paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Pro/Carbine
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 449
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann has taken two of its most popular guns, the Pro-Lite and the 68-Carbine, and combined them into one. The Pro/Carbine features the CVX valve to allow for a change in the weather without changing the gun's performance. It uses a stainless steel braided gas line which will allow for the use of both compressed air and Co2. Also features a 10.5" micro-honed ported barrel and a quick release rear sight.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Pro/Carbine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (45):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
JD-Fuel Tuesday, February 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics Lightning:
32 Degrees Duckbill
Bob Long Torpedo
PMI 48ci Nitro Tank
Empire II reloader
Macroline
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Scope for fun
Macroline
Stock (YES there out!)
Strengths: Very durable
Shoots fairly far stock
Nice scenario gun
Weaknesses: Kinda long
Lack of upgrades
Review: Allright Id have to say this is the most durable gun on the market! If you break this your a danger to yourself! Allthough its a good gun stock I recommend a new barrel for a better shot. New upgrades are starting to come on the market like stocks and double triggers! If you are willing to turn this into a speedball gun it is completely possible! I used one stock in a 3 man tourney and it didnt do half bad! Very accurate and pretty light. Fits nicely in both hands and is comfortable from most positions of firing.
Conclusion: If your willing to search for ups there out there now. Very good gun more durable than 98 and A5. Accurate and light and shoots well from any position. This is a gun to shoot with pride!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rug_doctors Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Also used a rental Tippmann 98 custom. Eh. I dont like that front grip.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine
200 rnd cheapo-depo hopper
14 inch Nytestick Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you dont have a shoulderstrap, GET ONE. But all you really need is a barrel. Ive also read an expansion chamber would be helpful. Nothing much to upgrade on this thing anyways.
Strengths: Handy shoulderstrap.
Very balanced with 12oz
Accurate up to med ranges w/ new barrel.
Weaknesses: Low rate of Fire.
Weight can sometimes hinder movement.
Easy to lose the Velocity gauge.
Review: The Tippmann Pro/Carbine has its definite strengths and definite weaknesses. While not well suited for the fast pace of speedball, or the intensity of tournament play, The Pro/Carb easily handles the needs of paintball's woodsball weekend warriors, with its rock hard reputation, construction, and reliable performance.

Now that I got the formal introduction crap out of the way, (thank you High School English), I can get into the personal experience I have had with the Pro/Carbine (Scored off e-bay! w00t!)

Accuracy-
-While far from the most accurate gun you can buy, the Pro/Carb can be deadly precise at medium and short ranges. From 50 feet, I can, without a problem, shoot through a 20x20 window on a tower. (This means the gun is shooting upward too). With the correct velocity, the stock barrel can be tuned to an accurate 5 shot grouping from 30 feet, and with my upgraded barrel, the accuracy is obviously greater. Beyond 70 feet, don't even try. Well do, but I doubt you'll hit anything. 14'' is the way to go by the way, as 16''+ breaks a load of balls and take forever to clean.

Reliability and Build-
-This thing can take a beating. Literally. You can fall on it, drag it through the dirt and mud going prone, wham it up against bunkers, use it to throw out and retrieve a shoe that got stuck in the mud, (While being shot at. Not fun!) Hell, I'd bet I could bash down trees and construct a fortified position with the thing! As well as dig a trench around the outside, kill wild animals for food, and use it as a club to fend off attacks after you've run out of ammo!
Seriously though, the Pro/Carbine (or any Tipmann) is the kind of marker you want when you're playing woodsball.

Maneuverability-
-The thing is heavy, don't get me wrong. By the end of the day you'll feel like you've been carrying a dead guy that shoots paintballs.
But that's where the handy shoulder strap comes in... uh... handy!! So if you complain about how heavy it is, stop being a n00b and suck it up, or go out and get the strap!

EVERYTHING ELSE-
-Be warned, the velocity gauge falls out the bottom very easily if it is unscrewed too much. My friend had it happen to him and he couldn't even put a new one in!
Alas, the same thing happened to me! But luckily I still had the screw and figured out how to rotate the whole bolt so it screwed back in the bottom. If this has happened to you, the trick is to stick a screwdriver down the front, so you can turn the thing inside the bolt freely. Then, just watch the hole at the bottom and turn until it lines up to where you want it! easy fix but easy to lose!

Oh yeah, bla bla bla, rate of fire. Who needs to shoot more than 2 balls per second in wodsball, honestly! Its a waste!

And bla bla bla heavy trigger pull! Stop being four year olds and get stronger trigger fingers! Damn I mean its only a 7 pound pull! (Feels like less so I don't believe it!)

