paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 1 Piece Barrel / Proto 1 Piece Barrel / Proto 1 Piece Barrel

Proto 1 Piece Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 1 Piece Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 1 Piece Barrel
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 71
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $44

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Increasing your gun's performance has always been a must, and having an accurate barrel is number one. Our Proto barrels are made to the highest quality standards and are ultra accurate.
Product Availability 
The Proto 1 Piece Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Elsamo007 Wednesday, July 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vl custom 12 inch barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor IV, Proto 16 inch 1 Piece Barrel, Trinity Locking feed neck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint but RPS works the best
Strengths: Length Weight bore
Weaknesses: Low price
Review: This is a good barrel for any person who has a spyder or spyder clone because of the bore and the style of the barrel you also get a dye barrel for more than half the price and it has a consisteint bore of .689 so bigger paintballs are recomended this barrel will shoot goo like a mofo if you chop a ball
Conclusion: The only barrel you will ever need
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 24th, 2008 at 6:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OhNoesXD Thursday, May 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Recommended
Paintballs:
Mostly Any
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Straight Shooting
-Price Is A Definate
-Great Availibility
Weaknesses: -None That I Know Of
Review: I picked one of these up for my Spyder about a year back. I have to say I am very pleased with this barrel, for it's price it is very accurate and highly efficient. It is availible in many assorted colors and threads. The design isn't anything special, but that has nothing to do with its performance. I'd say go get it.

Conclusion: Definately worth getting for its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaDragon23 Saturday, February 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Progressive
Dye Xcel
Marker Setup: Proto PM5
Dye UL Frame
CP Feed Neck
CP On/Off
Halo B
Dye Throttle 91/45

Dye DM4
Dye UL Barrel
Shocktech Trigger
Tadao M3 chip
Hybid Grips
eVLution 3
Dye Throttle 91/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
Smaller, bore is 689
Strengths: Inexpensive
Ported well
Weaknesses: Small bore
Review: This is a great barrel to get if you are running on a tight budget. I have never used it with any other gun besides the pm5 but it comes stock on the pm5. My brother has a dm4 with a ultralight barrel, i tested it out on my gun and there really was no difference in accuracy, its a tad bit lighter but thats all. I say save $70 and get this thing over the fancier two-pieces that tend to be a bit pricey.
Conclusion: Definitely the best in its price range so if its in ur range consider it greatly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bm303 Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom pro stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Proto 1 PC Barrel(black)
Remote Coil

Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, I use $30 per 2,000 paintballs and they seem to work fine.
Strengths: Accurate, and moderately quiet barrel. Works well especially at close range.
Weaknesses: Not many, but it isn't the greatest for long range(100+ft).
Review: I purchased this barrel and have played with it twice, both of the times being very impressed for the performance coming out of such a cheap barrel. I purchased this barrel for $30 and can't complain. I will admit I was expecting better performance at long range, but that could have something to do with the slight wind I have experienced the last few times I have played. Don't expect to be sniping people from 150 feet because it wont happen.
Conclusion: All in all, if you are just a casual player looking for a good cheap barrel then this is the one for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt768 Tuesday, December 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion barrel
redz pepper stikz
Marker Setup: SP ION (Black)
redz body kit (Red)
qlock
ndz asa on/off
virtue qev
killa detents
proto 14"
ricochet apache hopper w/ lcd
72ci 3000psi tank
maybe some others if i forgot
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything the matches good
Strengths: Looks
Price
Quite
Light
Weaknesses: Other than can scratch kinda easily none.
Review: When i first got the barrel in the mail it looked very sexy. So i pop that thing on me gun and it looks great. I put a pod in the hopper and head out to test it. First i was impressed that it was very light. Also i thought that since theres so much porting on it that it would decrease velocity. I shot the first ball and it was much quieter than the stock ion piece of crap they give you. After about 500 balls i still have no chops!! And its still going well.
Conclusion: Overall i would recommend this barrel to anyone looking to upgrade their stock barrel and wants to get a bang for a buck as they say.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AED.paintballer Thursday, November 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12" diablo stock barrel
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose 2 L.E.D.
48/3000 Pure Energy
12V Revolution With X-Board
Proto 1pc 12" barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any .691 bore paint
Strengths: Accurate
Light but all barrels are lol
Weaknesses: 1pc So no change in bore size.
Review: Well i got this barrel cause i thought the stock 9'' sonix one kinda sucked so i went to my local shop and told them i needed a 12" barrel and told them i was on a budget so they recomended me this barrel.

at first i thought well this must be crap beacose it was the cheapest there but no sir, this barrel is tha bomb, with allstars, this thing has ball on ball accuracy!
Conclusion: I would recomend this to any player who is on a budjet and wants an upgrade from the stock barrel. but like I said its a 1 pc and no bore size selection:(
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

purelycanadian Monday, September 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM

