paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Shocktech Shocker / Shocktech Shocker / Shocktech Shocker / Shocktech Shocker

Shocktech Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Shocktech

Buy Shocktech Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Shocktech Shocker
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
Ultra Slick, Light Weight Body Milling
Shocktech “Lower than all others” Feed Neck
Shocktech On/Off Bottom Line
Shocktech Drop Forward #1
Your choice of Dye or Smart Parts Barrel
Your choice of over 25 Color Combinations
Product Availability 
The Shocktech Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
IONized_baller' Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ION not as good
tipppmann can't compare to this gun
Marker Setup: yellow sp ION
egg III
3000 psi pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt
new board
new reg
Strengths: Nice milling
Fast
Easy to "walk" trigger
Lots
Weaknesses: Not much
Review: This gun ROCKS!!! I got it used with lots of upgrades for $400.00. This gun is fast. the trigger is easy to "walk". the milling is pretty sweet to. There is lots of color choices as well. Mine came in red with black parts. I used Severe tempest paint that i have had since October. I did get the odd chop but that was because of the age of the paint and They were just sitting around so they were not the best quality of paint but good enough. The accuracy was ok but again from the paintballs. I think if the balls were newer the gun would be more accurate. I did get balls dropping around 500 psi. On high pressure air, 47 cubic inches 3000 psi. My shocker color is wearing out but i got it used so it is a couple of years old and most likely been though tournaments. A new bolt will make it more efficient on air. A new board will make it faster. overall this gun is great.
Conclusion: I would get this gun if you are a "real" speedballer that likes fast guns. This gun is GREAT. I gave a ION a 9/10 so I'm giving this gun a 10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freak .689 Monday, July 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything High End, accept, etek ego
Marker Setup: Lime Green Annoed 03 Nasty Impulse, lpr, Was
45/45 pure energy,
Halo B
Redz 3+4
Dye Invision
Jt Pants
dye, jt,pj pants

Shocktech Shocker w/predator board
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, unless You want a new board
Strengths: extremely Lightwieght
Very Fast
Reliable
Smart Parts
Accurate
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Matinence
Review: Very good gun, and it's lighter than the stock shocker and looks way better in my own opinion. Also very fast with a predator Board and very good trigger. Shocktech did a very good job on this gun. Now for all of you who have heard of shockers having problems and are too much trouble I say F&%k that. Shockers require matnience and alot of it. They really need to be cleaned after each use in order for them to work properly. Alot of people say they suck, but they just don't know how to work on them. Take care of them and they will work fine. Oil the bolt, O-rings, and clean the breech and they are awsome.
Conclusion: Excellent gun, go buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

009 Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS GX-E
Marker Setup: Shocktech Shocker, Freak barrel, Dye ultralite barrel, 68/4500 Dye Throttle, Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart Parts Turbocharger Bolt (only H.E. bolt that will work with the body milling), new board, and maybe a new trigger.
Strengths: Accurate, light, looks, dependable, consistent, easy to maintain, lots of ups.
Weaknesses: Price, no HE bolt for what you pay for a gun.
Review: I love this gun, if you can spend the money on it, it's definitely worth having! It comes with everything you could want in a Shocker except for the HE bolt, so if you pick one up, and efficiency is important to you, you will have to get a Smart Parts turbo-charger bolt. It's the only HE bolt on the market that will work with the Shocktech's amazing body milling. Minus an HE bolt, and the cost of the gun are the guns only downsides in my opinion.

Now for the good stuff...
- The guns milling is sick, intimidating, and eye catching (especially with the color accents)
- The gun is also extremely light, and with a fully loaded hopper and a tank, it's also very well balanced and comfy in your hands.
- This Shocker is also very consistent at the Chrono, even without the HE bolt.
- The Shocktech Shocker is also very dependable, I have not had a single time out playing that I have had a problem with it. I won't lie though, I have had some breaks, but they were all barrel breaks, and after a few minor adjustments with the dwell on the board all was well.
- Another plus is that the Shocktech Shocker is very easily maintained. Really all you have to do a regular basis after playing is remove the bolt assembly and grease it, you may have to pull the solenoid from time to time to grease that as well, but all in all it's very easy work compared to other guns.
-The gun also comes with all kinds of nice ups like a locking feed neck, your choice of a Shocktech (CP) reg or a Maxflo reg, your choice of either a Dye Ultralite or Smart Parts Freak barrel, Shocktech #1 drop, and a Shocktech on/off

Conclusion: All in all, the gun's upsides definately out-weigh its downsides. You get what you pay for, and at the end of the day, when the field is empty, you will be glad you had one of these babies in your hands all day.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CAOL_98 Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-WGP '05 Karnivor w/ E2
-Custom 'cocker w/E2
-WGP '05 Black Magic
-ANS '05 GXE
Marker Setup: Stock '05 Red to Black Fade Black Magic

