paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2005
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 135
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronically the Ego borrows much from the EclipseBlade stable, utilizing the tried and tested components of the original EclipseBlade and incorporating many of the newer features found in the E2. The cool blue backlit graphical LCD provides all of the information that you will need including firing mode, breech sensor status, adjustable game timer, shot counter and rate of fire indicator. A user friendly menu system allows all of the control parameters to be adjusted on-gun using three pushbuttons at the rear of the grip-frame, along with a fourth located inside the frame for tournament legality. Advanced trigger debounce algorithms mean that when configured correctly, Ego will not fall foul of the chrono judge and the low profile break-beam breech sensor provides a reliable anti chop solution, which allows the gun to shoot as fast as your loader can feed. The single, low power electro-pneumatic solenoid is one of the smallest in its class and the overall power consumption of the electronics means that 250,000 shots from a standard 9V battery is not unrealistic.

And as for the included accessories, you get the super-slick Eclipse On/Off/Purge system, the Eclipse Shaft Solo Barrel (.693), Clamping feed neck, Eclipse-Samurai 3 Swoop magnoptic fully adjustable 3-point trigger, Multi-density wrap-around grips, hose, elbows, the lot, all as standard, all in matching Eclipse Anodised finishes.

Eclipse Ego Spec Sheet

® Eclipse Open Bolt Electro Pneumatic Marker
® Break Beam Low Profile Breech Sensor
® PCB features: LCD, Optical Trigger, Rear Function Buttons, Menu-Driven Operating System, Eye indicator, Clip-In 9volt Battery Operated
® Eclipse-Samurai 3 Trigger. Magnetic, 3-point Adjustment.
® Pat. Pending, TT Filter Debounce Software, as first seen on the infamous E2
® Integrated Adjustable LPR W/ Dedicated HP Inlet
® Eclipse Inline Reg. High Flow, Accurate, Consistent Output in a Tiny Package
® Eclipse 'Rammer' One-Piece Hammer/Ram Mechanism. Highly Durable Stainless Construction. Strips In Seconds.
® Integrated Eclipse QEVs For The Fastest Possible Cycle Times.
® Sub Miniature Solenoid And Integrated Minifold
® Body-Integrated Feed Stub.
® Offset 'Def-Tek' Feed System. For "No-Bounce" Ball Feed
® Clamping Low-Rise Feed Tube
® Low Pressure, High Flow Supercharger Valve System
® Brass Bushed Valve Guide. No Valve Pin Wear, No Friction.
® Open Faced, High Flow Delrin Bolt
® Pop-N-Slide Bolt Pin. Super Large Pin/Hammer Contact Area For Minimal Wear
® Eclipse Shaft Solo 14" Barrel
® Cocker Barrel Thread
® Eclipse On/Off/Purge System, Mini-Rail And Hose.
® Dual Rubber Finger Ball Detents
® Eclipse Duo-Tech Grips
® Eclipse Sup-Tol Machining
® Various Software Modes
® Unlimited ROF With Eye On. Speed Is Limited By Loader Only.
® Fully Adjustable (1 to 30 BPS) ROF With Eye Off
® Tech Friendly
® User Friendly

