paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Pro/Carbine
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 449
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann has taken two of its most popular guns, the Pro-Lite and the 68-Carbine, and combined them into one. The Pro/Carbine features the CVX valve to allow for a change in the weather without changing the gun's performance. It uses a stainless steel braided gas line which will allow for the use of both compressed air and Co2. Also features a 10.5" micro-honed ported barrel and a quick release rear sight.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Pro/Carbine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
JoeliusCeasar Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Dye Matrix '03
Angel Speed '04
Tippmann 68
Spyder Rodeo
Level 7 AutoMag
2000 Side feed wgp autococker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion modified to feed from bottom of the gun. (-:
Qloader
CP Reg
Qev
Empire barrel kit
Hand customized single finger trigger with single trigger guard
Apex Barrel (haven't used it yet)
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA tank is essential a 48/3000 is great.
A 16" barrel I have a 13" and it's not quite accurate enough.
Either a hopper with a track for the paint balls to collect in or a revlution.
Strengths: Extremely consistent velocity.
Good accuracy.
Good feel.
Ok on cleaning.
Weaknesses: Brand new price(only buy it used)
Plastic handle(but never broke on me)
Review: Well It was a pretty good gun for me from the start I bought it used for $100 with wood grips, a CAP Power feed with expansion chamber adapter, a huge 6 stage expansion chamber, and a co2 tank. That's pretty much the way I left it I modified the CAP feed neck so it slanted to the right (instead of coming back vertically). It worked quite well with co2 except the common problem of the balls wouldn't break when you hit someone from time to time. So I bought a hpa tank and had many more ball breaks (on target, and even fewer in my gun witch it never did break pain unless the barrel was dirty) and much better consistency in my velocity. One day I went to a course with it and had to crono my gun at 250 fps I shot a dozen shots and they went like this: 243, 244, 243, 242, 243, 243, 243, 244, 242, 243, 244, 244. Now that's awesome. I think this is close to if not better than any other purely mechanical gun out there. (I've never been good with autocockers though)
Conclusion: Maybe the best mechanical gun out there but, not as good as an Ion by any means. I think I will keep mine as my back up gun to my Ion. The price brings it down to a 9 but if it was $150 new I think it would be a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

apjohnny416 Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns
Many Guns
Marker Setup: -Cci Phantom Vertical stock Class
-3.5 Oz co2 tank
-Gauge Installed into Valve

-Tippman A-5
-Heavy Internal Mods
-18inch Operator Barrel
-Ops gear Shroud
-North star Red Dot
-Site Riser
-Tasco Three Point Stock
-14inch Progressive

-Sl-68ll
-120z Tank
-Cross man Red Dot
-Homemade 21 Round Tube
-Custom Paint Job
-Heavy Internal Work

-Piranha Gti
-App Expansion Chamber
-Some Internal mods

Tippmann Pro-Carbine
-operator ten inch
-Progressive
-Milled Grip
-Internal Mods
-Hittmann Buttstock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel. (any can be added, mill the grip)
Double trigger and a spring kit
Strengths: -Feel
-Not To Heavy
-Good on gas
Weaknesses: -Lack of upgrades
-Heavy Trigger
Review: This gun is a tank, you can abuse it and it will still offer you years of great service.

There are not too many actual upgrades out there besides a stock, and you really gotta keep the goofey iron site thing on it to keep the cocking rods, as with anything there is ways to customize it by yourself, use your head.

The trigger pull is relatively heavy but that can be cured and made extremely lite.

The rifle feel is amazing, its really a one of a kind (the whole series)

You can add cyclones and response triggers by useing a drill and tap set, i wouldn't recommend it if you don't know what you are doing. but you can transform this gun

the stock barrel is slightly more accurate than the a-5, it is a little longer and the holes act as a compensator by building pressure inside the grip, this gives it a muffled and lighter sound, along with somewhat increase in accuracy, overall the accuracy seems to be better than most guns, but im not honestly sure if it is

Buy a new barrel, if it doesn't fit sand out the inside of the grip until it does

The gun is easy to maintenance as long as you don't have to take the bolt out of it.


