paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2005
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronically the Ego borrows much from the EclipseBlade stable, utilizing the tried and tested components of the original EclipseBlade and incorporating many of the newer features found in the E2. The cool blue backlit graphical LCD provides all of the information that you will need including firing mode, breech sensor status, adjustable game timer, shot counter and rate of fire indicator. A user friendly menu system allows all of the control parameters to be adjusted on-gun using three pushbuttons at the rear of the grip-frame, along with a fourth located inside the frame for tournament legality. Advanced trigger debounce algorithms mean that when configured correctly, Ego will not fall foul of the chrono judge and the low profile break-beam breech sensor provides a reliable anti chop solution, which allows the gun to shoot as fast as your loader can feed. The single, low power electro-pneumatic solenoid is one of the smallest in its class and the overall power consumption of the electronics means that 250,000 shots from a standard 9V battery is not unrealistic.

And as for the included accessories, you get the super-slick Eclipse On/Off/Purge system, the Eclipse Shaft Solo Barrel (.693), Clamping feed neck, Eclipse-Samurai 3 Swoop magnoptic fully adjustable 3-point trigger, Multi-density wrap-around grips, hose, elbows, the lot, all as standard, all in matching Eclipse Anodised finishes.

Eclipse Ego Spec Sheet

® Eclipse Open Bolt Electro Pneumatic Marker
® Break Beam Low Profile Breech Sensor
® PCB features: LCD, Optical Trigger, Rear Function Buttons, Menu-Driven Operating System, Eye indicator, Clip-In 9volt Battery Operated
® Eclipse-Samurai 3 Trigger. Magnetic, 3-point Adjustment.
® Pat. Pending, TT Filter Debounce Software, as first seen on the infamous E2
® Integrated Adjustable LPR W/ Dedicated HP Inlet
® Eclipse Inline Reg. High Flow, Accurate, Consistent Output in a Tiny Package
® Eclipse 'Rammer' One-Piece Hammer/Ram Mechanism. Highly Durable Stainless Construction. Strips In Seconds.
® Integrated Eclipse QEVs For The Fastest Possible Cycle Times.
® Sub Miniature Solenoid And Integrated Minifold
® Body-Integrated Feed Stub.
® Offset 'Def-Tek' Feed System. For "No-Bounce" Ball Feed
® Clamping Low-Rise Feed Tube
® Low Pressure, High Flow Supercharger Valve System
® Brass Bushed Valve Guide. No Valve Pin Wear, No Friction.
® Open Faced, High Flow Delrin Bolt
® Pop-N-Slide Bolt Pin. Super Large Pin/Hammer Contact Area For Minimal Wear
® Eclipse Shaft Solo 14" Barrel
® Cocker Barrel Thread
® Eclipse On/Off/Purge System, Mini-Rail And Hose.
® Dual Rubber Finger Ball Detents
® Eclipse Duo-Tech Grips
® Eclipse Sup-Tol Machining
® Various Software Modes
® Unlimited ROF With Eye On. Speed Is Limited By Loader Only.
® Fully Adjustable (1 to 30 BPS) ROF With Eye Off
® Tech Friendly
® User Friendly

STATS:
Weight: 859g Gun and Regs
1116g Inc. Barrel And On/Off/Purge System

Length: 255mm Gun And Regs
524mm Inc. Barrel

Height: 162mm Body And Frame
232mm Inc. Feed and On/Off/Purge System

Width: 25.3mm Body
27.3mm Inc. Eye Covers

Shots: Bench Test fired 1687 Paintballs from a 4500psi fill in a 68ci tank. Results can vary dependant on Paint, Barrel Length, Bore Size and Velocity.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Bunker'd_You Thursday, September 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
wdp angel speed, 2k3 matrix.
Marker Setup: blood red ego, cp mini drop and on/off, 68/45 LP pure energy tank, 14" shaft, 1.06 board, Halo B with victory,
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel?
star trigger
Strengths: Very fast, accurate, and consistant. Light,
Weaknesses: The very minimal kick, but who really cares?
Review: I recieved my ego about a month ago and i have loved it ever since. It is very fast and consistant over the chrono even though im still breaking in the regs. I love the milling, and the light weight. The gun was too long for me with the origional PE on/off and rail so i switched to the cp mini drop and on/off, it makes the gun very very compact. It has some great features, it takes some time to setup the filters correctly but once you figure it out its a very simple gun to use. The barrel is definatly not too shabby although a 14" dye ultralite may be a good investment. Mine is newer so it came with the newer upgraded oringless bolt, which is very unique. Also maintainence is very very basic, all you need to do is lube the ram every so often which is very simple, and ripping apart and lubing the lpr and inline is very easy, www.planeteclipse.com has a great tutorial for lubing the regs, cleaning eyes, and removing the ram. I will definatly but another ego when the new ones come out. You are not wasting your money on the investment even though its a fair chunk of cash, you get what you pay for and then some.
Conclusion: Great buy, totally worth the money, once the upgrades start flowing out in stride itll be a gun thats nearly impossible to top!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

