paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2005
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronically the Ego borrows much from the EclipseBlade stable, utilizing the tried and tested components of the original EclipseBlade and incorporating many of the newer features found in the E2. The cool blue backlit graphical LCD provides all of the information that you will need including firing mode, breech sensor status, adjustable game timer, shot counter and rate of fire indicator. A user friendly menu system allows all of the control parameters to be adjusted on-gun using three pushbuttons at the rear of the grip-frame, along with a fourth located inside the frame for tournament legality. Advanced trigger debounce algorithms mean that when configured correctly, Ego will not fall foul of the chrono judge and the low profile break-beam breech sensor provides a reliable anti chop solution, which allows the gun to shoot as fast as your loader can feed. The single, low power electro-pneumatic solenoid is one of the smallest in its class and the overall power consumption of the electronics means that 250,000 shots from a standard 9V battery is not unrealistic.

And as for the included accessories, you get the super-slick Eclipse On/Off/Purge system, the Eclipse Shaft Solo Barrel (.693), Clamping feed neck, Eclipse-Samurai 3 Swoop magnoptic fully adjustable 3-point trigger, Multi-density wrap-around grips, hose, elbows, the lot, all as standard, all in matching Eclipse Anodised finishes.

Eclipse Ego Spec Sheet

® Eclipse Open Bolt Electro Pneumatic Marker
® Break Beam Low Profile Breech Sensor
® PCB features: LCD, Optical Trigger, Rear Function Buttons, Menu-Driven Operating System, Eye indicator, Clip-In 9volt Battery Operated
® Eclipse-Samurai 3 Trigger. Magnetic, 3-point Adjustment.
® Pat. Pending, TT Filter Debounce Software, as first seen on the infamous E2
® Integrated Adjustable LPR W/ Dedicated HP Inlet
® Eclipse Inline Reg. High Flow, Accurate, Consistent Output in a Tiny Package
® Eclipse 'Rammer' One-Piece Hammer/Ram Mechanism. Highly Durable Stainless Construction. Strips In Seconds.
® Integrated Eclipse QEVs For The Fastest Possible Cycle Times.
® Sub Miniature Solenoid And Integrated Minifold
® Body-Integrated Feed Stub.
® Offset 'Def-Tek' Feed System. For "No-Bounce" Ball Feed
® Clamping Low-Rise Feed Tube
® Low Pressure, High Flow Supercharger Valve System
® Brass Bushed Valve Guide. No Valve Pin Wear, No Friction.
® Open Faced, High Flow Delrin Bolt
® Pop-N-Slide Bolt Pin. Super Large Pin/Hammer Contact Area For Minimal Wear
® Eclipse Shaft Solo 14" Barrel
® Cocker Barrel Thread
® Eclipse On/Off/Purge System, Mini-Rail And Hose.
® Dual Rubber Finger Ball Detents
® Eclipse Duo-Tech Grips
® Eclipse Sup-Tol Machining
® Various Software Modes
® Unlimited ROF With Eye On. Speed Is Limited By Loader Only.
® Fully Adjustable (1 to 30 BPS) ROF With Eye Off
® Tech Friendly
® User Friendly

STATS:
Weight: 859g Gun and Regs
1116g Inc. Barrel And On/Off/Purge System

Length: 255mm Gun And Regs
524mm Inc. Barrel

Height: 162mm Body And Frame
232mm Inc. Feed and On/Off/Purge System

Width: 25.3mm Body
27.3mm Inc. Eye Covers

Shots: Bench Test fired 1687 Paintballs from a 4500psi fill in a 68ci tank. Results can vary dependant on Paint, Barrel Length, Bore Size and Velocity.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
TA Paintball Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, E-cockers, Angels
Marker Setup: EGO Blue-Silver
Eclipse Solo barrel
Halo B w/ Victory
3A 71/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Halo if you don't have one...it likes to rip.

More barrels...
Strengths: Consistancy
Weight
Quiet
Awesome on/off
Clamping feedneck
E2 software
Easy to use

Weaknesses: Expect to spend a lot of $ on paint.
Review: For the price of the gun, and the features it comes with is just un-matchable with any other gun on the market right now.

