paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs / X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs / X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs

X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount X.O. Industries

Buy X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hot Box is X.O. Industries introductory/practice grade paint. Excellent shell, good, bright fill, at a decent price.

Hot Box comes in both single and two-tone shell colors and many different fill colors.
Product Availability 
The X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Kung_fu_hippe Thursday, August 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Whitebox- Just no.....
X-ball bronze- better, but $$
Marker Setup: Ion, FBM trigger, CP reg, Halo B.
Recommended
Barrels:
Small bored.
Strengths: CHEAP
Don't break in the gun
Few dimples
Most are round
Weaknesses: Some (albiet few) oval balls
Hard shell
Review: Well, being a canuck, paint prices freaking suck. So I am jammed with using the cheap stuff.

I got myself a case of hotbox, I was resonably impressed. They were fairly consistent, 1 in a hundred were a little wierd though, It shot fairly straight.

My beef with it though is the hard shell, you could skim your oponents arm or something and it would likely bounce off. It'll break on a direct hit though.

Conclusion: Well, when you don't have 65$ to spend on menace, this stuff does the job.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfig4 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The only thing Ive used that compares to this paint is X.O white Box
Marker Setup: Red SP ION
48/3000 PSI PMI TANK
Contract Killer Grips
Evo 2
Lapco Feedneck :(
Strengths: CHEAP
decent fill thickness
allways round
accurate
Weaknesses: The shell is EXTREMELY THICK
Bounces OFF BUNKERS from 5+FEET!!!!!!!
Review: I have used this paint for about 8 months now, tons of cases. This is standard field paint and it is very cheap. I think everything about this paintball is quite average except for one thing. IT IS VERY HARD TO BREAK! On various occasions I stood about 8 feet away from any bunker and shot at it. the paint broke about 2/10 shots. This is the only problem I can find with this paint so... its you're choice. Also it doesn't normally break on people.

Update:Wednesday/Jan/17/07

Hotbox is starting to come im much better batches. Because of this I am going to give it a six. There are mostly batches that I was talking about but there are some really good ones too.

Conclusion: Becuase this is decent paint i would have to give it an 6 or 7 but becuase of its shell problem I will have to give it a 5.

Update:: 6
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 at 4:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cole45 Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Monster Ball
Marker Setup: Angel force fly
halo b
lucky 15 barrel kit
Empire fuel
Recommended
Barrels:
Small bore size.
Strengths: Never breaks in the gun.
Weaknesses: Never breaks on the person.
Review: My local field sells this stuff but that is the only reason i shoot it. This stuff is always in bad shape and is never round. But it was pretty funny because i work at cape cod paintball where the pros practiced for gillette and i saw them all walking by screaming this Sh*t sucks and throwing cases of it away, joy didnt like it the first day they came to practice so the next the brang some draxxus because joy was losing to the bushwackers because of it
Anyway i practice with this stuff and it is so bad that we have to do the 3 bounce rule. If you count three bounces on your boddy just get out.
Conclusion: All in all this isnt good paint and you even heard it from the pros.

disformed, and it never breaks! ever!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icdbko32 Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
v1-better in that it doesn't have very many problems with it unlike hotbox but bounces alot like hotbox
menace-so much better, never has problems and always breaks, and is very accurate
x-ball bronze-much better has .689 size and hardly has very many problems with them besides some dimples time to time
whitebox- well depending on what whitebox or seconds you get hotbox is much better but so is any other paint almost.
chronic-much better, breaks good and accurate
Marker Setup: -Russian legion intimidator
-68 ci 4500 psi crossfire n2 tank
-Dye Ultralite back with Stiffi front
-profiler goggles
-z-boarded evolution 2
Recommended
Barrels:
any kit that has smaller sizes such as .685 and smaller
Strengths: -Bright fill
-Shoots good when fresh
-Small seams
Weaknesses: -Bounces alot
-Dimples sometimes
-Out of shape sometimes
-Thin fill
Review: This paint isn't to bad when fresh and its a good price but it has some flaws with it. First thing being bounces, i get bounces like mad when shot with this or v, v1 a lil less for bounces but there pretty bad, i'd seriously get a paint that breaks better such as menace or x-ball bronze. I'm a big guy and not a very good front player at all but my friends were sitting out for a game so i went as a walk on to one of the games and all the positions were taken so i went to run to the doritio at the 40. Well let me tell you, this was a mistake, i got hit around 10 times, no biggy right but i called myself cuz i figured that there was no way one didn't break, wrong again, not a single one broke on me and the guy that shot me was a mear 30 yards away from me.

