paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2005
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronically the Ego borrows much from the EclipseBlade stable, utilizing the tried and tested components of the original EclipseBlade and incorporating many of the newer features found in the E2. The cool blue backlit graphical LCD provides all of the information that you will need including firing mode, breech sensor status, adjustable game timer, shot counter and rate of fire indicator. A user friendly menu system allows all of the control parameters to be adjusted on-gun using three pushbuttons at the rear of the grip-frame, along with a fourth located inside the frame for tournament legality. Advanced trigger debounce algorithms mean that when configured correctly, Ego will not fall foul of the chrono judge and the low profile break-beam breech sensor provides a reliable anti chop solution, which allows the gun to shoot as fast as your loader can feed. The single, low power electro-pneumatic solenoid is one of the smallest in its class and the overall power consumption of the electronics means that 250,000 shots from a standard 9V battery is not unrealistic.

And as for the included accessories, you get the super-slick Eclipse On/Off/Purge system, the Eclipse Shaft Solo Barrel (.693), Clamping feed neck, Eclipse-Samurai 3 Swoop magnoptic fully adjustable 3-point trigger, Multi-density wrap-around grips, hose, elbows, the lot, all as standard, all in matching Eclipse Anodised finishes.

Eclipse Ego Spec Sheet

® Eclipse Open Bolt Electro Pneumatic Marker
® Break Beam Low Profile Breech Sensor
® PCB features: LCD, Optical Trigger, Rear Function Buttons, Menu-Driven Operating System, Eye indicator, Clip-In 9volt Battery Operated
® Eclipse-Samurai 3 Trigger. Magnetic, 3-point Adjustment.
® Pat. Pending, TT Filter Debounce Software, as first seen on the infamous E2
® Integrated Adjustable LPR W/ Dedicated HP Inlet
® Eclipse Inline Reg. High Flow, Accurate, Consistent Output in a Tiny Package
® Eclipse 'Rammer' One-Piece Hammer/Ram Mechanism. Highly Durable Stainless Construction. Strips In Seconds.
® Integrated Eclipse QEVs For The Fastest Possible Cycle Times.
® Sub Miniature Solenoid And Integrated Minifold
® Body-Integrated Feed Stub.
® Offset 'Def-Tek' Feed System. For "No-Bounce" Ball Feed
® Clamping Low-Rise Feed Tube
® Low Pressure, High Flow Supercharger Valve System
® Brass Bushed Valve Guide. No Valve Pin Wear, No Friction.
® Open Faced, High Flow Delrin Bolt
® Pop-N-Slide Bolt Pin. Super Large Pin/Hammer Contact Area For Minimal Wear
® Eclipse Shaft Solo 14" Barrel
® Cocker Barrel Thread
® Eclipse On/Off/Purge System, Mini-Rail And Hose.
® Dual Rubber Finger Ball Detents
® Eclipse Duo-Tech Grips
® Eclipse Sup-Tol Machining
® Various Software Modes
® Unlimited ROF With Eye On. Speed Is Limited By Loader Only.
® Fully Adjustable (1 to 30 BPS) ROF With Eye Off
® Tech Friendly
® User Friendly