-- BE Folding Stock
-- BT Adjustable Rail
-- BSA 30mm Red-Dot
-- PMI Remote Coil
-- Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel
-- Tippmann Double Trigger
-- Tippmann Camouflage Graphic Kit (98 Custom)
-- Pure Energy 20oz. CO2

TIPPMANN A-5 CAMOUFLAGE

-- PMI Remote Coil
-- 14" Proto 1- Piece Barrel
-- Pure Energy 20oz. CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't really matter, I played today and used whitebox paint as well as Zap Spank and Cryptic and Monster Balls a friend had. They all worked fine.
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Volume
Cleans Itself Fairly Well
Colour Variety
Looks
Weaknesses: Not any that come to mind actually..
Review: The Key Strengths pretty much speak for themselves. They're listed in the order of greatest importance as far as I'm concerned.

The price was the main reason I got this barrel. I was actually looking for an A-5 Progressive barrel, but they were sold out so I got this instead as it was the same price. Generally it performs much like my Progressive on my 98 Custom does.

The accuracy is middle-of-the-road. It's pretty good, but not the best. This might be due to the fact that my bore size isn't matched up perfectly, but I really don't care. It still isn't too bad.

The barrel does a decent job of suppressing some sound, again, middle-of-the-road. It's certainly better than the stock barrel, but it isn't whisper quiet or anything.

I tripped and got some dirt and pine needles in the end of the barrel. Two shots and it was all cleared out and I didn't brake a ball doing it. Pretty good, doubt it has much to do with the barrel but I thought I'd add this on.

Although I always buy black because I play woodsball and a shiny red wouldn't really work for me, there is a good selection of colours to choose from. Also the barrel looks sleek.
Conclusion: I recommend that you try this barrel out. It basically performs the same as my Progressive did on my 98 Custom, but that's not a bad thing. It's a good quality product for an affordable price. Give it a try. From what I hear the 1 Piece is a lot better than the 2 Piece. The 1 Piece works great for me anyway, so why fumble around trying to get a perfect size. Give this a shot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tan997 Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann barrel

Spyder 14" progressive
Marker Setup: Main~Spyder Xtra
~Sanded and Polished Interals
~Drilled Out Front Block
~ESP CAMD Trigger Frame
~Quick Strip Push Pin

~Tippmann A-5
~Tapco Stock
~Proto 1-Piece Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use cheap paint like monster balls sooo I dunno
Strengths: Accuracy better than stock
Quieter than stock barrel
Cleans after 1-3 shots
Weaknesses: None really except for barrel clearance (See in Review)
Review: This is a great barrel and if your looking for a cheap but still accurate barrel get this one. I have some breaks in my a-5 and when i do i just shoot a couple times and its clean its great.

The only bad thing about this barrel is if you were gonna mount any thing on the barrel the bend in the middle might get in your way.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel if your looking for a cheap but good barrel it wont let u down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

stikyniky383 Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive barrel, Linear barrel, All American barrel
Marker Setup: So ion(black), Q-lock feedneck clamp, Halo tsa led frontman, Pure energy 48ci 3000 psi tank, Proto impulse 14 in
Recommended
Paintballs:
any descent paint
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I really like this barrel it is accurate and inexpensive. The only real weakness it doesnt clean that well unless u use a sqeegee. I havn't had this problem more than twice though. The barrel is only $40 and comes in one or two piece form( i recommend one piece). This barrel comes in different colors to suite your needs. i really like this barrel
Conclusion: I recommend this to any person with a smart parts marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andrei_Shubin Tuesday, June 19th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J, 32 Degrees, Stock barrels.
Marker Setup: look at profile
Recommended
Paintballs:
this has a medium sized bore. Id say .689-.691
Strengths: Very light, is like a feather.
Quiet
Fair price
Upgrade from stock barrel.
Weaknesses: Not very high quality barrel
Scratches Easily
Pn/Oil/gunkish build up(see Review)


Review: First my little bro has this not me. I just tested and checked it. also, he doesn't take care of his things so the barrel wont be in good condition.
This is a Good Barrel but i have seen better. This is a very lightweight barrel. It feels like the weight of a small standard cheep pen( no joke i held the 2 and they felt like they weighed the same). This is also an upgrade from stock barrels(Tippmann, Spyder). This is also pretty quiet. The only problems i found were it scratches easily( I saw many scratches and some paint chipped off). While i was cleaning his barrel for him, after i squeegeed it a couple of time there was a gunkish build up and little specks of stuff in it. I tried to clean it again it was all still there... so maybe its just me or this barrel has cleaning issues.
Conclusion: This is a good barrel but i would not recommend it. id say get J&J they are better quality.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media