Other then bounces its not to bad when fresh as theres not to many balls the have dimples or are out of shaped but some are. Also sometimes you'll get some random balls in the bags that are totally different colours then the rest of it. All in all its not a bad paint when fresh but when you leave it in the heat, thats another story. And yes i really most paint is like that but this more then others, alot more.

When my friend left his in the sun along with other people, that is when the problems started. The balls started to swell, get soft, break in hoppers, guns, and pods, and they started to dimple alot and stick together. All the people that bought them started to have problems even though they had jsut bought the paint 2 hours b4 that. Everybody ended up switching to v1 or menace and the problems stopped after that but it was a lesson learned and thats probably one of the reasons why, why so many people hate hotbox.
Conclusion: Some people may not like my review of this product but i speak from experience. I love xo's paint, its great paint for great prices just some of the lower end of its stuff isn't that great. Im not the only one to notice this, many others have to considering around where i live everybody uses xo because the factory is close. I really notice this stuff about paint myself because if its good paint it won't chop or barrel breaks but the second i get cruddy* paint, chop, chop. Good product for the price is fresh just remember to keep it cool. i give it an 8 when kept cool and fresh.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Justin_m Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything
Marker Setup: PM5
Recommended
Barrels:
custom made cause no production barrel has a small enough bore for this paint
Strengths: Absolutly nothing other then the fact that it cost next to nothing
Weaknesses: Doesnt break on people but it breaks in barrel
Crazy small
Thin fill
Dimples
Review: I am very dissapointed with this paint, I got a case for $30 which is pretty cheap but i wouldnt use it for anything more then practice paint. I took my evil pipe kit out to size the balls with a back. I started with the .695 and it was a crazy size difference so i tried the .683 (the smallest bore size of all 5 backs) and it rolled straight through. I tested 10 balls and 1 stuck in side for a good fit.... At this point I am already kinda dissapionted and I was even more dissapointed when i saw that every ball had a dimple when i was sizing them. I took them out and shot them, I shot my friend in the back 10 time from about 10-15 feet out when he had only a light sweater on at 280fps and you wana know how many broke? 3! 3 out of 10!!!! I was really pissed now cause this has been the worst paint I have ever shot in my life. If you want something comperable to another companies crappy whitebox paint then buy this. I would only recomend this paint if you wanted to practice on a budget but even that would be pushing it.