Conclusion: This is a great tippmann gun i would recommend it to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

f4u4np Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Tippmann ProLite, Spyder MR-1, Smart Parts Ion, Dye DM-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine with 16 inch Armson Stealth rifled barrel. compressed air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Though the marker is quite accurate as it comes out of the box, a good aftermarket barrel still makes a world of difference
Strengths: Accuracy
Durability
Extremely reliable
Weaknesses: Hard and long trigger pull
Slow rate of fire
Review: I bought my Tippmann Pro/Carbine after I had been playing for around a year, and I must say that it is a worthwhile step up from the 98 customs that most fields rent out.

Accuracy
Out of the box, this gun has a pretty good shot grouping at 50 feet, but I would highly recommend an aftermarket barrel. I have a 16 inch Armson Stealth rifled barrel and I can consistently pick off coke cans at 100 feet. 10 out of 10

Trigger/rate of fire
What the gun has in accuracy, it loses in rate of fire. The gun can fire a maximum of 7bps, which is admittedly quite slow. Another problem is trigger pull. I have heard that there are modifications that can be done to the trigger spring to alleviate the problem, but honestly I just got used to it. I have to give the gun a 5 out of 10 for this section, just because at least it isn't a pump, but it still slow compared to 12 bps you can get out of a stock 98 custom.

Durability/Reliability
This thing is pretty much the AK-47 of the paintball world. As long as you don't cut it in half, it will still work great. In the four years that I have had it, It has only malfunctioned once, and that's because I was an idiot and reassembled it wrong after cleaning and oiling it. Even that setback only took 5 minutes to fix. I have NEVER chopped a ball or even had the gun double load. I have played in some pretty rough terrain and conditions (on sand dunes, in the rain, I accidentally submerged the front end of the gun in mud once, etc...) and it has never skipped a beat. 10 out of 10

Conclusion: As the gun comes stock, it is a very good gun for a beginner, and with a new barrel and a compressed air tank, it becomes an extremely formidable weapon in the hands of an experienced player. While it does fire rather slowly, I find myself expending far less paint and hitting my target far more often. I play both woods ball and speed ball with this gun, and as long as you take the time to aim properly, it doesn't matter that you can only fire 7bps.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s-dawg Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro-lite as a rental player. I was hooked on paintball and soon after got my pro/carbine (largely due to the praise it received here at pbreview).
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine
- After-market polished hammer
- Maddmann spring kit
- SL68-II trigger spring
- AirTipps rear velocity adjuster
- Low-profile velocity screw modification
- Polished, silenced internals
- Combat feed modification
- Vented elbow modification
- Lapco Bigshot 12" barrel
- APP double trigger with homemade trigger guard
- DYE Sticky Grips
- Tippmann vertical adapter
- Palmers-Pursuit Stabilizer (male)
- 1200 PSI gauge (on the vertical adapter behind the stabilizer)
- Smart Parts drop-forward
- Aftermarket ASA
- 12 oz PMI CO2 bottle with neoprene cover and butt plate
- Virus 120 round hopper with neoprene cover
- Stainless-steel screws from Bolt Depot
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either polish the barrel or get an aftermarket barrel. A-5 barrels generally fit the P/C
Rear velocity adjuster

Strengths: Reliability
Easy/inexpensive to maintain
Great for "do it yourself" paintball hobbyists
no chops
Weaknesses: Design of trigger/sear are simple, unrefined
Biggest problem can be inconsistent FPS on CO2
Review: My pro/carbine now seems like an antique compared to the electro-markers that rec-ballers show up with today. I started balling again after almost 3 years and I got a lot of comments about my pro/carbine, mainly of the "what the heck is that" variety. Compared to the $199 electros you see on the field today, this marker is becoming the equivalent of a Civil War musket.

On the other hand, it appears that the milsim markers being produced enmasse today are direct descendants of the pro/carbine. A lot of custom milsim markers are being built today that use the pro/carbine as their base. The rifle-like appearance of the marker will be appealing to woods-ballers. The fore-grip is obviously a holdover from the pump days of paintball, and many pro/carbine owners cut off the foregrip (the so-called "combat feed" mod) in favor of a vertical ASA.