STATS:
Weight: 859g Gun and Regs
1116g Inc. Barrel And On/Off/Purge System

Length: 255mm Gun And Regs
524mm Inc. Barrel

Height: 162mm Body And Frame
232mm Inc. Feed and On/Off/Purge System

Width: 25.3mm Body
27.3mm Inc. Eye Covers

Shots: Bench Test fired 1687 Paintballs from a 4500psi fill in a 68ci tank. Results can vary dependant on Paint, Barrel Length, Bore Size and Velocity.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
supersport Tuesday, August 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm5
Dm4
Tippmann 98 Custom ~ haha
Marker Setup: '05 Planet Eclipse Ego
Limited Edition Black/Red Fade
eVLution II loader w/ z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit (even though stock is great)
D.A.R.T. Bolt (so you can use more brittle paint)
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Ease of use
Weight
Quality
P.E. Support
Air Efficiency
Weaknesses: Price
You buy a lot of paint
All needed allen wrenches not included
Review: I got this gun 2 months and have been extremely impressed, i like it much more than my Dm5. It is the perfect weight and you can shoot ropes effortlessly, I can walk it around 24 - 25 bps, with some trigger adjustments and playing around with settings. In the settings there is a setting for FSDO, which is very handy so your first shot doesn't stick. The stock regulator works perfectly with no break in time and it shoots around 285 fps straight out of the box.
Conclusion: If you are looking to step up to a professional calibur gun, the ego is the marker for you. I highly reccomend over anything in the class, and especially the ion, just for quiality of the craftsmanship.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

spyder142120 Sunday, August 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix and thats about it
Marker Setup: still rockin and imagine since i cant get a job yet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothin that i have noticed
Strengths: Light, Small, quick, accurate and of course looks really nice.
Weaknesses: Well the one I used had eye problems one day.
Review: Well the gun i tested is my local feild owner's gun and i have used it more than once and both days it shot great. (minus the eye prob which is probably no biggie) While using it one day the paint would go crazy for a couple balls in a hopper but the second day the paint shot great. I was usin the feilds rampage which seems to bounce off of people alot when it gets hot but it shot fine. The trigger was great in my opinion. I could keep a constant 12 with it easily. Of course it was pretty loud but on the feild we were playin at it didnt matter anyways cus we knew where every one was the whole time. I also loved how light and small it was cus it wasnt annoyin to switch sides and snapshoot with like my imagine. My only prob with it was i had to buy to much paint for the thing. For a guy who cant get a job for another 6 months i dont see me usin it to many more times this year.
Conclusion: I reccomend it! Thats why I'm still using an imagine cus I'm savin up for one of these. Otherwise i would have gotten an ion. For all of you kids who have spyders and want to get a fast gun i warn you it costs alot more to use one of these cus of all the paint you will go through.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RC999 Thursday, August 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy
Freestyle
proto
Marker Setup: Ego,68 45000, halo b rip dive
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Looks
Size
Weaknesses: Trigger is bouncey
Loud
Review: When i got this marker I was overjoyed! It came in nice box and had a good manual. The milling and paint job were perfect. I then put my crossfire on and dry fired, it was so fast, but I did not like the trigger feel. I reset the trigger,had to make it with no post travel. Now it was bouncy as heck. So I set the filter to be more anti bounce, now it is a bit slower but still relatively fast. Very consistent even with bad paint to barrel mach(5+/-). The eyes worked perfect, not one break. the detents were also good no double feeds with halo. The gun is also well balanced and light, you don't get tired holding it all day.
Cleaning is very easy, clean the regs,bolt,bolt hammer, and eyes then your done. It takes 5 min.
Conclusion: Get one! Its as fast as a timmy and as light as a freestyle.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 8th, 2005 at 6:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfbodybuilder Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E2 cocker- though many things in common the ego blows it away
Shocker-ego shoots faster
Marker Setup: '03 wgp Autococker body with '04 internals
E2
70ci/4500 crossfire
Evo 2
AA Barrel
Eclipse LPR
Eclipse ram with QEV's
Superfly bolt
Cp vert reg
15 degree ASA
Macroline
SystemX Drop Foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel but the stock barrel is still pretty impressive
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
light weight
looks
Weaknesses: Price, but worth it like all other high end guns
Review: It is an amazing gun. One of my friends just got one and brought it to our local field. The rest of my friends and myself were all willing to trade our guns for it on the spot.

note: we had some nice guns, 2 super upgraded E-cockers, an upped Shocker, and a DM4 (and 2 spyders,but those don't count).

