paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Behold! The 2005 JT Spectra Flex-8™, the latest evolutionary step in the JT Flex family. This all-new goggle system uses the most widely used goggle and lens combination in the industry (290 degree Spectra 2). The revolutionary exoskeleton frame is created using JT's exclusive state of the art "Dual-Fusion" technology, which allows the system to be structurally efficient while maintaining the softness, flexibility and ventilation winning players demand.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
ricky_ref Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
profilers, the dye masks. both of them.
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Ear lobe hangs out
Review: Um i bought this thing like about a while back but yeah. you get the point. this thing is freaking awesome. the mask is so comfortable. you can see everything on the field no matter if your looking in the wrong direction. somehow you can still see with the side of your eye. i cut the top off of mine cause i thought it looked retarted cause there is like a peice of mask that sticks up about an ince where your forehead would be so i made it look like the flex 7s a little bit. the visor works perfectly fine. nothing wrong with that. it is really easy to breath in and it is so easy to talk out of also. the whole team can hear me and i play the back. when i had my profilers it was muffled but now it is super easy to talk. the only problem that i had with it is, that it is labled flex 8 and they really dont flex. it is more like the profiler but way more tucked in. really easy to play in and the lense that it comes in is really antifog proof. like no way in hell is there goin to be fog. super good looking
Conclusion: Buy them!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

S/C Splinter Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT X-Fire (Elite lense)
Proto Switch (version1)
Marker Setup: KP2SC Pistol Stock
CCI VSC45 Phantom
PGP2k's
Tib8
Strengths: 260* lense (sold everywhere)
Comfortable frame & foam
Low profile top, ears & chin
Accepts JT fans
Weaknesses: Poor quality strap
Lacks the Flex in "Flex8"
Lense change (its love/hate)
Review: I used a rental mask one time...one time and only one time.

From the start I knew I needed a good mask, but like many people I went a little cheep. I started with a JT X-Fire and thought it was pretty nice. The fit was there but the lense change was a pain in the butt. After 3 years of woodsball, speedball, leagues & 6 replacement lenses I decided to step up to the 21st century...So I thought.
I cursed that Proto from day one!!
The only thing I liked about it was the quick change lense.
I used that proto switch for 2 years, never changing the lense since I hated the fit. Time to toss this junk and start over.

The JT Flex8
After ditching JT over 2 years ago I wanted back in, this time I wanted to do it right. I decided on the Flex8 and was very happy with the fit. On my old proto I had to cut foam to keep it from pinching my nose, cut the mouth guard to be able to play tight & pin my strap to keep it tight... The JT fixed the first two problems right out of the box.

Fit: For my face nothing fits better then JT, Just enough foam in just the right spots.
The strap left a lot to be desired, and when compared to my old X-Fire strap felt very thin.
I decided to add my old strap to the mask, I will never go back to a single strap again!
Two straps give more contact area with less pressure, the ultimate in custom fit.

Weight: By far the lightest mask I have ever worn, night and day differance to the proto. Less weight means a better fit (no pressure points) Less slip (I wear glasses) & the kind of comfort that makes me feel like I am wearing ski goggles.

Vision: 260* lense is likened to the proto switch, great vision with glasses. JT thermal lenses work well as long as you use Plexus to clean them & high quality anti fog treatment to keep them fresh. Swapping lenses is a job for the experienced, in a controlled enviorment, with time to do it right. Also since JT lenses are avaliable at many sports stores, hunting stores & pro shops (unlike proto) I know that I can pick up new lenses quickly.

Lowers: There is not really any "flex", at least not yet. Hopefully in time it will break in and soften up a little. The grill consists of a soft base with little "mini blind" shaped vents made out of a stiffer material. Unlike my old X-Fire I can not roll up the grill.


