paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Pro/Carbine
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 449
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann has taken two of its most popular guns, the Pro-Lite and the 68-Carbine, and combined them into one. The Pro/Carbine features the CVX valve to allow for a change in the weather without changing the gun's performance. It uses a stainless steel braided gas line which will allow for the use of both compressed air and Co2. Also features a 10.5" micro-honed ported barrel and a quick release rear sight.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Pro/Carbine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (45):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
kgbbonecrusher Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 and 98 custom, bushmaster, mag, cocker, phantom
Marker Setup: b2k with pds
halo
freak
armageddon
vapor and zenitram stuff
Recommended
Upgrades:
nice barrel
expantion/reg
nitro
double trigger if you can find one
agitated hopper
Strengths: strong
kinda cool lookin
simple
relitively cheap
Weaknesses: outdone by the 98
not that good for serious players
Review: My friend owned one of these when we first started playing. They are pretty nice. They will almost never break down on oyu, and if they do, it is most likey because you did something wrong. not much needed to be done to them to jsut go out and have fun rec balling with your buds. If you wanted to get more serious, i would suggest a better barrel right off. There are better guns out there, however. As far as entry level goes, the 98 is much better, in my opinion. you have a lot better options for upgrade with the 98/98 custom. However, if you wanted to get this gun to be different from the pack, you could do that without sacrificing simplicity and ruggedness. Another contender could be the BKO, which is roughly in the same price range, but offers faster rates of fire, and can be upgraded much further than bot hte 98 and the pro/carbine. The downside to the bko is it is not as tough as the tippmann family.
Conclusion: For anyone looking to go out and have fun with their buds playing some rec ball, this would be a good gun. for people looking to still play rec ball, but get a bit more for their money, a 98 would probably be a better decision. either way, a rec baller would be happy with either the pro/carbine or the 98/98 custom.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HadesWarrior Friday, October 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
-
Marker Setup: -
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend getting a new barrel, other then that, the gun kicks a$$
Strengths: This gun is great all around
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: I love this gun.. ever since i saw how tricked out you can actually get this gun, its made me wanna buy it for myself.. People say how it shoots to slow, and you cant find any upgrades, well i think thats crap, this gun is perfect for me.. and im sure if you tried it, it would be perfect for you too..
Did i mention how durable this gun is!!!
Conclusion: This is a great gun, dont listen to people when they say it doesnt have any upgrades, believe me when i say this gun has TONS of them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prokarbiner Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Model 98 Custom
Avalon GT Commando 2
Marker Setup: ·Tippmann Pro/Carbine with 12" All American barrel; Air Tipps custom hammer & safety; Air Tipps rear velocity adjuster; Lighter trigger spring & shortened sear spring; and camo hopper cover.
·Airstar Supernova with system X sticky grips; and Ricochet AK hopper.
·Splatmatic XJ40 paint pistol with holster.
Interchangable stuff:
·20oz. CO2 tank with buttplate
·Pure Energy 48ci. 3000psi. nitro tank with cover.
·Gas thru T-stock with ACI 42" steel braided remote line.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel
-Lighter trigger spring
-Polish the hammer (Not really an upgrade, but it makes the action smoother.)
-Buttplate for the CO2 tank
Strengths: -Very tough
-Very reliable
-Easy to maintain
-Decent accuracy
Weaknesses: -Inconsistent shots (common problem with blowbacks)
-Heavy trigger pull ($2 fix)
-Hopper can come loose
Review: This was my first paintball gun, and it is now my backup/loaner. I like my Pro/Carbine and it served me well. The breach is easy to get to and clean, and it is easy to understand and maintain. It is also very reliable. I have taken hits to the hammer on this gun before, and it keeps working even when the hammer is coated with paint and has bits of gelatin all over the inside.

My only major complaint about the Pro/Carbine is that the trigger pull is too heavy. I don't know why Tippmann didn't ship this thing with a lighter trigger spring; It's such a simple thing that considerably improves the gun's feel and increases the firing rate.
