paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Reloader II / Empire Reloader II / Empire Reloader II

Empire Reloader II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Reloader II

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Reloader II
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 184
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What's the deal with a sound activated loader? An optical sensing loader "prevents" misfeeds while with the Reloader they simply don't happen. While an optical loader basicaly acts like a regular gravity fed loader until it senses a misfeed and then rotates the paddle, the Reloader never waits for a misfeed to happen. Instead it loads a ball everytime the marker is fired, able to load up to 14 balls per second.

This latest version of the Reload features an improved shell design, magnetized lid that won't wear out, and a contained battery door so you won't lose it!

Product Availability 
The Empire Reloader II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Bunkermachine Thursday, April 7th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg II (Not in the same class, it's better)
Revvy (About the same as this one really as far as speed goes)
Marker Setup: -Odyssey RPM
-J&J Full Tilt 12" Ceramic
-VL Evlution III (Just bought)
-CP Shorty Reg W/ Guage
-CP On Off
Strengths: Well, it's cheaper than any force feeder new.
Good for less than 15 BPS.
Weaknesses: Not good for more than 15 BPS.
Review: Well, I got this for Christmas like 3 years and some months ago now, and it still works. It's pretty durable, it has a nice thick shell. My magnets never came off, but super glue helped with that. It's great for woodsball. The fact that it is sound agitating means you're generally already shooting when it agitates, so it won't hurt any if you're trying to be sneaky. (Eye-agitating might if you turn your gun sideways when running or walking)
Conclusion: If you're looking for a good hopper cheap, I'd pick one up used. Otherwise I would say go for a Halo B or an Eggy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Headshot:Dead Tuesday, February 8th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Regular hopper: The regular hopper is ok but the Invert is better.
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Cp Barrel 14"
invert Reloader 2
Empire 45/4500
Strengths: Feeds very fast
Light weight
Look
Sound activated
Weaknesses: Hard to put in the batteries
Review: I lost my gravity hopper at the field so i had to get this. I wanted to get a Prophecy but I didn't have the money so i went to this hopper. I wasn't to sure but when I was firing it was very good. This is a very good hopper. You should always get the hopper if your a beginner paintballer. It works well for low firing gun but if you have an Invert mini like me i just fire semi. This is a very good hopper.
Conclusion: Very good hopper. if you have the money get it. But if you have more then $200 get a Rotor or a Prophecy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kragshot Wednesday, January 26th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Revolution I & II
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1
Redz Pepper Sticks barrel kit
J&J Edge Elite barrel kit
Trinity T-lock feedneck
Invert Reloader II
BT 45 degree mount
Barska 50mm red dot sight
modified old school gas thru T-stock
CP coiled remote
NXE Extraktion remote sleeve
Crossfire 88/4500 HPA tank (LP reg)
Hogue finger groove 1911 grips
Gear Sector sling mount
Strengths: Magnetic Lid
Long Battery Life
Narrow Profile
Stealthy Operation
Simple to Program (On and Off)
Weaknesses: None found so far
Review: I was skeptical about the reliability of the sound activated feature after using a hopper with eyes for so many years, but that changed quickly. Like most other people, I had to sand down the feedneck to fit. No big deal and it meant there was no slop or wiggle in the fit. The magnetic lid was a nice touch. Quick reloads while still keeping the rain out. I use a huge red dot sight and the narrow profile leaves room to mount it without having to turn the hopper sideways. Even without a sight, it has better visibility than a fat bottomed hopper. After two years of constant play, I have yet to change the first set of batteries or chop a ball. If my count is right, that's at least 24,000 balls to date.

Woodsballer Strength: Low on ammo, sneaking around at the low ready, balls roll out of the neck, and agitator goes off - telling everyone where you are. With sound activation this just doesn't happen anymore. Paddles only cycle when you pull the trigger at which point stealth won't matter.
Conclusion: This is the only piece of gear I own that I cannot find something to b!tch about. As long as you're not a Wagner player and keep it under 13 bps you can't go wrong with this hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2011 at 3:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

n00b_cake Tuesday, May 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo Too
Gravity Hopper :D
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Reloader ii
HPA
other stuff
Strengths: Magnetic lid
Easy use (one button ftw)
Holds 210 rounds
Cheap
Consistant
Feeds really well
Weaknesses: not programmable
12 bps is slow for some
Didn't come with instructions D:
Review: Works really well, hasn't broken any rounds so far and keeps up with me on semi. To be safe I capped it at 12 bps and I would recommend this especially if you don't have eyes on your marker. The one thing is that me didn't come with instructions, and I didn't know you have to hold the on button to turn it off so that was confusing. Once I figured everything out it worked fine. Not the fastest thing around, but if your playing semi or are a rec baller then I would recommend this hopper.
Conclusion: It's good if you're a rec player or cap your semi at 12 bps - if your a tourny player or play a lot of speedball invest in something faster.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

