paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Pro/Carbine
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 449
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann has taken two of its most popular guns, the Pro-Lite and the 68-Carbine, and combined them into one. The Pro/Carbine features the CVX valve to allow for a change in the weather without changing the gun's performance. It uses a stainless steel braided gas line which will allow for the use of both compressed air and Co2. Also features a 10.5" micro-honed ported barrel and a quick release rear sight.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Pro/Carbine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Emorrison84 Friday, March 4th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Name it, I've used it.
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Sport Pump Autococker
14" CP 2 Piece Barrel
GxG 50 Round Hopper
Pure Energy 48/3000

Tippmann Pro/Lite
12" Lapco BigShot
VL Egg 3
Pure Energy 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Excellent quality
Solid performer
Vast array of upgrade possibilities
Weaknesses: Depending on your Setup, it can get a little heavy.
Review: Like many other members who have posted reviews here, I own a Tippmann Pro/Lite, which is essentially the same marker as the Pro/Carbine but made earlier and with a gas-thru grip instead of a Bottom-line ASA. So pretty much everything I will say in this review applies to BOTH markers, even though I will be using the Pro/Lite name.

A short story to start things off...

After a year long hiatus from paintball and dispensing of most of my markers, I became interested in the sport once again. I have used numerous guns in my tenure as a paintballer, but there was always something about Tippmann markers that I liked. The Pro/Carbine always carried some weight with me, since it was the first gun I ever used (a rental) and it rewarded me with a cross-field goggle shot on the Birthday Boy for my first elimination.

About a year ago, I came across a Tippmann Pro/Lite on eBay for $39.99 Buy It Now. I decided since my aging Piranha was not suitable for Mainline operations that I should take full advantage of this opportunity. A few days later I received the marker, and it was in very good condition. It had spent most of it's life as a rental, so naturally there was a little cosmetic wear & tear, and some cleaning to do, but it had been very well maintained inside.

First look...

The Tippmann Pro/Lite is made from a combination of Metal & Heavy Duty ABS Plastic Polymer. The only plastic parts are the grip frame and the fore grip/feed neck (same piece). When you first clinch it in your hands you'll feel a sense of quality that assures you the gun is built to last. The marker has the feel of a rifle to it, as it's heavy and meant to be held like one. The gun is equipped with a fairly basic cross-bolt safety, which does its job well. The addition of Ironsights is a nice touch here, as it makes you want to aim down the barrel and take carefully placed shots like the marker was intended to do.

On to performance...

Right off the bat, you'll notice this marker is a very solid performer. It fires nice and hard for every shot, and with Compressed Air you should have very good consistency. You can expect the marker to send your paint about 125 feet (approx 42 yards) down the field without having to angle upwards to increase distance.

There is a small kick from the gun whenever it's fired, which I like because I feel it adds a bit more realism to the game. The sound of the marker when it's fired is a very tolerable volume, and seems to be little bit quieter than other Tippmann guns. You can also expect to fire about 1000 shots on a full 48/3000 tank.

You may notice you may be shooting a bit more accurately than what you're used to with other markers. I am aware that accuracy is based more on a good Paint-to-Barrel match, but hear me out. The way the marker is designed to be held helps out too. Since you hold it with more support, naturally it will be steadier in your hands, so shots will be more accurate. This is true for most pump markers too.

I decided to purchase an aftermarket barrel for my Pro/Lite, and I chose the Lapco BigShot for reasons I will explain in a moment. You don't have to upgrade the barrel if you don't want to, but I would certainly recommend it. The condition that a lot of the stock barrels are in these days isn't favorable, so ridding yourself of it may be a wise course of action.

When upgrading to a new barrel, there are 2 things that come into play here. 1 is length. To clear the foregrip you'll probably want something that's at least 10 inches long. The 2nd factor is the width of the barrel, and I'm not talking bore size. The foregrip is only SO wide in diameter. You have to find a barrel with little to no styling & details that will fit inside the hole. I found the Lapco BigShot to be a perfect fit.

On to upgrades...

With most Tippmanns, you can choose from a very large selection upgrade possibilities, mainly cosmetic. I've seen some of these converted to look like M82 Barrett Sniper Rifles and even the Assault Rifle from Halo, so the possibilities are endless.

The top of the receiver has 2 separate rail widths to support numerous sizes of Scopes & Sights. I sometimes mount a red-dot sight on top on days where I'm going to be rather stationary on the field. If you do a lot of assault style playing then I'd recommend forgoing the Scopes and sticking to the Ironsights that are already on the gun.

