paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2005
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronically the Ego borrows much from the EclipseBlade stable, utilizing the tried and tested components of the original EclipseBlade and incorporating many of the newer features found in the E2. The cool blue backlit graphical LCD provides all of the information that you will need including firing mode, breech sensor status, adjustable game timer, shot counter and rate of fire indicator. A user friendly menu system allows all of the control parameters to be adjusted on-gun using three pushbuttons at the rear of the grip-frame, along with a fourth located inside the frame for tournament legality. Advanced trigger debounce algorithms mean that when configured correctly, Ego will not fall foul of the chrono judge and the low profile break-beam breech sensor provides a reliable anti chop solution, which allows the gun to shoot as fast as your loader can feed. The single, low power electro-pneumatic solenoid is one of the smallest in its class and the overall power consumption of the electronics means that 250,000 shots from a standard 9V battery is not unrealistic.

And as for the included accessories, you get the super-slick Eclipse On/Off/Purge system, the Eclipse Shaft Solo Barrel (.693), Clamping feed neck, Eclipse-Samurai 3 Swoop magnoptic fully adjustable 3-point trigger, Multi-density wrap-around grips, hose, elbows, the lot, all as standard, all in matching Eclipse Anodised finishes.

Eclipse Ego Spec Sheet

® Eclipse Open Bolt Electro Pneumatic Marker
® Break Beam Low Profile Breech Sensor
® PCB features: LCD, Optical Trigger, Rear Function Buttons, Menu-Driven Operating System, Eye indicator, Clip-In 9volt Battery Operated
® Eclipse-Samurai 3 Trigger. Magnetic, 3-point Adjustment.
® Pat. Pending, TT Filter Debounce Software, as first seen on the infamous E2
® Integrated Adjustable LPR W/ Dedicated HP Inlet
® Eclipse Inline Reg. High Flow, Accurate, Consistent Output in a Tiny Package
® Eclipse 'Rammer' One-Piece Hammer/Ram Mechanism. Highly Durable Stainless Construction. Strips In Seconds.
® Integrated Eclipse QEVs For The Fastest Possible Cycle Times.
® Sub Miniature Solenoid And Integrated Minifold
® Body-Integrated Feed Stub.
® Offset 'Def-Tek' Feed System. For "No-Bounce" Ball Feed
® Clamping Low-Rise Feed Tube
® Low Pressure, High Flow Supercharger Valve System
® Brass Bushed Valve Guide. No Valve Pin Wear, No Friction.
® Open Faced, High Flow Delrin Bolt
® Pop-N-Slide Bolt Pin. Super Large Pin/Hammer Contact Area For Minimal Wear
® Eclipse Shaft Solo 14" Barrel
® Cocker Barrel Thread
® Eclipse On/Off/Purge System, Mini-Rail And Hose.
® Dual Rubber Finger Ball Detents
® Eclipse Duo-Tech Grips
® Eclipse Sup-Tol Machining
® Various Software Modes
® Unlimited ROF With Eye On. Speed Is Limited By Loader Only.
® Fully Adjustable (1 to 30 BPS) ROF With Eye Off
® Tech Friendly
® User Friendly

STATS:
Weight: 859g Gun and Regs
1116g Inc. Barrel And On/Off/Purge System

Length: 255mm Gun And Regs
524mm Inc. Barrel

Height: 162mm Body And Frame
232mm Inc. Feed and On/Off/Purge System

Width: 25.3mm Body
27.3mm Inc. Eye Covers

Shots: Bench Test fired 1687 Paintballs from a 4500psi fill in a 68ci tank. Results can vary dependant on Paint, Barrel Length, Bore Size and Velocity.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Traser13 Thursday, August 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 shocker
06 angel speed
DM4
Marker Setup: 05 ego
-05 star frame and trigger
-Dart Bolt & Delrin pin
-Karma stainless steel rammer cap
-2 piece shaft barrel kit
Reloader B
68/45 Crossfire LP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Non needed but
DART bolt and delrin pin
Star trigger
C-lever feedneck
Karma rammer cap
Strengths: Very light
Fast
reliable
well build
great tech support
LCD
Weaknesses: Not the biggest fan of the intergrated rail on the star frame but very minior.
Review: The ego is a very nice handling marker, from the first time you pic it up to realise how light and balance the gun feels.