STATS:
Weight: 859g Gun and Regs
1116g Inc. Barrel And On/Off/Purge System

Length: 255mm Gun And Regs
524mm Inc. Barrel

Height: 162mm Body And Frame
232mm Inc. Feed and On/Off/Purge System

Width: 25.3mm Body
27.3mm Inc. Eye Covers

Shots: Bench Test fired 1687 Paintballs from a 4500psi fill in a 68ci tank. Results can vary dependant on Paint, Barrel Length, Bore Size and Velocity.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
EgoBaller7 Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Vision Shocker, Nasty Nerve, Dye DMC, Angel joy Division Fly, and many more.
Marker Setup: 05 Eclipse Ego w/ Predator Board, Hybrid Grips, Camo CCU kit.
Vlocity hopper w/ half blue half red shell, boost custom battery mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
DEFINATELY A BOARD! This gun shoots well stock. But with a board it RIIIIIIIIIPS!!!!
Strengths: Accurate, FAST, Effecient, LIIIIIGHT, and NO KICK if setup right.
Weaknesses: Definately price... but used are decent prices.
Review: This gun is just flat out RIDICULOUS!!! I have used all the high end guns out there and I've seen a trend that keeps re-appearing. All the guns have ONE or TWO great things about them, and then the rest sucks. A DMC is FAST and ACCURATE, But is big, has alot of orings, and doesn't have any unique milling. But the 05 EGO has it all. I've owned this gun for less than a month and already I've noticed its SUUUUUPER smooth, if you set this thing up right you wont feel ANYYY kick. The balls just fly out of your gun like nothing. The second thing I noticed is how light it is. Now im not one to whine about how heavy a paintball gun is, but near the end of the day your gun starts to get very bothersome. With the 05 ego you just walk by and laugh at the other people who are whining cause you can barely feel your ego in your hand.
Conclusion: Overall I give this gun a 10. Although I do think its very expensive, you get what you pay for. If you want a gun thats super fast, smooth, accurate, light, and doesn't have crappy internals with a ton of orings to change and lube then buy an 05 ego!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jester!@# Sunday, January 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: -custom anoed 2005 ecliplse EGO
-Autococker triolgy sport
-EGG (19ish bps feed rate)
-45 000 Crossfire Compressed Air Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its a great gun out of the box but mines heavily upgraded here is the specs-

05 Ego (Custom by Gruntbull, $200 anno)
Trinity clamping feedneck (annoed to match)
Ego CCU kit w/ Nexus style eye covers (annoed to match)
Hyrbid Ram Cap
TI rammer
CP on/off
Planet Eclipse FRM w/ gauge (not annoed)
Cure bolt
Lucky Air Assist Valve
Tadao Musashi 7 board with new white LED's
One piece 14' shaft barrel (annoed to match)
Comprehensive parts kit (Brand new, nothing has been use out of it)
Compulsive paintball o-ring kit
Strengths: -Accurate
-speed
-milling
-overall weight
Weaknesses: Slightly offside feed neck.
Review: Bought this gun used for 900. But it came with all the ups including a custom anno job by grunt ball. im writing the review according to the key strenghts I listed.

-Accuracy. This marker is incredibly accurate. Shot some paint through it and it was ball on ball accuracy. At long distances it had maybe a 5 inch spread, but i don't mind as long as im laying down lots of paint to where it has to go. which brings me to my next subject..

-Speed. This gun is super fast. espically with the tadao m7. The trigger is extremely easy to walk so i could throw paint down the field. im not sure how many firing modes the stock board has but i have a tadao and it has 12 firing modes with 35 "break out" modes. The tadao board has a interesting mode called "Gangster" mode which is pretty help full for back players that need to lay down some serious paint from the break. "Gangster mode basically allows you too shoot fully automatic until you let go of the trigger then its back to the original programmed mode.

-Milling. The 2005 ego has some nice milling on it as well as color options. But mine was custom annoed by Gruntball, so it looks really pretty. its a chromed creamy orange is the best way to describe it. The gun and its pieces really flow together to make the gun that much better. The only thing i don't really like is the feed neck..its slightly off to the left. it doesn't matter to much but i like my guns as symmetrical as possible. but i guess the feedneck helps becuase i don't have to lean my head so much to the right to shoot.

-Weight. The EGO is extremely light. especially with my setup on it. Its super easy to snap from bunkers and gog kids..
Conclusion: This EGO is extremely good for the price i paid and im very happy with it. If u have the opportunity to pick on up don't hesitate. try to upgrade the board to a tadao or something if possible. great gun just bummed on the feed neck alittle.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

stephenxxx Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
used dye dm5,dm6,ego 06, proto m6, shocker 06,
Marker Setup: ego o5
star frame
star trigger
B&E contrast kit
dart bolt
shaft barrel
pmi 48/3000
halo b loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
star frame(makes just like an 06)
dart or cure bolt(both perform amazeing)
star trigger
everything else is perfect
Strengths: Light
Fast
Accurate
Reliable
Can adjust anything on it
Shoots perfect
Weaknesses: Little bit of kick
Loud
Hates cold weather
Review: I bought this gun used, but it has done an amazeing job, shoot fast, really fast, and with the right upgrades can be better than an ego 06. overall this gun is the way to go or there newer models, Eclipse has done a great job with all products. Shoots well when traeted well, i did take it out in a bit of cold weather, it had some problems with paint, but it was still good.
Conclusion: This gun was and still is amazing, if you need a gun this is it, maybe a little expensive but worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

*EGO*GUY* Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
not similar, but a original matrix- pos campared to an ego. it does NOT compare.
Marker Setup: clear to blue fade 05 ego with 06 bolt

