paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Behold! The 2005 JT Spectra Flex-8™, the latest evolutionary step in the JT Flex family. This all-new goggle system uses the most widely used goggle and lens combination in the industry (290 degree Spectra 2). The revolutionary exoskeleton frame is created using JT's exclusive state of the art "Dual-Fusion" technology, which allows the system to be structurally efficient while maintaining the softness, flexibility and ventilation winning players demand.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
                            
BTRobertson Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT USA Elite mask
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo Green
Kingman IPI 3.0 C.A.M.D. e-frame
Pure Energy 88cu 4500 psi HPA tank
Smart Parts Freak Jr. with .689 bore barrel system
Kingman Xtra Delrin ACS rear-cocking bolt
Empire Reloader II e-hopper
Java remote coil
Scepter 4000-A Grenade Launcher
Strengths: Comfortable
Lightweight
260 degree field of vision
Chin strap
Easy-to-change lenses
Weaknesses: Exposes neck a little bit more than my Elite
Review: My JT USA Elite mask was simply too bulky to keep using, and the lens scratched very easily. It was great for scenario ball because of the level of protection it offered - getting shot from the side or behind didn't pose a problem.

But, the limited field of vision (190 degrees) was WAY too low, and after getting shot many times because of blind spots forced me to look at a new mask. Enter the Flex 8.

The first thing to remember about masks is to try them on in person!! If I wouldn't have, I would've had the Proflex, which I believe is a cheaply made mask (sorry, that's my opinion after trying them on). The Flex 8 fit my head perfectly, doesn't slide around, and is fully adjustable for even more comfort. The chin strap is a great feature that my JT Elite had, so this makes the mask very stable when wearing it in very intense situations.

The mask is constructed very well. It simply "feels" rugged and well-built. It wraps my head just fine, and protects it in all the key places. It leaves a bit more of my forehead exposed, but it's not a big deal because I wear a hat under my mask.

And the field of vision!! Let me tell you, if you have never used a 260 degree lens, you don't know what you're missing. It's like the difference between cable Internet and dial-up - once you go cable, you can't go back. :) It felt like my eyes were opened up to the world around me for the first time. My peripheral vision works a lot better now. :)
Conclusion: No mask is perfect, but the Flex 8 combines comfort, stability, good looks, and tournament-quality field of vision you'd expect from JT USA. I love this mask, and I can't imagine a better mask for the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Acuraboom Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, JT Flex 7, Flex 7 IZE
Marker Setup: MacDev Cyborg, Conquest 68ci 4500psi, Matchstick 8pc barrel kit, No-rise feedneck, Fire Ball Mountain wave trigger, inverted 25 gram board switch.
Strengths: Look good, they fit tight, easier to breath, no fog!
Weaknesses: Not comfortable, small face coverage, I think they are heavier than flex-7's,
Review: First off- I love JT masks. They are the best and always have been since I can remember. I have been wearing one for nearly 8 years. I compared the Flex-8 side by side with the Flex-7.
Flex-8
1. Hurts the lower part of my ear and exposes some of it.
2. Not flexible on the mouth when I rest my chin on the tank in firing position.
3. Look incredible.
4. Fits tight.
Flex-7
1. After 10 minutes you forget your wearing a mask, VERY COMFORTABLE. Both the soft ears and the hard ears feel great and cover the sides of your head.
2. The mouth of the mask is so rubbery that it bends with all your tight aiming positions.
3. Classic.
4. mine stays on without the chin strap.
Conclusion: Its the coolest looking mask on the field. It might give you a slight advantage in a tournament because it's smaller and exposes less of a target. The loss of comfort is too much for me. I am sticking with my Flex-7 until JT comes out with something better.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 16th, 2005 at 8:40 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

shot-on-sight Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Previous flex models, Vforce, Dye masks
Marker Setup: Dye Reflex autococker
Matching 12 in Dye Titanium boomstick
Ricochet Apache (LCD) hopper
Centerflag Mini Inline regulator
WGP front end pneumatics kit
CP dropforward and ASA
70 ci 4500 psi crossfire stubby nitrogen tank

WGP Orracle Autococker (black to cobalt fade)
E1 E-blade
WGP twistlock feedneck
Halo-b w/ rip drive (smoke)
Crossfire 70 ci 4500 psi LP output stubby tank
Dye ultralite (black), or Evil pipe kit
Palmers Fatty stabilizer
CP unimont
Strengths: Looks (IMO)
Size
Weight
Comfort
Weaknesses: None that i have noticed so far
Review: I was looking to upgrade to a new mask when i gave my friend my old Dye invision. While i did love the invision i wanted something that sat a little closer and tighter to my face and was a little smaller. I found what i wanted in the new Flex 8 mask.

