paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Darts Paintballs / Proto Darts Paintballs / Proto Darts Paintballs

Proto Darts Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Darts Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Darts Paintballs
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Professional grade paintballs.
Product Availability 
The Proto Darts Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
midman112 Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Midevil, Xball gold silver and bronze, Marbs, Allstar, Dibalo 13 hellfire, Empire Fuel lots of others.
Marker Setup: 2005 vision shocker red
CP reg
CP rail
Halo B w/ rip drive victory board
68/4500 pure energy nitro
Dynasty Board just got it!
freak system all american

Black PM5
DMC feedneck
Function trigger
S rail
M5 board
CP on/off
STD LPR

06 Ego
Dust red CCU kit
V 2.0 Board
Recommended
Barrels:
I cant say i can recomend any since you break every other ball.
Strengths: Umm let me think........NONE!!!!!
Weaknesses: Mishappen, bad shell, breaks in barrel not on target
Review: Alright guys, i know im going to catch a lot of crap for this review but Proto paint has got to be the worst paint I have ever shot. I picked up an entire case for 20 bucks at my local pro shop because its so bad. I had been there the week before and the price of the paint was 44 bucks a case. It dropped 24 dollars in a week that should tell you something. Anyway i needed something to shoot so i bought it against what the pro shop owner advised me. I got home loaded up my shocker went out side and shot single shots for about 5 shots. Almost ball on ball accuracy. When i tried to shoot a string of paint OH MY GOD! Every other ball that came out of the barrel was broken or went straight down or curved to the left or right. I tried matching the paint with my backs on both my pepper stcikz and my friends freak kit. NOthinhg worked and you know why because paint to barrel match doesnt help when the ball isnt even close to being a circle. One ball was so mishaped it got stuck in my feedneck and caused my halo b not to feed! I advise anyone who wants to have a good day of play or just have some fun in the backyard I would rather shoot Wal Mart paint! That is how bad this paint is.
Conclusion: This paint is horrible the only thing i can commend it on is the bright fill and i think it deserves about a two for that.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 20th, 2007 at 1:53 pm PST
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerboy2411 Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used marbaliser,rampage,evil,zap....ive used pretty much everything
Marker Setup: I have a proto 2 black/red smoke clear empire reloader b hopper with a dye stubby
Recommended
Barrels:
i would recomend either the proto or ultra light, the evil is also good also the dark
Strengths: Nice quality paint
Weaknesses: If ur gun doesnt chop get rampage which is much cheaper and still shoot nicely
Review: This paint is good but a little to pricey. Proto is espectialy nice though becuase it stains temporaroly. When ever people try to wipe you can tell they did with proto because its so thick. This is noce paint but again a little pricey. If your gun doesnt chop easily go with rampage because it is cheap and not terible quality.
Conclusion: Nice paint but a little pricey. I would recomend this to any serious players out there who want to make sure the game is fare. You wont have a ball chop with this paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paparach Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every paintball under the sun
Marker Setup: Freak Factory impy, Freak barrel kit, 4500 psid tank, egg.....etc, etc.
Recommended
Barrels:
I use a freak kit, but it works with most small-medium bore barrels
Strengths: Thick fill, price tag, breaks on target (95% of the time)
Weaknesses: It just comes in Orange
Review: I have used just about every type of paintball there is, this is by far the best paintball for many reasons.

1> Always very round with almost no dimples
2> I use 3000 rounds every time i go, i have chopped 2 times after firing over 9,000 rounds.
3> When you hit some1 it almost always breaks.
4> Very thick, bright fill making it hard for people to wipe.
5> It is very easy for you to see your stream of paint cause the shell is bright orange.
6> the cheapest paint of 2000 rounds i have seen is $38.00 this costs only 7 dollars more and it is seriously as good as dynasty paint.
Conclusion: This is all i will use from now on. Great stuff at a good price!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

karni2 Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pmi super swirl- (fill not as thick, doesnt break as well, shoots pretty accuratly)
Marbalizer-(Nice fill but doesnt blow up on target like proto, doesn't break that well, shoots far)
Evil- (breaks ok, fill sucks, shoots far and accurate)
xball-(breaks ok, fill is decent, shoots very far and accurate)
Blaze-( Very good fill, shoots accuratley)
Anarchy-(Very thick fill, Accurate, Shoots far, cool colors)
Others I cant remember
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with 12 in. .691 stiffi barrel, GTA expansion chamber, collapsable stock, r-t, and i have a flatline barrel

