paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Behold! The 2005 JT Spectra Flex-8ô, the latest evolutionary step in the JT Flex family. This all-new goggle system uses the most widely used goggle and lens combination in the industry (290 degree Spectra 2). The revolutionary exoskeleton frame is created using JT's exclusive state of the art "Dual-Fusion" technology, which allows the system to be structurally efficient while maintaining the softness, flexibility and ventilation winning players demand.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Loki33 Saturday, November 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Grillz
Proto Axis
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7
JCS Powertube
J&J 14" Ceramic
Tech T squishy paddles
Strengths: Full head coverage
Weaknesses: Fog
Heavy
Poor ventilation
Difficult to maintain
Review: This was my first mask. I bought the full coverage version to provide myself with more protection. I was just starting out so I didn't really know better. Wish I had saved my money. I have never been able to play more than 15 minutes without constant fogging. Nothing is worse than having to walk off the field in the middle of a game because you cannot see. Feels like your in a box because there is almost no air flow. I made the mistake of buying the fan in hopes it would help the fogging problem. No help there plus it sounds like a freight train is running around your ears. I only keep this mask around in case someone needs one or as a backup to my backup. I plan on modding it up by removing the rear protection and making it a project mask. Plan to cover it in crye multicam. The absolute worst part of this mask is trying to replace the lens. Took well over an hour to get it back in. The owner of my local paintball store won't even replace it for you. Says it's not worth the time and effort. I have also had to crazy glue the foam back into place after a couple uses.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this mask unless that's all you can afford. Save up your coins and get something of higher quality. In my case it turned out to be a waste of money because I can't use it due to fogging issues.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clay_12 Monday, August 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Raptor...horible
Marker Setup: DIablo AR-1 with evo2
Strengths: Ventilation
Comfortable
Small profile
looks cool
Weaknesses: Stiff, not many bounches
hard to replace lens
some peopls earlobes hang out
Review: I love this mask! it has a small profile but isnt so close to you face that it gets hot. some its well ventalated and the foam inside is very comfortable. Some people complain about their earlobes hanging ou the mask, but if you wear something under your mask like a hat or bandana you wont have this problem. the lens is a pain to take out and the face of it isnt flexy enough to get bounces
Conclusion: great mask, its isnt the Greates mask ever, but its deffineltly a good one to buy
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flopolopagus Friday, July 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have had a Stock Spyder Mask that came with the TL-R Package
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R: Delrin Bolt, 14" Proto-Barrel
Strengths: Anti-Fog, Confortable, Price, Vision un-interrupted
Weaknesses: Strap
Review: For the Life that I have had these goggles, they have been wonderful. I mostly go woodsballing, and even when standing still in 70 degree (F) Temp, it barely fogs. For the more intense players might get the hundred dollar masks, But this one is really good for $60.

The only miner problem I have had is that the strap loosens over time, and I am constantly re tightening. If it bothers you too much, put a pin in it.
Conclusion: I think it is very functional for its price. The minor strap problem is easily fixable
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 10th, 2009 at 6:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mx98ranger Sunday, July 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire E-vent
JT w/ thermal lens
Marker Setup: 2009 Proto Ultralite SLG, 14" Custom Products Classic One Piece Barrel, Custom Products Perfect Drop, Custom Products On/Off ASA, 68/4500 pressure specialist nitro tank, Dye Rotor w/ Quick feed
Strengths: Comfort
Dual pane lens
Protection
Weaknesses: Limited viewing
Review: Compared to other masks that I have used, the comfort level of this goggle system is perfect. The foam inside is very soft and it doesnt rub on your face at all. I have been using this mask every weekend since I purchased and I haven't had any kind of fogging at all. The rest of the mask offers adequate protection, but its not too big or wide so head movement is also comfortable. I also like the fact that the mask comes with a goggle bag in order to limit the amount of scratching during storage or transportation to the field. The only problem I have with the mask is the limited viewing that it offers, but it is definitely acceptable compared to other masks.
Conclusion: Overall I feel like this is a solid mask for the money, and if you are looking for comfort this mask is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spineslasher Saturday, May 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Helm / Goggles
Marker Setup: A-5 J&J Ceramic
Strengths: NEVER Fogs...even in extreme conditions
Full coverage version prevents 100% of headshot pain
Weaknesses: None
Review: If you've ever taken a clean shot to the top of the head....you know why the full coverage version of the JT flex 8 is worth EVERY penny.
If you've ever taken a clean shot to the top of the head....you know why the full coverage version of the JT flex 8 is worth EVERY penny.
Conclusion: Save yourself a lot of pain, cover your entire head
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Quatreux Saturday, March 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Armour
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
M16 Apex 16inch Barrell
Rear Stock
Coiled Cord for better co2 expansion
Strengths: No Fog
it looks mean
very comfortable around face
chin trap
flexiable
Weaknesses: Ears uncomfortable need a sweat band

