paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask

Proto Switch EL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch EL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch EL Mask
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 162
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto Switch Entry Level (EL) Mask

-Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.

-Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custon fit. Just set it and forget it.

-The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrficing any ear protection.

-Our incredibly simple 1/4-turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.

-Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.

-The first tirodial lens in the world of paintball - all the clarity jet pilots have. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.

-Self-venting, low profile and removeable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

-Solid, lightweight one-piece construction face mask protects you from paintball impacts.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch EL Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Donster 125 Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Sheild
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, 3 pos. CAR stock, Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail
Strengths: Durable
Lens Change (takes some getting used to)
Anti-Fog
CONFORTABLE
Weaknesses: Lens Change
Anti Fog
Review: So after our squad leader bought this mask, it was a big taboo if we bought anything else. I've used a Vforce shield as a rental mask for many years, and they are pretty good, but fogged to much. THis mask, for the price, is probably the best buy out there. The strengths of this mask is that it is durable and the anti-fog is pretty good as well as the lens change. IT is also super comfy! The biggesst downside of this maks is that the anti-fog is not 100%. I have had partial fog ups and things, but not under normal conditions, it wont fog. THe lens change, though it makes sense in theory, is acutally more difficult then it sounds. I find the hardest part is putting it all back together. THe real problem occurs when i am trying to put the outer lens frame back into place. THe final problem i had with this mask is that it is really hard to see into my sight even with a lapco offset sightrail. i fixed this problem by buying a special ops A5A2 stock.

EDIT: Sun. Oct, 22. 2006

I recently played a game with this maks and it keeps fogging up on me. Perhaps i have either a faulty lens, or i rubbed my lens to hard so the anti-fog coating came off. Either way, i am lowering my review to a 7 because of this. IT is average, and for the money, it is still a good mask, but not for me. Perhaps if i get a fan installed on it it would perform better. Eitehr way, im gonna buy the new VForce Grill, which looks just freaking amazing! Go to this site to check it out:
http://www.buypbl-paintball.com/cgi-bin/zcore.pl?pid=2034&am
p;am p;id_equipement=2365
Conclusion: A very good mask for the price. It gets an 7; -1 for the anti-fog is not that good, -1 for the lens-change system is kinda hard and -1 for the mask making it difficult to see down my sight.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 13th, 2007 at 2:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jtpro024 Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
scott rentals- terrible
Marker Setup: diablo wrath- 48ci 3000psi hpa, halo tsa frontman, hoping for a halo b or somethin
Strengths: Clarity
Looks
Company sticker that comes with looks sweet on my halo
field of vision
Weaknesses: Hard not many bounces
Only goes down to chin,
Chin strap is annoying
Review: This is a great mask for under 30 bucks i got mine for 24, worth every penney. the ability to take the visor and lenses out so quickly makes cleanup, or installing a new lens easy. good mask. the chin strap is kinda annoying so idk what you want to do with it i just left it. this mask has a good field of vision u can see from side to side which is nice when reloadin.
Conclusion: Go and get one if u can find one under 30$ its a good mask
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 10:13 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OniOfPain Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt stuff
Marker Setup: Stock Wrath Ltd
Egg with y board (soon to be z board)
72ci 3000psi steel tank hp (soon to get 68ci 4500psi carbon fiber tank)
(soon to have barrel kit)
Strengths: No fog what so ever, easy to clean, good fit, wide veiw, cheap
Weaknesses: Almost no neck cover.
Review: Ok i bought this mask because my other masks which are all jt would fog after just one game. First time i used this mask it was during the summer at panhandle paintball in Panama City Fl it was 100 - 101 and humid. I wore it the whole day and it never fogged (8 hours). I took a gog hit and just wiped it off with my hand and it still did not fog. No for most masks this would be the end of it and it would fog up like crazy but not this one. Then in the next game i got hit in the neck but i don't see where it hurts so much, the person wasn't that far away and it still didn't hurt.

Then over a month later i take it out of my gear bag (i had not cleaned it) and went to the Tyndall AFB paintball field which is also in Panama City. It was about 90 - 99 the whole time i was there (6 hours) and it was very humid once again, but this mask never fogged up.

Conclusion: I would recommend this product to every one for its price you cant beat it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 27th, 2006 at 10:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da Mon Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Tippman A5
R/T
CR15 Stock
32 degree barrel
Strengths: Great value for the money
Comfortable
Wide sight range, good peripheral
Weaknesses: Some fogging, heat build up in eye area in warm weather.
Constricts my breathing
Review: Acquired this mask as part of a newbie starter package with my Tippmann A5. Very pleased overall, great for recreation.

Experienced significant fogging at ION Skirmish; however, used some anti fog treatment and no more problems.

Fits tight on face without feeling constricitive, great field of vision. Never felt any tunnel vision while wearing.