Conclusion: In conclusion, I'd like to say that if you're looking for a very reliable marker that will provide you with years of faithful service, solid performance, and never fail you on the Battlefield then you can't go wrong with either the Tippmann Pro/Lite or Pro/Carbine.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 19th, 2011 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slippy Sunday, September 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5, 98, Automagsd, .68 carbine, X7 Phenom
Marker Setup: Pro/Carbine, Lapco bigshot and hammerheads, Q Loader

Phantom w/ vertical Co2 feed, 15 round mag w/holosight, hammerhead

ICP B-5, w/hammerhead
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is up to you, I have had a lot of success with the stock barrel
Strengths: Not just reliability but dependability
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Disassembly is kind of a pain
Review: Anybody who says that the trigger pull is too hard is a wimp. Its 7 Lbs!!! Its the same as my M16A4. sure its not the ego or angel that will go off on a breath.

I have spent my time fiddling with the "high-end tourney guns" and personally I'm sick fo them. My career in the Marine Corps allows me to play in all kinds of locations. (Every Clime and Place) Hot, Cold, Wet, Dry etc. My automags consistently fail me along with the new X7 Phenom, (don't get me started on that one). The tourney markers are like a porsche 911 turbos, they run good but its gonna cost you. Meanwhile the Pro/Carbine is like a chevy truck, the parts are cheap and just about eveybody knows how to work on them.

Its accurate, its not sniper rifle accurate, but as far as paintball goes I really can't ask for anything more, some reviews mention the lack of range but I say if your really not in range with this thing then your are doing too much fire and not enough maneuver. A lapco or hammerhead resolves any inconsistencies in accuracy.

The only thing I don't like is how it breaks down, the A5 and 98 break down by splitting the reciever in two but the PC is a single piece of metal, which greatly helps the durability but getting to the guts gets to be a pain. The operating rod is the part I hate the worst, I have had a couple of instances where the rear sight assembly has gotten old or bent, and it would come out of its niche, the operating rod will come out and I've actually lost one once. leaving the marker down for the day. But once again the parts are cheap. However a red dot sight using that little niche like a picatinny rail is an easy fix.

any sort of loader beyond the typical VL200 is unnecessary, I just use the Q Loader because I hate the Blimp
Conclusion: Pick one up, scour Ebay for one, you won't regret it, even if you leave it at the bottom of your bag, get one so you don't have to call it a day early because your batteries died or electronics fried
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mardi1st Sunday, March 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98,custom pro,a5,alpha black,x7,pro lite,68 carbine
Marker Setup: pro carbine
stock a5 barrel
collapse stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel is the 1st thing when upgrading any gun
like J&J,apex,Empire and of course Tippmann I recommend 8-10in if your a charge player
12-16 if your a mid field player or sniper
18+ if your playing in the cold
Strengths: Reliable, durable, gas saver
Accurate
Got high range,
Extremely quiet
Weaknesses: Can get heavy after awhile in a game
Slow rate of fire
Review: overall I don't have a complaint of the gun
just prepare to do some cleaning of the gun when you 1st buy it
like I wrote earlier this thing is extremely reliable and durable like when I fell in the water my god it was still firing unlike my other brand guns
gun is built like a killer robot it just keep going and going until there is no ammo left

I do recommend getting a lighter or double trigger or if you willing spend extra I suggest response trigger
not much to upgrade unless you do some converting
like turning it to be F4