Out of the box, it wasn't too amazing since it chopped every now and then...but as soon as I adjusted the settings some, it shot like a dream.

I am totally in love with this gun, so stop reading and just go BUY ONE NOW!!!
Conclusion: BUY IT!!, stop wasting you're time reading my review.

Oh yea, and change the settings, don't play a game with it outta the box.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pevs ripper Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
karnivore, naughty dog, ripper, allias
Marker Setup: ego (red)
q loader
peanut 4500 psi tank
proto suit
proto gloves
dyie invision gogles
dye atc
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward
new bolt
new pin
Strengths: Veryaccurate, very quite, very fast, very light
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have owned this gun for about three months and it is great. It is light fast and accurate. If you have the money you should get one. Plus the girls and newbies and old school players will envy you and your ego. Go egos!! Oh yeah get a red one if they have them at your local paintball store.
Conclusion: This gun is awsome and if you have enough money you should get one. (mine is red and it is awsome)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tesnve Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
LCD Matrix
E-Orracle
Trauma Matrix
Species Intimidator
Alias Intimidator
Ego
Marker Setup: EGO
Stiffi
Mac Dev LegionAir
Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: FAST, light, efficient, consistent, barely any kick, great design, and excellent customer service.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel isn't anything to brag about.
Review: Comparing this gun to the alias
This gun shoots faster then the alias but i dont know why
Shoots smoother and ALOT less kick
More consistent over the chrono
Both are very light guns
Don't get my wrong, the alias is a great gun but the ego outperforms the alias in almost every aspect other than weight. Trust me on this one, you'll be much happier with the ego. Saying this gun shoots faster than the alias is a noobish thing to say but if you shoot both you'll know what i'm talking about. 1700+ shots off a 68/45 and i haven't broke a single ball yet. It feels like no gun i've ever shot and i love it
Conclusion: BUY IT NOW. you wont regret it! I'm a gun whore and I can't let it go
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Macky Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker+Timmy.
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse EGO Blood Red Dust w/ Halo, and 70/45 Peanut, from Crossy

Rat Impulse with the W.A.S. Board, Evil Resp., S.T. Superfly Bolt, and Custom Anoed. with the same Tank, and hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not that it needs anything at all, but the D.A.R.T. LPR would be nice with this Marker.
Strengths: Light-FAST-Effecient-Trigger-E2-Milling-Low Rise Clamp Feed Neck, fits any hopper.
Weaknesses: Ball Detends, but P.E. send you new 1's, and a bolt
Review: I first seeen this gun, and it looked like it was really poopy, and I read a lot about it watched a lot of videos, and talked with a lot of my friends about this gun. And it totally changed my mind.
When I got the gun, I held it, and the color was well done, and it was really really light. I Aired it up, adjusted the trigger a bit, which is easy to do, and I put my hopper in, and I just noticed, I didn't have to bother shaving down the Hopper at all like I did with previous guns, you just stick it in the feed-neck, tighten it, and its locked tight, so it won't fall off during game time.
I went in my backyard, and shot the gun, and when I first pulled the trigger, I couldn't believe how light the pull was, the Samurai 3 trigger is really fast, and easy to walk. Also, the Trig. Frame is also extended a bit for easy use of walking. Right out of the box, it is amazing. I shot the tree from like 100 ft. away, and basically hit dead on everytime. Everything that I want in a gun is all in the Ego. Wieght, Color, Milling, Light Trigger, Effeciency, Accuracy, and the SPEED.
Conclusion: For anyone who got the $1,200 it is soo amazing. You should def. go out and buy it. You won't regret it, and you'll be impressed. And in my opion $1,200 isn't a lot for how good it is. Cheaper than some Timmy's, and the DM5's and soo, and they're better!
Round up all ur cash, and get your mommy to spot you some money, and buy it.
You won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 13th, 2005 at 12:14 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pontifex Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nasty impulse, nasty shocker, stock impulse , stock shocker
Marker Setup: 2003 light blue shocker w/new internals, stainless steel freak back/light blue AA front, HALOb, 68/4500 maxflo,
Recommended
Upgrades:
adjustable tank (max-flo works great) a paint sponsor and THE FASTEST HOPPER YOU CAN FIND
Strengths: Ridiculously fast. gripframe and trigger, dual adjust feet neck, color and milling
Weaknesses: None that i can think of at the moment
Review: Wow. Ive been playing for 5 years now, and ive owned everything from spyders, to cockers, to impulses, to 02 shockers, and now 03 shockers. Ive always been a smartparts user, but the ego is amazing. The gun's rate of fire is orgasmic. Out of the box i shot 13 balls per second, with no adjustments whatsoever. The balls fire in a straight line, that is reminiscent of a bright yellow rope pulled tight . The profile is great, the bolt is a single piece, with its pin being built into it, so its impossible to lose it. the gun feels lighter than my 03 shocker.. Its balanced, and i can shoot just as fast in my off hand. I highly reccomend a HALO for this gun. The milling is not too fancy, but the fade is excellent. Overall the gun is beautiful , fast, and accurate.
Conclusion: I reccomend this over any SP product ive ever bought. If you want a high-end marker go for it, i promise you wont be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