For the past couple days ive been trying to figure out how much longer it would be until i can get one.
Conclusion: If your looking for a gun this is it. Speed, accuracy, light weight, what else do you need. This gun definetly deserves a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ctcoyote16 Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5s, DM4s, Protos, Cockers, Timmys, Angels
Marker Setup: Ninja Ego
-Red Halo B
-68/45 LP Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel ( UL, St!ffi, Matchstix kit, Peppersticks kit)
ehh.. nothing much, pretty good stock
Strengths: -Very Fast
-Lightest Gun out
-Modes
-Settings
-Size
Weaknesses: Changing modes/settings (Have to take grip off)
Review: Well I was torn between a DM5 and an Ego, because in my mind those are the two top guns right now. Well, basically all my friends have dm5's and i was never really impressed with them, so I deciced to be venterous and get the Ego.
Right out of the box, I was amzed with how compact and small and light it is. ( If you hold your thumb out in front of you, the Ego is noticalbly skinny than that body wise).
The OOPS On/Off is also a very nice feature to have stock, making it easy for turning on or off the air supply.
Ahh. Now for the barrel- I wasnt amazed at it, but I guess it's all you could ask for in a stock barrel. The only things Im upset at are the bore size (.691/2 not sure) and that its a 1 piece. Regularly you wont chop, but if you are going to ramp or just flat out rip, you can get a ball break, but it will just clean itself right out.
When I went to play my first time I had it, It took a while for me to find all the correct settings and to make sure it would bounce. After a little while, It was very consistent and did whatever I set it to do.
Conclusion: So, all in all, I have to say this is definately among the best markers out there. It is faster and lighter than a DM5, but th DMs do have a little less kick and noise.
If you can find an amazing deal on one of these, snag it! You'll be extremely satisfied you did!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 1st, 2005 at 8:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Be0da0o Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5, Proto, Shockers, Cockers, Pretty Much Everything High End
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Ego
Freak Kit
Latest Software
Halo B w/Victory Board/Ripdrive
PMI 68/45 (but lookin for a Crossfire LP 68/45)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper
Barrel/Kit is personal preference depending on what paint you use
Nice tank is a must
Strengths: Fast, Light, consistant, air effecient, Trigger is completely adjustable
Weaknesses: So light, u wanna throw it somewhere
Review: This is the nicest Marker I have ever shot. I have shot pretty much everything, DMC, DM5, PL Shockers, Timmies, Ion, Proto's, Pretty much everything. This is lighter, faster, and way nicer than all of them. Planet Eclipse gave away the first software upgrade for free, so it must not have been too bad original software. The Trigger is for almost everybody; Its completely adjustable, The magnent is adjustable, adjustable filters and bounce, everything.I have played 2 tourneys, and around 20 practices with it, and I have had no problems at all. Some people dont like them for the feel, but they either havent made them the way they like or they just are messed up. The Fact is that this is the Nicest High End Gun out there for people (even thought its all personal preference)
Conclusion: Try this Product and all its competition before you buy, hopefully this will be your favorite choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

temple mike Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye dm4
racegun turtle cocker
bob long 2k2 intimidator
2003 smart parts impulse
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse Ego- red with blue parts
1.0 software, dart bolt, FBM wave trigger, CP 2 piece barrel, soon to be star frame and tadao board(when released)
crossfire 68/4500 HP
halo b with V35 board
Recommended
Upgrades:
out of box needs none, but if u want to, dart bolt, star or FBM trigger, CP barrel
Strengths: Out of box strenth.
Reliable
Light
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This is the best marker i have ever shot. i sold my dm4 for this marker and never regreated it. I am waiting for the tadao board to come out, because i like mycroswitch over the optical eye trigger, but the optical eye trigger is still amazing. this is an amazing gun out of the box, and tuned properly (which is not hard at all) is the best marker out there on the field, no ifs. ands, or buts.
Conclusion: Buy it! Great marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

renrag75 Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, Angel Speed 05, Shocker SFT, Spyder Imagine, Trilogy Autococker, Smart Parts ION
Marker Setup: Midnight Black EGO with DART Bolt, Angry Halo, 68/4500 HP Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt, Star Frame, Star Trigger.
Strengths: Extremely light, very fast, multiple firing modes, very gas efficient, great value.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: After reading the previous review of giving this marker a "1" rating, I feel it is necessary to respond to this idiot formally. How can 1 out of 50 people give this marker a one rating? This is obviously someone trying to play the number game to make his DM5 seem better than the ego.