leons Sunday, September 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month36 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm5, if u like the dye line, ull prefer the dm5, but if u like timmys, etc. ull love thisone.
Timmys- the ego is simply better.
Marker Setup: Red ego- star trigger- 4500psi/71cu dye tank- pepper sticks barrel kit- halo b/ evo2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe barrel, if u like a lot to play with triggers, get the star trigger, its awesome.
Strengths: SUPER SUPER LIGHT
super fast
very good accuracy
light
no maintenance/upgrades at all
light
Weaknesses: Anything
Review: wow!
today I used my ego for second time, and it shot really impressive, ill give u an example:
I play in a big field and usually i didn't take anybody out in the brake, but today, with my ego, in 3 different games, i took out 3 guys!
body: great milling, SUPER light, great trigger, good stock barrel.
consistency/ efficiency: the ego is great in both, +-4bps.
speed- this marker shoots faster than what u ever gonna shoot..
accuracy: not that good...
kick- it has a little more then a dm, but just a little, it feels awesome!
Manual: the ego comes with a great manual.
Quality: This marker is the highest quality marker i've seen, it comes in a really cool case, they corrected every mistake that previews markers had.
Board: The ego has a great stock board, good settings, many firing modes....
I'd say this is a corrected timmy. it has a very similar system, but P.E. thought in every detail, from the eyes to the cables and the hoses. It feels very similar to the timmy, but lighter, more accurate and better performance.
Conclusion: I think this is the best marker, it's cheaper than a dm and in my opinion better!
Get this marker and u won't regret.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 18th, 2006 at 9:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wgp04cocker Friday, September 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months46 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only gun I've owned that compared to the Ego was my DM4. DM4 was quiter and has less kick, but was heavier, and I found my Ego to be more consistent, efficient, and accurate.
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse Ego w/ MOOSE Settings
STAR Trigger Frame
STAR Trigger
Colored Grips
Swapped Parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao M7 Board
STAR Trigger Frame
STAR Trigger
Nexus Bolt
FREAK or Ultralite Barrel
Colored Parts Kit
Colored Grips
Strengths: Weight
Accuracy
Speed
Consistency
Efficeincy
Comfort/Balance
Eyes
LCD Display
Battery Life
Manual
Maintenance
Weaknesses: -Noise
-Kick
-Trigger Stick
-Changing Modes
-Macroline and Fittings
Review: PROS
Accuracy
Even with the stock barrel I was able to put ball on ball. For instance, in one of the games I played I hit snake, popped up immediately, and was able to gog someone across the field with 1 shot. I was very surprised and impressed with the stock barrel, although I will be planning on getting a FREAK kit some time in the near future.

Consistency
The first time I ran paint through it the chrono read: 258, 257, 257 & 256. For a stock reg out of the box it was superb. I can only imagine how consistent it will be once its broken in. Unfortunately though, the next time I played I was using paint that wasn't so good and I was getting reads as bad as +/- 30

Speed
I donít have the fastest fingers but even so I was able to get a nice rope going on semi. I also haven't adjusted the trigger yet for some reason so once I do that I should be able to improve a bit

1.00 Software
This software comes with Semi, CFOA, PSP Ramping, and Millenium Ramping. Coming equipped with 4 modes stock is a huge plus.

Trigger
Adjusting the trigger and customizing it to your likings is extremely easy as it has 3 different set screws

Efficiency
From what I was able to see I was getting great efficiency considering the tanks werenít fully filled

Weight
OÖ.MÖ.GÖ This thing is like a feather compared to other guns. If youíve never held one, imagine a shocker but lighter

Comfort and Balance
The ego has a very nice feel when its in your hands. I use a 45ci tank and its very comfortable to shoulder

Eyes
Not one chop or barrel break all day

Milling & Anodizing
The milling is fantastic and the anodizing is flawless

LCD Display
Makes adjusting settings extremely simple and user friendly

Battery Life
The battery life is great. After shooting quite a bit with paint, air, and training mode, my battery has remained a little bit less then full

ASA
Its so easy to screw in and screw out, even with a full tank. Itís by far the best ASA Iíve ever used

Feedneck
The stock clamping feedneck is great. Itís very easy to tighten and keeps my Halo nice and snug

Manual
Every page has detailed descriptions pictures to illustrate what theyíre talking about

Maintenance
This gun is extremely simply to work on. In no time, I can complete strip my gun, lube it, and reassemble it with ease.