peltco123 Tuesday, February 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Owned(I used to own all the markers at one point and used them also):
Alias Black/Pewter w/ Techna Razor
Black Dynasty w/ Dynasty Tadao
Black/Blue 04 Vision Shocker(Getting Pred. 2)w/ ndz trigger
Custom E-Cocker From FBM

Shot:
Dm4
05 Speed
Evil PIMP
03 Vert Cocker
GZ Timmy w/ was 2.7

Held:
Dragon 2
Ripper 2
Dm5

Marker Setup: Red Eclipse Ego
45/45 Conquest
Ripped and Vboard Halo
Stock Barrel(very nice...no chops so far...looks good.l.ike it more than my UL or Freek.)

Back up:
04 Shocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE!
This Gun Is Fully Upped out of Box...Faster than my alias even after i put the techna razor on my alias the ego was still faster!!
Strengths: Lighest
Fastest
Fair price
Dm5 and 2k4/2k5 timmies dont compare
Weaknesses: None!
Review: GREAT LOOKLighter Than my Alias and Shockers..Easy to bounce for some fun and also very easy to set debounce..Trigger feels like heaven...Reg is very consitant, out of the box i shot a halo through it and used my friends chrono, and let me tell you the thing only moved like 3 fps the whole time it was like 281 281 280 282 281 280 280 281 281 281 283...Nice smooth milling VERY light weight...WAY LIGHTER THAN MY Alias or Shockers or my friends DM5..Easily could be the lighest gun ever..Nice lcd Screen...NICE METAL BUTTONS(membranes!!!!!)...NICE adjustable feed neck(every ego has the same one on like timmies where you never no WTF feedneck bob will put on it lol)

ALL AROUND GOOD GUN GREAT PRICE!!
PE-Thought you were going down the pipes with all them ecockers but my god!!!! THE EGO IS THE NICEST GUN I HAVE EVA SEEN!!! GOOD JOB EVERY ONE AT PE

Conclusion: PE you guys rock keep up the work!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ssnarik Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4,dm5, angels, Timmy's, blah blah blah
Marker Setup: planet eclipse ego 70/4500 crossfire tank (HP) and a halo with a vic. duh.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a cp purge on/off
maybe a pipe kit
dont use a egg or a revy on it. u'll just look.......well....
Strengths: Weee this is fast.
So much more acurate than timmys
Weaknesses: The on off they give you.
Review: Wow. Planet has made one reallly crazie gun. It shoots so much faster than a timmy and is so much more acurate, now i kno all of you are gonna give me |-| ell about how your timmy is the fastest gun and that all timmys are acurate with the right barrel, but honestly theyr not. Shoot one of theese and you will really see the difference. For those of you who dont know, the ego is a redesigned timmy. Its based on the same prinicple of an open bolt with a nifty little solenoid pumping air through it. The big difference between the internals is that the ego has the solenoid moved up into the housing so working on it is a peice of cake. Ive yet to see a ego with major problems. the only real weakness i found wiht the gun so far is i dont really like the on/off they give you, Its sorta flimsy.
Conclusion: This gun is really really fun. dont take my vile hatred for bob long's guns to seriusly though.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