Looks - Nothing to special but clean and simple with some nice cuts.

Weight - Great, very light without feeling flimsy

Performance - a great little performer! In game is a great gun that can be used in any position. It is fast with long strings easy to get in semi, the grip and reg are vey close together and is a very good platform for snap shooting. Over a days ball I didn't have a problem and even in a scottish winter i've seen egos shooting great while other markers (DM's and shockers) are having some problems.

Bells and whistles - The ego comes stock with some great features, the BB eye system is reliable and easy to clean. I have only had 1 chop in 6 months with the eyes on. The stock board with back lit blue LCD screen is fantastic, easy to use and ream menu system and version 1.08 software has unlimited semi (semi 1), capped 15 bps semi (semi 2), PSP ramping (ramp 1) and Millenium ramping (ramp 2). So an upgrade board is not needed to play many tournaments. The stock barrel is very good with a 0.693 bore so you can shoot almost any paint. There are many other nice features like the fantastic Planet OOPS and very comfortable grips.

Efficency - is very good! I get 10 pods and a hopper off a 68/45 so in excess of 1500 shots. Battery life is also good with minimal drain on the battery if it is left in the grip for long periods.

Speed - as fast as you can pull the trigger with the star trigger make the pull lighter and is easier (with more options) to adjust.

Upgrades - There are loads of upgrades avaliable but to help squeeze the extra performance out i have the following:

Shaft 2 piece barrel kit - 3 back 0.686, 0.689 & 0.693. This provides a reasonable bore match for all paint types which helps with accuracy and consistancy. Barrel is not a must have upgrade though

Dart bolt and delrin Pin - The dart bolt is slightly gentler on paint, people ask if its work it? I say yes as every little helps, a more consistance pressure over the ball and lowering the likly hood of a chop of barrel break is great. Is is also slightly lighter than stock and with the delrin pin lightens the cycling mass of the marker alowing fast cycle times and slightly less kick.

Star fame and trigger - I like the star trigger as it provides a more adjustable and lighter trigger. The star frame is good, slightly more room for your fingers, comfy snatch grip and intergrated rail are all good freatures, if you can find one cheap then its worth it but these again are only minor things.

Karma rammer cap - Made os stainless steel means it will never thread, I consider this a must upgraded as striping your rammer cap would be a real paint in the bottom :)

C-lever - i don't have one yet but will in the future to aid connecting my hopper without an allen key. Is also quicker for a turnabout between games.
Conclusion: Over all, i love it. Light, fast, reliable, with great tech support. Looks good so you can shoot fools in style. A great marker and with 2nd hand prices at the moment a very good deal.

Teh ego get a 9 in my books for covering every base i could think off. Hats off to Planet!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

insane_clown_ki Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4 the ego is much lighter
DM5 again the ego is lighter and faster
Angel speed 04 and 05 they are heavy but can put the same ROF
Freestyle looks much better and preforms better
Marker Setup: 05 Platinum with Black parts
Virtue board
Hybrid adjustable ram cap
Nexus bolt
Delrin pin
FBM trigger
Halo B
68/4500 Crossy LP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue board
FBM Trigger (non bearing)
Hybrid adjustable ram cap
Strengths: Speed with the FBM trigger its super fast
Weaknesses: I dont feel that there is any
Review: This gun is straight up godly. I put virtue in it as soon as I got it and it is so dang fast. Then once the trigger and bolt were installed it was even faster. I had one problem and that was the bolt sat back to far behind the breech but once the hybrid cap was installed it was fine. The star trigger was junk the FBM's are much nicer you have plenty of room in the trigger guard with the wave trigger.
Conclusion: This gun is well worth it so get one or an 06
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
xsv ego
Marker Setup: stock karnivor, pm6
Recommended
Upgrades:
ND parts?
Strengths: Just about everything, speed!
Weaknesses: Nothing.
Review: these things are amazing. every time i pick one up i love it. IMO they really are the best feeling guns in paintball in my general expeirence. they are as light as anyone will ever need, great looking (i actually prefer the looks of the 05 to the 06....not really a fan of teh 06). tehy have very very reliable, and perform great in every aspect. really the only reason not to like them is if you are a hard core spool valve fan.

