paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs / X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs / X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs

X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount X.O. Industries

Buy X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hot Box is X.O. Industries introductory/practice grade paint. Excellent shell, good, bright fill, at a decent price.

Hot Box comes in both single and two-tone shell colors and many different fill colors.
Product Availability 
The X.O. Industries Hot Box Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
aburling Thursday, September 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
evil, pmi stingers, white box
Marker Setup: piranha R6
12" jj ceramic
32* ex chamber
Strengths: Cool colors (barely a 'strength')
Weaknesses: Oval shaped, Imperfections
Review: I don't really play fields very often, so my buddies and i don't really buy tourny grade balls to go out and play in the woods. We picked up some hotbox balls to go and play some woodsball in my friend's backyard. We all have different guns and different barrels and i swear, every single one of us had a problem with these balls. They break, they go everywhere but where you want them to go, they are just plain aweful.
Conclusion: do not buy 'hotbox' balls. i was shooting 10 balls to hit the same target that would take 1 ball of a more expensive paint. I've learned my lesson, if you want to have a good game and actually hit what you aim at, DON'T BUY THESE BALLS!!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

4tene Sunday, June 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Rec Series.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Strengths: Hard shell, bright fill, good weight.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well, after using crappy Zap Rec Series, I found these puppies on sale at my local paintball storefront (Paintstorm) for only $45(Canadian). My buddy of course grabbed a box, because he's a junky, and LOVES shootin' his gun out back. Anyways, these things are much better then Zap's. Also alittle bit cheaper. The shell is harder, you can't gently squish and break them, and they rarely chop. The colour is bright pink... how can you miss a pink splat? And what better color to spray someone with? Humiliating. I love it. They're also much more accurate then Zaps. Now, I haven't used any 'Premium' series balls, so I'm sure in comparison, these aren't so great, but from the 3 or 4 brands I have used, my gun and I agree with these the most. I definately recommend these whether for gameplay, or to shoot around. They're affordable, so why not?
Conclusion: Great paint for the price! Get 'em.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

US_Ghost Friday, April 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo, Draxxus, JT, PMI, Zap, Kick'n - all seem to shoot about the same although I would prefer Draxxus over them all.
Marker Setup: 2003 custom milled Impulse, Adrenaline bolt and frame, Evil valve, AKA Sidewinder reg, Freak kit, vision board
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything with multiple bore sizes available.
Strengths: Nice bright fill
Shoots straight
Good price
Weaknesses: Variable bore sizes in same case
Doesn't seem to ship to well
Review: I have only had the opprotunity to use this paint on a practice basis with my team and from what I have seen, it isn't the greatest paint, but for the price it isn't the worst. I have used X.O. paint before at the '04 Skyball, but it was their Vein brand and that shot well. I understand that X.O. is a newer company, so I will give them the benefit of the doubt for the time being.
The actual ball itself flies rather straight and breaks on its target more times than not, and the fill is easily seen. THe only major issue seems to be the inconsistancies of the bore sizes of the balls. It either doesn't keep well when opened, or they are just manufactured poorly. I had to use a .693 bore size after initially sizing the balls at .689 just to make sure they fit through my barrel. I didn't have any barrel breaks while shooting it so that wasn't a problem at least.
Conclusion: I would recommend this paint to be used as a cheap alternative for teams for a practice standpoint, but would not recommend this for a field to use as their own paint.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TEAM_FORGOTTEN Thursday, April 28th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Severe, Draxxus,Kick'N,Jt,Diablo.
Marker Setup: 05 Shocker Vision, CCM No-Rise,Pro-Touch Grips,HE Bolt Kit,45/45 Max-Flow Inline,Total SS Freak Kit 10 Inch,Nerve Rebound Board,Smoke Halo-B Ripped .
Recommended
Barrels:
Tried to fit the ball in a .695 insert from my freak kit and it didn't fit .
Strengths: Decent fill .
Weaknesses: 1. Egg Shaped
2. Dimpled
3. Oversized
4. Weak Packaging
Review: Hotbox in my opinion is equal to any other companys white box paint on the market. My reasons for saying this are as follows:

When using the split shell I found that the size was very inconsistent around the seam of the ball to a size that would not even fit into a .695 freak insert. In addition I expierienced jamming of my halo-b so severe I could not unjam it with the rip drive .
On several occassions I even had to remove my halo-b and manuely push the ball into the chamber of my shocker to even clear the gun.

The only good thing to say about this paint wa sthat the solid color balls seem to have a little more consistent size, but was still egg shaped along the seam, which resulted in barrel breaks and massive chops.
Conclusion: My recomendation is that if you want to shoot a cheap paint, buy white box , and you will have a better paint.
XO INDUSTRIES REALLY NEEDS TO WORK ON THERE PRODUCT .
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

automagpro Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
zap rec ball. wild streak
Marker Setup: rt minimag. max flo. 10'' lapco power barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
none so it cant bust in it
Strengths: Hard shell. Brush cutter.
Weaknesses: Oval. Thin fill. Did i say it was oval
Review: I bought this paint from a local store for $37 a case. i opened the box at first it looked like ok rec paint. i took it home and tryed to match it to one of my 7 barrels. if i wanted to I could have matched every single ball seperate because thats how inconsitant the ball size is. i will never buy this paint again zap rec ball is alot better.
Conclusion: Dont buy this product. Go to walmart and buy the zap rec ball its much better.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

klockness Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap rec, spank, triad from academy, draxus, diablo formula 13
Marker Setup: drallion with odyssey barrel kit working on upgrades
Recommended
Barrels:
small bore or a kit, smart parts is just a hair large
Strengths: Great for the price
Pretty accurate
Two color shells
nice shells
Weaknesses: Kinda small
Inconsistent in size
Some a little oval
A lot broke
Review: When I opened the case I was in aw. The only paintballs I have seen more beautiful is the formula 13 I have used in tournaments. Great for the price, they were all round, no dents or dimples, two colored and none broken when I first opened the case.