Parts Kit
Came with a little package of spare o-rings, screws, and some essential allen keys (although it lacks one for the rammer cap which I fail to comprehend)

CONS
Kick
I have to be terribly honest and say that the Ego has alot of kick. After my gun was teched by certified PE techs and even myself messed with it, but gun would kick almost as much, if not more then my old Tippmann. The main reasons why I sold it was because of how much kick and barrel lift it had. I would take about 15 shots and barrel would get to thje pount where it would be at a 45 degree angle. Some people say that the Ego's kick is not that bad, but I think they just say that because they don't want to admit it.

Noise
The Ego is a very loud marker but in the scheme of things its not THAT big of a deal with all the other markers firing at the same time. Iíve heard though that after a few cases are put through it that the noise will be reduced. I like to shoot my guns indoors sometimes, just dryfiring, and unless you are wearing ear muffs I couldn't do that with the Ego.

Trigger Stick
Out of the box this is something that I noticed right away. After taking a couple shots in PSP mode and the trigger would stick back and the gun would just shoot on its own. I found this very annoying, especially when snap shooting, because I would waste an endless amount of balls shooting my own bunker.

Changing Modes
I donít really like having to take the grips on and off to change the modes. I know this is meant so that it can be tournament legal, but I still don't like having to do it.

Macroline
The macroline is extremely tough to get out. I had to cut it in half and use 2 different wrenches to get it off. I canít imagine how hard it will be to get the fittings off.
Conclusion: Overall, I have mixed opinions about the Ego. At first I gave it a 10 because I thought it was so awesome how light it was, and that and the efficiency combined overshadowed the things that were truley bothersome such as the noise, kick, and trigger stick. I personally would not recommend one, unless a company comes out with some kind of upgrade that will reduce its kick and make it quiter.

Now, with that being said, I can't wait to see how many people find this helpful and not helpful. I can almost gaurentee that barely anyone will find this helpful because all of the Ego owners will be mad that I didn't think it was the greatest marker in the world. Try one if you want, but I would definately look into something else.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 10th, 2005 at 10:48 am PST
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

J_Kershaw1979 Sunday, September 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E2 orracle with nexus kit
DM4
Angel's
Marker Setup: Blue to Black Fade lImited Edition Ego w/1.06 software
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 68/4500 red
Stiffi Switch barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed except a fast hopper and barrel kit if you want one
Strengths: Lighter then a shocker, Faster then a Timmy, as accurate as a cocker
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have shot alot of markers in the 12 years I have played paintball and the Ego is the best I have ever shot and the last marker I will buy

The ego is super light, ball on ball accurate, and faster then you'll ever need.
This is NOT the E2 grip frame, contrary to what some people say. It is based on the E2 but its improved. I have had a E2 on my orracle cocker since they came out and the day I picked up the ego, I could shoot it faster then I could ever shoot my E2 orracle. The Ego RIPS. Anybody who can even slightly walk a trigger will go through hoppers fast as sh@$.
The ego is just as accurate as my cocker. The ego is a little louder then my cocker and some other guns but after I have it broken all of the parts in, I will tune it a little bit more and it will be more quiet. My friend's Ego sounds like a DM4 when his shoots. The milling is gorgeous and everything about this gun speaks quality down to the awesome metal and hig-density foam case that it comes in. I don't need to buy a gun case for this gun, it comes with one.
Conclusion: Buy the Ego, it will be the last marker you'll ever need. It is better then all the other top markers out there

Lighter then a shocker, Faster then a timmy, accurate as a cocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jareno77 Friday, September 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys
freestyles
and other similar products
Marker Setup: ego
cp shorty
freak kit
empire
star trigger
68 low
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE its an ego duuuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhhh
well maybe barel JUST because of paint to barrel match
Strengths: UBer ACCURATE
light
small
great feel
Weaknesses: OnOoff sometimes gets lose
no real problem
Review: I play like 1 time every week and i love this gun its fast accurate light easy to use and all that other stuff . I've never had any problems at all. Just a great gun all around. If you get one it takes a couple cases befor your really see this gun shine. On the chrono it stays consistant 180 181 182 183 182. Lots of bounce 2 out of the box and has some kick adjust the lpr and it wont have any kick. Dont know about bounce though i think you have to go into a certain mode and mess with the filter or something. This weekend im gonna have some techie guy work on it who is alot smarter than me we i do ill update.
BUY this gun all the things that i adressed were very minor things just wanted to adress them thats all.
Conclusion: BUy this gun if you are serious.
I say it is the best gun out there right know
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

burrito Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5
A-Bomb Intimidator
Shocker
XSV Ego
Marker Setup: Distortion Ego
Empire B Smoke
68/4500 Empire Fuel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This gun is amazing i go down to my local pb shop and shoot them all day. I used a TEAM DISTORTION (eclipse sponsored - semi pro team)'s ego i died and went to heaven the thing was so light the new eclipse grips are amazing has much better feel to it then the stock e2 grips.