Conclusion: Dont buy this paint save your money
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sfig Thursday, April 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
similar field paintballs. Zap Chronic. Stingers
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
14" Progressive
Egg2
20oz C02 with On/Off
Recommended
Barrels:
Any Barrel
Strengths: CHEAP
decent fill thickness
allways round
accurate
Weaknesses: The shell is EXTREMELY THICK
Bounces OFF BUNKERS from 8+FEET!!!!!!!
Review: I have used this paint for about 2 months now, about 8 cases. This is standerd field paint and it is very cheap. I think everything about this paintball is quite average except for one thing. IT IS VERY HARD TO BREAK! On various occasions i stood about 8 feet away from any bunker and shot at it. the paint broke about 2/10 shots. Now i know what youre thinking "this guy's paint isnt breaking cuase he owns a spyder" not true my friend who owns an ion has simmilar results to this. ICD markers, Cockers, Piranha's, and Tippmann's have the same result to. This is the ownly pronlem i can find with this paint so... its youre choice.
Conclusion: becuase this is decent paint i would have to give it an 8 but becuase of its shell problem I will have to give it a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 29th, 2006 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Neonlazer Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spectrum (X.O.) - Heaps better
XBall Bronze - Don't even joke, nowhere close to XBall quality
Field paints from all over - Its field paint, it can't stack up to anything
Marker Setup: DYE DM6 stock
Crossfire 68/45 LP
Halo B
Recommended
Barrels:
One specifically designed for it?
Strengths: Put my friend in alot of pain+2
Flew alright+1
Cheap+1
(bad case)
Weaknesses: With the case I shot? Too many
Can be used as Reballs (Strength?)
Review: As stated above, I MUST have gotten a really bad case. They were like shooting marbles, or rocks. They flew pretty well, accuracy wasn't the best, but it wasnt horrible. At first look they were good, shells were nice and round, and no bag breaks. So I filled my HALO and my pods (freshly ran out of XBall). I took back left in this particular game, and was astounded at just how bad the paint was. I was firing crazy ropes at my friend straight ahead of me, and hitting every time. I started getting mad because he wasn't out. I figured he wiped a ton, because he's like that sometimes. I finally ripped a string of about 17, and they all made huge impact on him, but not a single broke! All he had on was a jersey, like me. I decided to get up close and personal, so I left my bunker, and flew up the snake, bunkering my other friend in the back on the way. I was about to dive behind a small brick, when my other friend popped out of back left again. I took 3 shots, each bounced, and he owned my face like crazy. REALLY bad experience with this paint. My friend was in pain for about 20 minutes after the 40+ shots I dropped on him.
Conclusion: From my experience, this was horrid, but I may buy another case again to see if it indeed was a bad case. With the strengths it had, I can't justifiably give it a 1.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 19th, 2006 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault, Eggy II, MEGA RT, remote, 72/3000
Recommended
Barrels:
As small bore as humanly possible.
Strengths: Ironically enough, it's decently accurate.
Weaknesses: Shell's too tough, WAY too small.
Review: > .679 OMG this paint is SMALL. No freak insert or barrel back is small enough for this. Luckily, my BT uses a simple detent that is very strong, so it's ok for me.But otherwise, this paint can and will roll out of cocker barrels no matter what. And boy is it hard shelled. I got hit several times just today reffing, none of them broke even at 20ft, and they left some hella-huge bruises, unlike the imesnsely superior Proball, or even spank for crying out loud. It's at least accurate somewhat.
Conclusion: Not good balls.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lordwago Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All kinds of paint by RPS,Zap,and ect.....
Marker Setup: 2003 Dark Ir3, Stock board,Blade trigger,CP drop W/Cp Asa,CenterFlag 68cu4500psi tank. Eggy 2 W/Z-Board, Stock barrel or DYE 2 piece Ultralite.
Recommended
Barrels:
I did not have any problems with my stock Infinity barrel or with my Dye 2 piece Ultralite barrel.
Strengths: Hard shell
Thick fill
Weaknesses: Too many bounces from the shell being too hard.
Review: Just wanted to try a case of the Hotbox.. I shot the whole case without any breaks in my marker. It take a lot to make these balls break especially when your playing on a Air ball field.I When I got popped a few time with this paint I was sure It broke... but to my surprise it didn't.
Conclusion: I think this is good paint for rec.ball for the price and quality.The shell color is not flashy by far..but I would like paint to break on contact when I shoot it at a bunker or a person. The only down fall is the thick shell..I would not use it in a tourny...but all and all I was pleased.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fujily Sunday, September 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hmm heats...Evil medevils....Spanks and many others
Marker Setup: WGP Comp Cocker with Vl Tri-pod...RED Trinity Drop and Empire 4 piece Barrel Kit

Spyder rodeo with 16" progressive barrel and 12v revy x-board
Recommended
Barrels:
empire kits or any kits for that matter
Strengths: Very inexpensive.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: well my local paint shop had them for 24.99 cnd and theres not many piant if any for that matter this this level of quality for that price. So i picked up 15 cases of this stuff and headed out to the field...Went through about 8 boxesthat day and i had 2 breaks...thats unheard of..
Conclusion: wicked paint go and pick a box near u..They're sorta hard to find though
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media