Stock Titanium '05 Karnivor w/E2

Frankensteined Autococker #1:
-2004 Yellow to Orange Fade Kapp Reflex Body Kit
-Kapp Front Block
-Kapp Rhino LPR
-Shocktech Ram
-Eclipse QEV's
-Eclipse E2 Eblade
-Worr Games Black Magic Reg
-Custom Products Flame Drop
-Phat On/Off Bottomline ASA
-Worr Games Locking Feedneck
-Kapp Delrin Ball Detent
-Eclipse Dart Bolt
-Shocktech Rat Valve

Frankensteined Autococker #2
-98' Flat Black Stock Worr Games Body
-Stock Front Pnuematics (HUGE!!!)
-Orracle Tickler 3-Way
-Dye Swing Trigger
-Bud Orr Expansion Chamber
-Dye Locking Bolt/Back Block
-Stock Internals
-Dye Beavertail
Recommended
Upgrades:
-15 degree ASA (Hybrid, ??? depends on personal preferences)
- High Effeciency bolt
- Different board (Virtue, ??? also depends on personal preferences)
Strengths: -FAST!!!
-Light!!!
-Accurate!!!
-Absolutly beautiful in every way!
Weaknesses: -Anodizing fades over time
-Uhhh...at a loss for words here...
Review: Wow!
It's not every day that you get to shoot a dream gun!
I'm a 'cocker fanatic, but my first choice if I was ever to shoot another gun, would be a shocker...and shocktech has done one bang up job with this gun! Smart parts baby is turned into a greek goddess, that is as deadly as her looks!
My first impression upon seeing the gun in person, was of total admiration for my friends new purchase! It looks even better then any pictures ever could portray it. The milling is so amazing! Like the Karnivor's milling, shocktech has added plenty of pizzaz and styling to it's custom vision of what a shocker should look like. The gun looks like it wraps around it's components (frame, feedneck, barrel.) The only shocker in my opinion that even comes close to this, is Hybrids Traitor (although Ton Ton's are works of art as well.) The look is fantastic!
As for equipment, this gun comes packing! Your choice of sp freak barrel, or dye ultralite (my friends was purchased off of ebay, and his seller made it a point to include both), both of which accent the gun perfectly! Then there's the cp reg (well shocktech, but if I'm not mistaken, it looks EXACTLY like a cp), which is top of the line. A very nice, easy to use, and very efficient clamping feedneck (held is empire on nice and tight!) Sleek macro-line setup...and a wonderful little shocktech bottomline on/off ASA! As for the internals I'm assuming they're the same high quality parts smart parts includes in every one of their shockers, although a H.E. bolt would be a great (and effective) upgrade...I also love the trigger! It was so light, and had a nice, short pull...As for operating the gun, everything works well with a few simple button presses...I was amazed at how easily tweaking your settings is, by flipping a few internal switches (located inside the grip frame) and using your trigger, and on/off buttons to access countless options. The board operating in the gun is a Virtue board, but I'm assuming the Nerve Board included is very similar. My only wish is that shocktech would include the option for the buyer to have a 15 degree asa on board. I love the feel, and the look! The asa on board is nice, but like I said, I prefer 15 degrees. So a hybrid, or other manufaturer 15 degree might be a future purchase (if you share the love for them as I do.) Other then that, everythings pretty much included that you might think about upgrading already.
Now for the shooting test...For my test run we were operating with the PSP setting. After getting setup (putting on a tank, loader, and filling up with paintballs) we were ready to start shooting. I took aim, and walking my trigger, I piled paintball upon paintball into my target! This thing shot like a dream! I haven't been this amazed since I tested out my Karnivor! The feelings that come from a flawless test run with a electronic supergun is beyond words! I guess there were a couple of barrel breaks, but this gun just kept on laying paintball upon paintball despite! I love my 'cockers, but like I said before, these are the next best thing in my book! Needless to say, after my fun with the Shocktech Shocker, my next big paintball purchase, might entail adding one of these beauties to my collection!
Conclusion: If you're looking for a shocker that just looks amazing (and you crave some originality above a stock shocker) and performs like a dream, then this gun is for you! The more I get into paintball, the more amazed I am with some of the products that companies put out...and as far as I'm concerned, Shocktech's Shocker is absolutly prisitine any which way you look at it! Pick one up, and enjoy...because everytime you hit the field with this gun, you'll be happy you did!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 29th, 2006 at 12:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JD90 Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Joy Division G7, Cp Barrel, Halo with victory, WDP Air. ALL STOCK
Recommended
Upgrades:
Since it is a Shocktech, none.
Strengths: Ridiculously Accurate
High Range
Lite
Quiet
Low Profile
Weaknesses: Kicks, just a little bit.
Air efficiency
Review: I was considering buying a shocker as a back up, I wanted to see how accurate they were. My friend has a clear anno Shocktech shocker with freak. Cutting to the chase, I loaded my Halo with RPS Premium. My target was a cone, about 100 to 120 feet away. I turned the gun on and started to shoot. 9 of 10 shots hit the cone dead on. The gun was in ramp so I was able to see its limits.It was super fast, although it kicked a little bit, the accuracy was tremendous, I had the gun level and it was hitting the cone from that far away, I was amazed. Definitely good for any type of play.