applejack30 Saturday, March 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200 Gravity feed
VL Revy 9v
Marker Setup: VL Charger, 14 inch Terminator Barrel, Empire reloader II hopper, Expansion chamber/ foregrip
Strengths: Sound Activated
low batt indicator
magnetic lid
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I bought this hopper looking for something to feed my gun since the e-grip out shoots a gravity hopper. This does just that and is impressive. The sound activation is great. you can just turn the hopper on and forget about it. some complain about the sound activation not being sensitve enough, but mine is loud enough that this is not a problem... If you have that quite if a gun than its probably expensive enough that you would be thinking about getting a more expensive hopper...
Conclusion: Great for lower end markers and someone looking to save a few bucks...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gigaleet Saturday, February 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution 2 (slightly better; see review)
Evolution 3 (slightly better; see review)
Halo B w/rip Drive (better)
Standard Gravity hopper (worse)
Marker Setup: 2008 Dangerous Power G3 Special Edition (stock)
Strengths: Cheap
Easy to use
Decent Weight
Sound Activated
Magnetic Hinge Lid
Smoke Shell
Weaknesses: Magnetic Lid
Speed
On/Off system
Review: First thoughts:
I picked this up for my new G3 for my first ever game of speedball (I've been woodsballing with various electro and mech guns for the past few years). My Egg2 was in bad shape, and I was waiting for parts to arrive to do a rebuild on it. I decided to get one of these just as a backup, but figured it'd be worth playing with it for a few games to see how it performed. I will say right off the bat that I did not think this was going to keep up. I was playing with PSP 3-round burst mode (first 3 shots are semi-auto, then it kicks into 3-round burst mode at 12 balls per second until you let off the trigger for a second or longer). I did not expect the hopper to be able to keep up with the burst. It did, and then some.

Speed: TLDR; Good for the price, but won't beat a higher end hopper. 8/10

I did not have one misfeed what-so-ever all day. I had only one ball break, and that was in the barrel; neither the gun nor the hopper's fault (very, very poor paint quality). Just for kicks, I put in on 15 BPS full auto (NXL mode) and let it rip. It was still able to keep up, no problem . I was skeptical of the sound activation, but it never failed to feed a ball. The reason I listed speed as both a strength and a weakness is simple: it's one of the best (IMO) hoppers in the price range ($40-$50) but you have to realize that it will not keep up with anything over 15 bps. It's not made for that at all. But, if you play speedball in most formats, you will be shooting less than 15 BPS anyways. I'm not saying this is as good as a hopper as a more expensive one; What I am saying that it's max speed will be enough to contend in most formats.

Reliability/Durability: Pretty durable so far, definitely a thicker plastic than an Eggy (but hard and thin enough that it would be possible to break, not like a cheap gravity fed hopper). 9/10

As stated above, I didn't have a single misfeed the entire day. I took about 3 separate hopper hits (twice on the right side and once dead on the "cone" part) without a scratch. One of the side hits was from my friend bunkering me, so it was within 15 feet. No problems here whatsoever. My only concern is with the magnetic hinge lid; it seems to me like the magnets would fall off somehow, but that's probably because I'm not used to that style of lid yet.

Ease of Use: Pretty darn easy to use. On button operation and an easy-to use magnetic lid. 10/10

This hopper is pretty easy to use. It's got a simple on/off button which is nice, but one qualm I had with it is that it's impossibly to tell if the hopper is on or off. Turning it garners the same reaction (impeller spins once) as it does turning off; the only way to know for sure is to turn it off completely (hold button in a few seconds) and then turn it on again (tap button for a second). The magnetic lid is nice because you don't have to worry about how much force you use to open/close it. You can do a quick flip with your hand it will open up, same with closing. It seems, though, with the wide lip on the lid that it'd be possible to catch it on your clothes/person and accidently open it mid-game; fortunately this isn't so. The hopper opened up unintentionally only once the entire day, and that's when I was picking my gun up and I slid it across my bag. The lid caught a stiff corner and about 20-30 balls rolled out. One of the main concerns I've heard about the lid is that you have to line it up just right to get it to "catch". On mine, there was no problem just flipping it down and the magnets lining up, but that might change once it gets "broken in". One nice feature is that is is sound activated, so you don't have to worry about your eyes getting dirty on your hopper or whatnot. However, it seems some people have had trouble with balls breaking and the paint getting into the circuitry, frying the board. I have not had anything like this happen to me yet, but I can say that there is a noticeable gap in the feedneck where the sound mic is located, so it is possible.

Price/Value: Whether you are using this as a backup hopper or buying it as a main, it's definitely a contender. 9/10

For $45, you can't really complain. It's got speed and accuracy, and unless you need to be pulling the trigger faster than 15 bps, you should be ok.

