paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Behold! The 2005 JT Spectra Flex-8™, the latest evolutionary step in the JT Flex family. This all-new goggle system uses the most widely used goggle and lens combination in the industry (290 degree Spectra 2). The revolutionary exoskeleton frame is created using JT's exclusive state of the art "Dual-Fusion" technology, which allows the system to be structurally efficient while maintaining the softness, flexibility and ventilation winning players demand.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
-=J-Dawg=- Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle
JT nVader
Marker Setup: 06 gti eforce
fbm delrin trigger
smart parts linear 14
evolution 2
Strengths: Nice Fit
Chin Strap
Comfortable
Small
Weaknesses: The lens isn't all that great
Kind of expensive
Review: I've only played with this mask once, and the thing that i've come to like the most is the nice fit, which is nice and tight, of course you can adjust it, but the chin strap does come in handy also. Although it's not like this is the only mask with one. The size, is nice and small. Much rather have, than a big and bulky mask. The thermal lens are nice, but my mask still fogs up a bit, but that really depends on the weather.
Conclusion: It's a good mask, if you don't want to spend the money, don't. There are plenty of masks around $30, that are very decent.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 28th, 2007 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

StumpyManager Wednesday, July 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
events
Marker Setup: Proto PMR 07
Halo B w/ v35 Board
P/E 45/4800 N2 Tank
Proto 2 Piece 14 inch
Trinity Feedneck
New Designs Scythe Trigger
New Designs Back Cap
Strengths: Light
Soft, deep foam
Weaknesses: Feels like, but is not made of, cheap plastic
Review: Ok so my dad bought these goggles for himself last time we went paintballing becuase he was through with using rentals. So he went out and played with them and he came back really excited about them telling me I had to try them on. So I did. They were really really light and comfortable, not so much like my events, but very comfy nonetheless. The only thing I didnt like about them was that the grill itself is made of cheap looking and feeling plastic, nothing like my events. But the plastic itself was not, becuase I took three hits to the grill and all of them bounced, so I'm good with that. Great goggles.
Conclusion: Great thermals, look better with visor on though, which does shadow a lot on indoor play, but w/e. Very light, very comfy.fo 80 bucks, it's a bargain.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

steve2frag Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Sunglasses fro when I play airsoft
Marker Setup: Only rented a gun so far. Soon, I'm going to be getting a Spyder VS2.
Strengths: 1. Airflow
2. Comfort
3. Looks
4. Adjustability
Weaknesses: 1. Fogs easily
2. Hard to disassemble
Review: For most of my short life, I've been an avid airsoft player around my neighborhood. (I'm only thirteen) For airsoft, we usually wear glasses to play. So, one day I was at my friend's house playing airsoft. Two of my friends were reloading their guns. Instead of waiting for one person to move out and around the corner of the house we were hiding behind, I poked my head around. Tat, tat, tat, tat, and tat. Five BBs from the other team come sailing at my right front tooth. It fell out. I then had to go get a root canal and a a new tooth top. (I can't get a cap on it until I've stopped growing) Right then I decided I needed a mask.

My friend had invited me to go paintballing for the first time so we stopped by Dick's Sporting Goods to pick up some paint and a mask. I saw the JT USA Flex 8 over a sticker that said, "24.99." So, I bought it. When it popped up on the checkout thingy, it said, "69.99." My dad was shocked. But, I told him that $70 wasn't nearly as much as the $500 root canal. So, it's pricey, but I'm not counting it as a weakness because there are WAY more expensive masks out there.

We went paintballing, and it performed admirably. I got hit a couple times on the visor, but I couldn't feel a thing. Also, it looks awesome. I felt like Master Chief with a Battle Rifle (a.k.a. a rented Tippmann 98). I've used it 6 months since. No problems whatsoever. This mask has worked wonderfully for me, and I'm on my way to buying my first paintball gun with babysitting money. A Spyder VS2.
Conclusion: This is definently a great mask to get. It offers the functionality of a Dye Invision, but at about 70% the price. I will continue to use this mask until it breaks.