Other than barrels and a vertical adapter, there are not very many "drop-in" upgrades for this marker. However, the pro/carbine's simple design means there's actually a lot that you can do to improve this marker, all of which will be "do it yourself" projects in the garage. I've had a lot of fun working on my pro/carbine, and I've learned a lot about how markers work generally.

Another comment that my pro/carbine receives frequently at fields is that it is accurate... I have no point of comparison. At ranges of about 50-60 ft, it's relatively easy for me to hit a small (loader-sized) target, and I have been able to get eliminations snap-shooting at that range.

I credit any accuracy to the combination of the Palmer Stabilizer and Lapco Bigshot 12" barrel. The inside of the stock barrel looks awful by comparison to any aftermarket barrel. I have tried other barrels, including a TASO Eliminator 10", a CMI Tru-flight 16", and a Bigshot 8.5". For the price, the Lapco Bigshot 12" seems to give the best results for this marker and is now widely available for the A-5 (same threads)

The internals of the pro/carbine are worth noting. I believe the CVX valve is still in use today, which speaks to its quality. However, the weakest aspect of the pro/carbine is the trigger/sear combination, which is unrefined compared to Tippmann's current line of markers. The stock trigger spring is heavy and the sear spring is very noisy (loud pinging sound that echos in the tank). The side-to-side trigger play is pronounced and the trigger pull is very long. All of these issues can be reduced through DIY modifications.

However, even with polished internals, lightened springs, and reduced trigger pull/play, it is difficult (if not impossible) to get the pro/carbine past a 7bps cycle rate. If you look on the web, you'll find people who have adapted e-grips for pro/carbines that cycle at 20bps.

Over the years, the most frustrating, recurrent problem as been FPS consistency. The stock velocity adjuster is imprecise, choking off airflow. An expansion chamber did not seem to improve performance noticeably. I haven't broken in my palmers stabilizer yet, so I don't know how much is will help FPS consistency when combined with anti-siphoned CO2 performance. Another alternative is HPA, which the P/C can run without modification.

I've had paint break in the barrel (I was using a CMU Tru-flight, and I believe that the paint was too large for the barrel). But, it should be nearly impossible to chop paint with this marker due to the low cycle rate.
Conclusion: I think that it is now safe to say that the pro/carbine is a woods-ball/milsim marker. If you go to a tourney-style field with this marker, you're a believer in the "player, not the marker" attitude. I have done everything I can to make my pro/carbine at home on today's small fields, and I think it will serve me as a rec-ball marker for as long as I am playing.

By today's standards, this marker is better than average for similarly priced products.

If you're a devoted pro/carbine owner looking for upgrade ideas, these sites are great resources:

Pro/Carbine Owner's Group
Matt's Pro/Carbine Page
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 4th, 2007 at 2:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

broadsword Thursday, October 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ response trigger, 18 inch interceptor barrel, remote, CO2

Tippmann Pro-Carbine with JCS folding stock, JCS Bipod and 16 inch J&J Ceramic barrel, remote, CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and Stock
Strengths: Quiet, light, duriable
Weaknesses: Not many upgrades
Review: I have taken this marker through many of battles. This is a great gun for woodsball, it doesn't shoot fast enough for speedball, even though I have won speedball games with this marker. For a beginner this is a good marker because it's reliable. Even though i have upgraded to A-5 i still miss using my Pro-Carbine. Some times I put my 18incher on it strap it to my back and use it as a sniper rifle and put the J&J on my A-5 and use it for assualt.
Conclusion: This is a good woodsball marker, and is very reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scenario_player Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Uhh... I Shot a 98 a few times... and used an older pirahna...
Marker Setup: I rent, untill I get a ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, But with pmi premiums I Didn't see a need... I think it's a-5 threaded.

A motorized hopper, I suggest one with a magnetic lid so it won't pop open.
Strengths: Read review body
Weaknesses: Read review body
Review: This is the rental for promised land paintball. I prefer woodsball, so I might be biased in this review, sorry. I'm also relatively new (It says I've played for a few years, but I've really only played four times.) Oh yeah, I also do my fair share on paintball sites...


