paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2005
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronically the Ego borrows much from the EclipseBlade stable, utilizing the tried and tested components of the original EclipseBlade and incorporating many of the newer features found in the E2. The cool blue backlit graphical LCD provides all of the information that you will need including firing mode, breech sensor status, adjustable game timer, shot counter and rate of fire indicator. A user friendly menu system allows all of the control parameters to be adjusted on-gun using three pushbuttons at the rear of the grip-frame, along with a fourth located inside the frame for tournament legality. Advanced trigger debounce algorithms mean that when configured correctly, Ego will not fall foul of the chrono judge and the low profile break-beam breech sensor provides a reliable anti chop solution, which allows the gun to shoot as fast as your loader can feed. The single, low power electro-pneumatic solenoid is one of the smallest in its class and the overall power consumption of the electronics means that 250,000 shots from a standard 9V battery is not unrealistic.

And as for the included accessories, you get the super-slick Eclipse On/Off/Purge system, the Eclipse Shaft Solo Barrel (.693), Clamping feed neck, Eclipse-Samurai 3 Swoop magnoptic fully adjustable 3-point trigger, Multi-density wrap-around grips, hose, elbows, the lot, all as standard, all in matching Eclipse Anodised finishes.

Eclipse Ego Spec Sheet

® Eclipse Open Bolt Electro Pneumatic Marker
® Break Beam Low Profile Breech Sensor
® PCB features: LCD, Optical Trigger, Rear Function Buttons, Menu-Driven Operating System, Eye indicator, Clip-In 9volt Battery Operated
® Eclipse-Samurai 3 Trigger. Magnetic, 3-point Adjustment.
® Pat. Pending, TT Filter Debounce Software, as first seen on the infamous E2
® Integrated Adjustable LPR W/ Dedicated HP Inlet
® Eclipse Inline Reg. High Flow, Accurate, Consistent Output in a Tiny Package
® Eclipse 'Rammer' One-Piece Hammer/Ram Mechanism. Highly Durable Stainless Construction. Strips In Seconds.
® Integrated Eclipse QEVs For The Fastest Possible Cycle Times.
® Sub Miniature Solenoid And Integrated Minifold
® Body-Integrated Feed Stub.
® Offset 'Def-Tek' Feed System. For "No-Bounce" Ball Feed
® Clamping Low-Rise Feed Tube
® Low Pressure, High Flow Supercharger Valve System
® Brass Bushed Valve Guide. No Valve Pin Wear, No Friction.
® Open Faced, High Flow Delrin Bolt
® Pop-N-Slide Bolt Pin. Super Large Pin/Hammer Contact Area For Minimal Wear
® Eclipse Shaft Solo 14" Barrel
® Cocker Barrel Thread
® Eclipse On/Off/Purge System, Mini-Rail And Hose.
® Dual Rubber Finger Ball Detents
® Eclipse Duo-Tech Grips
® Eclipse Sup-Tol Machining
® Various Software Modes
® Unlimited ROF With Eye On. Speed Is Limited By Loader Only.
® Fully Adjustable (1 to 30 BPS) ROF With Eye Off
® Tech Friendly
® User Friendly

STATS:
Weight: 859g Gun and Regs
1116g Inc. Barrel And On/Off/Purge System

Length: 255mm Gun And Regs
524mm Inc. Barrel

Height: 162mm Body And Frame
232mm Inc. Feed and On/Off/Purge System

Width: 25.3mm Body
27.3mm Inc. Eye Covers

Shots: Bench Test fired 1687 Paintballs from a 4500psi fill in a 68ci tank. Results can vary dependant on Paint, Barrel Length, Bore Size and Velocity.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
sk8snwbrdmotoX Sunday, December 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other egos
Marker Setup: drop forward. on/off asa upgraded trigger barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel maybe a trigger if you dont like the stock one
Strengths: Accuracy,weight,feel of it,reliability
Weaknesses: How some paint shoots terrible and chops
Review: I personaly like it. I would stay with eclipse. If you would get an eclipse i would get newer year so you can get parts. they no longer make parts for 05 and 06 egos so i would get a newer one but this one is very good. i have only had it for a short peroid of time and i love it.
Conclusion: I would say buy one if you are looking for a good cheap gun but you cant get these new anymore so u would have to get it used if you are looking for one look on ebay. I love the gun its accuracy and realiability and much more as i said get a newer year so you can get parts but this year is still good i havent used a newer year yet but i have shot a ego 10 and it was awsome i never played with it but the ego 05 is still a good gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

