paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Darts Paintballs / Proto Darts Paintballs / Proto Darts Paintballs

Proto Darts Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Darts Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Darts Paintballs
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Professional grade paintballs.
Product Availability 
The Proto Darts Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
BIGBILL105 45 Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
havent had any paint compare
Marker Setup: 05 vision shocker
halo b w/ rip and 9 volt mod
68/4500 compressed air tank
Recommended
Barrels:
large bore
Strengths: Large bore, strong, broke on target, and thick fill.
Weaknesses: Expensive.
Review: I started using this paint about 5 months ago. It has been by far the best paint i have ever used. It is quite expensize where i used to place at, (60 a case) but it was worth it. This paint flew straight and i never got barrel breaks or chops. It is by far the best paint i have ever used. You defitinaly get what you pay for with this paint. You cant go wrong with shooting proto. Just make sure you have a large barrel/ barrel back.
Conclusion: Best paint i have ever shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lucifer92384 Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus inferno: About the same
Marbelizers: Been a while since I've used marbs so I cant say
All stars: The best paintballs I have used so far
PMI premium: Not bad but you can get proto for cheaper
JT maxim: Nice paint but it seems like they only make the maxim 2's now
lots of other paint
Marker Setup: E2 Disrupter pro-cut cocker
Powerlyte Scepter barrel kit
CP reg
Halo B
Nexus LPR
Nexus Ram
Nexus Valve
Nexus Rex dialer kit
Nexus DART bolt
PMI pure energy 68/4500
CP feed neck
Recommended
Barrels:
I used the .688 insert on my barrel kit

Strengths: Thick fill
Bright fill
Brittle shell with no barrel or gun breaks
consistant
Weaknesses: Not as consistant as all stars and slightly more visible seam
Review: The paint is pretty consistent. The shell is a nice sparkly orange and the fill is nice and thick and is very visible. I shot only half a case this weekend due to the fact that at CPP the turn around for games was ridiculously slow and we left earlier than usual. The shell is brittle enough not to worry about bounces but if you have a gun that isnt too hard on paint you wont have to worry about getting any breach breaks as well. I had a good day with this paint and didnt get any random fliers. The paint was very accurate and I was pleased with the results. The paint is also easy to see from a distance when you are trying to go for distance shots.
Conclusion: I enjoyed using this paint. I would definitely buy them again. I got them for 41 dollars at hollywood paintball on sunset in los angeles if anyone lives near there. I suggest if anyone lives near that area that they go there on a friday because they have a weekly paint deal where they discount a specific brand of paint by about 20 percent. In conclusion this was a very good paint for a very good price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 19th, 2006 at 11:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

some person Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
rps premium
Marker Setup: spyder imagine (green) with smart parts progressive 14 inch barrel
and smart parts ion stock
Recommended
Barrels:
the smart parts progressive, or anything good quality that matches the paint size
Strengths: Bright paint
Looks cool
Pretty accurate
Always breaks
Weaknesses: Not really anything
Review: Ive shot this paint thru my imagine and my ion. In the imagine, it shot very well, but it wasnt quite as accurate as the marballizers I shot. But then, thats comparing them with the best paintballs ever. The paint was really bright. on my field, I was the only one who was using it, and it stood out so much more than my friends paint on the bunkers. When I shot it thru my ion, it wasnt as accurate as with my imagine, but that was because I havent upgraded from the stock barrel yet.
Conclusion: Get this paint, its awesome, and pretty cheap (45 bux) and works just about as well as 60 dollar paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kgbbonecrusher Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI: prems, marbs, evil (mid and regular), allstar, big ball
Hellfire, blaze, chronic.. thats it I think
Marker Setup: 04 Pred' speed
Evolve kit
CP reg
CP 1 and 2 piece, ultralight, freak
CP feedneck
check it on/off
DM5 frame with CP trigger
Halo B, Crossfire penut
Recommended
Barrels:
I used my 692 ultralight, but read my review
Strengths: Cheap
Bright fill
Bright shell
Rather fragile shell
Weaknesses: Dimples (read review)
Fill (read review)
Review: I bought two cases off of pbgear.com. I'm pretty sure they had been holding these cases for a while, which would account for the dimples and odd shapes. However, once I found the right barrel for it, they shot rather well. I think if you could get fresher proto paint, it would shoot very very well.

