paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Reloader II / Empire Reloader II / Empire Reloader II

Empire Reloader II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Reloader II

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Reloader II
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 184
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What's the deal with a sound activated loader? An optical sensing loader "prevents" misfeeds while with the Reloader they simply don't happen. While an optical loader basicaly acts like a regular gravity fed loader until it senses a misfeed and then rotates the paddle, the Reloader never waits for a misfeed to happen. Instead it loads a ball everytime the marker is fired, able to load up to 14 balls per second.

This latest version of the Reload features an improved shell design, magnetized lid that won't wear out, and a contained battery door so you won't lose it!

Product Availability 
The Empire Reloader II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
zazor18 Thursday, September 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard VL style hopper
Archon hopper
VL 12v
Bunch of the force feed and agitated style hoppers
Marker Setup: JT Protium
Stiffi 14" barrel
Empire Reloader

Spyder Pilot ACS
Dye grips
J + J Ceramic 14"
Cam lock Feedneck
Empire Reloader II
Strengths: Pretty inexpensive
Good with batteries
Magnetic lock lid
Reliable
Weaknesses: Big feedneck
Shell is decent but could be stronger
Review: This is for you rec ballers or pb'ers on a budget.

The Empire Reloader II is a sound activated hopper so each time you fire and it goes 'bang' the device will push a few balls into the feedneck. So it's alot better than a gravity hopper in that your certain to have a ball in the breech each time you fire. I believe the BPS is somewhere in the lines of 12-14 bps. It's also decently quiet since it's only whirring around while the gun is firing.

I haven't had this thing blend any paint and my ball chops appear to have gone away (I only had one chop from using 4750 rounds).

The magnetic lid is pretty good. I would prefer slightly stronger magnets to assure you don't spill any balls during a dive. Hasn't happened to me yet but the potential is there.
The shell of the hopper is about the same to most other e-hoppers out there so it's on par with the standard but I just wish they simply use a more flexible plastic rather than something that could shatter.

Battery life has been real good in comparison to the devices I have used that constantly are agitating the balls or pushing the balls down. It simply turns on each time it senses a loud enough sound, ie. paintball gun firing, and when you not using it, it goes into a standby mode. After enough time it will shut itself off. I believe this number is 30min but I've never been out that long to find out. But the on/off switch is an easy push button and I don't expect that to be much of a problem for most. I also like the fact that it uses a battery door that snaps into place and installing the batteries is simply sliding the two 9v batteries into the compartment rather than using battery tabs that dangles from two wires.

Feedneck is on the big side and could be an issue for some. This will require you to sand the feedneck down or get a device that will accommodate the size.
Conclusion: Retail I think this thing is about $50 which isn't bad based on the performance of the hopper. Now if you can out shoot 14bps or like to be on full auto I would get something else. This hopper has been very reliable and beats the heck out of just using a gravity hopper.
Note: if your gun is real quiet this hopper is not for you either. But as I said earlier, rec ballers and budget pb'ers (who typically don't have the high end guns thus they're on the nosier side) should find this a great hopper to use.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DethWshBkr Wednesday, August 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity, and prior purchase of same loader.
Marker Setup: SP Epiphany (225 PSI regulator pressure!)
QEV
Crossfire 68/4500 HP tank

Strengths: Seems Slender
Magnetic lid

-See review
Weaknesses: Obviously limited in speed
2 9V batteries add some weight
Review: Well, this is my second one of these loaders.

I had an Ion a few years ago, got out of playing, sold it, and just got back into it.
Bought an Epiphany, and of course, needed an e-loader. I'm on a budget, so hey, 50 bucks sounds pretty good!

I've checked out the listing on this sucker, and it says it feeds 10-12 a second. I've got to seriously question that.
Last few times I've played, I've been able to set my Epiphany on ramping, (which I have my ROF delay and dwell set to give me 17 bps).
I was in a 1 V 1 against a Dangerous Power F8, (25BPS) and after alot of bobbing and baiting, decided to throw a solid stream. I reloaded, and didn't back off that trigger for 10 seconds. My Epiphany didn't sputter or delay at ALL. (Eyes on) That tells me this loader kept up, at 17 bps for 10 seconds, while being advertised for 10-12 bps.