Looks: I like the way it looks, and how it sits on my gun. (will not factor into total score) 10/10

Not nearly as important as speed and durability, but I will say that I like how this looks on my Ninja Black G3. The smoke is just clear enough to give you an idea of how much paint you have left but still looks great. It sits lower on my gun too, which is a plus.


Final thoughts

The only concerns I have for this hopper is the long-term durability, how well the magnetic lid will hold up, and what will happen if paint gets in the sound activated port. Other than that, it's an awesome hopper for the price, so much so that I might be using it instead of the rebuilt Eggy with Zboard (Eggy is faster, can be adjusted speedwise, has a clear on/off, has a far more brittle shell, and uses eyes; the Reloader is (apparently) more durable, has a set, slightly slower speed, has a single button operation (good and bad), has a very nice magnetic lid, and uses sound activation).

Breakdown
Strengths
Decent speed
Great price
Responsive sound activation
Great magnetic lid
Sits low on gun
Single-button operation
Nice Shell color/density

Weaknesses
Speed isn't fastest
Impossible to tell if hopper is on/off by LED
Magnetic lid and durability may be an issue

*note-Final score is not an average, just overall.
Conclusion: I would most definitely recommend this hopper for anyone looking for a good speedball hopper, an entry (or possibly even mid-level) tournament hopper, or for a backup hopper. There are better hoppers out there, for sure, but at 1/3 of the price of some of the more expensive ones, this will get you in the game no problem. It's not without it's flaws, though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 28th, 2010 at 1:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CBAED22 Thursday, January 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
pinokio hopper- amazing hopper but a little pricey
Marker Setup: smart parts ion 72/3000 pure energy tank and reloader guts w/shell upgrade
Strengths: Sound activated!!!
magnetic lid
auto shut off
Weaknesses: VERY WEAK STEM!!!
hard to tell if its on =(
Review: i was all happy when i got this hopper i had it all set up and as soon as i got on the field i could tell something was wrong. right off the break, the thing snapped- THE FIRST TIME I USED THE DANG THING. so i got out and was so pissed. i used one of my friends pinokio hoppers for the rest of the night and the next day had to buy a new shell for the guts of it
Conclusion: Dont buy this unless you have a clamping feedneck.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eclipseninja Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire B, Evlution 2, Evlution 3, Gravity feeds, Tippmann Cyclone
Marker Setup: DP G3
Angel a4
Ion
Strengths: Price, Consistency, Sound activated, Magnet lid
Weaknesses: Not extremely fast
Review: I purchased the empire reloader 2 because i needed a hopper that was legal for the sppl, (15 bps or less) and my team suggested me this loader. I purchased it on ebay for 30 dollars new. When it arrived i was very impressed. It was very simple operation, 1 button activation, a very easy battery insertion, pretty sturdy, and best of all, it's sound activated. The design is pretty simple, and it is alot like the Viewloader Revlution. it is basically a gravity fed hopper (and it can work that way if the batteries die) with an agitator at the bottom.

The first time i used it was at my sppl tournament. I had my g3 set at nxl 15bps, yet the loader advertised at only 12 bps, yet it performed extremely consistent all day. The magnetic lid is definately something i loved about this loader. It was also raining extremely hard, yet i never had a problem.
Conclusion: I would definately reccomend this loader to a newer to intermediate player, or anyone competing in tournaments where higher end loaders are illegal. I only give it a nine because it is not the fastest.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcron12 Friday, January 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo v35 rip, quantum(sucks), gravity, magna
Marker Setup: ion stock
48 3000 hpa tank
empire reloader 2
Strengths: Durable, Fast, Accepts halo speed feeds
Weaknesses: Sound sensor not sensitive
Review: This hopper is very reliable i use it on my ion with eyes on and get 13 bps on rebound.
i got the smoke because i like to see how much paint i have left. i use a modded upfront cut the fingers off and screwed on a virtue crown works great.
Conclusion: Get it its worlh every penny
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Where'sMeShoota Monday, October 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200 Shake & Bake
Reloader Original
Qloader
Reloader B
Halo
Marker Setup: Automag
Strengths: Simple
Reliable
Inexpensive
Light weight
Sound activated
Easy to maintain
30 minute shut-off
Weaknesses: Durability
Review: I can't understand how Empire advertised Reloader II as featuring an improved shell over the original. The shell is VERY brittle. It almost feels like thin ceramic china. The first time I closed the battery door, a small piece on the edge of the door frame snapped off (superglued it back on easily enough, so it's not that big of a deal). It'd probably crack or shatter if dropped on concrete. It's cosmetic design is an improvement, but I don't like the choice of material at all. This is my only complaint, thus far. Everything else seems to be identical to the original Reloader, to which I gave rave reviews.
Conclusion: Would have been a 10 if not so cheaply made. It's well worth it for $30, though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media