First I noticed when dropping and blowing them through my barrels (.689 odyssey and sp progressive) that they were a little small and a little inconsistent in size (most just fell through, some needed a small breath or push). In fact I had several roll out the end of my .689 barrel while playing. But they shot really accurate and consistent despite being small for my barrel.

Now I am not sure why, but several of them broke, and I don't mean in my gun. I have had several break in the bags after I bought them. Several broke in my pods, and at least one broke in my hopper(I use a cocker this wasn't from blow back). My friends didn't seem to have these problems so I am going to give them the benefit of doubt that they may have gotten hot in my truck or I just got a bad batch. But they started getting sticky and nasty quick. Some didn't want to come out of my pods. That was when I opened them and was playing but they still seemed to shoot pretty good. Later while I was cleaning my gear I noticed a lot of them started getting dimples and out of shape. That's when I also noticed several had broken in pods, hopper, and the bags. I didn't treat them different then any other paintballs I've used in the past to cause this.
Conclusion: Main thing, they are cheap and they shot pretty accurate. Great for rec play. I would say these and zap spank are the best balls I have tried in this price. I think I would choose spank of the two though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikeylee Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Menace, Zap and Stinger. None of these compare to the HotBox
Marker Setup: Evil Omen, Egg II Loader, 18" Freak Kit
Recommended
Barrels:
Freak Teardrop, Evil Omen Factory Barrel
Strengths: No noticeable seams, very consistant, breaks on contact. PRICE
Weaknesses: None that I have noticed yet
Review: I found these for $19.99/case of 2000. I have used Evil, Marbalizer, and All-Star, and the HotBox paint can hang with them all. I have shot 2 cases without a single break. The fill is not quite as bright as Evil, but the $40.00 I saved is worth it. I can shoot these in my backyard or on the field. Great paint, great Price. The owner of the feild I play at shot these in the back of a local paintball store and loved them so much he is making them his field paint and practice paint for his team.
Conclusion: For $20/case you have to give them a try.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

vertigoness Thursday, February 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
TC (SUCKS), Draxxus and other name brand paints
Marker Setup: Ironmen Timmy with all up's
-45ci 4500psi tank
-reloader B
Recommended
Barrels:
UL, Longbow, or stiff!
Strengths: I wish I could type more so I guess I will say, everything.
Weaknesses: None really except what everyone else has said somewhat thin fill.
Review: THis paint shoots straight break on target and has a consistent shape to it. For being a new company this paint is awesome. I am proud to say that I will continue to purchase paint from XO and will tell my friends to do the same. I can't wait to start being able to purchase the higher grade stuff.
Conclusion: This paint is some of the most cost effective and best paint that you can find if you are looking for paint for a low price. The paint is good and they price is just as good as the paint shoots. I am giving it a 9 because I believe the company has put much effort into this product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irshpnkrckr Monday, January 31st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Primer
Premium
Other mid-level paints
Marker Setup: Lasoya Intimidator
Halo w/ Victory board
68/5000 Pure Energy
'99 All American onepiece
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything that will fit the bore. I'd like to see you find a barrel that wont shoot this straight.
Strengths: Breaks on target
Cheap compared to compared quality from other manufacturers
Weaknesses: Semi-thin fill
Review: Amazing stuff here. On a budget? Here's where you need to be. This is another quality product from XO, these guys are sweet. It's the best paint i've used in this grade level. It easily compares to PMI Premium, Zap Primer, Draxxus Blaze, etc. It's better than anything at it's price and on par to better with more expensive stuff. Don't be scared away by the unknown name, these guys will come out big soon. They've got excellent products, and super cool people working to put XO on top. The paint comes fresh, no busted balls yet, and they break where you want them to. The price on all the XO paint is outstanding, and the paint doesnt lack where the dollars spent do. I highly reccomend ever yone try this paint in particular if you want to see how XO's paint compares without spending a lot, if you're on a budget, or you just dont want to spend a lot on paint. Great job XO.
Conclusion: Buy this, you'll be impressed to no end. XO makes quality paint, and that's all there is to it. Expect big things from these guys, they're working towards being huge.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pbgr8 Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about every paintball ever made and this paint stacks up as being among the best!
Marker Setup: Automag, Autococker, Grey Ghost, Vindicator, Intimidator
Recommended
Barrels:
Any decent barrel with an appropriate diameter for .685 paintballs

Strengths: Consistently straight shooting, good colors, great accuracy
Weaknesses: The usual with any paint
Review: I have been using X.O. brand paints for just about 4 months now and they are among the best paints I have ever shot. X.O. is obviously taking the time to dial in their manufacturing process and QC-ing these balls to VERY exacting standards. I've shot some of their white box paint that puts other brand premium and tournament grades to shame!.
Conclusion: Excellent pricing, excellent quality, excellent consistency, very very few in-gun breaks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media