Until then, Steve M.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonas Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
vents,protoEl,flex-8 full head, JT nForcer
Marker Setup: Invert mini(love it,tight) ,stako tank (lightest 68ci? ,from polen with love),gurrilla-air the myth (smalest,lightest?),Vlocity jr +star chip
Strengths: 260* lense (sold everywhere)
Look good, they fit tight, easier to breath
Weaknesses: Difficult to clean
The un-flexness of it
Review: nice mask better then the full head,softer then the JT nForcer ,more comfy then the proto el,cheaper then the vents...but
it is hard to clean all the air-vents on it and its not so easy to change the glass and
its scratches easy.
package it comes in sucks,no bonuses in it, like a stand or extra lenses
its a jt mask so if you like to pimp it, there is a lot of pimping stuff out there...
Conclusion: Nice and good looking and not so expensive,
but if you got the money go for the "vents"
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

balla245 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force profiler, proflex, flex 7, pmi stuff, vantage.
Marker Setup: dust red ego7 w/gloss red accents
freak barrel
pulse or cranium'ed b2
crossy 68/3000
Strengths: Looks
comfort
lense
customisable
Weaknesses: Looks
ears
Review: strengths:
i like the looks of the flex 8. its soo coool.

comfort:
very comfortable, they wrap around your head almost perfectly, atleast for me.

lense:
the spectra lense doesn't fog, and it has a wide field of fision. two major plusses when it comes to a mask

customisable:
you can change the leanse color, frame color and style, bottom color & straps. you can make your own in whatever color combo you like.


now the weaknesses
Looks:
some people find them ugly, if you like them though thats all that matters

the ears:
the hard ears press against your ears and it hurts a little. its easily fixed by putting jt's soft ears on the inside of the ears, or any padding. the ears also expose the earlobes.
Conclusion: I love mine and its my favorite mask. i like it better than my proflex just because of looks, this and the proflex are basically the same except this protects better. i like it and at a price of $60 i think it is an amazing deal. if your looking for a mask i'd go with this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Slimjim12 Friday, March 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto switch
Marker Setup: Ion, q-lock, halo, centerflag 92/5000, CP on-off w/rail, Dye Ultralite 14" and
Tippmann Custom pro, smartparts 16" linear barrel.
Strengths: Very comfortable
Good looking
light
low profile
good field of vision
Weaknesses: Lens is very hard to change.
Can sometimes fall off (see review).
Review: Strengths:
Very comfortable: I have forgotten to take it off or just chose not to before because foam is so comfortable.
Good looking: Self explanatory.
Light: Another reason why I have forgotten to take it off before.
Low profile: I took the visor off of it and I will never be hit in the mask in a place that wouldn't hit me anyway.
Good field of vision: Very wide field of vision you can only see a small amount of the foam.