khoifish714 Saturday, June 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker Nxt
Marker Setup: 05 Ego
Cure 3 bolt
Viewloader Vlocity JR, virtue chip,Virtue Crown
NInja 68/4500
Violent Se Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new rammer (Violent Se kit)
Cure 3 bolt
Strengths: It's super accurate
Weaknesses: It's loud and kicks
Review: This is a great gun, it's super accurate, Make it even more accurate with a Dye Ultralite. The only problem I've had with this is that it kicks ALOT when I'm walking the trigger and it's loud compared to the newer models. The body looks really nice, the shaft barrel is accurate right out of the box but I upgraded it anyways because Dye has a reputation for making good products. I would use a LP air tank because the Ego operates at 300ish PSI. I've not had any problems with using a low pressure tank.
Get this gun you'll not be disappointed!
Conclusion: Great solid gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Habibidrees Sunday, September 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto slg 08 , Ion , SP Nerve , Bob long Alias, This gun will out perform over all of these
Marker Setup: Primary
2005 Planet Eclipse Ego
48/3000
Dark Frame(06 Frame)
Vlocity Jr Laoder
magnet trigger
nice frame
14inch barrel

BackUp
2008 Proto SLG ,
UL trigger ,
14inch Proto 1 Piece Barrel ,
Maddog Clamping feedneck ,
Hyper 3 Regulator ,
48ci/3000 psi Pure Energy Tank ,
Evo 3 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Good Hopper,nothing else really
Strengths: Accurate
Consistent
Light
Fast
Good on air
Nice feel to it



Weaknesses: Nothing except alittle loud
Review: I got this gun as a good primary gun i only bought it for 3 bills, it was very accurate through the field , it was alittle hard to setup the board for me because this was my first tourney gun , i loved it my first round i could see the paintballs accuracy, i could see peoples elbows hanging out and ill be able to shoot them out.
Conclusion: Excellent gun what do you expect from an Ego, i think everyone should own one by planet eclipse it doesnt matter what year or what kind.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 14th, 2008 at 12:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tips000 Tuesday, August 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k5 timmy
you name it ive used/ had it
Marker Setup: Russian legion timmy
68/3k tank
halo b
dye ul barrel
cp on/off
custom clear trigger!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cant really say... mine was not stock to begin with
Strengths: Fast
great on air
light (for an 05 gun)
small
Weaknesses: Loud!
kick...
Review: Went out to play yesterday... this gun is a very nice marker... not a fan of the kick though... i loved how light and smalll it was though... it was fast and consistant and i can get around 9 pods to a 68/3k... only problem i had was the qevs sometimes leak... but i fixed with teflon tape and rocked all day!
Conclusion: Great gun but if your a matrix fan it will be to loud and hae a lot of kick...

9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderMan1492 Friday, August 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sft Shocker
Epiphany
Ion
Marker Setup: 05 Ego
68ci 4500psi pure energy tank
Halo B with rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Strengths: Light
Extremely fast
Very accurate
No kick
Nice design
Weaknesses: Go through paint exceptionally fast
Review: Wow! this is a great gun. I bought it used for 300 and it blew my mind. Tested amazing, the greatest gun i've ever know to be my own! Everybody should own an ego! Its design and appearance is very nice and anoodized which is a huge plus to any marker!
Conclusion: Buy any ego you can get your hands on!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duerson94 Sunday, March 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dark ego, shockers, matrixes etc.
Marker Setup: D.A.R.T bolt
aftermarket grips
one with a virtue board, other has stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
its great, maybe just bolt
Strengths: Accurate
Extremly reliable, never had mine break
Weaknesses: If i had to think, kinda big as in tall, like a timmy
Review: Its a great gun, just checkin if anyone reads this, how much would i get, im tryin to sell cuz i have two and a dark ego. If anyone reads, could you shoot me an email at egomaniac1@gmail.com and tell me or if you are interested in buying, they are two of the greatest guns i have ever played with
Conclusion: Great gun, never had mine break in 3 years of use, though not used very often, maybe 20 times or so, just don't have time
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a1337drum&bass Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego7, UL'd PM6, SFT & NXT Shocker, DM7, Etek, DM6, etc.
Marker Setup: DP Threshold