Conclusion: I would definatley recommend this product, although expensive, worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Names Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
My first gun was a KAPP Reflex E-Bladed. Great gun but it started having problems so i decided it was time for an upgrade. The Reflex sucked compared to the Shocker.
Marker Setup: Shocktech Shocker (Silver Black Inserts)
Dye Ultralite
MaxFlo Reg
Halo B w/Rip drive
68/4500 LP CF
Virtue Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board if you have the money (not needed but if you play xball or PSP style it has programmed settings)
NEW BOLT!! i have used the HE Bolt from a friend but am currently seeing if ORANGE paintball is going to be making a bolt soon.
Strengths: VERY FAST
Accurate
Light
Few to No problems
Weaknesses: Takes about 5 cases to break in reg.
oil the gun ALOT
Price of gun
Review: My starting gun was a KAPP Reflex E-Bladed but after a while it began to have problems and just didn't seem to be responsive enough. I wanted a faster gun and had my eye on a Timmy or a Shocker. I decided that since half my team has Timmy's that i would get something new. I wanted to get the Black w/ Red insert gun but i needed a gun before my tourney which was the upcoming weekend. The silver w/ black was all they head so i got it next day air. It worked wonders. Everyone was amazed at the guns power. The only gun that gave my gun a run for its money were a few new timmys and a Dynasty Shocker. I did some research and found Shocktech. I liked their policy of upgrading your shocker FOR FREE if it is a shocker only upgrade. This sounded good to me and the warranty was great. I had seen videos of how fast this gun was and the best player at my local field fired the same setup. After working all summer to get the money i finally purchased the gun. The gun cost me 1300. I then started looking for upgrades and the first thing that caught my eye was a new board. I bought the Virtue board which is tourney legal for NPPL (my team is entering in '06). I also liked the preset PSP and XBALL settings. The gun took a while to break in so i had to constantly adjust the reg. However, after about my 6th case of paint the gun was set. I haven't had to make any changes to the gun since then except for the occasional battery change. The most tedious part of having a shocker is that you have to clean and oil it very well to keep the gun up and working at its best. I love the trigger on the gun as well. Its very sensitive but is amazingly responsive. My friend on the other hand hates it. I guess its personal preference. This gun shoots VERY fast and a lot of people at the field will be turning heads to see you shoot. Every time i go the refs ask to play with my gun because they love the speed. The accuracy is very good. If you fire at a target 95% of the balls will hit within a 6 inch radius of the first shot. The biggest problem with the gun is that it guzzles air and you have to refill every 4 pods (if your lucky). Another problem is that you have to spend more money on paint because 1 box goes by much faster. the gun is very light however a full Halo really adds on a lot of weight. I would recommend this gun to anyone who is experienced and can play well with a fast gun. This does not means someone who sees something and fires a whole hopper just hoping that one ball will hit. This means someone that can find a target and fire a couple of shots KNOWING one will hit. If you can do this then this gun will only improve your performance on the field.
Conclusion: If you are just starting don't get this gun. I recommend buying something cheaper and working your way up to a better gun. This gun is great for those advanced players that know how to find a target and light up players. Even better for those back players (the lines of paint DO NOT stop)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rdoll Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Black and Red 05 Shocktech Shocker with Evil LPR
Total Freak System
Halo B w/ Rip
PBN2 68ci 45K
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR- Keeps your soleniod from goin to hell
Bolt- To get better efficiency
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Consistant
Looks Awesome
Intimidating to other players
Small
Light weight
Weaknesses: Bad Air efficiency
Review: It is an awsome gun that is perfect for competition. I had purchased and installed the LPR because one thing that will cost ya the most to repair would be a soleniod and the LPR keeps it safe. The LPR also keeps your kick down and increases air efficency. The clamping feed neck is an awesome standard feature along with the new trigger frame and nerve board that comes with it from the factory.
Conclusion: My final verdict is if you are lookin for a shocker don't buy a standard shocker go with a private label like the shocktech. It will be more solid and better all around. They are built to last and built to out perform. Shocktech really did good with this one. I recommend this gun to anyone lookin for a private label shocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jramos Wednesday, May 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM5
Smart Parts ION
Marker Setup: 2005 Shocktech Shocker
Empire Reloader B
68/4500 PMI Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart Parts HE Bolt
New Designz Air Manifold
Strengths: This marker is fast out of the box, even with the ramping chip off.
Weaknesses: Standard bolt is not efficient. Standard manifold is not efficient. A lot of FSDO.
Review: Okay, right out of the box, this thing rocks. The milling is fantastic. There is more room in the trigger guard versus the 2004 model. This is a major plus for us guys with large fingers.