The fill is the only real downside I can see to this paint. The color is fantastic, but it is kind of thin. It's relatively hard to wipe, but I would like to see a thicker fill. It's really no reason to be turned away from this paint, it's just not as thick as say evil or premium.
Conclusion: A fantastic rec paint, and even a good relaxed tourney paint. I had very few bounces off of the people I was shooting at, and only one barrel break.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Monday, May 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DraXXus White Box - Similar
Scorch- Not as good
GAP- Not as good
RPS All-Star - Better
Rampage - Not as good
Heavy Metal - Not as good
ZAP Rec Grade - Horrible
ZAP Sport - Not as good
PMI Premium - Not as good
Marballizer - Better
JT Tactical - Better
Severe Hurricane - Similar
Severe Tempest - Better
Severe Atmosphere - Not as good
XBall Bronze - Better
XBall Silver - Better
Wild Streaks - Not as good
Midnight - Not as good
Marker Setup: Marker 1:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Designs APEX
Expansion Chamber
Adco IMP
Response Trigger
Shocktech Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
12 Volt Revy

Marker 2:
JT Acclerator W/E-Grip 3.5
14in. Smartparts Progressive
12 Volt Revy
48c.i. Pure Energy Nitro

Marker 3:
Black Smartparts Ion
Pure Energy 48 C.I. Tank
New Designs Saw Trigger
12 Volt Revy
Recommended
Barrels:
Apex
Strengths: Thick Shell
Curved well in Apex
Bright Fill
Weaknesses: Seams
Some chopping
Hard
Review: This paint wasn't half bad. I was hoping for a little better overall, but they preformed alright.

+Curves well in Apex
These curved through the Apex quite well. Some paint does better than others in this barrel, but this one worked very well.

+Bright Fill
These had a vivid orange fill. Easy to see through the woods and against all different colors of gear.

+/-Thick Shell
This paint has a thick shell. It would make a good winter paint. I was expecting a bit thinner shell from a paint like this however, and as such got some poor performance.

-Seams
These had visible seams you could fell by just running your fingers over them.

-Some chopping
I didn't have any of these chop in my marker or barrel, but they would break as soon as they'd come out of my barrel. I had this happen about 10-15 times in a day.

-Hard
These were very hard. I mean, I had paint bounce break hitting the ground after being shot at the chrono, and had bounces on all settings of the Apex(Including dive bomb). In addition my brother caught a couple bounces from me, and one time had one of my shots bounce off the ground, fly up hit him, and then break! Furthermore I did a drop test and these didn't break after multiple drops from over 6 feet while other brands did.

UPDATE: A local team was using these at their practice and had horrible results. One player was bunkered at 2 feet and all 6 balls didn't break. Additionally another player caught a bounce off a mask. I even stepped on some and they didn't break!