Another thing you may need to worry about is the hopper feed neck. The feed neck on the Pro/Carbine is very sturdy, but the mechanism for holding the hopper on leaves much to be desired. It works well at first, but as the day goes on the hopper likes to work it's way loose, and sometimes it will come off. In order to tighten it back down, you have to remove a screw and the metal teeth that hold the hopper in, and then re-atatch them. I got tired of messing with this, so now I just wrap the feed neck with electrical tape and everything is fine.

Anyway, lets talk upgrades. The Pro/Carbine does not have as many upgrades as the Model 98, but several upgrades are readily available online. Air Tipps makes many good upgrades for the Pro/Carbine. They make rear velocity adjusters, M4 style stocks with built-in RVA, raised sight rails, custom internals, and others. Tippmann makes a vertical adapter and expansion chamber kit. There are also various barrels available for the Pro/Carbine.

If you are choosing between an Model 98 and a Pro/Carbine, you should hold and shoot both guns and see which one you like better. Remember that the Pro/Carbine's heavy trigger pull can be easily and inexpensively fixed. If you like rifle-like guns , then the Pro/Carbine is a fine choice.
Conclusion: The Pro/Carbine is a good all round gun. It has a solid feel, it's well balanced, easy to maintain, the breach is easily cleaned in the field, and it shoots decently straight. Its certainly not an Autococker or Angel performance-wise, but its a good starter gun. (And its much cheaper too.)
Choose this gun if you are new to paintball and prefer rifle-like guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gurubob2 Thursday, September 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock procarb
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel?stabilizer or ? to control consistancy
Strengths: TIPPMAN , strong , dorable , c'mon its the most popular rental gun (in fl. at least)
Weaknesses: i cant honestly say) ive heard spyders arent as reliable
Review: I LOVE MY TIPPY!! It doesnt break balls , its sturdy , i got mine as a package for 100 dollars with shipping , how can you beat it? It spits balls out quick ,its pretty accurate , (it made my brother in law blled , briefly , at 100 ft) , I could probly clean it once a year , I love it! TIPPMAN RULES and you can see by studying the facts im right. I look forward to many cool games at waynes world and if I wanted to spend 2 grand id buy my own freakin field ,(and fill it with tippman rentals no doubt)
Conclusion: GET ONE YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!(it could make youre brother in law bleed)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brgrboy26 Sunday, August 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: All stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
In this order: Barrel, Double trigger, 12V Viewloader Hopper.
Strengths: Durable. Accurate. Durable. Inexpensive. Durable. Tippmann. Durable.
Weaknesses: Heavy at times. Low rate of fire/ heavy trigger pull.
Review: This gun is unbreakable. You could run over it with a bus and it would work just the same, which is very well in my oppinion. It is very accurate and can fire as far as you'l need it to almost all of the time. I'm selling my now thogh because I am ready for a faster gun with a better upgrade path (Tippmann A5).
Conclusion: Overall a great gun especailly for its relativly low price. A reccomended buy for a begginner or intermediate who doesn't have a lot of cash. I would give this gun an 8.5 but there isn't one so an 8 will have to do.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fyre Knight Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98/98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine
AirTipps Collapsible Butt Stock with Rear Velocity Adjuster
14" Dye Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
AirTipps Collapsible Butt Stock with Rear Velocity Adjuster
After Market Barrel
Strengths: Extremely Durable.
Weaknesses: Kryptonite
Review: I've had my Pro/Carbine for over a year now and have never had a problem with it. The only time I've broken rounds is when it was well below freezing, and that was because the balls froze. The gun still fired great. I've been completely submerged in water, come up, and been able to fire immediately without any problems. I've dropped this gun in sand, dirt, mud, you name it, and it still fires. By far this is the most durable paintball gun I've ever seen. There have been many a games where I can sit back and laugh at people who bring spyders and autocockers to woodsball games only to have then break, sometimes during the first game. Be it rain, snow, sleet the gun will still work.