if set up right tehy can be crazy fast. i think at my last practice there was an ego that was just about as fast as a gun as ive ever seen. they are so nice to play with. they are very very slim, and very short. everything.....teh frame, trigger, spacing of teh grip.....it all feels perfect to me. they also come with great stock parts and pretty much need no upps.
Conclusion: If you are going to drop 750+ i highly sugest you look at an ego b4 you make your choice. those e teks are now out for a lower price.....or you can get a super sexy one if you want for 1000+. some of the best guns in paintball. ill give it a 9 because there are nicer egos.....if this was the only ego out i would give it a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alien Interceptor--light, but the frame is terrible and its operation is simply not in the same league as an Ego IMHO. /gunsnob
Vikings--just as fast, more efficient/consistant, but heavier. I will always keep a Viking as a backup, however.
Various Angels--same deal as Vikings.
Timmies--always have felt fragile to me. The Ego is very solidly built and just feels as though it could take more of a beating.
Marker Setup: 05 Ego
Star frame, trigger, reg
Tadao M7
VLocity
Crossfire 68/45
14" .692 UL
Recommended
Upgrades:
It doesn't actually need anything, but I recommend Tadao, an Ultralite, and perhaps the Star frame for increased comfort IMHO.
Strengths: Plug-and-play
Amazingly light and fast
Very simple operation
Great customer service
Weaknesses: Hmm...basically, nothing.
Detents have caused trouble for some, but not for me.
Review: The Ego erupted onto the scene and immediately took hold; Planet started to see more and more pro teams coming their way for gun deals and Egos continued to fly off the shelves...this little thing is definitely here to stay, and for good reason.

I actually bought mine used, broken in, and upgraded out the wazoo, but I can echo the opinions of you NIB Ego owners out there. Eclipse has packaged the ultimate plug-and-play gun [just add tank, paint, hopper] and you're good to go. This reflects the gun overall--it's very simple, very functional, and will get the job done with room to spare.

The Ego is amazingly light and easy to move around bunkers and run with. It points very well, and the frame and grips are exceedingly comfortable. The switchless stock board is remarkably fast and well-designed, but I swapped it out for Tadao because I don't tend to like optical systems.