This review has gone nowhere and came out crappier than I expected. (Thanks High School English.)
Conclusion: BUY IT if you play every-so-often. GREAT for woodsball but not fun for speedball. (And not great for little idjots who complain about things being heavy!) In its price range, (under $200) this thing deserves a 10. But hey, theres always something better, so It gets a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DoobieMaster Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Stock Pro/Carb
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just get rid of the Pro/Carb
Strengths: Strengths?
Weaknesses: Chops...Crooked shots...kept on falling apart...got it repaired twice...still got broken...
Review: Okay, I went up to the woods to play some paintball, well, i got my *ss kicked by my lil brother...who did the right thing and got a 98 custom. The Frigin balls kept on chopping and waht not. They were very crooked. I even adjusted the velocity a tiny bit. While I was playing, i fell into a b*d*ss little area of...quik...mud...or somthing like that. Anyway, i got mud all in my marker, So, naturally, i had to strip it and clean it. But when I put it together, it leaked, maybe it was my fault, but i still dont like this gun. I got the d*mn thing fixed about 2or3 times. So, as you can plainly see, i dont like this marker a whole lot. (However, when it worked, it worked pretty good.)
Conclusion: Not a good gun...In my own...opinion.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DHutt56 Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a Spyder TL (suck) Diablo Mongoose (its almost as good)
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose w/t ricochet ak and a ring double trigger (rare) and
Pro/Carb w/t 16 in. Tippman Sniper Barrel and a custom trigger job...
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel maybe a clip off the trigger spring to make the pull a little lighter...
Strengths: Hatd Hitting and Awesome Durability
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Review: Nice gun for anybody a starter, a amature, or a pro like me! i would highly reccomend this gun. If ur just starting leav it stock if ur a amature get a barrel if ur awesome get a trigger job a barrel and a awesome new trigger.





PRO/CARB ALL THE WAY
Conclusion: If you get this gun u will porbably be proud of it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Romanow Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Sonix (mine) - Stock - Not as accurate or comfortable (for me), but otherwise a solid performer.
Piranha R6 (rental) - horrendously innaccurate (but then, it was a rental)
PMI GTI (rental) - worked well as a rental, I imagine better as a personal gun
Piranha E-Force GTI - certainly fast-firing, but nothing special in any other way (much less accurate and reliable than the much cheaper Spyder)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine w/ 200 rd hopper (stock is 140(!), 12 oz CO2 w/ buttplate, 14" J&J Pro1 Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Larger hopper if you care (I got my gun on Ebay and it came with a 200 rd), better barrel, buttplate for CO2 tank if you're planning on shouldering it
Strengths: -Reliability
-Durability
-Feel, weight
-Accuracy, clear view down sights
Weaknesses: -Heavy (for the weak)
-Possibly awkward due to length
-Somewhat slow-firing
Review: When I decided that I was outgrowing my old Spyder, my choice of a Tippmann was based on the more realistic look and feel of any of the brand's guns, as well as their having a reputation for reliability bordering on the absurd. Since one of my best friends, who I usually play on the same team as, owned a Tippmann 98, i elected to get something different. Not wishing to spend the money for an A-5 and not really very attracted to the Flatline Barrel System, the Pro/Carbine, with its realistic look and outstanding reputation for relaibility and accuracy, seemed the perfect choice.

I aquired one on Ebay for $86 (the alleged MSRP, which no one actually charges, is $190), along with a 14" J&J Pro1 barrel for $20. To my chagrin, the barrel didn't fit nicely into the front handle piece, but by unscrewing the front of the handle I was able to fit it in. For some wierd reason, the barrel porting on the stock barrel actually winds up inside of the handle (!) so I shudder to think of what would happen it a ball broke in the barrel. Not that that's an issue, since in probably 6,000 shots I've never had a ball break. This may not be true for everyone, since I generally fire at a continuous but slow rate of 1-2 bps.

As for performance, it has been exemplary. Accuracy is incredible, easily competing with my friends' $600+ guns. One feature which is sorely lacking on most every non-Tippmann gun is a clear view down the sights, which this affords. Since you will probably be firing this gun in the manner of a rifle, I recommend a buttplate for the CO2 tank. The improved comfort is worth five dollars. I've never used this gun for speedball, but I imagine a somewhat low rate of fire (stemming from a stiff trigger pull, which I prefer for its realism) would not serve the user too well. That said, the gun has all the speed and and more than enough of the accuracy to make it a veritable king of woodsball
Conclusion: Deserving of a 8.5-9/10 with its stock barrel, a twenty dollar investment in a 14" barrel improves the rating to an easy 9.5/10. Don't get a barrel longer than that, it does nothing for range or accuracy, only increases CO2 usage. The only reason 16+" barrels are made is because people are willing to pay even more for them.