Strengths -

1. Long - I like it, some people may not...
2. Simple - I like it, you may not...
3. Barrel - I thought the stock barrel was almost perfect with pmi premiums, but hey, you may not...
4. Limited Upgradeability - This means less to spend money on...
5. Rifle like - I like it this way...
6. Tough - I fell, and nothing bad happened... but then again, it wasn't a nasty fall...


Weaknesses -

1. Long - THIS TRANslates to problems on the speedball field...
2. Simple - Not good for you more mechanically inclined people...
3. Barrel - Might not be good for you.
4. Limited Upgradeability - Not milsim...?
5. Rifle like - Some people may like foregrips, some may not...
6. Tough - Some people might like to fix/tinker with things?


Yeah, I know the pros and cons are the same things... they can be taken on both sides of view.

Well anyways, THANKS for reading my review.
Conclusion: Great for begginers.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 22nd, 2006 at 1:44 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

glockulator Wednesday, October 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none...there's not much else like it on the market anymore
Marker Setup: Trilogy with eggy2 & co2 with anti-siphon tubes(quite consistent)
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
save your money for more paint.
Strengths: Reliable, simple & tough
Weaknesses: Slow, tank-heavy, dumb name
Review: What can you say about the legendary marker that is the standard of rentals on every commercial field in America? If you've played paintball for any length of time, odds are you have used or at least handled a Tippmann ProCarb once.

If you like to play a cheap game or woodsball occassionally, there's no reason not to own one of these markers. Get a cheap hopper, a tank and a good mask and you'll always be ready for a game on short notice.

They can be purchased cheap (ebay or local stores). They require the same basic maintenance as other markers (barrel & bolt) but are far more durable than anything else in the field. And they'll shoot just about any kinda paint you put in them - in fact, I have been known to pickup paint off the ground and re-use it in mine. Works for me, but ymmv.
Conclusion: What are you doing reading this review? Go get one now and start having fun!
Just remember, play safe!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 at 2:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Steelmesh Thursday, October 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro-lite
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro E-grip running CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Built like a brick sh*thouse. Low maintnance.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: You just really upgrade the barrel and hopper. They may still sell atleast a double finger trigger for it.

Check out: <a href="http://www.paintballtipps.com">Your Pro-lite Resource</a>

Now I cannot post this with out having atleast 50 words. The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog. That last sentence (that makes sense) has atleast ever word in the alphabet in it.
Conclusion: If its your first gun, then get this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the1keyplayer Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom-better
Marker Setup: 89 Custom
Dye Xcel
20 oz co2
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt
Barrel if you can
Strengths: Price
Reliable/sturdy
Weaknesses: Very basic
Review: Use it as a rental gun at Hogback Mountain Paintball. Good basic no frills gun. Low bps, and the occasional chop. Accuracy was the biggest problem and the barrel doenst perform well after a chop. Basic internals translates into less matienence problems and problems. Very durable with a lot of metal parts. Sights can be hard to set up/use but that is really a personal perference.
Conclusion: I would go with the 89 custom over the pro carbine. Durable and easy to maintain. Well/slightly above average. Could use some upgrades
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballer1815 Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom,pmi gti 04
Marker Setup: ion black
freak barrel kit
low Q lock
psych ballistics drop forward
halo b w/rip
crossfire 68/4500 low pressure

bob long lasoya 05
XSV on/off
stock barrel
halo b w/rip
same tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel that's the only thing they have for it
Strengths: Light,sweet looking,accurate as hell
Weaknesses: The trigger pull. its like 5lbs well now its like 1lb.
Review: Well i have used this gun more then any other gun i own. everyone who knows me is scared of it when i use it. i have been reading a few reviews about this gun and a lot say how its not easily to be tuck in well iam a big guy and i can to it. all of my friends have pick it up and shouldered it and told how i can to it be so small with such a big gun. cause on my field iam just tuck in as people with shockers. my favorite memory with this gun is when i shot a person in the snake and he was using a bob long and He got so piss at me that the next game he bunkered me at shot me like 30 times cause my teammates didn't tell me where he was at. and a good barrel for it a J & J Ceramic A-5 Barrel - 16 Inch. why an a-5 is cause the threads are the same and why 16" its almost as accurate as an autococker.
Conclusion: Buy it for a beigging gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media