paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol

PMI Piranha USP Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha USP Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha USP Pistol
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Semi-automatic
# Uses .68 caliber paintballs
# Powered by 12-gram Co2 cartridges (not included)
# Fast threading Co2 cap for quicker cartridge changing.
#Fixed 9 round spring loaded ammo tube.
#10 shot capacity - 9 in tube + 1 in chamber.
# Capable of shooting 8 balls per second.
# Fixed 5" barrel with threaded tip
# Vertical feed, closed receiver
# Durable space-age polymer grip frame with single trigger and guard
# 13" total length, 7" tall
# Rear velocity adapter.
# Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
#Extra cupseal, main spring, o-rings and other small parts included.
# Weight without paint or air: 2 pounds
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha USP Pistol is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
K-Red Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Enforcer, PT extreme, late period Wolf.
Marker Setup: Stock gun right out of package. Nothing added, nothing subtracted.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a bolt upgrade, but only if you are going to use this as a primary marker in games, seeing as it's ok as-is for a sidearm. You can feasibly put an E-Force trigger on it if you want to emulate a Glock 19 or something, but I wouldn't recommend that considering the magazine capacity.
Strengths: Fairly light
Fast-Feeling
Decent recoil control
Easy to field-strip
Weaknesses: Inconsistent CO2 use
Ammo capacity (this shouldn't be a problem for it's use.)
Review: i would like to stress the fact that you should keep the seals and O-Rings well lubricated on this marker. If not it tends to leak. Aside from that, it's fairly light and deceptively accurate for it's barrel length. It makes a nice sidearm, but unless you're good it should be only that.
Conclusion: I would suggest this to anyone who would like a sidearm to accompany them in woodsball, it takes a little getting used to but it's nice. I would like to give a few warnings and considerations...
1 Keep it lubricated, especially the seals.
2 You're better off at lower velocity, seeing as the higher speeds tend to chew through air too quickly and give you a crap trade-off.
3 Practice reloading it for at least fifteen minutes before using it in a game. You'll never regret it.
4 If you feel the need to upgrade this, then you probably never needed it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Banana Slayer Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Overlord - Not that great...
Marker Setup: Palmer's Pursuit Shop Blazer
--Palmer's Pursuit Shop Stabilizer
--Sheridan Gripframe
--Lapco Dropforward
--10.5" Brass Barrel

PMI/ACI Trracer

PMI USP Pistol

Halo B
--Rip Drive

Pure Enegry 68/4500

Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Force Frame - Turn your USP into an automatic pistol (think Glock)
PIPE Front - Add some accuracy I guess...
Holster
Strengths: Available Upgrades Do To Full Size Internals
Accurate
Star Wars Blaster Pistol Looks
Price
Weaknesses: Tricky (at first) Reload
Nine Round Feeder
Exposed cup seal
Review: The Good:

There are a lot of available upgrades for the USP truley making it a tinkerers pistol. Since the USP uses full sized Pirahna internals, you can upgrade the bolt, gripframe. Also, there is threading on the USP's barrel that allows you to attatch PIPE fronts. Not sure why you'd want to do this, but I guess some accuracy could be gained. Most pistols you can't do much too, the USP offers you the chance to personalize it a bit.

The USP is pretty damn accurate for its size. You're not going to be longballing with this thing, but where's the fun in that anyways. As long as you're in a medium range, you should be able to hit your target. This is a good thin as the feed only holds ten shots.

This thing looks like a Blaster Pistol from Star Wars. If you ask me, that's pretty sweet. Sure, the RoboCop look of some of the Ariakon pistols is cool, but the USP takes it in my opinion.

Another major plus to the USP is its price. You can find them brand new for around $80 which is $20 than most pistols (Tib 8 excluded). You save some cash that you can use for a holster or upgrades to the pistol. It's (in my opinion) better than most pistols out there and being cheaper is a huge plus.

Now onto the bad:

This thing can be a pain in the ass to reload. It takes a little while to get the reloading down. I've found the best way to do it is to put your finger in the crook between the feeder and the marker and fill the feeder before getting a paintball in the breach. That's the easiest way to reload the marker that I've found and without some practice, it can be really difficult on the field.

My one real pet peeve with this marker is that it only holds nine rounds in the feeder. I would prefer ten as you use a ten round tube to reload it, and it's much safer to have a paintball in the breech while reloading in case someone tries to bunker you. Not so with the USP...