slow rate of fire like 7 to 9 balls per sec
tough trigger unless you don't mind than it won't be a problem
old marker so expect some minor problems like rust, and drive spring but its all little things
nothing to worry about
Conclusion: To end I say best gun ever
you won't regret buying it I know I don't
Thank You to the people of the Tippmann company for making this wonderful marker
Thank you Thank you thank you Thank you!
I hope this help those who is interested in Pro Carbine
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 21st, 2010 at 7:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OIC Thursday, August 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have bought and used all kinds of markers.
Marker Setup: Plain Pro/Carbine, lighter trigger spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed, well ok a JJ Barrel
Strengths: Tough as nails. Made to last. Rifle Feel, What more can you ask for?
Weaknesses: Definitely not a marker for speedball. Not a spray gun. Some Skill is required.
Review: I have a small Paintball club. I have been doing it for more than 10 years. I have raised my own kids playing the great sport of paintball. We have tried all sorts of different markers. I know at least 5 different types of spyders alone. They just never held up. I had at least 3 of my own children sometimes 4 using different markers, and the problem was, I was always fixing them. They just don't hold up. I couldn't keep them going. By profession, I am a Industrial Tech, I fix things for a living and I work on all sorts of pneumatic systems at work. I bought a Pro/Carbine for myself and never looked back. I have used it for at least 8 years now. I just love everything about the marker. I have about 10 Pro/Carbines and 4- 68 Carbines that I let other players use. They are tough as nails. I started with a 98, and I did all the usual upgrades but I was never really happy with it. The pro/carbine works best for new players. Its easy to use and never chops balls. I don't think I had a ball break in my own pro/carbine in the last 3 years. There are not a lot of upgrades for the pro/carbine, but I don't think you need them. If you look at the way a Pro/Carbine is made, its made out of a single piece of machined aluminum, and anodized. Paint has no effect on the Main body of the marker, unlike the 98 and a-5. I could go on all day about the Pro/carbine, but I will just say, its the marker for me.
Conclusion: There is a reason, you can never find cheap Pro/Carbines on e-bay. They usually go for more then the 98's. I know, I have been watching them for a long time. The Pro/carbine is a excellent weapon to take in the woods.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sollo44 Sunday, January 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
truely similar. a pro lite nothing else compares on a fair level.
Marker Setup: Evil Minion 07
J&J Ceramic 2 piece barrel kit
crossfire 68 4500
empire B reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Durable without a doubt
Weaknesses: Slow
Review: As many have said this marker is slow and is only really suited for woodsball. That is about as true as it gets. If you find and buy this marker it is for one thing and only one thing. You are looking for an extreamly reliable woodsball gun. I have literally fallen into the mud gotten up and kept shooting without so much as a broken paintball coming from the barrel.
This marker has gone through brush, through rain, through mud, and through particle board. Yes the stuff was rather soaked with paint and mushed pretty easily. Not once, save a broken o-ring and those happen to every marker now and then, has this marker caused me a problem.
The biggest downfall this marker has is its as slow as mollasis in a Wisconsin January. If you can shoot at more than 8 balls per second you are cooking on this marker.
Now you will want to get a new barrel for it. I suggest a J&J Ceramic 1piece barrel. As the 2 peice will not fit in the housing. It has the same threads as an A-5.
If you are looking for a marker for speedball then do steer clear of this. It is long and slow and will NOT be very useful for you.
Conclusion: For what it is ment for this marker is a 9. If you want a speedball marker then its really only a 4 or 5.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 20th, 2009 at 11:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadyhittmann Thursday, March 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c, flatline, car stock
game face vexxor, dont compare.....
viewloader orion
Marker Setup: pro-carbine: polished internals, 12" J&J ceramic barrel, combat feed, double trigger, light trigger spring, macroline kit, vert kit, dead on 8 stage exp chamber, drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock barrel inaccurate(like on any other marker)
lighter trigger spring is almost a must
Strengths: CVX all-weather valve
tippmann quality
bulletproof
easy field stripping and cleaning
Weaknesses: Slow stock rate of fire (fixed with lighter spring)
Stock barrel is sketchy (easily fixed)
Review: The tippmann pro carbine is a good gun stock if you like the rifle feel. Its a good woodsball gun and is very solid. i have put mine through just about anything and you just clean it up and it still shoots like it did when i took it out of the box. One thing i really like is the CVX all waether valve. It can be 10 degrees or 90 degrees and it will still fire at the same consistancy, and living in a place where our winters are very cold and summers are very hot, its great. And one thing i want to adress is that many people say that its hard to fine upgrades for this particular gun. I have not found it difficult at all, its not as easy as a 98 custom but they are there.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anybody. Noobies or pros, its an all round great gun.
I gave it a 10 because all of the weaknesses can be fixed and its been a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JaWasaMan Monday, January 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Rental/ Stock setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: Easy to work with
Reliable
Weaknesses: Horrible accuracy
Low range
Review: When i first started to paintball this was the only gun i ever used, this gun is most offered for rentals. Sadly almost all rentals suck. This one isnt that bad, but if your looking to buy a gun, not this one you deserve something better. I didnt mind using it and i loved it until i bought a gun and saw how bad the carbine was.
Conclusion: Not bad, but its a rental,
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 21st, 2008 at 8:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hanseidel Monday, December 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 68 Carbine - just the standard stock class for the gun. I occasionally switch out the stock barrel for a longer 14 inch one (the brand name is not stamped onto the barrel and since I bought the gun used I do not know what the name is)
Recommended
Upgrades:
sight, barrel.
Strengths: Durable
Metal where it needs to be.
light weight
easy to strip
rifle look
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Okay, here are the weaknesses:

sometimes chops
threads on the barrel strip easily.
elbow teeth damage hopper
velocity screw adjustment is liable to fall out.


