paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol

PMI Piranha USP Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha USP Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha USP Pistol
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Semi-automatic
# Uses .68 caliber paintballs
# Powered by 12-gram Co2 cartridges (not included)
# Fast threading Co2 cap for quicker cartridge changing.
#Fixed 9 round spring loaded ammo tube.
#10 shot capacity - 9 in tube + 1 in chamber.
# Capable of shooting 8 balls per second.
# Fixed 5" barrel with threaded tip
# Vertical feed, closed receiver
# Durable space-age polymer grip frame with single trigger and guard
# 13" total length, 7" tall
# Rear velocity adapter.
# Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
#Extra cupseal, main spring, o-rings and other small parts included.
# Weight without paint or air: 2 pounds
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha USP Pistol is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
SelfDestruction Wednesday, February 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
~Eagle .68
~PGP
~Splatmaster
~Tiberius Arms Tac 8
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro-Lite ( stock barrel ) with gun sling & 9 oz Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: ~Accurate in close to medium range
~Fast shooting
~Good on C02
~Full size Piranha internals
Weaknesses: The12 grams can become lodged in the quick change chamber when reloading
Review: The PMI Piranha USP is an outstanding paintball pistol for the money. I purchased mine from ANSgear.com for less then $60. I was in the market for a new side arm and did a lot of reserch on one. I watched videos on the Tippmann TPX, Tiberius Arms Tac 8, and the PMI USP. After watching the one of the USP I was instantly sold on it. It was half the price as other pistols and it has many nice features on it as well.

The first time I used this pistol in combat it more then met my expectations! I got the drop on an a player on the other team and let loose with my Pro-Lite. After a firing half a dozen shots my Pro-Lite sputtered and died. My adversary heard my tank die and I heard him laugh as he mistakenly thought he had an easy kill. A split second later I saw him charge through the brush and sprint twards me firing his Tippmann A-5. Little did he know that it was acually me who was lying in wait for him. Once he was with in 50ft of me I poped out like the bunker like Billy Badass and unloaded 10 well placed shot on him. Needless to say he was taken by surprise.

Since then I have used this marker many many times and it has never let me down. I have even used it as my primary marker on some games when I feel the need to be stealthy, fast, mobile, or just want to conserve paint.
Conclusion: If you are in the market for a side arm and do not want to drop a lot of money on a high end gun consider on of these. In my personal opinion this is a really well made and well functioning marker. I own a Splatmaster, PGP, Tac 8, and one of these & it is my side arm of choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JLS6779 Friday, July 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No other pistol but use or have used a VL Triton II, VL High Voltage, Brass Eagle T-Storm, JT Stealth, JT Tac-5 Recon Camo
Marker Setup: VL High Voltage:
stock barrel
VL Force electric hopper
Stryker Carbon Fiber 12" barrel

JT Tac-5 Recon Camo:
Stock barrel
old brass eagle 140 ct hopper
JT bipod
Stryker 12" Carbon fiber barrel

PMI Pirahna USP:
Pistol
Extreme Rage Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
aybe a barrel front. I also have seen where you are supposed to beable to add a ASA to it.
Strengths: Durable, accurate, easy to use
Weaknesses: Can be hard to reload quickly under fire
Review: I purchased this as a backup for in my games. I love this gun. It is accurate, fairly quiet, gas efficent, and has good distance. I can usually hit my target out to about 80+ feet with no problem. I do have issues with reloading paint into the clip when you need to do it quickly. It is not bad to do but it can be a little time consumming. Does great on air. I can get between 30 to 45 shots off with a 12 gram cartridge 95% of the time. I have never had a issue with it leaking to much when I air it up outside a little air loss. I always drop atleast two drops of oil into the seal area for the 12 gram when ever I change out a cartridge. It is easy to do basic maintenace. I did have the chance to do some what major work on one for a guy that had just got his and messed up the seal around the puncture pin. Was a little time consuming to remove that assembly but was not hard to change anything out. It is alot easier to work on than the PMI Pirahna GTI '07 that my stepson has.
Conclusion: Wonderful pistol to use as a backup in games. Can also use as a primary if you are playing in a enclosed area like a old house or fort area. Accurate and gas friendly for a 12 gram. If you have not used one you might want to ask to see one at a store that carries them or if you see another player with one at your local field to see how it feels and shoots if they let you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madotter Tuesday, June 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pistols...
Marker Setup: Several, not going to bother listing.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Cheap
The respect people give you
Weaknesses: The laughs of the people previously respecting you when it goes sproing
Review: O.k, I had this gun two weeks and used it heavily. Overall, price wise it was great. The accuracy was decent with DXS Bronze Training Paint, and I could hit a 2 by 3 foot square roughly 8 times out of 10. Co2 use was good, about 20 usable shots and 5 not. I bought a pipe barrel system to "extend the accuracy", but it made it worse....