2003 Black Shocker:
Max-flo 68/4500 system
soon to come 14 inch stiffi Switch
and a Reloader B
Recommended
Barrels:
Fits perfectly with the stock All-American
Strengths: Blows up on target
Perfect fill
Shoots accuratly
Seams are very smooth
Consistent size
Weaknesses: Doesnt seem to shoot very far
Review: Accuracy- very good at about 40 feet my A-5 can hit a trash can with about 3-4 inch grouping. Distance is reasonable Xball shoots alot farther, but that might be because there is less fill and is slightly smaller

Fill- Exellent it blows up on the target when you shoot and is very bright

Size- very consistent, all of them are round and the seams are very small and smooth

Dependibilty- They almost always break on target and are pretty good at shooting through bushes and branches

Price- I had to pay 48 dollars with a coupon at my local shop which kinda sucked because they are 60 dollars without it. But If you buy them online you can get it for like 40 dollars which is a really really good price for this quality paintball.
Conclusion: Exellent paintball will buy again sometime after I try out some more paint like all-stars and X.O paint which I heard were very good. Definetly tries these out for a day to really enjoy a good game of paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 at 7:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

samiam14 Monday, May 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not really similar but i have used: Hellfire, Blaze, Marbilizers, Whitebox, and Crucifire.
Marker Setup: Red/Black Fade DM4 (tape modded bolt), 68/4500 Pure Energy, 14" UL barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
Ultralite
Strengths: Bright Fill
Pretty Uniform Size
Weaknesses: Shell is not very uniform
Review: Well i have used four cases of this and i have had mixed results.

Case 1: I used this in practice and it shot very straight. The paint to barrel match was excellent. This shell was pretty good. it broke most of the time at a distance and always broke when i bunkered.

Case 2: Again for practice. Same thing as last time however the shell was a little thicker. it didnt break when ppl were shot from afar and it did break during all bunkerings.

Case 3: This case was the best of all three. Broke very easily, had very thick fill and very bright shell. Fabulous case of paint.

Case 4: OK. I used this case during a tourney and i was a little disapointed. It was not very consistant and often did not break when it hit. I attributed this to loose clothing, etc. However i realized that it was the paint when i tried to bunker several people and the paint bounced when it hit from less than 20 feet away. This howver was all during the prelims in the morning and during the afternoon and the semis and finals I noticed that the paint was noticibly better. This flaw may have been due to the morning conditions or i may have just had a bad 2 bad bags of paint
Conclusion: Overall the paint shot very nicely it did have a bright fill, but the shell as i stated, was not so great in some batches but better in some.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MATALLICAMAN Saturday, May 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
blaze,
inferno,
evil,
midevil,
x-ball bronze,
tork (this is good stuff)
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ultimate shocker,
evy 2