Conclusion: I was expecting a little better out of these paintballs. They were too hard for effective use in any weather other than the winter. Use them then and get good performance, but other then that beware.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 2nd, 2006 at 2:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballr677 Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle paintballs (horrible)
Marker Setup: Trilogy pro (stock)
revolution 12volt with x board
pure energy 48ci 3000psi air tank
Dye rhino thak cover
Recommended
Barrels:
any barrels
Strengths: Brittle
Break on impact
bright fill
price
Weaknesses: None
Review: These paintballs are great. i have been using crappy paint from wal mart (brass eagle stuff) there is no comparison between the two. These paintballs are not very expensive either ($42) and they can compete with the expensive $60 dollar paint. They have a very bright fill. it is like a neon orange and you can see it a mile away. They are perfectly round and fly very straight. they almost never break in your gun even in cheap guns. these are the best paintballs out there.
Conclusion: Buy these paintballs, you'll love them!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ditto Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used:
-Domination
-All Star
-Evil
-Maxim paintballs
-Marballizer
-ZAP
-Perfection
-and others
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion with red body kit, custom barrel, pure energy nitro 48ci/3000psi, viewloader evolution II with Z board, T-lock feedneck
Recommended
Barrels:
Works fine with stock barrells, and works GREAT with J&J, ultralite and other barrels
Strengths: -Bright color
-Fill
-No bounces
-doesnt break on barrel
-Price
-Round
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: These paintballs are really cheap for their quality, like 50 bucks the case. I must say these paintballs are the best ones I have ever used. They are perfectly round, they NEVER bounce, they don't break on your gun, they have a very bright color, that can be seen from dozens of feet, the fill isn't that easy to clean without water (something I love because it stops cheaters that wipe). They don't stain. Maybe their only weakness is the lack of colors, but hey, who cares!
Conclusion: Get them, they are the best paintballs I have ever used. They have an unmatchable quality!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soiled Drawers Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
rps marballizer
diablo heat
diablo midnight
Marker Setup: System x nme
68/4500 crossfire hpa
viewloader vlocity
dye ultralite 14 inch
Recommended
Barrels:
dye ultralite 14 inch
Strengths: Bust on your opponent's face, not prematurely in your barrel shaft.
Weaknesses: None
Review: A high grade, good fill, brittle shell paint. it is round, and the size is consistent, ulike some other lopsided, lumpy, inconsistent balls. the fill is thick, bright, and hard to wipe.
the name says it all, you can shoot darts. i have been playing for three years, and no other balls compare.
Conclusion: Not to sound weird, but i really enjoy these balls
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB Professor Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marballizers
Game Face Scorch
PMI Premium
WPN Atomic
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Lapco Bigshot 12"
Recommended
Barrels:
Lapco Bigshot
Any decent .689 cal barrels
Strengths: Accurate
Bright
Somewhat Inexpensive
Tournament Grade
No Chop
Many Breaks
Weaknesses: None
Review: Proto is known for its impressive line of markers, apparel, masks, and other marker accessories. Being a division of Dye, you know that it is a great company. But only recently, Proto has come out with a paintball model. Proto paint is the only type of paint that Proto has, at the moment. It doesn't need any other models of paint, for this paint is very decent.

The "Darts" have many qualities matching other tournament paint, making them a great choice for all types of paintballers. Here are some of the many advantages of "Darts"


Accuracy-
"Darts" are very well made paintballs. They are not deformed. There are no defects. Because of these aspects, the "Darts" are very accurate in terms of the ball's trajectory. I have an A5 with a Lapco Bigshot, (See my review) and have received multiple recommendations for using "Darts" with the barrel. One of my teammates lent me some Proto as a pay back for me lending him RPS Marballizers. Whenever I shot, the "Darts" would go in the same place every time, because my barrel is 99.9% consistent. This resulted in multiple headshots in multiple games of speedball.

Brightness-
When one of your "Darts" hits someone and breaks, it leaves a bright orange mark on them. This mark is very easy for both you and the refs to see. It is a personalized kill mark that stands out very well.

Breakage-
Whenever my "Darts" hit someone, the ball would break. This quality is essential from long distances. Now, I was playing speedball, meaning always CQB, but the balls still broke everytime. Proto doesn't merely break though, it explodes, just like tournament paint should.

Chops-
Three words. No chops period.



Conclusion: The best paint out there for a very decent price. 2000 rounds for about $45 in my area of Southern California. Good Job Proto.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

turfteck Tuesday, January 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
evil, scortch, and everything inbetween
Marker Setup: 2005 ion, 16inch freak barell set, cp rolling trigger, cp drop forward, macroline, 47/3000, egg hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
freak
Strengths: Good fill, no dimples, very consistent
Weaknesses: None
Review: Awesome paint best I have ever used! I tried everything for my first year and a half of paintball then found proto paint and have used it for the last year. very accurate, at 25 yards, 10inch circle. Works very well with freak barrel system. I have since hooked my friends on to the paint.
Conclusion: Awesome ! must get!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media