Matrix lcd with too many ups to name(and its broken)
Recommended
Upgrades:
none are really needed. i guess a bolt, but other than that, the marker rips straight up.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Looks good
Efficient
Easy to operate
Easy to maintain
Accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: When I got the gun, it had had two owners before me. Lucky for me they both were gun whores and didnt use the gun at all.
The ego is super easy to maintain and the eyes are wonderful, so you will never be left after a day of play cleaning out the breech or barrel. I cannot see why you would want anything different. After about two cases of paint through it, just put a few drops of oil in the rammer, some in the asa, and lube the regs every few months and this gun will treat you well. It is hella fast and will never go down on you.
The nice part is, if you are short on cash, you can leave the gun pretty much stock and will perform just as good as any other high end with "tons of ups!"
so far out of about 15 cases of paint, I only had a barrel break because i was using old paint.
Conclusion: Great buy, i would recomend it to someone who doesnt like to clean or lube things or someone short on cash. save up some cash, buy a used 05 for 600 and your set!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nastytyphoon Saturday, December 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers , imps, shockers, angels,timis,system x nme le
Marker Setup: olive green dust system x nme le , ruby red halo-b with ripdrive , empire fuel 72/4500 pis low pressure tank ,12 inch freak barrel stainless steel back 05 all american front, was board included
Recommended
Upgrades:
Like i always say gotta get the barrel kit with big bore and small bore thats all you need
Strengths: Light
fast
efficient
balanced
sick looking
Weaknesses: Im sure as time goes by there are things you would like to improve on
Review: Well i got to use my buudy johns in a speed ball game at camelot paintball ( only feild near my house still 45 min drive) great feild crawling with great players always . This gun has such a smooth trigger pull easy to lay ropes of paint anywhere on the feild.
Conclusion: Egos are fast becomming more popular over the past year or so seince they came out belive the hype or it'l get you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Thanatos2288 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Dark Ego-Same thing just more exsclusive.
-Dm5
-Dm6
-NXT Shocker
-Angel G7
Marker Setup: 2006 Dark Ego, Angel G7, 2005 Ego
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Nothing is really necessary, although I do reccoment a cure or Dart bolt to help with shooting fragile paint.
Strengths: -Light
-Very easy to maintain.
-very tight
Weaknesses: -No spring return trigger pull
-looks very blocky
-no swivel feature for the inline regulator
Review: I purchased a 2005 Ego after deciding that my previous marker (Angel G7) was a bit too heavy for me. Upon recieving it I have been heavily impressed and have since purchased a 2006 Dark Ego for the 2006-7 NCPA Season. For anyone who is wondering, the Dark Ego and the 2005 are very similar with very little performance changes, the main reason I got it is for the slight weight change and spring return trigger.

I have always been fairly skeptical of Open-bolt, Electro-pnuematic markers, thus I was a little bit worried before getting this marker. The Ego has completely changed my views on this, however, and I do not think I will be leaving the Planet Eclipse family any time soon.

The Ego is really good at everything that matters in this price range. It is just as accurate as everything else with a good paint to barrel match and good paint. It is very light and compact. It is ridiculously air efficient (I get about 3 pods and two hoppers off of a 45/3000 fill, and 1800 shots off a 68/4500). In addition to this, it is very easy to maintain, even with a limited understanding of its inner workings. The only real gripe I have with the 05 Ego is the lack of a spring trigger return, and that is just personal opinion. As far as speed goes, it can shoot as fast as you would ever need it to (in excess of 30bps) and there is no problem reaching high speeds on it.

The marker is louder then a DM6 and has more kick (due to the inherint differences in Electro-pnuematic over SFT style), but neither of those factors really matter. Very rarely will sound level make a difference in a tournament, and as for kick, it's pretty easy to compensate.

Conclusion: Overall, I have been more then impressed with this marker. It blows my G7 out of the water and has really improved my game. The only problems I have with the 2005 Ego have been fixed in the 2006 and 2007 models and those problems were miniscule to begin with. Although I feel like if you are looking at markers of this level you cant rely on other's opinions (at this point, it's all personal preference), I would not hesitate to suggest the Ego. I also feel that it's telling that our 3 man NCPA team uses 2 Ego's (2006 and Dark) and a DM6.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PlanetEclipse92 Wednesday, October 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing at all compares.
Marker Setup: 2005 Ego
2006 Star Frame
2006 Star Trigger
Tadao muashi 7 board
Cp on/off
Ultralight Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao m7
Thats it.
Strengths: Speed, Consistency, Looks, Speed, Speed, Looks.
Weaknesses: Well.... nothing.
Review: So when i got this gun i was really impresed with the work done to it.
I mean its flawless everything in it is beautifull
Trully a work of art.
I have never felt so powerfull with something besides this gun.
I had a Vlocity on it and shot 19 on mild ramp
Then go a Halo with speed feed and shot 23 on mild ramp
Not all it can do!
Conclusion: Awsome gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sia_simba Wednesday, October 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ions, DM4, DM6, E1 & E2 cockers, 06ego
Marker Setup: 2005 ego w/ star frame

