER FOGGED UP. I got shot 2 times in the lenses and took a lot of spray while behind bunkers and i just washed them off with some water and kept on playing. Make sure only to use water and a cotton towel not paper towels to clean the lenses with. These are great goggles at a great price.

I used them again on a cold day {was only around 38} and still no fogging problems. Some have said that you dont get any bounces but I actually got about 6-7 bounces today.
Conclusion: They are only $30.00 so I would definitely go and pick these up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 25th, 2006 at 3:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

doody Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
v force profiler
pro flex 8
Marker Setup: ion
q-lock clamping feedneck
14" freak with AA tip
72 ci 3000 psi nitro
Blackheart board
white body kit
Evo II
Strengths: Good mask
Weaknesses: Stock Lens get a little foggy
Review: This is a good guality mask that is ready to go out of the box. I was very pleased with them. They were only 27 bucks 2. The stock lens fogs up a little but i put on a chrome mirrored mask which doesnt fog and looks sick. Overall, great goggles
Conclusion: This is a good quiality mask from a good company
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

colton19tippy Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other masks!!
Marker Setup: tippmann c98,rt,jj cemetirc,cyclone feeder,adjustable stock,remote line,flatline coming soon and proto el
Strengths: Good view,looks awesome,covers good,dose not fog,cheep,and alot more
Weaknesses: Nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: this is one hell of a mask it rules and its only 40$$$ that's crazy how cheep it is .....and it never foged ones on me .....and it covers the top of you head really good....and you can breath in it so well unlike my old mash the jt full Head mask....
Conclusion: Buy this mask it rules!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p b f r e a k1 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: spyder imagine new 2005
20 oz. co2 tank
evo 2 hopper
trinity feed neck
Strengths: Comfy
Tight
Easy lens change
Affordable
Weaknesses: Kind of big
The Visor
Review: I bought this mask because I needed a better mask than the vforce beginner and I needed it to be in a good price range as well. So i bought it and it is worth every penny. The only bad thing is the size and it really is not that big. So the only recommendable upgrade is a tinted lens.
Conclusion: This is a nice, affordable mask that will last you a very ling time and doesn't need that much maintenance. Just upgrade the lens and you have a perfect affordable mask for all level's.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 8:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FU2 Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
various
Marker Setup: ION+Halo TSA Backman hopper+Ambush regulator+ 1,1 ltr HP system
Strengths: Good fit, good vision, price
Weaknesses: Visor
Review: The mask fits well and covers the ears and face to the jaw line. The mask sits quite low on the forehead so wearing a cap is advisable. The visor is easy to fit but does not sit securely and flips up when knocked. The chin strap is comfortable and adds to the overall secure fit but you don't have to wear it if you don't want to. The venting is good and even taking a direct hit on the front I hardly ate any paint!. The foam is comfortable and does not irritate the skin. The sit is a bit tight over the nose and squeezes the nostrils together making it difficult to breath through the nose. This does not bother me as I breath through my mouth when playing blowing the expelled air down. Vision is good and up until now has not fogged once (have been playing by -10°c). The lens is quite tough and is very easy and quick to change.
Conclusion: For the price a very good mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilcockermckim Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Radar and a cheap JT of some sort.
Marker Setup: 2004 Prostock Pewter Finish
Full Freak Barrel
VL Evo 2
Shocktech regulator
Shocktech asa
cp flame drop forward
3000 psi nitro tank
worr delrin bolt
dye grips
Strengths: Crystal clear image solidly built frame easy to change lense
Weaknesses: The visor and non-thermal lense.
Review: Well I had first baught this mask at MR Paintball in Saskatoon in olive drab man I though I look like the Master Chief. Anyway I used it for another couple of months and then the darn visor torn off, the little stubs taht keep it attachet ripped off. Needless to say I was disapointed considering it was a Proto. No worries though I went and asked the guy at MR for a new one and he gave me a black one no charge or questions asked. I used this one again for a couple more months and you know that darn visor got torn off again. What the heck. I kept this one and just thought I would play with out it. Anyway to the good stuff.
The mask is very low profile for a cheap mask ($50) and has a wide array of lenses and other gizzmos to upgrade it to a rather awesome mask. I do advise that you buy a second "thermal" lense because the one it comes with fogs up rather quickly when it is really warm out. Even though the mask has a rather hard frame I found that the GREAT EVIL paintballs bounced off of it!. The mask is very comfortable to use I have glasses and played with them on once and the mask didn't hinder them in anyway. Well looks of this mask are very sharp but I personally like the olvie drab because it reminds me of the Master Chief from Halo!!!!!
Conclusion: Well this review was more opinion and faults that I have found I would still say this is a WONDERFUL mask for the price and when its from a company like PROTO you know there are plenty of goods to do with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joedirt282002 Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Just cheap starter masks in kits. got a vantage on its way.
Marker Setup: 05' Cocker Trilogy Comp
14" Evil Driver Barrel
ANS hinge and Frame
Hybrid Lady Grips
Supafly Bolt
More to Come
Strengths: It looks good.
Wide field of vision.
Easy lense removal.
Only $30
Weaknesses: Fogs up like crazy.
The foam can get uncomfortable in hot weather.
Review: This mask came with my old starter gun. Knew proto was a good brand and looked foward to using it. I read reviews on how it is a great mask and doesnt fog. But this mask would be fogged up before the horn even blew for games. its like i need some windshield wipers or something. Other than that is is a good mask. people have told me that all i needed to do was buy a new thermal lense and it will be fine. but i found a great deal on the vantage which is known for anti- fog. but if you get a new lense the proto will be great.
Conclusion: If you want to get it, buy a new specialized anti fog lense. Other than that problem it is a good mask.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Steve-anator Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Shield
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: 05' Autococker Trilogy Competition
12 Volt Revvy Tripod
Black Magic Venturi bolt
Crossfire 45/3000 steel N2
Strengths: -Small and tight
-Very comfortable
-Easy to clean
-Lightweight
-Price (30$ retail)
Weaknesses: -No bounce
Review: Ok, well im gonna say right off the bat that this isnt the best mask out there on the market. there are some better ones, like say, the dye invision, but this mask is amazing for it's price. its really tight, giving a low profile but still has a great field of vision. very comfortable, due to foam pads on you face and temples, rather than rubber. its also light, and really easy to clean. all you have to do is pop the lens out (i can do mine in 15 seconds) and then run water through it till all the paint is gone. All in all, its a great mask for its price, and an all around great mask in general, for any level of player. the only bad thing about it is the fact that it has no bounce, but owell. : ) : ) : )
Conclusion: A great mask, and im gonna have to give it a ten, just because it is the best mask ive seen out there besides the invision, which in a whole new ballpark of a price range. Very good mask for any player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The King Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Profiler
JT Proflex
Dye Invision
Assorted "crap" masks
Marker Setup: Ion
FBM Cage Shell
NDZ Roller
CCM No-Pro
Hybrid On/Off
Lucky Stage 1 & 2

Halo B
PMI 68/4500
Strengths: Very quick lense replacement
Looks pretty cool
Can accept a fan and timer
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy
Can get some glare at indoor fields
Review: I switched to this mask after using a JT Spectra, and it was a huge improvement. After every game, I could take out, clean and replace the lense in a matter of seconds. Even though the mask is heavy, you can easily forget that it is there after a while because of it's snug fit. One minor downside is that at indoor fields, you can sometimes get glare because the lense is very far from your eyes. Other than that, this mask is really a mask to look at.
Conclusion: Go buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media