I have had this gun for about seven years now. I am the second owner, my marker is at least 10 years old, and it still works pretty good. I have used it quite a bit as rec marker. It was my first gun. This gun will always work, I will give it that, but it chops more than it should. Once it is chronoed right, the gun shots fairly accurately with the stock barrel;however, the range on the gun can be limited by a few factors, weather, paint, air supply, user error. ect. but which gun isnt?

The rate of fire is not bad, so long as you do not break a ball in the barrel It is not a tournament gun, so it should not be judged as such. The gun is Iight and I must admit that I like the rifle look, but looks do not make up for its lack of performance in some situations. It has let me down a few times in the either it chopped really badly, a part would go flying (the velocity screw) or its accuracy was way off target. As much as I love my Tippmann, it is not the best marker out there.

Yet, with all that negative being said, I still trust the gun more than many others out there. It is simple to operate,and I know its strengths and its limits. It shoots fine as a stock weapon without any major upgrades. The way this gun looks and feels is how a paintball gun should be in my view. This is a great scenario gun, light, compact, black. I only wish Tippmann could continue producing these by incorporating the 68 carbine design with all the good features of the 98 custom. (which I admit already does have some elements of the 68 carbine in it), Perhaps they should make the 98 pro carbine.


Conclusion: This is a classic marker. If you can find one for cheap it is worth the money. it is a good gun overall.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 15th, 2008 at 7:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SS5800 Tuesday, November 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders(Stock P/C owns even the sweetest of Spyders)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro Carbine w/ JCS Folding stock with rva, 14" Lapco bigshot Custom drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel(I think you will be very suprised with the stock barell though)
Maybe stock, Drop forward

Strengths: STOCK:

Accuracy
Range
Looks
Power


Weaknesses: Harder to find parts now
Review: P/C owns. Stock this gun is great. When i first shot it it was shooting the balls up and then they would slop downwards slowy, This gave me AWESOME range. Accuracy is almost deadon even at 150+ feet.

It has very little blowback, It may even seem like its shooting soft at first but watch the balls fly. My freinds told me when they were hit with the paint it felt harder than usual, Even with my velocity low. Its fairly quiet also. Compared to 98's, A5'S and alot of spyders.

I noticed that if you pull the stock barrel off, Wrap one single piece of masking tape around the porting it gets even more accurate and more range.

Overall my experience with this gun is awesome, even stock it was awesome.

In my opinion this gun is easier to strip than a 98, A5 etc. By far.

Once you throw a decent barrel on this gun (I recommend Lapco, Armson, All american, Custom products, and no more than 14" long.) This gun will please you time and time again.
Conclusion: Awesome gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

abulldog Wednesday, November 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pro lite, spyders, other mechs
Marker Setup: A main markers up in the air at present, using 10 shot pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (almost any barrel you could want as a5 barrels fit, possibly with a little modification to the forearm), polish internals, file and polish sear, drop foreward
Strengths: The pro-carb is dependable.
Weaknesses: It has a low rate of fire, ball detent wears out
Review: I had my pro-carb for something like 8 years. I just sold it and already regret it. The biggest reason that i like it is that it just fit so well; i would shoot so instinctively that i didn't even think about where i was pointing or the arc angle or anything. Now granted that could come from using a gun for 8 years but that time was broken up by intermittent use with other markers. I have owned 5 spyders and clones and none of them shot the same for me. Ive shot a dynasty shocker and other higher end electro pneumatics and they are impressive in a way, but they just dont have the feel of the pro carb. My pro-lite has the same feel and dependability of the pro-carbine but is less modifiable; i like a drop forward. Ok so this review is starting to look like a bit of nostalgia but that is what i have to offer. It is a marker that will fit perfectly for some people, and function perfectly for all. It cant keep up with the rate of fire of a lot of the competition but i have gotten a lot of players out with a few well placed shots while they sprayed paint at me.
Conclusion: I know a lot of reviews have a lot of specific information about what went wrong and how it was fixed etc. So ill try to give a record of dependability: i bought it used and broken (it was just so full of dirt that it chewed the o-ring up on the striker bolt) fixed it than used it without any problems for 8 years, beat that for dependability. I really think everyone can have a different marker that works right for them. this is the perfect marker for anyone who isnt a real heavy gunner but when they pull the trigger they want it to go bang, every single time.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 12th, 2008 at 3:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media