---First Impressions---

At first sight the first thing that came to mind was that it reminded me in sorts of a grinning skull (grey model) while some may not like its looks i was imediantly hooked. It looked to be a well designed mask hopefully better than previous flex models (not too much to improve upon)


---Performance---

After removing the visor of the mask (i do this to any mask i own) i noticed that it now looked considerably smaller than when it was still atatched. I tried it on and i was imediantly struck by the wide range of peripheral vision available and the comfort of the foam around the face. The elastic silicone injected head strap kept the mask on comtorably without any sliding. The lense never fogged even in drastic changes in temperature (55 in the morn 90 in the afternoon), humidity or rain. The design of the mask is sort of a dual layer system with the black skelleton over the gray part of the mask that has all the design/detail, suposedly it promotes bounces and flex's well thus the reason for its name. While the front of the mask did not promote any bounces the ones to the side did seem to bounce more than usual, not as good as a vforce morph but still decent enough. The spectra lense was nice and clear, easy to clean and remove and i had no complaints there. This mask defiantly does not move around for example in a particularly close range speedball game i was playing snake and after removing the opposition from the bunker in front of me i got up to run to the bunker he was just in, big mistake, a guy i was playing with was also on his way to that same bumker and before i could dive back into the snake i got drilled 6 times directly in the mask. 1 bounced off the side but the rest exploded all green over my lense. Even adter being hit that much at 25 feet in rapid sucession the mask hardlly budged. The mask also allows for good voive projection and covered every neccasary part of my head well (ears, upper neck, chin, etc)


---Conclusion---

Overall a fantastic mask that offers pretty much the same performance as the invision or other high end goggle systems but for slighlty less, i picked up my Flex 8 for only 65.00, when i payed 84 for my invision. Great value

Overall i loved this mask and
Conclusion: If your looking for a good mask that wont cost more than your gun than this is for you, great overall performance with hardly and hassles at all, the only problem i had was cleaning paint out of the grooves and venting on the ffront and sides but thats not something i really hold against the mask as it only takes about 30 extra seconds to clean them out, just run water through it and wipe it dry. In this category of goggle's the Flex 8 gets a 10 out of 10, great value and performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bajabob Tuesday, October 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT XFire Goggles
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline
Strengths: Looks, fog proof
Weaknesses: Does not cover the full ear! Can become uncomfortable on ears.
Review: I bought these because Ive had good experience with JT masks and it was time for an upgrade. Once I tried them on I was horrified to feel the plastic digging into the middle of my ear and saw in the mirror my lower ear completely uncovered. The way the hard plastic rests on your ear gets painful after a match. So if you are willing to trade a little discomfort for great visibility, looks and fog protection then these are great.
Conclusion: I would only recommend this mask to players with small faces.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 4th, 2005 at 8:58 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

A2L Wednesday, September 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month42 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Scott mask that came with 98c
Extreme Rage Echo 20/20
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, J&J Ceramic, Lapco Bigshot, Pen Spring mod, ACI Sub Zero 6 Stage Expansion Chamber, PMI Perfect Drop Forward, Macro Line, Tippmann Vertical Adapter
Strengths: Comfortable
Small
Ventilation
Vision
Light
No Fog
Protection
Foam
Looks
Soft ears
Weaknesses: Shows a little of the ear lobe
Review: Hm. Where to start? Ok, I started off using my Echo 20/20 and thought that the fan was awesome along with the tinted lens. Later i realized that cleaning the lens was a pain as the paint just mostly smeared around and the tint made it hard to see when the sun started going down. Also it has a chipmunk cheek kind of thing going on, not too sleek but was comfy as hell. Left it in my trunk on accident and the ice chest moved over onto it and it warped in the summer heat. Used the scott mask afterwards because i hated how the 20/20 looked afterwards (still useable tho) and didn't have much to complain about that one either, it didn't fog and it protected me... foamed kinda rubbed irritably though sometimes.

Spectra Flex 8. Ok, I loved how this thing looked so I decided to buy it from actionvillage and when it arrived I was amazed at how small it was... thank god i have a somewhat small figure and head. Put it on, and was pretty happy about how comfy it was... it got more and more comfy the more i wore it. Even playing I only felt the backstrap and the foam that go over my eyebrows... the rest of my face felt like there was no mask. So for comfortableness... easily a 9, not a 10 because i'm still aware that i'm wearing a mask..

It's pretty darn small which keeps a low profile which I like sense I've gotten a little better and now try and keep as tight as possible. I don't feel like my mask is as exposed as much as the 20/20 was. It's so small though that the bottom of your ear lobes show. I was worried about this because I removed all my piercings except a vertical industrial that I'm very fond of. The bottom of it is exposed in the back so very frigtened of a hit there... nothing a bandana with some creativity couldn't fix. 7 points.