I wish I had a chrono that gave ball count, because I'd love to have absolute proof other than the fact that the marker didn't sputter or delay on fire at all. If it did, I couldn't tell.


I am not a magnetic lid fan. I know they are easy to open, but thats why I don't like them. I've lost paint already, and seen others lose alot of paint from these stupid mag lids. Hard running, and blamo, that lid could fly open, especially when you've got a full heavy hopper of paint. My other one, I used a small strip of velco to create a "safety" on the backside of the lid, which I had to grab and pull up to release. Still fast, but now SAFE.

I have had no issues with fit in my stock Epiphany feed neck, no sanding at all. No fall outs either.

It seems pretty slim, especially compared to my new Empire Reloader B2, which will be going on my Dangerous Power G3. It sits kind of tall though, but hey, it's an inexpensive hopper.


I've never had it not feed from the sound signature or vibration of my Epiphany (however it "senses" a shot), so no complaints there.
Conclusion: All in all, I like it. I'd buy it again if I needed a cheap hopper, that seems to work very solidly! It's surely not the fastest, lightest, or most impressive, but it works and seems to work well for what I got it for!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 13th, 2008 at 8:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JEEPMON Wednesday, August 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Multiple mechanical and gravity fed loaders
Marker Setup: Spyders, Tipmans, Smart Parts
Strengths: Cheap!
Holds slightly more paint than others.
Slightly faster than gravity fed.
Weaknesses: Cheap!
Brittle plastic
Weak impeller
Weak magnets
Review: Ok I have used this for rec play for several years now and I have to say DO NOT FILL THE HOPPER TO THE RIM. It will break the impeller (it cracks and under any torque the servo motor spins and impeller doesn't) The plastic is very brittle and will develop multiple cracks especially if you take it apart (the first cracks appear in the feed neck and around the screw holes.) The battery contacts tend to get pushed upward and loose contact with the batteries. The magnets for the lid are weak if you are rough they WILL eventually pop open I have found this out on ALL magnetic lids for all hoppers.
I know it seam I am bashing this hopper and I kind of am but it is better than gravity fed but I cannot recommend it.
The most important things I need in a hopper are a LARGE capacity (who want to refill frequently) and easy to fill and STAY CLOSED and durable.
This loader only has the capacity going for it.
I think I will try the Kingman FASTA next it looks like what I am looking for.
Conclusion: Use a gravity feeder unless you really can walk your fingers up to multiple balls per second in fact a gravity fed hopper can feed up to 6 balls per second. Do you really need to shoot faster and waste that much paint? Is paintball really a pissing contest for the immature to say I can wiggle my fingers faster? Does shooting 20BPS get you more hits than 5BPS? NO!
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StarfuryTH Monday, July 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity-fed hoppers
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Bandit Valve
Alamo City Paintball delrin bolt (two o-ring)
System-X Barrel
32* E-frame
32* spring kit
Drilled VA
Remote kit
Polished striker
Empire Reloader II
Strengths: Sound-activation, battery capacity (2x9V), magnetic lid, strong case
Weaknesses: Thick feed neck (although not a major problem)
Review: I picked this up for something like $30 off ebay to feed my e-frame Rodeo. I'm mostly a woodsball player, so so I don't really need a super fast hopper. There's no reason to lay down that much paint in the woods.

The loader is very simple in design and allows you to play in the woods without making a crapload of noise or wasting battery power. You simply turn it on and it loads when you fire. I cap my frame at 12bps and I've never outshot the hopper, even when playing around on full-auto mode (which I never do while actually playing).

The magnetic lid is pretty nifty. I've never had the top pop off while playing (and I play pretty hard), but it flips off easily enough when I want to reload. If I ever have problems with it, I'm sure I can finaggle some new, stronger magnets in there with a little ingenuity.