Anyway, the EGO is an open bolt pneumatic driven 'spyder' system marker. The best way I can describe it would be if you mixed an autococker with an intimidator. It has the accuracy and gas efficiency, thanks to two QEV's, of an autococker with the operation and functionability of a 'timmy'.

The marker is extremely light, much lighter than even a shocker or similar marker. The manual is awesome and explains in great detail how to setup the board and the multitude of functions. The break beam eye system is superb and I have yet to chop a ball or have a barrel break at all. The barrel is slightly overbored being a .693, but you must remembe that this helps with those few odd shaped balls that get into the mix.

The anodizing is absolutely perfect without any blemishes or problems. The marker arrived ready to shoot straight out of the box, with almost no need to setup anything except the velocity and minor trigger adjustments.

I installed a DART bolt right from the get go to make sure I didn't have any problems with the tournament paint I use (marballizers) and I have NEVER broken a single ball at all. The accuracy is superb and can shoot sub 6" groups at 30' with no problems.
Conclusion: Get this marker and you will NOT be sorry. Don't listen to some jealous jerk wanting to make his DYE sound like an EGO. DM5 is a great marker, but in no way compares to the EGO in price, operation, accuracy, consistency, or looks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

masterdebater Monday, July 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel fly - best marker iv'e ever shot
Marker Setup: black / graphite fly / HALO B / nitroduck 68 45
&
black ego w/ platinum parts / halo b and an empire fuel
Recommended
Upgrades:
fbm or star trigger and maybe an ultralight ?
Strengths: Hella fast, hella light, and total sex.
Weaknesses: Hmm needs to be broken in before it becomes more efficiant.
Review: I got this marker from a spur of the moment decision about 2 weeks ago.
A new teammate wanted my angel and was totally into my gun, he would be playing my position and i would be playing mid. I went to check it paintball (which just changed there name to ace orsomthin) down the street and fell in love with the hot and sexy ego on their wall. It was so light.

Well you could have probably guessed i got it and love it.

It still needs to be broken in but it is still pretty efficiant.
My first practice with it was the best practice i've ever had.
lit up my coach and all the other back players I'm so familiar with.
I love playing with training mode, it's so fun. just in case any one's interested i've hit 30 with some of my custom settings.
second best gun i've ever used.
Conclusion: Light / Fast / Kick ass
Get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SouthTXpball Tuesday, July 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
E2'd cocker (only bc of the E2)
Marker Setup: WGP 2004 cocker
E2
DART bolt
Nexus Ram w/QEV's
Empire Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast loader (Halo B or Reloader B)
Strengths: Fast
Light
Compact
Efficient
Consistant
Beautiful
Weaknesses: Price
And me not having one
Review: *BASED ON FIRST IMPRESSION ONLY*

I go to my shop today to drop some stuff off and there's a brand new blue ego up on the wall. I just had to shoot it. so i ask if i can see it and suddenly its in my hands. You can't imagine how light it is. it is by far the lightest marker i have ever carried. it also compact which also surprised me due to a few pictures i've seen of it but they don't give the ego any justice at all. so its light and compact and very easy to manuever. so i turn it on, E2 owners will be right at home, and gas it up for some dry-firing. the trigger is really nice and very easy to walk. i was hoping i'd be able to hit higher ROF's with it but i only manage to hover around 15, but that's me lol. moving along....... i had to control myself by not wasting all the air, so *EDIT* Mark took it to the chrono (not when i dry fired it) and got +-3 which very good for stock. mark wouldn't let me put some balls through it without buying it lol soooo i got nothing to say about accuracy but i've heard good things.

only negative i can think of is the price....1150 is a lot of damage.
Conclusion: This would most definetly be one of the top markers in the market to date. Do you wonder why there are almost no upgrades for it?....cuz its damn near perfect. Almost makes me think i'm not worthy. this marker will light up any tourney or any field in the right hands.
.......sure wish i had one though :(
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 19th, 2005 at 11:05 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media