Storm trooper ION w/Freak Kit, 45/45 PMI, Egg2
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed!
Strengths: Accuracy, speed, weight, looks, balance, maintenance
Weaknesses: None at the moment
Review: I purchased this item and it came with the starframe and trigger (4 point adjustment). The star frame made the marker look a whole lot better. Out of the box, I was really amazed at how great this marker actually looks in person. The feel to the marker is superb. I took the marker apart to see how the parts works and its actually very simple. Taking out the bolt and putting it back in was a piece of cake as well. I can just imagine that in the future, if I do get a ball chop, cleaning it would be very easy.

I shot the marker and it shot flawlessly. It has a very cool eye feature system in which it will tell you if the marker detects a problem with the eye. If the problem is fixed, your gun will let you know and you go back in playing normally. HOwever... if there is a problem with your gun, it will cap your max ROF on semi mode up to 10bps. Most of the loaders can load faster than that so you most likely won't get a chop.

THe on/off purge system is very neat as well. I didn't get a chance to test consistency as there was no chrono. HOwever, accuracy and speed was excellent. I was able to hit the same target over and over again.

I am using stock barrel and that seems to be fine. The barrel is nicely made, honed, and engraved. I don't see a problem with the feedneck as some people might want to get a lower one. I personally think its perfectly fine.

The marker is very thin and doesnt take up much room. However, I do recommend using either a stuby or 45/45 tank as the larger ones might make it fit awkwardly in your arms.

I couldn't get my ego to bounce but i'm sure if you really want it to bounce, you can make it. But if you don't like bounce, the TT filters on the 1.06 board is good enough (version i have). There isn't much custom settings you really need as factory stock settings are excellent already. Another thing about the board I like is the eye detection system. With the eyes on, if it reads a ball, it will show you (unlike the eclipse eblade).

Marker is also very light as compared to my ion and DM6.
Conclusion: I recommend getting a used one. It will be your primary marker. It hasn't failed me yet and I doubt it will for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

methodman7897 Saturday, September 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used angel g7 and spyder pilot acs
Marker Setup: i use a halo rip drive hopper and cross fire n2 tank, and stock barrel(it is dead accurate)
Recommended
Upgrades:
none so far. This gun has everything great on it. the trigger,eye, great barrel and everything else imanginable.
Strengths: Extremely good barrel, never chops because of eye, this thing rrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiipppppppssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it shoots so fast.
Weaknesses: Ummmmm...... none so far.
Review: I just got this gun a couple days ago and i tested it out and it rips. it shoots so fast. after i was done i fell in love with it so i bought it. and since then i have been joining tournaments alot. Also I play on a five man, three man, and seven man and im looking for more players.
Conclusion: Great gun for a great price. You should definently buy it if you have the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadowhound77 Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a Dark Intimidator, Spyder Fenix ACS and several highly modded Ions
Marker Setup: Spyder fenix acs.
Dye boomstick.
Halo b with rip drive.
Co2 powered.

05 ego
Halo with rip drive
Angry halo board
Virtue board
Lucky 15 barrel kit
max flo 68ci 5000psi evil scion
star frame
new designz roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
One definately needs a fast loader,
high performance barrel
The Virtue board!!!
Strengths: This gun is fast, accurate, light and good looking. Need I say more?
Weaknesses: The only problem that I have found is that this gun is a gas hog
Review: This gun is fast, accurate, light and good looking. Out of the box this is a customised gun but, with the right upgrades this gun is off the hook. I have personally shot mine on semi at 19bps. The problems are it is a gas hog and you need a fast loader or the gun is useless because the loader would be holding it back. If you put the same upgrades I have put on my gun, you will have proffesionals asking to trade guns with you!!!

It is the ultimate paintball gun!! GO GET ONE RIGHT NOW!!!
Conclusion: This marker is absolutely insane with the right upgrades, but the gun is a gas hog and because of the price of the marker and all the parts needed to make it shine I am giving it a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media