2005 Ego
Virtue board
Hybrid grips
FBM trigger
Ti rammer
Kila detents
Nexus bolt & '06 bolt
CP rail & On/Off

UL'd PM6
(Stock besides UL frame)

68/45, 45/45
Pulse, Halo, Egg II w/ Z board

- Other various guns, etc.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much is really necessary, but the Nexus bolt in my gun is great - so is the Ti ram.

A new trigger is nice, as well, but again, it's not necessary.
Strengths: Reliable
Efficient
Fast
Good looks
Very easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Loud (not much of a weakness)
Price (New - reasonable used)
Slight amount of kick
Review: I picked up my Ego5 used back in July. It's performed great - never any major problems, just keep your ram and bolt lubed and you're pretty much good to go.

Now I have noticed at high rates of fire, there is some kick, though that's expected because of the type of gun it is.

It's a great gun, though. No serious flaws or problems, and it's never let me down.

Looks:
They're alright - the newer Egos look a little better, but you've got to remember: this was the first Ego produced.

Feel:
Amazing. I prefer my 05's feel over my friend's 07. I like pretty much everything about it, but if it were a little smoother when shooting at a high ROF, that would be better. Either way, those are just little things - nothing to worry about or deter your opinion/choice.

Reliability:
This gun has performed excellently over the past 6 months that I've used it. It's never failed, not one time. Just take care of it - that's all you have to do. If you take care of your gun off the field, it will take care of you on the field.

Efficiency:
I get well over 1500 shots off of a 68/45 with my Ego. I've gotten about 1000 off of a 45/45. Once again, this is excellent.

Consistency:
I'm using the stock reg, and haven't adjusted the LPR recently, so the consistency on mine is not the best. We also get odd weather here - it fluctuates constantly. We usually get freezing temperatures in January, but the other day we got temperatures well over 60*F. That definitely has something to do with it.

Speed:
I never got to use the stock board in my gun, but the Virtue I have in it can hit close to 30 BPS easy. No worries there considering you'll probably never need more than 15 (or 13 now that PSP changed its ROF).

I'll update this as I see fit.

Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone - it's reliable, efficient, and just an all around great gun. There are a few slight flaws (as there are in every gun). I give this a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rex_recta Friday, October 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imp's, timmy's, Stack tubed poppet designed gats.
Marker Setup: Ego 05
Virtue
Star Frame / trigger
CP reg
Hybrid grenade grips
Lucky un1tech barrel
NDZ bolt/ pin
Hybrid ram cap
Dye Peanut 71/45
Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Recommend just a better board. The gun is solid stock.
Strengths: Fast
Efficient
Light
Good looks
Easy Maintenance
Weaknesses: Loud
Inaccurate
Sometimes inconsistant over chrono
Review: Well, I finally am writing an unbiased review on easily one of the most popular high end guns in the world.

I have owned 2 ego 05's and too be honest they were nice guns. The first one had mucho problems. The second one has been a joy to shoot.

First: The ego doesn't shoot all that smooth and holds a bit of kick behind it. Now a little tuning and tweaking all around can easily cure this. In a case, SPOOLY's are just way better when it comes to smoothness of shooting. No question.

Speed: The ego is basically a glorified timmy which is a glorified Imp and or spyder. Those base designs are arguably proven to be the fastest cycling markers in the world. The ego can definitely put some paint down the field.