Review: well main reason for buying was JT are known for a great anti fog lense and it has been backed up.. and i sweat alot so that was a must.. i looks pretty mean.. and loved how it fits on my head.. i took the mask off and really breathed on the visor quite hard.. it did have a fog patch but cleared itself in like 1-2 secs.. was very impressed with that... i put the mask back on and tried breathing as hard as i could upward... and found that i couldnt get it to fog up even just a lil... this was a big thing for me!!... after my first game with it on i started to get sore ears after around 35mins... so i tied a sweat band around my forehead and over the tip of my ears... and after that i had no problems and no fog.. i havent tried it in speedball yet but for the woods it is an excellent mask!! the best ive tried so far
Conclusion: Id recommend buying it.. the only mask that i would consider getting instead of this one would be the vforce grill... nothing to do with performance its just cos i like the way the grill looks!!

i would give it a 10 but because i found it uncomfortable on my ears it gets a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gary12445 Wednesday, November 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Xfire, Extreme Rage rental, JT NVader, Jt Status
Marker Setup: Vice Timmy (Silver)
Black and Silver Gloss Freak AA
DXS 68 4500 Tank
VL Velocity Jr
Strengths: Comfortable
Light
Great Vision
Protects the face well with some bounce potential
Weaknesses: Ear flaps if your ears are large, because they are a bit small
Review: I really love this mask. It's my first tourney grade mask and the reason that I bought it over the JT Status is that the Status seems heavy on my head. The vision is great, the mask looks excellent, and most importantly, it is so comfortable that I could sleep in it.
I highly recommend this mask. You may not get the same bounces as the proflex offers, but I am too handsome for a mask that doesn't protect my face well.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want a great mixture of protection, comfort, and ball bounce potential
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintjunkie123 Monday, August 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
about every mask that cost less then $50.
Marker Setup: E-MR1
VL Revolution Eye Force
Java 48/3000 psi Tank
Strengths: Clear
Breaths
Looks
wouldn't take it off if i could get chicks in it.
Weaknesses: Hard to take lenses out.
Review: I broke my review into four part (Looks, Safety, Comfort and Maintenance)

Looks

As far as paintball masks look it seems to vary alot from person to person but for me this mask looks great and since it comes in so many colors you can find what color defines you as a person. i bought the camo one and it looks great and i have had a few people onthe paintball field tell me they likes my mask and asked me where i got it.

So for looks id personaly give it a (10)

Safety

Safety is the biggest thing for me when i go get a mask if i dont feel safe behind it im not going to buy it. i felt realy good about this one when i tryed it on in the store it fit nicely
and it felt like the grill could stops paintballs but still had abit of flex to it so they could bounce off. the only thinkg i found was my ear lobes stick out alittle bit.

So for safety i give it a (9)

Comfort

i cand realy review comfort too much since it vary person to person but i can say the the foam feels very nice... i cant think of much else if it fits you great if not dont buy it?

But for comfort for me (10) all the way

Maintenance

For mask maintenance players only realy worry about two thing cleaning the mask and replacing the lense. for cleaning forget about it easy and can be done with minimum effort. But changin lenses *ouch... that toke forever and i couldn't manage to get it out or in at first but with abit of practice i got better at it.

so all in all maintenance (8) for alittle trouble with the lense set up.
Conclusion: So in conclusion i would recommend this to any player of any skill level. And i hope to see a few more Flex-8's at my local fields soon.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alexj86 Sunday, June 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental masks
Marker Setup: PM6 UL frame
UL barrel
68/45
Strengths: Light, no misting, good venting, small
Weaknesses: No quick release lense
Review: Ok got these goggles about a year ago and thought i'd review them.

Styling: i think the goggles look really good, especially with a tinted lense they certainly ahve an intimidation factor.

Comfort and form: the goggles fit fairly close to the face and have room to breathe. the goggle foam is very comfortable and hasnt caused me any irritation over the course of ownership.

Functionality: they do provide great field of view, their very light and mobile and dont hamper movement in any way. The masks flexibility is not as good as others out there so if your looking for a super flexible mask then maybe the flex8 isnt for you, however it does have enough flex for me. they have a nice small profile which is great for sup'air and other forms of paintballing too.

Conclusion: Great goggles, very reliable, very cheap right now about £50 and offer all the things i expect from a mask
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Homan13PSU Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Lucky Stage 5 (Dust Silver)
Smart Parts Q-Lock
NDZ Blade Roller Trigger
NDZ QEV
Halo w/ Rip Drive
TechT L6 v2
Tadao Raider Board w/ LED relocation mod
Hybrid Gunslinger Leather Grips
Killa Reaction Magnetic Detents
AKA 2Litre + Regulator
Element V2 Grip Frame (Dust Silver)
CP Mini On/Off ASA
Strengths: Great looking lens
Solid construction
JT Quality
Great vision
Weaknesses: Lens removal and change out
Review: I've been a JT fan since I switched over from Scott goggle systems to my Spectra's around 6 or so years ago.

The JT Flex 8's are no disappointment when it comes to JT goggle systems either. These simply are a great looking lens and perform flawlessly. The fit around the jaw line and head in general is much tighter and closer to those areas than the previous generation of JT systems without sacrificing protection about the face. The face guard area is a somewhat hybrid soft/hard construction that while not quite to the level of the Flex 7's or Pro Flex's has given me one or two bounces (granted it was a humid day so swollen paint could have been a factor).

On hot days things can get a little stuffy inside the mouth area of the mask itself but the lens system has never let me down. My only other gripe is the same gripe that has followed JT for years and that is its lack of quick change lens systems on its high end goggle products.
Conclusion: Great product, would still prefer to see JT offering a high end goggle system with quick change lens system.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media