Weaknesses:
Lens: The lens is hard as hell to change (took me about 15 minutes) but seems like something that will get easier the more you do it, and its not much of a big deal anyway.
Can fall off: It may have just been my stupidity having it somewhat loose but in a tournament I dove into a bunker and it flew off my head and rolled about 20 feet away >_<. Luckally a ref was quick to help me but from now on I make sure to tighten the strap before every game and have not had any porblems since.
Ear: Everyone sais your ear shows and it does a little but for me anyway its only maybe 1/4 inch of my ear.
Conclusion: I love this mask the few weaknesses listed it easily makes up for it in its many strengths. I'll never buy another mask, ever. Nothing is perfect, 9 of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 27th, 2007 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Thursday, March 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt. Proteus
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom: Gravity feed body, Stock Class body, standard barrel (14 inch) 45 degree grip frame. And Bottom line setup.
Strengths: Tough, small profile, wide lens, same as the proteus 1 and 2 (Spectra lens)
Weaknesses: Small on the face
Review: When I got the mask I really liked it becuase of it's design, I go the gray one which has black shell with gray holes on it. The mask can be very tight on the face but espescially on the ears, mainly becuase the mask only covers 3/4 of the ears it pinches the lobes and that hurts alot. If you try and tuck your ears inside the mask they are cramped in there and that also hurts. when i got hit in the mask i got hit in the mouth piece which really let's alot of paint inside of the mask. If you wear a hat backwards underneath the mask it solves the problem of the ears bbut it just makes the mask that much tighter on the face.
the big upside of the mask is the small profile the visor really rides low for all of those nice snap shots a paintball player needs. The mask has nice comfortable foam inside the mask to keep you wearing for a long time. my favorite thing about it is that the lens is interchangable with my proteus 2 lens which I use a smoked lens which protects my ears during long scenario games that can last upto 24 hours.
Conclusion: Buy buy buy, but make shure you stretch out the mask before playing for a long day becuase after awahile it will hurt and be uncorfortable.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wrathltd Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proflex
Marker Setup: Wrath ltd, Egg, Crossfire 92ci 4500psi, empire cover.
Strengths: Light, COMFORTABLE, good cover and looks sick.
Weaknesses: Not very flexy.
Review: This is the most comfortable mask ever! The look is sweet. It breathes good. Has a removeable visor. And a chinstrap. It also has a nice shape and size. I gives good cover and is customizable. Made by JT. And can be bought at a pretty decent price. It can bea cleaned easaly and has a wide range of lenses to put on it. it also comes with a mask bag. All around great mask. Buy one if you need a new mask.
Conclusion: Nice Product
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoeliusCeasar Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Pro Flex
Proto el switch
32 degrees mask
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion modified to feed from bottom of the gun. (-:
Qloader
CP Reg
Qev
Empire barrel kit
Hand customized single finger trigger with single trigger guard
Apex Barrel (haven't used it yet)
JT Pro Flex 7
Strengths: Comfort
Looks
Lens but that gets countered
Weaknesses: No Breathability.
Hard for people to hear you.
No bounce offs.
Little Fogging.
Review: The mask seemed great at first except in the pictures it looked like it had good bounce off and it didn't have any. The mask had no breathability so every time it was cold out it would fog between each breath although it would go away before the next breath. It dose however have a great profile and looks cool, but that doesn't help the performance much.
Conclusion: I wouldn't buy it; I now own a JT Pro Flex 7. but the invision isn't too bad either if you don't mind the way it magnifies in the middle of the lens. Also it's pretty expensiveso you can get a better mask cheaper.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 13th, 2007 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vurk Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Armor - better IMO
Marker Setup: Ion... but thats irrelevant
Strengths: It looks pretty damn cool
Good clear view
Weaknesses: It doesnt do what a mask should
Review: Ok well I'll tell you up front I like this mask. It looks tight in white, and its very, VERY clear lense.


It just doesn't do what a mask is supposed to do. It doesn't cover the ears.

On my second time playing with this mask (SECOND TIME!) I was making a dash for a bunker about 10ft away. Only problem was, I got shot. In the ear lobe. (granted i was shot from 10-15ft away) Not a SINGLE IOTA of paint on the outside of the mask. It was, however, all in my ear and on the inside of the mask. Trust me, it hurts like a.. well I guess you can imagine. Or you will know if you're unlucky as hell. Needless to say, I've been bunkered several times, gotten shot right between the should blades where your spine stick out POINT BLANK, and that pain was nothing compared to this. I was seriously considering going to the hospital after I saw red mixed in with orange and green on the q-tip. (red blood + orange paint + green shell). You will probably not want to play the rest of the day. (i didnt, and thank God i was at a friends house so i could go wash it out in the sink).




Conclusion: Well all in all I'd say if you're not the unlucky type, go ahead and get it. Its $50ish from actionvillage.com, and its pretty sleek looking. Just please, PLEASE consider your ears as targets and make sure not to move laterally across the field.

I'd give it lower because of the ear problem, but everything else is sweet.


... maybe thats why 'pros' always run with their hands up....
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media