Overall, I was semi happy, and then my oring in the piercing valve went. So I took the screw out, and low and behold! The locktite was stronger than the cheap metal threads.... Yep, I stripped it taking it out. Out, not in, out. Sent it to the factory and hopefully will be back someday.

Conclusion: Cheap. You get what you payed for. I would give it average, but average markers dont strip when your taking screws out. I gave it a 4 though for the decent accuracy, and semi good gas use.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

5cent Thursday, May 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, AGP Sydarm, Tac8.
Marker Setup: Stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded trigger frame.
Strengths: Efficiency.
Simplicity.
Ease of disassembly.
Sear release.
Weaknesses: Badly functioning safety. reload is awkward,
Ball feed plunger is very loose tolerances.
Review: I purchased my USP shortly after the line was introduced, and I've had it with me since then.

Right out of the box I discovered a rather unfortunate problem with the marker. When you engage the safety, you can actually disengage it by pulling the trigger. If its just a light pull, it might keep it on one or two trigger pulls worth, but if you really give it a squeeze it will disengage on the first pull. And to me, that seemed a bit strange. A proper safety should completely disable the trigger and firing mechanisms no matter how many times you actually pull the trigger.

The fix was pretty easy though. After doing a bit of research I found that the USP was capable of accepting most grip frames from the Pirahna line of pistols, so we simply salvaged a PMI e-trigger off a junked marker, and set it to locked in tourney mode (semi only) and that was problem solved. As it turns out the double trigger and extended trigger guard actually made the pistol much more comfortable to use with gloves on. We did, for the fun of it, try the pistol out with 3 round burst and full auto, suffice to say we ended up with paint soup. So while I do recommend trading the stock grip frame, having an E-trigger only looks cool, and isnt very functional in anything else other than semi.
Conclusion: Nice pistol, could use some design refinement in several areas, but it gets the job done. It fires every time I need it to, and it does so with reasonable accuracy. I give it a seven simply because of the safety issue. Being that the safety is such an important issue on markers, it seems like a glaring oversight to me in the quality assurance process.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mgs114 Thursday, April 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 completely customized not even gonna try to talk about it.
Ion (no customizations)
GTI eforce (none)
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a holster
Strengths: Accurate, charging handle, nice grip
Weaknesses: Size, gas, holster, loading.
Review: Overall I love this pistol. Its a little big but its worth it. Mine came with an extreme rage holster. When you enter the co2 cartridge in you can't hear it pierce therefore i didnt know the gun was ready to fire. I got mine for pretty cheap so its worth the money. Loading this thing is not something you can due too quickly but for $60 with a holster its not bad at all. Once I play with it I'll edit the review.
Conclusion: I would get it for the price. If anyoen finds a way to make this thing load quickly I'd like to hear about it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

321pb123 Friday, March 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: I use a tippmann 98 with a flatline barrel, double trigger, and 3000 psi compressed air tank/ CO2

09 UL SLG- no ugrades

PMI Piranha USP Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel extension
Strengths: Appearance, easy to handle, just plain fun to have a pistol, accuracy, weight (size)
Weaknesses: air efficiency- (Its about 20-30 shots a tank), weight (size)
Review: I got mine today and first impressions are good. I've wanted a pistol for a while and this is the cheapest one I've found ($60). It came in the mail today and along with my friend's (we both ordered one each) so we had a "duel" and the gun was pretty accurate. I wrote weight (size) as a pro and a con because this is my first pistol and I'm not sure on other's sizes. This pistol is pretty big and wieghs about 2 pounds.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product, but I'd recommend it if you get it for the price i paid (contact me for the website).
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 27th, 2009 at 6:00 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