After dry firing this thing, I just had to get out to a field and play. After playing tor a day I came to the conclusion that the standard bolt is not gas efficient (yes, I know, everyone knows that). You really need to either pick up the Smart Parts HE Bolt or the New Designz model. You will not regret it. Also if FSDO annoys the hell out of you (like it does me), then I recommend the New Designz Air Manifold.

After having both the new HE bolt and the manifold installed, I was able to get more games in on my 68/4500 tank than without. I would say about 225 to 250 more shots.

I saw huge difference in performance.

Accuracy is fantastic. One balling people has never been more fun.

Also, I have put about 20 cases through it and not a chopped ball yet (knock on wood).

Also, with any new marker, you will need to break it in. I experienced some bolt sticking in my first few games. The more you play, the better the marker will fire in time.

Just keep your marker cleaned and lubed and this thing will not let you down when you play on the field.
Conclusion: If you can afford the price, I totally recommend the Shocktech Shocker. This thing is light, fast, and accurate.

I give it a 9 because I still had to buy the HE Bolt and Air Manifold. If this was standard then I would give it a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sopel10 Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
evil pimp
evli omen
ion
angel speed
Marker Setup: max flo air system with 68/4500
halo b
freak with .689 insert
Recommended
Upgrades:
more inserts
more efficient bolt
Strengths: Very light
Accurate
Small
Very nice miling
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Review: I got my new shocktech shocker about 2 weeks ago and i got a max flo air system with 68/4500 bottle. I did some dry shooting at my house and than i went to the field on sunday. I took it to chrono to adjust the speed. First couple shoots were above 300. I adjusted it a little bit and i got 293,290,289,290 - very consistent. I was amazed since i've shoot this gun just few times - maybe because i got 2 regs. Accuracy wasn't that gun but i had old paint + gun wasn't really broken in. Well after that i went on playing some speedball. It was all good till it chopped a ball. Im still not sure where it got chopped ( in the firing chamber or barrel) . After that i turned the eyes off to clean it so i could continue the game but there was no way. it kept chopping. i had to put probably about 100 paintballs to have it shoot again and it was still very bad since the balls were flying everywhere but not on the target. after the game i cleaned the barrel and it was fine - till the next game when it chopped again. This time it wasn't that bad but i chopped a ball almost every game. I was very disappointed but like i said i was shooting old paintballs - evil and premium. It seemed like it was only chopping premiums. Next time i'll try to use evil only and see what happens. I will also get different inserts to see if it works better with different sizes. Beside that i had no problems. When there was no chops it worked great. I don't think i ever used two fingers to shoot because i had the ramping on. Another bad thing was efficiency. That's not a big problem but it seems like every game i was close to run out of air. Well it's 2 games really because in badlandz you switch sides so you play 2 games. I would use the hopper and 4 pods and my 68/4500 was empty. My next upgrade will be more efficient bolt for sure. I will use it next weekend and i will post a update.
If you want to see a pic of my shocker it's number 4 in the gallery on top of the page - black with blue.
Conclusion: Very nice gun with few minor problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 21st, 2005 at 11:08 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

trigger killer Thursday, March 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all shockers most angels and a few intimidators
Marker Setup: i change every year or so
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger the stock one is a roller bearing i love them but its your choice the essentials (hopper/barrel/tank lp)
new air effency bolt
Strengths: Very fast
Very light
Very small
Dead on accuracy
Weaknesses: Check the body (damen web page)
Review: this is a amazing marker


-the streams of paint that go flying out of this marker is just crazy
-i don't realy like the acces areas because you need to take out the entire internals when they get dirty to clean them and even then it takes a wile its really my fault because i love the attention from all the other players (even people with Timi's and angels aww at this gun) and it needs to be clean because it looks beater that way
-you need to take of the ramping board in tourneys its taken so seriously and needs to be


here are the rest of the strengths because i coulded fit them all in the box (sorry)

Very fast
Very light
Very small
Well balanced
Very comfortable in my hands
Amazing milling
No kick
Easy pull
Dead on accuracy
Nerve board

here are the rest of the weaknesses because i coulded fit them all in the box (sorry)

Nerve board
Bad if u don't like your marker small
Air efficiency!!!
Shock tech really only changed the milling,added a few acces areas and changed the Stock trigger and made it available in 20+ colors

Conclusion: amazing gun i was being VERY picky about the BAD detals this marker is in my top ten list thats amazing!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 10th, 2005 at 7:06 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media