The only problem I've had with it is that the feed neck is very thick (if you can't tell from other reviews). That said, it's not a huge problem. It allows you to sand it to fit whatever elbow or clamping feed neck you want it to, which isn't really that big a deal. If you're going to whine about having to do a little bit of sanding, just don't buy it..
Conclusion: I'd heartily recommend this hopper for use on any gun that isn't going to outshoot it's 14bps rating (iirc). It's great for woodsball because it doesn't make noise all the time, and it saves battery power so you don't run out halfway through a round. The magnetic lid is an added bonus. I give it an 8 because if I had designed it, I would've used stronger magnets and made the feed neck a hair smaller.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lahc34 Sunday, July 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
diablo frontman
Marker Setup: Pilot ACS
Empire reloader 2
3000 hpa tank
dye ultralite 18"
Strengths: Fast until you try laneing
Weaknesses: Not fast enough
Sound :(
See rest
Review: I absolutely loved this hopper for the first three months of me playing paintball when I only played scenario and then I started with airball. I know the pilot is a piece of trash but it's max bps is greater than the hopper's. usually, the hopper will skip some shots causing the gun to "avoid a chop" and uncock. that's extremely annoying especially in the middle of a fire-fight.
Conclusion: It's a great hopper for people looking to start with the sport. don't recommend it for speedball though

also, if anyone is looking to start with the sport, I'll sell all of my gear for $150

Spyder Pilot ACS
-warrior roller trigger
-locking feedneck
-Dye Ultralight 18" 2-piece barrel

Java 4+1 pod pack

Pure Energy 45/3000 HPA tank

Empire Reloader 2 hopper

VForce Rental Mask (it's used so if you don't want it i'll take off $10)

leave a comment and i'll put the gear up on ebay.com
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

newmann_360 Sunday, June 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cyclone hopper
Tippmann Triumph
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1
Pure Energy coiled remote w/ slide check
Adco Sure Shot red dot sight
TAPCO adjustable stock,
Empire Reloader II
J&J 14" Precision barrel
48/3000 DXS HPA tank
LAPCO Big Shot 14" barrel
Strengths: Good battery life
inexpensive
feeds pretty quickly
Weaknesses: Magnetic lid
Kind of loud
Review: I bought this product about a month or so ago, along with my new SP-1. This hopper appealed to me because it seemed to be the best hopper for a low price. Although I haven't owned this hopper for a very long time, I have taken it with me to Oklahoma D-Day, a week of scenario paintball, and I have also played some rec ball with it.

-Strengths-
Good battery life - In the month that I've had it, I have only changed batteries once, just to ensure that they wouldn't die on me in the middle of an 8-hour scenario (this battery change took place at the very end of the one month period). considering the fact that I played about 4 hours of recball and three 3 hour scenarios in this time, I am very happy with the battery life of this hopper.

Inexpensive - Pretty self-explanatory. You can't really beat the pricing of this hopper.

Feeds quickly - Once again, pretty self explanatory. This thing can feed as fast as I can pull the trigger. If you have a fast gun, I wouldn't recommend this hopper, but for your 10-15 bps guns, this hopper will do just fine.


Weaknesses
Magnetic lid - This idea sounds good on paper, and it does work to an extent. It's really easy to flip open and flip shut, but more than once, something caught on the lid of the hopper and it came open.

noise - Maybe it's just that my gun is so quiet, but this hopper makes some noise when it feeds. It's not a huge sound, but enough to be noticeable.


Conclusion: In conclusion, if you have a gun that doesn't shoot too quickly and you are looking for a good hopper, look no further. From my own searches, I have found no better hopper in terms of comparing quality to price. I caught this for about $35 at action village.

This hopper has some minor weaknesses, so it gets a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newbieballer50 Saturday, June 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: 2008 Smart Parts Vibe (Select Fire), Empire Reloader
Strengths: Fast Enough, Light, Magnetic Lid, Quiet, Turns on every shot and price.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I love this hopper. I got it when i ordered my vibe because I needed something to keep up with my walking and the other modes. I got it out of the box, put batteries in it and put it on my gun. It was that straight forward. Press the button and go. I haven't had to change my batteries yet and I have put about 1000 rounds through it so we're golden on battery life and it is very quiet. I don't hear it when I shoot my Vibe, Which is pretty quiet. I forgot to mention I got it for $35 bnib.
Conclusion: I love this and i would recommend it to anyone who wants a cheap, fast hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

James J Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo (tested)
Eggy (tested)
Gravity fed stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
16" J&J ceramic
Empire Reloader 2
32 Degrees coiled remote
Special Ops SAW stock
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I got this hopper after my mate decided he wanted an A5, and so wouldn't need this hopper anymore. So i've used it a few times, and now really like it. Right, so on strengths and weaknesses.