[EDIT 6/12/07]
It has been close to a year and I have found issues with my JT.
I have had to cut out some of the venting to increase breathing, while I do not reccomend it to anyone it has helped. (I mostly play pump games so overshooting is not a worrie for me) The comfort is still there, but I find myself having to bring a 2nd mask to every game I attend. Because of the time and supplies needed to properly remove and clean the lense (I always seem to get paint on the inside) I end up switching to my Proto 1/2 way through the day. I recently picked up a Vents Grilz and so far I am happy with the fit. I plan to have a 2nd strap sewn onto the 1st to mimic the JT feel.




Conclusion: Always try on masks before you buy if you can.
For me JT trumps everything in the fit department & allows for the double strap mod.
Good looks, good fit, great vision, featherweight, avaliable fan (glasses users) & easy access to replacemant lenses all add up to a mask that I would reccomend highly.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 12th, 2007 at 10:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

roffinwaffle Thursday, August 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Hmm ohh yea my friends v force but i dont like it as much.
Marker Setup: CCM phantom with vertical air and 4 Oz CO2 tank.
Strengths: comfortable.
No fog what so ever.
Protects very well.
Looks pretty damn good.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Overall this mask is probably the only mask ill ever own.
I know it has been said that a little of the earlobe shows, well the mask is very small so it can be a hit or miss, but it fits fine on my head. this is the most comfortable mask i have ever put on ohh yea also the field of vision is just as big as the v force profiler.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask for anyone on a tight budget and looking for a new mask it just that good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thunnderstrukk Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proflex 7
Marker Setup: Clear PM6 CP trigger. halo b w/ vic and rip 45/45 16 inch UL
Strengths: Strong. Comfortable. Good visability
Weaknesses: Kind of heavy.
Review: I have used these goggles and Proflex 7's for a really long time and i actually take these over the proflex 7 just because they feel more sturdy. they are however just a little bit heavier. overall they are a really good goggle. they are lighter than invisions and smaller. thier frontal profile is nice and small and they look sick from the side. so all in all they are a pretty good deal.
Conclusion: I would suggest these, however i think Events might be better. but these are more affordable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Greg-Suchy Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT-Elite
Marker Setup: Tip. A-5 Electro grip
SP Progressive 14"
SP Tactical 20"
Strengths: comfortable
does not fog
camo version
Small but protects face well
Price
Weaknesses: Nothing
Smell of plastic?
Review: The frame is made of some (great) plastic. Really small mask but protectin very well.
If you are scenario player get the camo version, you will love it.
Comparing to other masks I used to wear Flex8 has the best rating.
Also the price is to accept.Especially I suggest to buy a camo version. Really helps!!!
Conclusion: What can I say. JT has a good record of producing great masks.
This one is just perfect for me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

henrikryhle Friday, June 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
most thermal jt´s and vforce goggles
Marker Setup: Spyder rodeo
14" sweetspot
ACS bolt
pretty pink stickers
Strengths: Comfortable, good field of vision, no fog, upgradable lenses
Weaknesses: Unless you have a really big head nothing
Review: Have used this goggle countless hours since i bought it and they havent let me down once. Haven´t been able to fog them yet, played in rain and sunshine but nothing.. Can´t really find any bad sides to them. Very comfortable with good ventilation. You wont regret buying them unless your head is sized above average. It has a cool agressive jawline that looks really mean..
Conclusion: Really like these goggles cause they havent caused me any trouble and havent fogged, being really comfortable im glad I bought these. Giving them a 9 because things can always get better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

c*larn Saturday, May 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT proflex
Marker Setup: Doesn't matter when asking about a mask.
Strengths: Ventilation, comforatable, safe, cheap
Weaknesses: They're aren't any really.
Review: Alright this is a good mask. Hard as hell to clean the grill but an all around good mask. This has to be the best sixty dollars I have ever spent. Everyone can hear you when you're yelling. Miami Rage is using this mask as we speak. You know it's a good mask when a pro team uses it.
Conclusion: All around good price. Good bang for the buck.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