Basically, this is as close to perfection in a poppet marker as one can get. PL versions look nice and all, but aren't really worth the extra clams. I think I'll be keeping the Ego for a long time--its performance has greatly impressed me thus far.
Conclusion: You don't need me to tell you, but it's definitely one of the top guns out there right now, and it's so for a reason.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 at 10:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baller-maniak Friday, June 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts Nerve- way to may problems
system x autococker- doesn't even stand a chance to this
tippman 98 custom- reliable but no use anymore
Marker Setup: Black 05 ego
Nexus bolt
kila detents
Hybrid lady Grips
12in stiffi barrel
lucky board w/ virtue chip and tadao chip
Vlocity
45/4500 pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far
Strengths: Super fast
light
reliable
easy maintenance
Weaknesses: expensive but its worth it, and this doesn't count as a weakness. So none
Review: I recently just got this gun and when i screwed in my tank and put on my hopper. i was blown away at how fast this thing is. My cheek's hurt from smiling. this hits 15bps like nothing. i cant wait till this weekend to try this in a game.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun. a little pricey but worth every penny. Go and get one NOW!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 13th, 2006 at 5:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drakonus Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators for the action of the gun
E-Cockers for the frame
Marker Setup: 2005 Planet Eclipse Ego -Red - DART BOLT - M7 Powered - Z-boarded Egg - 92-4500 Crossfire Blue Reg - CP Reg - Hedlock Feedneck - Freak Barrel
2006 Planet Eclipse Ego - Green - M7 Powered - 88/4500 Crossfire/Nitroduck Tank
2005 Nasty Shocker - TONTON Frame - Evolve Bolt - Musashi 3 - Freak Barrel - Trinity T-lock Feedneck - CP Reg....BLAHBLAHBLAH
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you're playing in other leags where they require a type of ramping - a new board
Or get the one you have flashed with the programming
Feedneck - one of the clamping ones in case the loader stops feeding and you can one ball it
Killa Detents
Strengths: Speed!
Weight!
Size!
Efficiency!
Weaknesses: A little loader.
Top heavy with a reloader b.
Review: Okay....I got this gun from a local dealer a while back. He got me a decent deal. Right from the start I saw the quality in parts and packaging. Eclipse is really looking to impress the buyer. I air the bad boy up and rip a few strings through it. I found myself struggling. Now, I'm a back guy and dumping paint quickly is a strength of mine. Ask my teammates, no cheating ramp I can get up to 19 to 20 on my shocker. Now, the trigger just needed some adjustments.

I went home with the gun and decided to work on the trigger. What I did notice was that the little screws in the trigger moved about when I started cranking on the trigger. They would slip out of place and totally drop out of the gun or cause the trigger to lock a little. Perplexed, I decided it would changed when I go to the microswitch of the Tadao board. When I aired it up for the second time, the QEV started hissing. OH CRAP! I broke it already and I only had it for five hours! Well, I dialed down the dwell and problem solved. The gun is very easy to tech, maintain and very easy to understand.

I took it to a tourney and chrono'ed in for the first time: 260 261 262 261 262 263

NICE.

With all the settings WAY BEYOND LEGAL, the lcd screen read me at peak rate of 20 and average at 18. FREAKING NICE! I kept on getting checked during the tourney, but the refs found nothing.

The efficiency on this gun is way better than my Evolve-bolted shocker. It delivered 1 hopper and 4 - 5 pods at about 900 pounds of air. Nice. No way my shocker could have done that.

The weight was really nice, but snap shooting with a reloader on it took some getting used to. I found myself over-compensating and tipping my gun out too much.

Accuracy was lethal. I pegged this player hiding in the back right dorito with two shots. The ref told me he watched the foot explode with paint.

A few months later with no problems, the Tadao board gets set in and the trigger lost all of its little magnetic screws. I got the microswitch now...I'm cool. The test for this gun was the NYXL tournament we played. The weather was disgusting. We were in seven in deep ponds with raw sweage floating around in it. My teammates guns were going down left and right with the downpour of rain, but the Ego kept trucking along with decent accuracy, no thanks to the rain. After the tourney, I opened the gun up and found SO MUCH SAND AND DIRT, I was surprised it didn't S-the bed and die on me! QUALITY! RELIABILITY!
Conclusion: I was severely impressed on this gun performance! I liked it so much, I ordered the Green one. Review on its way.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angelfan23 Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every high end marker... none of them really compare besides the Mac Dev Cyborg and the DM's.
Marker Setup: Dust blue 05' ego with black accents, star trigger. 68/4500 psi WDP tank and halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Speed
weight
accuracy
efficiency
Weaknesses: None
Review: Ok i have had my gun since last october, i have played about 3 tourneys with it. Here is my review.

Speed - This guns speed is amazing! You can rip ropes of paint with it out of the box. The 1.00 boards are capped at 15.4 BPS but i can get the 1.6 or 2.00 boards by simply mailing planet eclipse. The modes are great: uncapped semi, PSP, Millenium, CFOA, and training.

Weight - This has to be one of thee lightest guns on the market! Weighs less than shockers and about as much as the new cyborgs. Less than 1.5 pounds.