- BURRITO!! - peace out homies.
Team A.D.D
Conclusion: buy this gun it is amazing you wont regret the purchase. This gun is very light extremly fast and very well made.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ninja729 Wednesday, August 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nexus ego
xsv ego
mantis ego
Marker Setup: red/black ego with ninja's laser engraved on
yellow tank cover
yellow halo b
45ci dye throtle
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock wise very nice
get a new macro line though, the stock one is kinda tough to take out
Strengths: The looks, speed, weight, accuracy, low on gas
Weaknesses: The macro line is hard to get loose
Review: I love this gun, it is very nice. The look is awesome, and when playing with it it's great. The ego is very nice for front players who play really tight, but run alot because it is light weight. Ego's are very gas efficiant to, so you dont haveto worry about filling your tank too often. They rip so nicely too.
Conclusion: This is the best gun ever, i love it , and you will too
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmansr25sd Wednesday, August 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: blood red eclipse ego
halo b
crossfire 68/4500
dye rhino cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing is necessary, seriously this thing rips out of the box perfect
a new barrel if you insist but the stock is great, and dart bolt just in case you get some super brittle stuff some day
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Efficent
Light
Consistent
Overall has the edge in every aspect over anyother gun
Weaknesses: Stock trigger needs work to feel right
Review: the ego is easily the best gun on the market imo, has great accuracy, great regs and consistency once broken in, very efficent, very light, very easy to maintain and tear apart, looks great imo.
Very few guns can even begin to compare with the ego.
The ego may not be revolutionary in design, but it does the ram driven poppet design right. Just buy it and you won't be disapointed
Conclusion: The best gun money can buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

X-MANN Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eblades
shockers
freestyles
Marker Setup: Eclipse Ego bone stock needs nothing else
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately needs new barrel, at least if yours comes with the one piece
I reccomend a J&J ceramic edge kit for $70
Strengths: Effieciency is sick
Super light
No real upgrades needed
Sexxy
Weaknesses: Stck barrel
Ball detents
Review: I got my gun, went to the field, I have the keys so I can do that kind of thing, turned down the regs according to the manual then started turning them back up little by little untill I had the right velocity i was looking for. I set aside about an hour to work with trigger adjustments cuz that's just the way I do things. after I got what I was looking for, I put the reloader on it went to the chrono station and ripped till the hopper was empty which of course was a mear few seconds. i've played the show me state championships and the chicago open with this gun so far and it has been nothing short of extraordinary.
Conclusion: if you must have to spend a large amount of cash for a tourny gun cuz you are one of those little rich kids that think the pricy guns are the only way to go, or you have worked hard and saved up and want a highend gun that is right for your hard earned money, I highly recommend this one. Juat make sure to read the manual and set the regs the way i did before trying to shoot loads of paint through the gun. I've read a couple reviews stating that the Ego doesn't like cheap paint. This is simply not true. The only time I have ever chopped a ball or had any kind of ball break in the breach was because the weak Eclipse detents tore and so my reloader was double feeding. othe than thaat this gun will shoot any paint. I have had people literally offer to pay me like $5 to shoot their paint out of my gun because they like it so much. believe it or not I only have $500 in my Ego thanks to some good trading and smart thnking by me. Anyway, if you want a ighend gun that is virtually maintenance free and can desimate any other gun on the field The Eclipse Ego is the gun to buy. And it doesn'y hurt to know Gerry Bates is there to help if you do happen to have a problem with the gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 18th, 2005 at 7:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

motofox77 Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmys
dm4/5
Marker Setup: black w/ red parts EGO- Stock
relaoder b
crossfire 68/45 LP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper
maybe a barrel if u want but the stock one is nice
Strengths: Fast
light
accurate
doesnt need upgrades
efficient
did i mention fast
Weaknesses: None that i can find
Just your going to go through alot of paint
Review: alright well i got my ego not to long ago and this thing ripps, the gun is very efficient and very very fast, one of the fastest guns i have evers seen/owned. The stock barrel if very nice compared to other stock barrels on other markers
once u get the right trigger set up and right settings u can easily ripp 20bps w/ very very little bouce (ive done it and was barely trying)
you will def. need a fast hopper, if u really wanna use a Revvy then i suggest only using one finger

great gun ive had mine for 4 days and have already taken apart bassicly the whole grip frame and most of the otehr stuff, and it was soo simple, put it back together and ripped away w/ it

if ur looking at buying a timmy look at one of these
Conclusion: Over all this is a great gun, timmys r nice but IMO they r much slower, like my friend thought he would ripp me apart w/ his alias but i goggled him the first game , proves how fast and accurate these things are
the price has gone down a bit but ull be buying alot of paint

so id buy one if i was u its worth every penny
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media