Conclusion: Best paintball gun I've seen. It will always work.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StickyNote Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder TL, Spyder shutter, ect.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (must) then you can take your pick of anti-siphon, expansion chamber, regulator, agitated hopper.
Strengths: Durability, great beginner gun, simple internals, relatively cheap.
Weaknesses: Trigger
Review: The pro-carbine is a gun that is not designed for speed, although with a few well thought out upgrades you can get your PC shooting relatively fast, your upgrades and modifications should primarily focus on accuracy and efficiency. First off stock the guns great, the only downside is its very wide and very heavy trigger pull. After a while you get used to the trigger (unless you alter it to lighten it). The stock barrel is decent but since you shoot slow getting a nice barrel is a must, i recommend a lapco bigshot. but this review isnt about upgrades its about the pc. The valve on the pc is very good and runs excellent on CO2 and can be run on Nitro/HPA if you would like. The rifle feel is a good relief over the commonly used "handle" style of making paintguns. The sling is also usefull if you play woodsball or scenario games on very large expanses of land.
Conclusion: Durable, accurate, can take alot of maintenance neglect, and has an awesome "rifle" hold to it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sir nick Monday, August 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c and m98
Marker Setup: procarbine with a 16in dye barrel and c02 remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
rt trigger
Strengths: durability and accuracy
Weaknesses: bad barrel out of the box and slow rof but it can be fixed
Review: the tippmann pro/carbine is the ak-47 of the paintball world thou you can go full auto or burst it is very durable . Kalashnikov (father of the ak-47) once said and i qoute "you take a hand full of sand and throu it into the bolt then cock and fire the rifle" the ak-47 is a very durable rifle and i compare it to the pro/carbine
Conclusion: the pro/carbine is the best paintball gun in my opinon you may have your own but this is mine
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chill_Bebop Saturday, August 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro lite, 68 carbine, m98
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro-lite, Model 98, Armotech Zeus w/holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel...i dont like the stock one
Strengths: R-E-L-I-A-B-I-T-Y
I spelled it out
Weaknesses: Heavy if your a wuss, slow trigger if your a wuss
Review: I actually dont own a pro/carb, i own a pro lite, but theyr almost identical anyway, so who cares. This is an excellent marker. I bought mine used from an army surplus store, came with 230 round old school hopper, a very worn 9oz, and red mud from the desert caked in it. (Also the manual) I cleaned it up, put a flatline flash suppressor on the barrel (I had an extra) and put about 2000 rounds through it. out of 2000 rounds, i had 2 ball breaks, and that happened through my own stupidity. Like the guy below me said, theres a reason this is the world's #1 rental gun. The only argument ive seen against this is it's performance and weight. Performance?! Oh im sorry if tippmann made a gun that isnt as fast as your electro, but while those guys are fixing theyre markers, im actually playing, so HA.
Conclusion: Buy one. Even if you have a great high end mrker, this is a great back up
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

oddtalents Friday, August 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ive used alot of guns but most dont compare to this
Marker Setup: pro carbine with 20 ounce tanks with on off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
air tipps rva i hope to get one soon
Strengths: front grip and elbow rear sight
Weaknesses: i would say the heavy trigger pull but easily fixed
Review: this gun rocks!!!! i love it. it is very accurate even with the stock barrel. it never breaks balls. and when i say that never i have shot thousands of paintballs through it and i have never broken one yet. im not joking. all of the people on here saying that their spyders are better than this gun are idiots. spyders break very easily becase they are poorly made. by the way in the chance that u have a problem with this gun tippmann has a great customer service. they actualy care about the customer unlike most companies. get this gun it rocks. and the heavy trigger pull is no big deal. if u cant handle it u can just call tippmann up and purchase a model 98 trigger spring and replace it with the one it comes with. but if u do do this remember the model 98 and not the custom it uses a diffrent type of spring and will not work.
Conclusion: get this gun it rocks and i really mean it. tippmanns are well made guns. they can kick a spyders butt anyday
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (45):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media