paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt / SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt

SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount SLIK

Buy SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt

Paintball Autococker Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
When SLIK brought out the Edge 2 we thought we had seen the highest standard of paintball. Well they like to keep us on our toes and like to see us drool. This is the Edge III. The Hotest, lightest bolt on the market. Weighing in at only 15.7 total grams it is just over half the weight of any other bolt on the market. Plus it is made of Nylatron. The new Space Age material that is stronger, lighter, and tougher then Delrin.
Product Availability 
The SLIK 2k5 Edge III Nylatron Bolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
marine man Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ccm, nexus, you name it
Marker Setup: DC 1 eclipse factory cocker
Strengths: Extreamly light
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I love this damn bolt. It is the only autococker bolt on the market that is worth buying. the flow rates are compaired to the nexus bolt which is pretty good. i ported mine just a bit so i didn't need orings, but the stock port is as wide as an aka lightning bolt.
Conclusion: Way better than the compitition
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bullet sheild Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock 04 bolt
Marker Setup: 04 prostock cocker, CP micro drop (crap), contract killer ASA w/ on/off, boomstick, sidewinder, micro rock, SLIK edge, 47/30 JT hpa tank
freeflow ram coming, bomb 3-way too, maybe new valve and hammer
Strengths: LIGHT, reduces mass, nylatron
Weaknesses: Pin locking design, odd size o-rings
Review: Tihs is a pretty good bolt. It is the lightest yet it doesn't feel too flimsy. I put it in my gun and even though it is mech I noticed faster cycling. It also reduced the kick alot too but that is why I got it. It didn't seal at all though so I went to the hardware store and got some orings. they didn't work. So I just did it the cheap way I used teflon tape. It seals fine now. Also I didn't like the desing for holding the pull pin in place. instead of the traditional way the have it on the other side and it is adjustable with a screwdriver but you have to have an "L" shaped one or you cant really get to it. Fortunatly I haven't had to mess with it yet. Also it doesn't stick out of the backblock very much so it is hard to get in and out.
Conclusion: Works great. I am thinking about investing in SLIKs other backblock parts. The design just has a few minor kinks that I am sure SLIK will work out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SwiftRaper Monday, December 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock super bolt bolt - Horrible flow, heavy, metal.
Stiffi bolt - Good flow, pretty light, carbonfiber.
Stock ANS bolt - Horrible flow, heavy, caused DOWN SPIN.
Marker Setup: Psycho ballistics super bolt
- Palmers Stabilizer
- Belsales ram
- Belsales 3-way
- AKA SCM 3
- ANS hammer
- Maddman spring kit
- Slik edge 3 bolt
- Redz cam lock feed neck
- Stiffi Switch kit
- ANS QEVs
- FBM power angle w/ thorn drop w/ On/Off
- Vlocity
- 68/4.5k Crossfire
Strengths: Light
High flow
Sear lug adjustment
LIGHT
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: I got this bolt for my superbolt since the stock bolt was metal. I had to drill a hole in the back block to be able to fit the bolt in my gun. I drilled the hole so that I could have a pretty big gap between the back block and the body, and still have the bolt line up with the valve exhaust port.

First of all I would like to comment on the lightness of this bolt, it is less than an ounce!!! This thing was sooo light it wasn't even funny, and since it is nylatron it moves VERY smoothly.

Second is flow, this bolt improoved my fps by 70FPS at the chrono!!!! My stock bolt was horrible. I had blow back so bad that when my hopper was almost out of paint the lid to my hopper would open!! And the stock bolt was the most constricting botl I've ever seen.

This bolt did a miracle to my gun. I couldn't get over 230FPS with my AKA 2-liter sweetspotted and my IVG in all the way. With this bolt I got well into the range that I desired.

DId I mention it doesn't scratch your body? DId I mention that it is the lightest bolt on the market? Did I mention it cured all my blow back? Oh did I mention that since so much of the bolt has been milled, you can adjust your sear lug without taking the bolt out!

If anyone is looking for a good deal on these contact me. My shop currently stocks these bolts for a good price.
Conclusion: I recomend this bolt to anyone looking for one of the following:
- Lighter reciprocating mass
- Higher effeciency
- Less blowback
- Zero scratching on the inside of your body
- Buttery smooth actuation
- Easier sear lug adjustment
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 26th, 2005 at 10:12 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ProvenCocker Thursday, June 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orracle Bolt
Stock WGP aluminum bolt
Marker Setup: WGP Mini Orry, Macdev Legion Air, SP Freak kit, Dart LpR, Nexus Ram w/ qevs, eclipse mech swing blade frame, Halo B, slik edge 3 nylatron bolt,and alot of other good stuff
Strengths: -Lighest on the market
-Fast
-Looks cool
Weaknesses: -Needs to be loctited to stay in place
Review: When i first got my bolt i was like oh my god... this bad boy weighs half an ounce!!!! I was holding it and I couldnt even tell it was in my hand. I put it in my cocker and this thing can increase ur BPS by alot. I did have one Small problem with it though, When i was really firing this bad boy the bolt came flying out and it hi tme in the face. I didn't know that u needed to loctite it! besides that the bolt is one of the best out there(and the lightest)
Conclusion: Great light bolt! super fast and looks cool! A++. Dont forget to loctite it though
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deathbybowtie Tuesday, April 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP bolt
Eclipse DART bolt
WGP Worrblade bolt
Marker Setup: 2004 Nightkast Autococker
Empire Quik Flip
Shocktech inline reg
Planet Eclipse Samurai trigger
Planet Eclipse Nexus ram w/ QEVs
Slik Edge III bolt
WGP Panel grips
WGP STO Kaner barrel kit
Viewloader eVLution 2 smoke/black shell
68/3000 Pure Energy tank
Strengths: Light
O-ring-less design
High-flowing
Lug access
Light
Price
Weaknesses: Pin detent
o-rings can be hard to get
Review: The Slik Edge III bolt is definitely designed for the electro cocker crowd. Just looking at it, you can tell it's rediculously light. There isn't a scrap of extra material on this bolt. It weighs in at 15.7 grams, which is less than HALF of most other all-delrin bolts on the market. There is simply no competition to this bolt for its weight.

