paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Sonic Cyborg / MACDev Sonic Cyborg / MACDev Sonic Cyborg / MACDev Sonic Cyborg

MACDev Sonic Cyborg Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Sonic Cyborg

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Sonic Cyborg
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Mac Devs Super fast , light , accurate , and Quiet Tournament Marker
Frame Machined from solid billet 6K grade aluminum, New Sonic Board w/True 35 BPS, Forced, delay or eyes off modes, 30 Minute Battery Saving auto shutoff if no shots detected in those 30 minutes,
straight down stick with center bump trigger with 3 point adjustment, New Sonic Grips, 200PSI operating and 65 PSI cocking pressure,
dual eyes to eliminate chopping, no tools required rebuildable ram, Sonic self lubricating field strip bolt w/ orings, Sonic Clamping mid rise with o-ring retention system, Matchstick 2 piece barrel cocker threaded, bottom inlet bottom adjustable inline reg, Sonic Finger LPR adjustment, 04 red valve, custom solenoid with superfast energizing coil, 9v power source with low battery alarm, Sonic Teflon anti jam detent, Mac Dev gauge (300psi) operating pressure gauge, built in snatch grip, all stainless screws, push button on/off
Product Availability 
The MACDev Sonic Cyborg is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
xteam Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: MacDev Sonic Cyborg #0040(Silver/red/black), Legion Air, Full matchstik kit, EvoII (Soon Halo B).
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Low weight, extreme firepower, sweet body, cheap on air.
Weaknesses: Price (didn't matter thou)
Review: In my eyes it is probably the best looking body ever. In one of my other reviews i wrote about how i liked the body of the System X Type X because of its plain design, well this one is even more beautiful. Milling is done extremely good.

The marker fires at extreme bps and you really need a Halo B w/ victory board to keep up. Having any other loader (except the reloader B) feels like riding with the parking brake left on.

The anodizing is very nice and i've not found any flaws yet.

LPR is extremely easy to adjust (no tools needed).
Conclusion: I really recommend this marker to any serious tournament player. It truely rocks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 12:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P. Dolla Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Timmi's, dm5, dm4, many more
Marker Setup: Sonic Syborg, haloB, Mac DEV 45-45 tank, cp on/off and rail, GAP paint, stock 89 matchstick barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
empire halo, freak barrel system
Strengths: Fast
Ok accuracy
Kinda light
Looks good
Weaknesses: Chop,chop,chop,chop,chop
Bounce
Paint gets all in the internals
Grips
Trigger
Review: I paid $1,280.00 and went to go play on Sat.
I put some cheap paint in it first no good "chop, chop, chop" the gun said bouncing out of control. the paint got all inside the gun up in the hammer and cup seal area, detents, eyes, and the six little peaces that grab your hopper in the feed neck, plenty to clean when this gun chops. I cleaned the gun very well, and started over with some better paint.
When I put the GAP paint in accuracy was ok, and it was plenty fast. This was satisfactory for a little while then the bounce started in, and the gun chopped a few balls in a row.I cleaned the entire gun again.
The dip switches allow 4 trigger sensitivities, 2 bounce inhibitor modes, eye on or off, and cycles of 30bps, 25bps, 21bps or, 17bps. After a lot of chopping and cleaning, and switching of dip switches, the gun ended up set to trigger sensitivity lowest, bounce enhibitor high, and cycles/sec to 17. This I figured would do it the gun still would bounce after a little while and chop a few balls in a row for me.
I tried fresh batteries. new 9v for the trigger frame, new AA's for my Halo, turned the the LPR down all the way and brought the gun up to around 240fps, and they entire time the vert reg. was set to 200psi, and still nothing but bounce and chops.
Sat. ended I shot one person. On Sun. I tried a few more things wasted the whole morning on this gun got a rental spyder and shot about 15 players I was a little off due to the agrivation of the Cyborg, but it sure did feel good to shoot a few people before the weekend was over.
This gun was a big mistake
The first time I aired it up the guage blew I bought a new one. the back of the bolt flew off and hit me in the mask and fell in the mud while the gun was bouncing and chopping. The grips are not comfortable at all.
some times two of the same type of gun perform different like night and day, I definatly got a lemon. maybe just a bad board I don't know, but I do not like this gun at all. the few brief moments wen the gun shot aburst or to with no problems the gun seemed to be worth fixing.
Conclusion: I got a no good Sonic Cyborg. Question is how many out of how many are good, and that is going to tell you how good this gun is. What are the odds your going to be happy with your $1,300 toy.
The gun I have I would rate a 2 out of 10
This gun has the potential but not the promise
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