Strengths

Looks cool (i know some people hate the looks of this thing. Fair do's).
Holds more paint than a normal hopper (210+ balls).
It won't start trying to feed when you're out of paint, making it obvious to opponents you're dry, like the eggy does (and therefore, inviting them to bunker you).
Always feeds when you fire. I'm using a double trigger on my 98, and i know, that's not crazily fast, but this hopper could keep up easily.

Weaknesses

Hard to remember to turn on...maybe that's just me...
Magnetic lid has a habit of popping open when you don't want it to, which has resulted in me losing a hopperful of paint on more than one occasion. Some people put rubber bands around the lids to keep them shut... i might try this...
Conclusion: You'll need something faster for higher end tourney guns, as this just won't keep up. However, for mechs and lower end electros, this will do fine. Remember, you get what you pay for. I give it an eight as i like everything about it, apart the fact it won't feed all that fast.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartparts8593 Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo -- Better then this product.
Rewy -- I'm gonna get trash talked for this but its bout the same.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
14" Freak Barrel
Empire Reloader II
Virtue Board
Compressed Air
Custom Grips



Smart Parts Vibe
14" Linear Barrel
Empire Reloader II
Compressed Air
Strengths: Magnetic Lid
Senses when the ball isn't in neck
Electronic
Weaknesses: When your sneaky it will become noisy
Isn't a Halo :)
Review: It is overall a great hopper. There is nothing really wrong with it. I like the Magnetic Lid and when it can sense that the ball isn't in the neck. It is electronic so it will be a little noisy. I like how it is shaped, kinda cool. I don't like how it is kinda cheapy plastic. Overall good product.
Conclusion: Good, go out and buy one if you got 50 dollars and not a 100, if you have a 100 go buy a Halo lol.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Paint Saint Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200
VL Revolution - Horrible. You have to press the button to turn it on and off. The eye doesn't work because the Revolution is the little brother of the Eye-force, and they use the same body. But, I do believe it has a bit faster bps.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Pilot '05 w/ ACS
Empire ReLoader II
Pure Energy 3000 PSI 72 cu. in.
Stock everything
Strengths: Sensor
Price
Strong
Doesn't misload on other sounds
Battery door
Magnets
Weaknesses: Clear (my fault, but they could blur it out)
Low bps
Batteries
Feed neck
Review: I bought this on the spur of the moment, and the place I bought it from didn't have any other color in stock.

Pros:
Sensor. It's nice. You can make all the noise you want and it won't spin. That's because it's motion (or rather rattle & air compression) activated. It is said to be sound activated but it's not. If you tap the side hard enough it'll spin. And, it picks up that the gun has fired very well. I've only had it skip a fire 2 out of about 300 shots.
Price. On xtremez.com it's $35. Great price.
Strong. Doesn't feel lousy. Squeezing won't make the plastic budge. Very strong.
Doesn't misload. Like I said in the sensor paragraph, it won't misload on other things.
Battery door. It's watertight. Just push it to the side and it's open. What's nice is that it's easy to slide open, but it won't open on .
Magnets. Not too strong, not too weak.

Cons:
Clear. I should have waited and gotten a smoke one so that I could see through it but not have it as a bright target. But, that's the only one they had in stock. I'm going to use some camo duct tape on it.
Low bps. It could be higher, but it fires fast enough for me. I only go about 15 bps.
Batteries. Takes two 9V. But, it doesn't hog them, as far as I know. I've never had to replace them, but I haven't done a full day of play.
Feed neck. The outside diameter is too great. It won't break, I know, but it won't fit in most guns.
EDIT: It did break my feed neck eventually, after two long games. I'm going to try a Kingman adjustable feedneck. It looks like it doesn't go in very far, but after looking closer at it, I discovered it was in as far as it would go. I guess it is good.

More points:
Not force feed. It simply shakes all the balls worse than an earthquake, so everything goes down smoothly. I think it's great to prevent breakage, but this is the reason why it won't feed much. I'm thinking about getting a Halo B when I get a VS3.
Also, I think I'll try sanding the neck.
Conclusion: Buy it if your gun doesn't go more than 17 bps. Most guns say that they can fire about 1.3 times the speed you can actually pull off. Keep that in mind. Just make sure you get a smoke or colored one. And get a good feedneck if you need one that's not built into your gun. Something like a Spyder. It's hard plastic and is adjustable.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media