king-camper Friday, November 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tiberius 8
Marker Setup: tippmann a5
RT
ez-sabre kit
20" smart parts barrel
tac cap
red dot sight
remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better holster
ten round tubes
Strengths: Tight accuracy
30 shots to 12 gram c02 tank
really durable
Weaknesses: Tough to reload at first
rather large bore size.
Review: Well first thing you will find out about this gun is that there is only one ball detent on the side of the chamber and thats on the left side.
if you keep this marker in the holster that use paintballs that will fit a large bore size because I usually find about 4-6 balls at the bottom of my holster because they all slide down the barrel. other than that ther is no flaws that i can find. actually it says it ahs a 10 rd feed tube, well thats 9 in the tube and one in the chamber. no biggy though.
this marker can take one @*&^ of a beating, i accidently droped it out of a 2 story building and i ran down, picked it up and it was all good. I use it sometimes in speed ball practices cause it just adds more fun to the game. I actually own 2 piranhas now but still recomend shooting with two hand. all and all its one beast of a marker.
Conclusion: Awsome pistol for the price, if u like to run and are good at snap shooting give it a try and improve your game. pistols are always fun and intiminating
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nootz Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G2, Tac8
Marker Setup: BT-4 SWAT:
-BT-16 Barrel kit
-BT Bi-pod
-Tippmann Verticle Grip
-BT e-Grip
-Extreme Rage Overdrive hopper
-BT 45 degree picatinny/weaver rail (on top of foregrip)
-Walther 2x30 RD scope (mounted on BT rail)

Tippmann A-5:
-A5 Flatline barrel
-A5 Response Trigger
-OpsGear sight riser
-OpsGear Gas-Thru UMP magazine
-OpsGear folding G36 stock
-SoftAir 1x28 RD reticle
-Tippmann Cyclone LP hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel extension.
Strengths: Accurate, durable, easy to use.
Weaknesses: very slow reloads, hassle to change CO2 cartridges, doesn't field strip very easily.
Review: This was the first pistol I ever bought, it was pretty good considering I got it new for $45. I liked how it was very accurate for a PMI marker.
Unfortunately the CO2 kept leaking and I didn't want to keep paying to fix the leak, therefore I had to sell it off. Also, the reload time was crazy, you would have to get someone to cover you so you could load 10rds into the fixed mag (this usually took around 30s-1min). And on top of that, it took another minute to eject the CO2 cartridge and replace it with another.
Conclusion: Good pistol to start out with, it's inexpensive, accurate and easy to use.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint balla 666 Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Overlords
Recommended
Upgrades:
A softer grip...that's about it
Strengths: Good range, accuracy,a little lighter than other pistols, and easy to clean
Weaknesses: Bulkey, can't fit in most regular holsters, really loud
Review: This marker takes time to reload, but after you have had it for a while it gets easier. For the piriod of time Iv'e had this marker, it has never choped paint. The pircing screw doesn't always work, so i sent it in for a longer and sharper one. You get 20-25 shots from 1 Co2.
Conclusion: Allin all, this is a great gun for a great price. It's very reliable, almosts never chops, and has served my very well.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PistolPete93 Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tac 8
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 w/ response trigger and trinity wire stock
front rail grip
rail sight
remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline
anything you can do to customize it
Strengths: Very accurate, good range, was strong, and lightweight.
Weaknesses: Bg, 15 shots per co2, problems with puncture knob.

Review: for the the 3 weeks i hadthis pistol, it was great.i bought it for a scenerio and it worked fine. it was very accurate for a pistol, i even think it was more accurate than some primary guns (cough, cough,98C). couple weeks later, when you punctured the co2 12 gram, it would all leak out,WTF! so i took itback to bad boyz toyz and they said i couldnt get my money back because "They didnt know if i was the one who broke it!!!" anyway, they sent it back 2 the factory and the puncture knob was broken so they got it fixed. i jut got my mney bac from the owner b/c i was fed up with them.

edit. 2008

i got another one of these because i didnt want to give up on the usp, just bad boyz toyz. i bought it off of ebay for 60 bucks, nice, no problem with the puncture knob, i get about 30 shots from a 12 gram, i take it the 15 shots per 12 gram in my previous pistol was because of leaking while screwing the 12 gram in. this has very good range accuracy, the only thing is that know i like to carry pistols on my leg, so its a little big , 13 inches long, so i tend to carry my golden pgp on my leg instead, not because the pgp is outperforming it, because its one if not the most small pistol. i definnently carry this as a backip though if im using my pgp as a primary
Conclusion: this is a great pistol!!! accurate,cheap and one ofthe only guns you can hold like a gangsta(LOL) totally worth the +- $100
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 6th, 2008 at 12:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media