zippinpaint Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
IDC Freestyle, Bob Long Timmy's
Marker Setup: Halo B
Conquest 68/4500
Matchstick 689 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Efficient
Weaknesses: Price of paintballs, the sloppiness of the trigger, and everyone wanted to see it
Review: Okay I want to go threw and give you the best I can give you about this gun. It rips! I bought this gun because everyone around me had a DM4/5, Timmy, or Shocker. I was kinda the brunt of all jokes till I showed up with my Sonic. Now I got a few people thinking about trading or purchasing one. I could pick one or two of the break every time. Then turn around and see someone peeking and pick them off. The accuracy on it was out standing with the matchstick. I did play in the rain, good old WA is know for that. Air effcienticy is great. Played 3 hours straight with my Conquest 68/4500 and only had to fill one time. Yeah, I went threw about 3 cases of paint. The only problem I had was with the soliniod. I was leaking air and lubed everything that I was told to, but it never stopped leaking. I took it down to the pro shop and they fixed it in 5 min. It had some metal shavings in it. After they fixed that, it was sweet. The trigger is kinda loose for my taste, but hey I can live with that, nothing like the freestyle or timmy, but still can get more paint down field with it. I did have to set the switches to low senstivity because it was bouncing, but I still got about 15 - 20 bps out of it.
Conclusion: Buy it, but remeber it is all what you find you like. I lowered the overall score of this gun, due to the sloppy trigger. Compaired to Timmy's, DM4/5, Freestyles, the trigger is too sloppy. Too much left to right motion.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 7th, 2005 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

2k4kev Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none....
Marker Setup: Sonic cyborg rasta fade
matching matchstick
dye throttle 70 cui stubby
relaoder B
Recommended
Upgrades:
matchsitck if you didnt get one included
Strengths: Weight
Effeciancy
Matinance
Speed... of course
Weaknesses: Trigger pull
Review: Strenghts...


This gun is very light, much ligher than most markers that Ive ever held. After you break in you gladiator, which takes mabye a case or two, the borg becomes very efficant. The cyborg is also very easy to maintain, clean etc... most of it is very simple.

Weakness

When I first got my cyborg, I noticed that there was alot of side to side movement, but it is easily fixxed.

Conclusion: Buy it, its worth every penny. Sonic Cyborg > everything
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fragglephil Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm5s, angels, every stacked tube gun made.....
Marker Setup: Sonic Cyborg #13 , 2k5 CP on/off Empire mini rail, 45/45 legionair, matchstik kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
none needed....seriously
Strengths: Efficiency,speed, and accuracy.
Weaknesses: At first was the trigger but easily adjusted via stock adjustment screws!
Review: ......2 cases, 0 chops, 3 fills on a 45/45 wow.... this gun is great.