WGP prostock cocker
CP two piece barrel
Supafly bolt
70ci 45k crossfire tank
Recommended
Barrels:
Cp .689
Strengths: The thick fill
Weaknesses: Broke in all american barrel when using my shocker
Not consitant size
Thick shell
Review: The first thing you notice about these balls is that they do not have a consitant size. I began to hate this paint when I found a few balls that could be mistaken for enlarged orange raisens. When using this paint in my shocker I was very dissapointed. balls curved and broke frequently. But I only have one bore size so to fix this you could simply use a larger bore size. This paint shot straight and accurate out of my autocoker, on the other hand. The only main problems are the inconstant size and the few raisen balls found in the box.
Conclusion: Buy it if you have a large bore barrel
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DoomJockey Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Ultra, Marballizer, any other stuff.
Strengths: Bright thick fill, breaks very well
Weaknesses: When you throw it at a tree it bounces.
Review: First off, I bought these balls for a really good deal at the PSP Orlando Open. We got 4000 balls to mess around with in a little bit of rec ball in the area. When we first broke out the paint, I decided to go and throw it at trees and step on them and stuff like that, and for some odd reason IT WOULD NOT BREAK. I stepped on it, I bit it, I smacked, threw, site, fought, sat, everythinged it and it would not break. They just bounced everywhere. Now the strange part. I load it up into my eggy and start lobbing balls all over the place. Not a single one doesn't bust....? I didnt quite get it but I guess as long as it works in my marker than its ok. Fun to let your cats chase around.
Conclusion: Buy them I guess. I am not very experience but I like them, they fly pretty straight, dont chop, and nice pretty fill.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SWAT2291 Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Angel Force 14" Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
Any Barrel Kit or perfect bored barrel
Strengths: Bright, pretty thick fill
Small Seams
Well rounded
Weaknesses: Nothing Much
Review: I shot these in my friends cocker and his Phantom they were awesome with the thick fill I could see where I hit. They shot very well and they broke pretty easy and were pretty tough in some cases. The cocker pinched the ball and it didn't break. The lpr is set for like regular right now so that was cool.
Conclusion: I love these I would surly use these again
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lafever25 Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Draxxus Blaze, Inferno, Empire
Marker Setup: 02" Impulse
WAS Board
New Design FPR/ ANS
Shocktech Bolt/ pin
Upgraded brass and titanium internals
12V xboard revvy w/ pure energy 68" 3000psi tank
Freak Barrel system
Recommended
Barrels:
These balls fit perfect in .689 - .691 barrels. I recommend using correct bore size.
Strengths: Very good quality. Nice Bright Shell. Bright orange fill. Medium shell for a perfect break.
Weaknesses: NONE. $35- $45 Depending on where you buy them. Really not a bad price.
Review: ONE THING!! i did notice about these paintballs. They were very accurate but did not have range. 290fps and these balls were dropping after about 50 yards. Other Paintballs shoot much further with my gun close to 70 yards. My other team members Notice the same difference. We all use same paint each time we play.

The bright orange color is good for guns with Vision systems. My Eye has problems reading some dark paint shells. DID NOT GET A SINGLE BREAK out of the whole case.
Conclusion: I take off a point for the short range.

Accurate, good price, nice quality
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ousatsu Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Premium - Marginally less but comparable performance for ~10$ less depending on retailer
Marker Setup: Tippman A5, Response Trigger, Flatline Barrel
Tippman A5, E-Trigger, Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
Any
Strengths: Thick Bright Fill
Rare Barrel Breaks
Breaks On Target
Reliable Flight Pattern
Weaknesses: Only comes in Orange
Price
Review: I primarly play woodsball, and have used many types of paint. After first trying this paint late in 2004, I was in love.

I have used Tippman Balls, PMI Premium, Diablo Formula 13 & Heat, Draxxus Blaze & Inferno, Menace, 32 Degrees Competetion and various "white box" paint.

The only consistent performers I have experienced are Proto Darts and PMI Premiums with a slight edge to the Proto Darts even tho they are typically ~10$ more at my favorite Paintball place Blast 'Em (enter cheap plug).
The Protos have a thick and bright orange fill that is easy to see on target breaks and difficult to wipe.
Protos have a reliable flight pattern and even in a light drizzle, cool weather (~70 degrees) dont get squirrely. Balls can be shot consistently between pallet slats.
The balls are durable enough to withstand transport and I have never seen a dimpled ball and I have had the pleasure of only having a half dozen breaks out of over 10 cases. The balls also store better than most balls and have had cases sit for over a month (a hazard of living in Florida and the heavy rain) and shoot without noticable performance loss to a fresh box.
Conclusion: Excellent Ball that performs like you need it to even at a slighty premium price (to some) of 50-60$ a case.
If you dont like to throw paint or looking to lower your paint cost, this is defiantely something to look into. I average 1250-1500 rounds a day (5 hours) of Protos vs 2500-3000 of other brands.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 at 4:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media