The design of the Edge III is also superb. For authentic WGP bodies, the bolt fits very well without the use of o-rings, which means less friction and less parts to lubricate at the end of the day. For those would-be Slik owners with focker bodies, the bolt may require o-rings to fit without blowback, so Slik cut some grooves into the bolt for the o-rings to go. The o-rings, however, are not a standard paintball o-ring size, and can therefore be hard to find if your bolt doesn't come with them. Slik is very good about providing o-rings to people who need them, though. (In case anyone is wondering, it's a #13 o-ring.) The angled inlet port and open face make the Edge III a very efficient bolt.

The bolt is made from nylatron, which is a lightweight plastic very similar to delrin. Unlike delrin, however, nylatron does not swell when it gets water on it. Nylatron is also self-lubricating, so you no longer have to lube your bolt at the end of the day.

One of my favorite features of the Edge III is the lug access ability. Slik has cut away enough of the bolt that you can access the hammer lug without removing the bolt. It's not a huge improvement over other bolts, but it's definitely a nice touch.

At $45, the Edge III is very competitively priced.

My biggest complaint with the Edge III is the bolt pin detent. In their quest to make the lightest bolt possible, Slik used a rather unorthodox bolt pin detent method that screws into the bolt from the body side of the bolt instead of the back, like most bolts. The problem with this is that if it's not Loctited heavily, the detent tends to back out into the bolt, which loosens the bolt pin and can cause it to come out, which will make your bolt fly out of the gun. Two dabs of Loctite on the detent usually does the trick to keep in in place, but it can be a big pain if it's not taken care of right away.
Conclusion: This is the bolt to have, period. If you are looking for an upgraded bolt, look no further; you have found your bolt messiah. The Slik Edge III's combination of light weight, excellent design, and reasonable price make it the best bolt around.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 19th, 2005 at 9:13 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Malice Intent Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Magic Bolt
Marker Setup: A-5 with RT and 14" Dye Boomstick with CO2
Custom Built Autococker AIM17 SWIFT Body kit with Ergo reg and Orr-acle pneumatics, Black Magic bolt and Slik Edge 2005 bolt, Orr-acle valve kit, Lockdown Hammer, Maddman springs, Micro drop forward, Hinge trigger frame with a 14" Dye Titanium Boomstick and 14" Stiffi, With Worrgas Compressed Air
Strengths: Lightest bolt on the market
Nylatron
No O rings
Weaknesses: None that I've noticed
Review: I got this Bolt mainly because I didn't want metal wearing down the body on my cocker, what led me to this bolt is that its the lightest bolt on the market, its made of nylatron which does not require lube and will not swell like its Delron rivals. Also this bolt does not require O rings with most cocker bodies, it does come with them if you need them. This bolt preforms very well and cycles faster then my old Black Magic bolt
Conclusion: This is a great bolt, its Nylatron, its light, get it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 at 5:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chylin Saturday, January 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dart bolt
Marker Setup: WGP prostock 2k4, FreeFlow SMC RAM with QEV's, SILK Edge III bolt, SLIK micro back block, SLICK pull pin
Freak
Pure Energy 47/3000 HPA
Serid drop/rail witch on/off asa
Strengths: Weight !!
Weaknesses: Orings size is not common.
Review: First of all this bolt is light. Its milled so much, there is prapobly no way to make it lighter.
You do not need to remove Your bolt to time Your cocker anymore with this bolt.
There are places to put orings, which are not standard sized, but You need them only with Jackal, Advanced Concepts, and Fireball Mountain body. (i've got info from some Advanced Concepts body user, that he does't need to use orings) If you using any other cocker body, don't put orings cause You will slow down Your bolt.
Total reduce of weight (slik "kit") allow you to reduce recocking pressure and it will allow to shoot way faster. I''m using it on my standart wgp hinge frame and i can feel the difference (i've installed new ram the same time, so i can't really tell haw much my rof incressed by bolt itself).
If you have any questons about this bolt, fell free to email me.
Conclusion: to sum up: i can recommend this bolt to any cocker user. This baby is light and according to what Slik says: "we guarantee this bolt won't break on you. Ever."
I've shoot about 10000 balls using this bolt (for this day) and i'm fully satisfied by it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 13th, 2005 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media