NO KICK, super light, my setup weighs just under 5 lbs !!!

accurate, actually hit what your aiming for..
efficient, 1500 shots plus on a 45/45 fill!!!
fast, it will shoot as fast as you can pull the trigger, regardless up to 34 bps.....
LEGAL, this gun is safe for all tournys no ramp or bounce software....
easy to clean and take care of!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Well balanced gun, thats easy to clean and maintaint 10! 10! 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

big89dog Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, DM5, Karnivore, cyborg, dark timmy
Marker Setup: Macdev Sonic Cyborg (blue/silver)
7 piece matchstick kit (silver)
empire reloader B (black)
68/4500 PE hp tank
cp rail (silver)
cp on/off (blue)
Recommended
Upgrades:
80g switch, fast hopper halo/ reloader B
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Very light
Made by macdev
Best 1250 you will ever spend
Weaknesses: Waste alot of money on paint.
Price i guess
Review: the sonic is a beautiful marker. This is the best gun i have ever shot. It does cost a pretty penny, but it is worth it. IT is very fast, a true 34bps. It is also very light weighing in at only 1.8 pounds. The cyborg is as accurate, if not more accurate than a cocker. with many more features that are just amazing. THe only downside is that it does cost alot. i had to save up all year for it. but its soo worth the wait.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a high end gun. this is deffinately the one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icemul Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
IR3-Preditor Mod, 05 speed, Timmy, orginal Cyborg
Marker Setup: Sonic Cybog #29
68/45 centerflag
Halo B Victory Board
New CP On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Micro Switch
Strengths: Light, easy to disassemble for cleaning, fast, quality workmenship.
Weaknesses: Trigger pull, User Manual
Review: All I have to say is wow. I only had one problem so far and that was a broken reg gague, which I sent back and they replaced for free. Otherwise the darn thing flys. The only thing I didn't really care for was the trigger, it was way to stiff for me. So I tried adjusting the trigger but I could never get it where I liked it. So I took out the board and flipped the micro-switch upside down, 150% improvement. There is also a 25g microswitch out there that you can install to make the pull even lighter. User Manual stink, its just photo copied and stapled togeather- otherwise its very informative.

I love how easy it is to clean and to get to everything, I can have the gun totally apart in about 2 minutes. Oh yeh and light as heck, I have a Halo B with a 68/45 centerflag tank, and my teammate has a 05 Speed with Halo B and a 45/45 centerflag tank. If you hold them they both way just about the same, mine is slightly heavyer but not noticable. Oh yeh and insainly accurate, I can put an entire hopper in a 6 inch area... the balls go where you point them.
Hope this helps and hope ya'll can get one soon!
Conclusion: Its a little pricy but worth every penny. There are alot of good high end markers out there and if your considering one please consider this marker. It has everything that all the other guns out there have plus many other cool options. Put it this way, our 5 man team already has 2 of these beasts, and two of our other players will be getting them when they get the funds.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

koolcocker25 Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 timmys, dm4s, vikings, e-cockers, imps, cbyborgs, a4 flys, 03 shockers.
Marker Setup: 04 Viking
pandora board
bp no rider
mitey max
jmj razor trigger
check it uni mount
CP barrel kit
68/4500 worrgas system
Empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Extremely light, fast, efficent, consistant.
Weaknesses: $1250 but for the best gun out there. Not bad.
Review: This is one of the best guns i have ever shot. A guy on my team picked one up just after they came out. I shot it that weekend at the field. I really like the sonic trigger compaired to the regular cyborg trigger. It is way faster and way smoother then the original. The gun is very efficent. Roughly 2000 shots off a 68/4500. Comes with a great barrel. Very accurate, ball on top of ball. Very light. Never chops. Over all a great gun.
Conclusion: Great gun. Mac Dev did good on this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Angel Boy 4 Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
DM5 ND FREESTYLE EGO nothing else is compatible
Marker Setup: Sonic borg
Match sitck
70/45 lp crossy stubb
Recommended
Upgrades:
matchstick and a sonic rebuild kit
Strengths: Fast light breakers efficency like 5000 of a 114/4500
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is absultely amaxing it is so fast so light so efficent and mows muppets all over the field i absolutley love this gun i would't trade it for any other gun except a dm5 you better go out and buy one if u have 1250 and are deciding on a gun it is so dman efficent and i absolutely love it
Conclusion: If u dont have one then ur missing out alot
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media