I have a big nose, the lower seal around the eyes pinches my nose and slightly constricts breathing
Conclusion: Very good for a newbie or rec player. Will serve me well for the forseeable future
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow_Lang Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This mask I just got but I have used it.
Marker Setup: Ion
Stiffi
Pink Body Kit
Blue Halo B w/ rip
Blue CP reg
Blue Q Lock
Blue Line/hose
Virtue + Membrane
Blue Hybrid grips
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Dosent cover the back of your head
Review: This is a very awesome mask however I dosen't cover the back of your head but wat are the chances of getting hit there but it has happened to me and trust me it hurts like heck. I love this mask and I bought it from my friend for only $7 and that is cheap. I love the mask but I still owe my friend $7 still
Conclusion: Awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 14th, 2006 at 11:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartyion2006 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
JT Proflex
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Empire Fuel 45/4500
Viewloader Evo 2
Clamp Feed
Orange Bolt
Clippard QEV's
Smart Parts All-American Barrel
Strengths: Wide range of view
Fits head tightly yet comfortably
Comes with chinstrap
Weaknesses: Little heavy
Slows your head reaction downoddly
Supports on the lens break easy

Review: This mask is good for a back, and mid players. Its too heavy for front. Its built like a good mask should be, the wide range of view fits your periferal vision, so you can use all of your field of view its not restricted. Protects your ears very well... i had a nasty close encounter with that part of my body (got bunkered badly). So i would say that this is an excellent mask for any experience player its a good build and it will last.
Conclusion: Buy it if your a back of mid player not front.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phatboy6502 Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite Mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Empire 14" Twister Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Maddman spring Kit
Strengths: Comfortable
Low Profile
Price
Weaknesses: A Little Hard
Review: I bought this off of the Proto website because a friend told me about it and told me that it was not that much. So I decided that anything would be a step up from my other mask. I bought this and a thermal lens and I love it. It is so light and comfortable to wear. It is so easy to take the lens out to clean it too. If it would take you more than 1 min. to swap out the lenses then I'd probably have to say that it's not the mask's fault but the operator. All that you have to do is turn each end of the strap 1/4 turn and the lens is ready to come out. With the thermal lens I didn't fog up once.

The only real downside that I noticed when I used this for the 1st time was that it was a little hot inside. I don't know if this was the mask or the fact that it was 88* out with about 90% humidity and rain. But this mask performed real well in the rain. The visor kept the water out of the top of the lens like a champ.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone that wants a good mask for woodsball and does not want to spend a lot of money. I would also recommend getting a thermal les with this.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 3rd, 2006 at 4:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stalker605 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Proflex.
Marker Setup: Dynasty Ion, NDZ Low Rise Feedneck. Progressive '06 barrel. Vlocity Hopper.
Strengths: Protects Your Eyes From Shots.
Easy To switch out Lenses.
Weaknesses: Big.
Review: I picked this mask up at the local shop becuase i had some extra Cash Left, When I opened it, I saw this mask was pretty big, I modded it out a bit, I Cut the sides dont a bit and sanded the top down to the actual Frame, then i Painted the Google Frame White.

When I finished tearing and Modding this thing up, it came out quite nice.
Conclusion: Its a little big but its a good mask, But I would rather recommend the new proto line of masks, or a Jt Proflex.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoCowsEver Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some Brass Seagul garbage
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Smart Parts Linear 14' Barrel
(((Soon to be E-Grip
Strengths: Very Comfortable
Never Fogs
Great Fit
Weaknesses: Lets paint get into your mouth fairly easily
Review: Well, first off, I bought an A-5 gun package a while ago from a local store. My old stuff way screwed up anyway, so I decided I'd need a new helmet and stuff too. This helmet came with the gun, so I decided it was probably garbage. I'd need a new one soon.

Well, I tried it out in a game later that week...and good God was it amazing. I seriously don't know how to explain it, this thing is just great.

I did notice one thing though, if you're shot in the mouth area, be ready to taste paint. Some helmets have a better "curved" hole to the mouth so not as much paint goes through, but this one is gonna let a bit of paint through. Oh well, just don't get shot in the mouth, and it's no problem ;)
Conclusion: Best helmet I've ever owned, then again, I've never tried a really good quality helmet...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 1:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmylife Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT ELITE HEADSHIELD: ALLERGIC TO THE FOAM, AND ITS ITCHY
GAMEFACE: OK, FOGGY
Strengths: COMFY, SMALL, EASY TO MAINTAIN, anti fog lens works
Weaknesses: Chin straps a pain in the cojones
Review: This mask is great. I got mine for 25 bucks at MCM paintball in baton rouge. The foam is very comfy. It wonít fall off normally (unless you try to make it). I bought a thermal smoke lens, but it isnít necessary. All my friends love the fact that it wonít fog with the stock lens. Even though Iím pretty much a giant for my age, the mask is perfect. I have asthma, and there is so much ventilation that I can catch my breath in it.
Conclusion: If you need a new mask, get this. Itís cheap and reliable. Itís also comfy
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 1:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media