Accuracy - This gun doesn't need an aftermarket barrel. The stock barrel shoots about as great as a freak or Ultralite. I can hit a box of cigarettes from about 40 ft away. (using good paint)

Efficiency - You can get about 3 1/2 bags of paint on this gun. Its not too loud either as long as ur not dry firing then it sounds like a cannon.

Optional - This gun is great out of the box. No extra things need to be put on it!
Conclusion: I would recomends this gun to any one looking for a high end marker with good quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbhaig818 Thursday, May 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: superman 05 ego, v-35 halo, 68/4500 pmi,delrin pin, modded bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
delrin pin, trigger
Strengths: gas efficient, ACCURATE, light
Weaknesses: None that i could find.
Review: i got mine from bradys paintball brand new. I payed 40$ extra for 2nd day shipping i couldnt wait. Opened the gun and my hands were trembling. This gun is so nice and light you have no idea. i got it january 2006 and now im writing this review may 2006. ive shot around 10 or so cases through it so its about broken in. Last week i got 1770 shots off a full fill. i shot 3,000 balls and didnt get 1 barrel break. everyone on my team wants an ego now. This gun is just a perfect built gun. its so easy to maintain its not even funny. And u dont need any aftermarket board cuz it alrady has psp. ACCURACY IS AMAZING. i hit ball on ball with this stock barrel. i dont have any plans of upgrading.
Conclusion: Overall this gun is just absolutely amazing. It has everything you need. no upgrades besides maybe a delrin pin and if you want mod your bolt. that will make you have no kick whatsoever. other than that everything is just astonishing. go buy an ego
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartparts Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All sorts of timmys, e-cockers, ions, impulses, shockers, nerves, proto trixes, all the DM's
Marker Setup: Empire Timmy
hybrid AP bumperless ram cap
function trigger
function rail
empire quick flip
empire barrel kit
infamous m5

SP ion
virtue
CP trigger
Cp rail
Empire on/off
NDZ adjustable feedneck
Freak barrel
QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue
UL barrel
Star Frame
star trigger
Strengths: Light
efficient
accurate
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: WOW this gun is amazing. I played with my friends ego for gpl event 1 and i have got to say this is the lightest gun i have ever used. It rivals with the DM6 in weight but IMO its shoots way better. Slap on a 16 inch UL barrel and this thing shoots darts! OMG and the efficiency of this gun is just amazing. I have a 45/45 and it was filled to 4k and i shot a hopper and 4 pods one game and i still had 2k left in the tank. I was amazed. the eyes in this gun is wonderful too. I didnt chop one ball the whole enitre day. I was speechless and just shocked. A good upgrade can be the Star trigger. Its definately a plus. this gun shoots sooo fast already with a stock board. Drop in a virtue board then this gun will shoot like god touched it himself. I think this gun allowed me to play to my fullest potential at GPL and im getting one of these bad boys tomorrow. You wont regret it. I would not recommend that u change the reg. Reg is just too efficient and its way cool looking. Other upgrades will just me the cosmetics cuz as different color eye covers and feed neck.
Conclusion: Get this gun!!! You will never regret it! 05 ego are now cheap so get them. Drop a star frame to 06 it. IMO i think 05 is lighter then 06.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NET Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
05 Naughty Dog Intimidator
Marker Setup: red 05 ego, halo b w/ victory board, 16 inch peppersitck barrel kit, 4500 psi nitrogen carbon fiber wrapped
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit, fast hopper
Strengths: Fast, doesnt chop ever, easy to take apart, light, fast
Weaknesses: Bad stock barrel
Review: This gun is amazing. The stock barrel will get you nowhere but it does look cool (don't be deceived). Extremely lightweight gun with a wopping 30 bps. The trigger is amazing!!!!! This gun is extremely easy to clean. The gun can be taken apart just by a few screws. You never really chop but it can barrel brake.
Conclusion: FAST!!!!! Anything you want with a paintball gun, this gun has.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media