graham802 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only rentals (ew)
Marker Setup: Dragun TES (soon getting comp air)
Strengths: COMFY!!!! OMG!!!!
U can see great!!
Weaknesses: U have to buy "special" JT cleaner (as u have to with all thermal masks)
Review: First off, my friends envy me to no end because i got the last one of these in the store (go bastions woot). My friend got the sheild mask and upgraded the lens for 25$ canadian, and i got these for 95$ canadian. I tried his on, and I immideatly tore them off, i was so used to the SUPREME confort and visibility of the Flex 8, i couldnt even wear his! I went out to the field, and about once or twice a game, i would tap my head to make sure my goggles were on, they are THAT VISIBLE AND COMFY!! They have ventilation to keep them nice and cool on your face, and overall they kick ASS!!
Conclusion: Go but these goggles, worth every penny
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 21st, 2006 at 12:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

STEALTHYTHREAT Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
- VForce Armour - Good entry level (Not comparable)
- JT N-Vader - Not as good as VForce (Not Comparable)
Marker Setup: - 98 Custom
- Cyclone Feed
- Rocket Cock ll
- 12" JJ Ceramic Barrell
- Polished Internals
Strengths: - Low Profile
- Easy Bounces
- Low Fogging
- Extremely Comfortable
- Looks Excellent
Weaknesses: - Exposes a little of the ear lobe
- Difficult to clean
Review: Comfort: 10 - This mask is extremely comfortable. It fits your face like a glove, and doesn't bounce around.

Fogging: 8 - I won't lie this mask will fog up on occasion. When it does, however, it really isn't a big deal though, because once you slow down your breathing, you can literally see the fog dissappear.

Protection: 8 - It does expose a little of your ear lobe, however it does not put you in any physical danger. It offers very good neck protection as well.

Bounce: 9 - If you are shot on the visor or the sides paintballs will bounce off. The only places they will break are the indented front part, and the lenses. This mask is also very low-profile and is very hard to land a good shot on.

Looks: 10 - In my opinion this mask looks really nice.

Conclusion: Overall, this is a great product. If you are willing to pay around $70 for a mask, you will definately get your money's worth.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 13th, 2006 at 2:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tenacious.sol Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
flex 7 or jt x-fire or whatever
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Black Heart board
Teardrop barrel
72/3000 tank (its huge...shouldve gotten 68/45)
evlution II egg w/ z-board
Strengths: -looks are awesome
-very comfortable
-lens easier to change than ordinary JT goggles
-somewhat flexible
Weaknesses: Kind of hurts your ears...break the mask in
Review: First impression: I got this mask because in my opinion JT is one of the best mask companies out there...my first mask was a JT too so I guess I'm stuck with them for a while
This mask looks nice and it has a nice small profile

Vision: Great vision...when playing speedball I didn't feel like I was losing a small spot in my line of vision

Lens- these do not fog. I actually went around playing with zero fog so I was very happy with these goggles. Changing the lens are somewhat a hassle with JTs, but the lens removal part is flexible...better than the stiff plastic I've delt with before. Its kind of hard to remove still, but you can do it

Inside the mask: The foam inside the mask was phenomenal. It is extremely comfortable when you put this on

semi-flexible protection- I liked this a lot because I can bend the mask with the gun at a certain degree, but unlike the proflexes or flex 7s these probably won't get you bounces. personally, I don't care because I hate getting hit by paintballs in the face because the rubber can't stop the paintballs fully. I got shot two times around the lower part and it provides good protection. If you want bounces and a bit more annoying pain get the proflexes. Protection is a plus in my book

chin straps- wth are these for? seriously these are pointless because if your mask slides down your face the chin straps dont do anything. BUT...this mask has no problem ..its so secure on your face its great

Conclusion: There are always better masks out there for more money...but why not get these
Buy this if you want solid protection with a somewhat flexible design...if you're those people that hate those bounces that hit the rubber and go to your face; this is perfect

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media