Efficiency: Not that it matters. Off my 71/4500 I am getting 1700 easy.

Weight: Well..Its lighter than a Shocker NXT and SFT. So its easily one of the lightest markers out there.

Accuracy: Well I have been through soooo many damn barrel kits and barrels including stiffi's, stock, freak, DYE UL, Deadly wind, Lucky uN1tech barrel kits, and more and more. Ego's just aren't that accurate. Not hard to say. I personally prefer a quieter marker.

Loudness: The ego is a cannon. Though that doesn't matter on the field, its the truth. Can go BOOM with each shot.

Consistency: This part I am reviewing the CP reg. Horrible. 279-289-260 need I go on? Never used a star reg.

Milling: Upon first inspection, one would think that the milling is sick. It is. But upon more inspection, its easy to see that where theyt could take weight off, they went in there with either a small or large bit and made a cool little pattern. So its easy to see where they took stuff off.

YOUR EGO FEEDNECK ISN'T BROKEN:
It turns out. In eclipses "genius (far from it)" minds. They put the feedneck off center. This would allow the paintball in the feedneck already to drop into the chamber at an angle and not bounce up a little causing breaks or chops from the bolt.

Disassembly: Easy. Hoses are a bit of a paint to remove but no need to remove them.

Quick cleaning: Easily one of the easiest guns to maintain. Take out bolt, unscrew Hybrid ram cap (or whatever one you have) and slide out the ram. Clean off the old crap. oil. Put it in and try to shoot fools.

Detents: Now I am normally not so stingy. But common eclipse. Rubber pegs are gone guys. Its all about the Delrin detents w/ springs.

Wear and tear: After shooting so much paint through the gun, notice a nice bolt wear on the chamber. Which has been almost "shaved" from the bolt cycling so much.

Innovation: Not insanely innovative. Just a remastered timmy almost. Poppet driven gun. Super light too.

Conclusion: Overall, ego's were a huge hit. Some of the most popular selling high-end guns in the world at its time. I've owned 2. Not impressed. I will be fair on the ego and throw a 6 at it because 5 is average and it was a tiny bit over average. Doesn't throw me in a WOW frenzy of a 10.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kjsimz1102 Saturday, August 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
ion but is blown away
Marker Setup: 05 Planet Eclipse Ego
tadao m7 bord
dart bolt
all american
ti ram
Recommended
Upgrades:
new asa
Strengths: Light fast on my bord idk about stock. Looks sick!
Weaknesses: Asa , and detents.
Review: Well i got this off ebay with a dart bolt all american tadao bord ti ram . When i aired it up for the first time it ripped. Its so fast.. I dont like the asa it staryed a slight leak in it. I wrapped tephlon around it and its fixed but it gets annoying having to do it and you can unscrew it and it can fall off. Not a big deal and rubber detents wear fast but thats normal. Its great gun but if you use a loader with a really low batery i didnt have my halo on then i had a evo 2 and it had very low bateries it jammed. i thought it was the reg because it sounded like it was outa air. So i switched to a shocktech and after 10 shots is bogged down and then i finaly tried putting my revy on because my halo wasnt there so the revy and the stock reg it worked perfect.
Conclusion: Great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbala5 Saturday, June 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pretty much everything
Marker Setup: ---ego 05---
-star frame
-star trigger
-ti rammer
-black ccu kit
-virtue board
-ndz asa on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
really good paint.
Strengths: Stock barrel
Speed
Weight
Stock trigger
consistency
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this in a trade for my minion. best deal i have ever done. this gun is so amazing. the kick on it isnt really that noticable. especially if you can hold your marker still. the accuracy with stock barrel is ball on ball. i shot a guy right between the eyes across the field with one shot. the consistency on this is also remarkable.over the chrono i got +/-2. these guns are also pretty much the same as the '06 version as well. this gun is soooo much lighter than the tank of a minion. you wouldnt even know unless you hole the ego in one hand and the minion/pm6 in the other. overall, highly recommended.
Conclusion: Deffinetly give ove of these a try.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media