Overall, an incredibly solid marker, perfectly reliable, incredibly durable, and highly accurate. I certainly recommend it, and suggest looking on ebay, where the somewhat low popularity of the model keeps the price from going up very high.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 10th, 2005 at 9:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maybachgt Monday, January 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e-99, view loader mechanical gun, a-5 98 custom
Marker Setup: Black Dye DM5 drop forward halo b hopper low pressure crossfire 68 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing tank
Strengths: Reliability strength durability
Weaknesses: Nothing because you get what you pay for
Review: I am going to start out by saying that this gun cannot be compared to my DM5 because of the price. This gun is probably the second best gun for under 220, tippman 98 is better. If you are looking for the perfect gun to rent out on a field this is it. This gun WILL NOT BREAK. You can drop it and it will still work. The only thing is this gun cannot be upgraded to my knowledge like the 98... so I don't recomend buying it if you are going to plan on upgrading it. This is a great gun for the money. I started out paintballing witht these guns.
Conclusion: This iks great gun for the money because it wont break.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moo moo face Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
98
A5
My drallion
Other draguns
Marker Setup: Drallion
New back block
Evil detonator reg
System x beavertail
J and j edge barrel
Endo drop/ cradle thing
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger(ive only seen them from lapco)
Barrel
Whatever else you feel like puttin on it
Strengths: Reliable
Fairly accurate
Very light for its size
Weaknesses: Looks funny
I had to cut the spring to lower velocity to under 300
Review: This gun is pretty good. its really not a tourney gun so its not that good but for just playin around its ok. Well actully i did use it in a tourney and came in second. It was kindof a spedball feild. If you dont belive me go to this site and look at the 3 man torney pics

www.groups.yahoo.com/columbusgapaintball

The stock barrel isnt as bad as they say. its better than the stock a5 barrel (although thats not really saying a whole lot). Its not a speed demon but it is easily fast enogh for the begginer. I had an egg 2 with z board on mine lol. No i seriosly did but it was for may drallion i just put it on there. That gun was rippin it up at nine bps. O yea you heard right the increadible speed of 9 bps lol!!!!!

I like the j and j ceramic barrel for this gun it is very good.
Conclusion: Get it if your just startin out. it is a good gun just not extremely fast.
I like it alot but my drallion is just better suited for speedball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

captaingamez Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sport, pmi piranha, viper m1 military
Marker Setup: marker 1 pro/carbine 20mm left/right mountrails on front grip, flashlight on right mount rail. pointer sight on dovetail.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Reliable, breaks few balls, very accurate, uses little co2
Weaknesses: Dificult to disassemble, cleaning a broken ball is a bit hard
Review: I bought this gun for 100 bucks and couldnt be any happier with it it is almost as good as my viper and is kicks serious ass although the trigger is a little hard to pull it is a great gun i would reccomend it to any one who wants a high grade marker for a semi low price.
Conclusion: This is a great gun and it is good for field or recreation use anyone who gets this gun can with proper training destroy their enemy.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Benno125 Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
well.. a new barrel would do but not too needed
Strengths:
Pretty accurate
Good range
Good for those who sit in the back
Weaknesses: Can't shoot fast at all

Loud
Not really good for up close combat
Review: Well, overall this gun is pretty neat. I probably wouldn't recommend it to someone who has been playing very long but this is my second gun ever owned. It was pretty good but I think I should of kept my shutter and just saved my money for later usage.
Conclusion: If your just starting paintball i would probaly recommend this gun to you but if you have some other cheap gun and just think you want something a LITTLE better just keep it. this gun really isnt that great but for the price and accuracy i liked it a bit.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

greendayrocker Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only think I ever had other wise was a black Maxx from pmi
Marker Setup: Pro Carbine, 14 inch JJ Ceramic barrel, Lightened trigger pull, standard everything else.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. JJ Ceramic barrel- The gun can't be heard whatsoever besides the spring and bolt!
2.Trigger, helps tons to hold the gun steady and get accurate shots.
Strengths: Accuracy, woodsball playing, sniping, very well rounded.
Weaknesses: Hard to move well in speedball. Speed of shooting. Trigger pull. All can be fixed.
Review: I bought the gun in april, played about 50 games with it this summer. Trigger was hard at first then I got it fixed. Even with the stock barrel in this gun I could nail somebody in the head from more than 150 ft. For example I was behind a piece of plywood. The other team was clustered so far away that I could only see silouettes. I held the gun steady and took a shot. It went straight between several trees and then I heard a "HOLY S**T!" I think i took out about 50 people this summer, not counting speedball games which are like 15 out of the 50. I did some awesome ambushes and took out tons of people. The gun was the only reason I did because of its outstanding accuracy and quiet shooting. This gun did consume quite a bit of gas but it was well worth it! So if you and your buddies go out on the weekends in some random woods to play this is the gun for you. It is way better than the standard 98.

*Do not buy this gun if you are an amatur speedball player it is not manueverable and does not shoot fast enough for that type of paintball*
Conclusion: Buy it, it is an awesome gun because it is perfect for the woods.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (45):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media