immortal_baller Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4
Intimidators
nexus cocker
angel 05 speed and 4 fly
Marker Setup: reloader b
ego
angel A.I.R
Recommended
Upgrades:
new ball detents
SM-1 Barrel obrium 3
Strengths: Speed
Weight
accuracy (sm-1 barrel obrium 3)
Weaknesses: Price
Ball detents
Review: verall this ego is way better than the intimidators it is faster lighter and more air efficient. I think this marker is better than all the intiidators out there. I told my team about it and they started shooting with it and said that there was no kick in the gun
Conclusion: Buy this marker

Because it will not break down on you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrbacon Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month31 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-orracle- As much as I love my orry the Ego blows it out of the water
Dm4- Tested both and the Ego won hands down
Dm5- Closer than the Dm4 but the Ego had a better feel
Karnivor- Closest yet but the Ego won on the simplicity of the workings
Marker Setup: Stock Ego, Freak kit, Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, mine had overspray in the barrel making the last inch of barrel rough
Strengths: Weight
Speed
Simplicity of operation
Beautiful milling, and anodizing
Great customer support
Weaknesses: Bouncy if filters are not set right
Stock barrel left a bit to be desired
Review: I got my ego about a month ago, when I was handed the box I thought it was empty, that is how light this marker is. Upon opening the box I was amazed at the way the marker looked, it gleamed crimson and silver. Quickly doing a quick field strip and lube, I gassed it up and did some dry firing it ripped, a bit bouncy but I had not set the filters yet. Read through the instructions on the cd rom and got some basic timing set in (still gotta go in and do some fine tuning). Finally time for some paint, I was blown away by how my Ego shot. I had tried one before buying and was impressed (Personally I liked the feel alot better than the other high end's I tried), but there is something about firing your own marker that makes it seem that much more better. Light, fast, and accurate I have only got to take it to the field twice so far, but I am already hooked. There have been some issues with the Reloader B on Egos but Planet Eclipse has already addressed the problem and is sending out New detents and Bolts free to anyone who already has a Ego that is really great customer support.
Conclusion: I love my Ego so I am a bit biased, but it is a great marker. The price seems steep untill you hold it, then you know that your money was well spent. Lightweight, fast, beautiful craftmanship, and great customer support. What more could you want in a marker?
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 14th, 2006 at 9:35 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Dye_punk456 Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidator. The feel is barely similar, but the EGO is built a lot better.
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse Ego
-16" S!ffI switch kit
-Angry Boarded Halo
-Crossfire high output 68/45
-CP reg and On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really. I only changed the reg out of preference. I guess you could change the barrel. The only reason why I changed the barrel was the stock barrel was somewhere in the .690-.691 region. I needed something with a larger bore.
Strengths: -Fast
-Eyes
-Software and Menus
Weaknesses: -Slight menu problem. Will be described in review body.
Review: This gun was amazing. I put a total of 5 cases through this thing and I didn't have one chop. The debounce parameters of this gun are amazing. You can either have it cheat like crazy, or be totally legal. The small problem I am having however is sometimes the board will glitch (usually when the gun has not been turned on for a while) and it will not work right and need to be rebooted. Not a huge deal, but something I'd like to get fixed in the long run. Out of the box this thing was ready to go. It was already chronographed and the pressure was all set correctly. Another aspect of this gun that I really enjoy is that anything that you could possibly think of to improve, Eclipse has already done it for you. From something big like the rate of fire to something small like the off-set feed neck. Everything in this gun works flawlessly.
Conclusion: In conclusion I was extremely impressed with this gun. I have not owned it for long, but it is definantly one of my favorites. The Ego comes with a huge reccomendation from me!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media