The biggest drawback of the USP is its exposed cup seal. The 12gram dropout is nice, but it puts your cup seal out in the open just asking to get dirty and ruined. It's not easy to get to, to replace either since you have to dissasemble the valve. Just be sure to store the USP with a big barrel condom on it to cover up the twelve gram area to keep dirt out. Don't store it with a twelve gram in the pistol as it can stick to the cup seal and then tear off a bit of it when removed ruining it.
Conclusion: Overall, the USP is good pistol at a great price. It has some drawbacks, but also has a lot of pluses to it that other pistols are lacking. And at its price, it's hard to beat. I give it a very solid 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whiterasta80 Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tiberius-8. Shoots about the same, but much more solid, and with clips
Marker Setup: APrimary:
2K5 Black Magic Autococker (Black/Red)
Torque Hopper
Pure Energy 68/3000 Tank
Evil Pipe Kit

Backup:
Proto SLG (Olive)
CP 2 Piece Barrel (black)
PE 48/3000 Tank
VL Evolution II
Empire nano On/Off

Loaner/Backup's Backup:
2K5 Trilogy Competition
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Shocktech Cocking Rod
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
WGP Cam Adjuster
Evil Pipe Kit
16 Oz CO2 with A/S
VL Revvy with Empire Sound Board
CP On/Off

And a pair of Piranha USP pistols
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster I guess
Strengths: Simple design (just a Piranha), Decent accuracy for a pistol, light.
Weaknesses: Reloading, doesn't work well with Brass Eagle containers
Review: Great little pistol for fun. Simple, lightweight, and functional. Stick with the Crossman 12 grams. I tried Brass Eagle once or twice and all it does is leak.

I get about 20-22 good shots, plus 4 bad ones out of a single tank.

I use it as a backup, so the re-loading issue isn't a big deal. But re-loading in combat is just a BAD IDEA. It probably takes me 30-45 seconds to reload.

Update: I've had it for a year now and the only thing I've ever had to fix is the o-ring on the bolt.
Conclusion: If you have the money, get a Tac-8. But this gun is still quite fun and does its job.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 1st, 2008 at 12:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juju Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first paintball pistol.(but i have an autococker and a vexor)
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
harness
Strengths: Accurate
Looks very cool
Light and easy to run with
Weaknesses: Back up gun(holds only 10 balls)
Runs on 12gram co2
Silver shiny
Review: so my cousin comes out of nowhere asking if i play paintball and hands me the usp pistol.I was happy to get a gun out of the blue.Took it back home and shot a few rounds and was happy with the results.Most of my paint(7 out of 10 shots)hit my target that i placed on a tree.My first game i played was in my friends backyard.One of my other friends didn't have a gun so i let him borrow this gun.(i was using my autococker trilogy comp.I also have a review of that gun)Me and my friend chris were searching for the pistol user(his name is nelson)we saw the glare of the gun(mine is silver)but missed all of the shots.We lost him.we knew his gun was smaller and because of that can run faster.We heard a shot and it almost got me.When we turned around he was on the other side of the field!(which is about 8 achers)Me and chris caught him off guard.Nelson was puting in another tank, i felt bad he didnt have a bigger gun.But for a back up gun this gun works well.
Conclusion: This gun is good a back up not a primary
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alliedcommando Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo w/ 14" Whisper barrel
PMI Piranha USP
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, this gun is good to go stock
Strengths: Trigger pull is very light
Lightweight
Uses 12 gram cartridges
Durable
Weaknesses: No expansion chamber for Co2
Review: I got this gun from a friend of mine who could not get it fixed, so I sent it in to PMI and I had it fixed. This is one of the very few guns you can actually have as a primary, especially in woodsball (I have eliminated people using Tipmanns and Autocockers with this gun,but that is because I play good and shoot good in paintball.) As a side-arm this gun is all the firepower you will ever need (and it is light too!) If you want to get the full potential of this gun lube it with some graphite lubricant (which you can find at any auto store) and you will be able to shoot 20 rounds on a mild day (or more during the hotter summer days!) Accuracy is insane with this gun, if you can chrono it for 290 fps (like I did) you can rack some heads up rather quickly, just remember that 2nd to last shot the velocity will decrease. The power of this gun is awesome, with a ten round capacity (that is assuming you pull the slide back and put a round in the the chamber and 9 in the tube.)
-Edit-12/26/06
Almost a year since I got since this gun, and I dropped it on the floor by accident, some of the front body was bent but that was easily fixed. I gassed the gun up and fired some rounds and it still does what it was built to do and eliminate people (or in my case a plastic penguin in my back yard!) This gun really deserves to be palmerized and have a nice dura-coat paint job by now. Buy this gun under the USP label, maybe someday it will be as scarce as a Tippmann SMG 60.
Conclusion: An excellent side-arm for the average paintball player, very cost-effective (compared to other paintball pistols.) I reccomend this gun for anyone playing woodsball and paintball veterans that want to go rambo style on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB4Christ Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: PGP w/custom holster