Ventilation... well, I wore it around the house for a couple of hours and no problems breathing. Played with it and I enjoy moving bunker to bunker, i hate being stuck behind one and just firing... i love flanking so I was a little anxious about how this would hold up (looking at it though, you know it's breathable) and yeah NO problems here. I was breathing hard as hell from constantly moving and it was still fairly cool air around my mouth. 9

Vision is really good. The goggles are very wide... they stop around your temples so your peripheral vision is NOT blocked. You don't have to worry about vision on this thing. It's covered. 9

Light - Not heavy, feels a lot lighter than the darn echo and scott. Not much more to say about that. 9

No fog... ok well I have never had a mask fog up on me except once, the scott mask. We had been playing for like 8 - 10 hours and it started getting dark and the weather dropped drastically... the light was fading so we knew playtime was almost over and by the time it was almost too dark to keep going... it started fogging... so did my friends mask (forgot which one... i'll update this later) so i didn't feel bad. Don't see why the scotts got such bad reviews... anyways, this thing has no, NO, semblance of even starting to fog up on me yet... but I've yet to play from morning to night... I'll update if this changes. 9

Protection... well I don't know what to say... but the ear lobe is the only fault here. I've been hit in the mask and goggles a few times and only felt the impact... didn't eat any paint or anything... just felt something hit the mask. I've had a few bounces off the visor which is pretty good (soft flex) IMO. 8 because of the ear lobe.

Foam - This foam is incredibly comfy. I barely notice it except around the eyebrows once again. Much better than the coarse scott foam and just better than the echo foam (which you may need to clip) so I give this a 9.

Looks, I just love how it looks... all preferance... a 9.

Soft ears... VERY good for me because of my remaining piercing. Just worried in the beginning about the ear lobe.
Conclusion: All in all, this is a very good buy. I think i over paid for it at actionvillage for $59 but I think it's worth every dollar. I don't plan on neglecting this thing like my first mask (echo) which I would sometimes not clean for days at a time... this thing I clean the second I get home and worry about my 98c later. It's not that it looks or feels fragile (far from it, feel the jaw for the echo then feel the spectra... feels MUCH more safer for you) I just want this thing to last a very long time for me. A solid mask that deserves a 9. It's not perfect but nothign is... but it still comes pretty close.

*man i had to go through my post like 9 times to find all the times I swore in it... bleh.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

conch Friday, August 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Spectra, Jt X FIRE, JT Wiper snapper, Scott Badass
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, SP 14 inch Teardrop barrel, Dye Drop Forward, 32 degrees on/off, Apache Ricochet Loader

PMI Trracer , bottom lined, 12 inch Taso Eliminator barrel
Strengths: Very good looking. Thermal Lenses can be used from Spectra, Proteus masks.
Weaknesses: Small in the ear section. Changing lenses are a PAIN as they use to be.
Review: I have owned my Spectra mask since 1997 so this is a great replacement. It gets the job done and is of good quality. It appears to have holes in it to accept the full head cover if you desire to do that. Its basically an evolved Flex 7 which is evolved from the Spectra mask.
Conclusion: I defiantly recommend this product. It has everything you need to protect your FACE while playing paintball. With the THERMAL lens you will not FOG EVER!!! I have used THERMAL lens in ALL of my JT masks and never had a fog issue. I give it an 8 because JT hasnt really changed it all that much. But its still great quality.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VEX Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
FLEX 7, INVISIONS, PROTO SWITCH, PROFILERS
Strengths: very breathable, (Didn't pinch my nose shut like my protos), light. . protect fairly well
Weaknesses: They leave a little bit of ear lobe showing.
Review: I'll be honest i don't think these goggles are for everyone. If you got a big head look for something a little bigger like some invisionsor whatever. They remind me of invisions. If you are a flex 7 type of person I think you should probaly look at these when you wanna get a new pair of goggles. People don't like the little bit of space between where the nose is and where it connects to the goggle, Just look inside the mask of the goggle, and you'll see that not much of anything is coming through there.
But again minus the bit of the ear lobe sitcking out they protext pretty well. You also got a good range of vision almost identical to the profiliers. They also vent pretty well compared to other goggles so it doesn't rain insid your mask. Also good thermals to.
You won't take as many bounces as a flex 7 or whatever but i've taken bounces of my invisions and they are more flexible than that.
I'm kinda short and have small ears so it really ain't a problem but they do kinda leave the ear lobe hanging. But if you wear a beanie or a sandana you'll be fine.
Conclusion: Honestly i think you either love them or hate them. I would tell everyone to atleast go check them out especially fronmen, bigger back guys might wanna think twice. I think once you look at them up close you'll like them. But if you are a frontman looking for a good light goggle that protects well i think these are for you. I've been pelted in the face plenty already you know your hit but it doesn't hurt at all.
I gave it a ten cause i just all around like them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TrueBaller Tuesday, July 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt flex 7, jt proflec
Marker Setup: 05' realtree camo 45 angel G7, freak barrel kit, 02' E2 cocker, 05' karnivor, 05' blackmagic, 05' angel speed, proto matrix, dye dmc
Strengths: Comfortable, flex, foam is very soft.
Weaknesses: Not as flexible as the proflex, and not as comfortable either.
Review: i tested this product with jt for about a year, i liked it very much, looks are nice, very comfortable, but it is heavier than a proflex, and there is a lot of plastic. *note* Jt is is the works of making a proflex 8 that will have the soft ears. this is the equivalent to a flex 7 the proflex 8 will be an equivalent to a current proflex
Conclusion: Very comfortable, looks mean, breathes very well, made well, they will be available this summer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media