USP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Constant air
Strengths: LIGHT!
Full sized internals
Weaknesses: The "quick change" isn't all that quick, takes longer than with my PGP.
Review: Ok, I've been playing stockclass for a little while now and I love the small profile and difficulty level, but I keapt getting outgunned with my PGP. I decided I needed a semi but a full sized rig was out of the question so I wnet searching on ebay. For the most part it was a good buy for $80 (shipped)

Pros:
-It is light wieght (much less than the PGP
-Spring feed is easier than rock 'n cock
-High ROF for a pistol (8bps)
-Easy to breakdown and clean

Cons:
-A little bigger than I would have liked
-Gas hog (20 shots per 12gram)
-Picky about 12 grams (Don't use Crossman)

All in all this is a nice little marker, I use it as my main and get alot of respect for it (some ppl will call you crazy until you outrun they're whole squad.) You really are made a smaller target, you save ALOT on paint (500 rnds for a whole day) the only thing it really needs is a small constantair air setup unless you use it as a back up.
Conclusion: recomended as a main (too big for a sidearm) It is a gas hog so that will cost it some points. I suggest you try and get one off Ebay for a few bucks and give it a try, if nothing else you'll scare the noobs "HE HAS A PISTOL AND A RIFLE!" (Yes it's been said.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spaz66777 Thursday, October 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP (pump though)
Marker Setup: I run a phantom with; frantom II 8" with full frak kit, 13/3000 HPA tank, 45* trigger frame, 12 round feed, smart parts drop and bottom line with on/off, and trigger gaurd.

I also use a splatmaster and this USP.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt, Pipe front, E-grip, Valve, Canstant air (if you think it would be fun), spring kit, a regulator if you use HPA with constant air, a new hammer for LP possibility, and maybe a velocity adjuster you can use by hand.

(EDIT) I would remove the sight pin, go to your local hardware and get a little .3 screw i think it was. It makes it easier to holster.
Strengths: ROF
Size
Price
Effiecentcy
upgradablility
Weaknesses: No bulk feed option
changing 12 grams
loading paintballs
Review: I bought this marker for $35 (yeah I know) it was super clearance at one of my local "mega marts" it was like 80% the original price. It came with the holster which I think is kind of a joke. (It doesn't stay where it should) This gun can be fast having a high ROF but is pretty accurate. This marker is a great back up. I wouldn't use it for a main unless you’re into that type of stuff (I am). Loading paintballs requires learning the marker and how to load it right and quick. Changing 12 grams does take some time. At least 10 seconds so it can is a bit of an adrenaline rush so being ready! The bulk feed could be an option if you have a machine shop could make an adapter since the 10 round feed can come off. They would have to look at the gun and then they should be able to make something to fit this. I will be looking into this shortly. I have high hopes of making this marker into a "spimmy" putting Timmy parts into this marker to have a higher ROF and just have fun with it.
Conclusion: Over all I would pay full price for this marker($100) but luckily I didn't have to. This gun will great to use during any type of play. I would recomend this marker to anyone looking for a pistol style. (I give it a 9 due to the fact it does have some weaknesses that are going to have to be overcomed)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hudson974 Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Recommended
Upgrades:
Constant air but that would take from its lightness and wieldability
Strengths: Shoots straight
Easy reload
Light
Easy field stripping
Looks nice
Weaknesses: CO2 cartridges
Occasional leak
Holster
Review: While playing one weekend I was in a tower covering a flag runner. I heard a loud clunk noise and as I turned around I saw my USP go over the edge, it clunked before it land with another clunk on the ground. It fell a good 12 feet onto the ground, hitting part of the towers lower bunker on the way down. A teammate threw it back up to me and no visible signs of damage, so I reholstered it.

After the game I noticed a small nick on it from the fall, I stripped it to be sure things were ok. I then fired it on the crono range, nothing was wrong. Later that day i played two round with just it and not my primary. Nothing was wrong with it.

I have the silver model and found I can easily put it in my jacket while on the field when i play with just it. I now have a modified pistol holster to hold it in when i use it for backup.

I've also had many new and old players gawk over it and how good it shoots.
Conclusion: From my experience, it is very durable and easy to wield to cover yourself if you make a flag run with just it in your hand.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 at 10:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squirlly Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing. This is my first Paint Pistol
Marker Setup: Woodsball: Tippmann Pro-Carbine with 14" Tippmann Sniper Barrel
Speedball: JT Excellerator 5.0 with a Smart Parts 14" Barrel
Both: 20 Oz CO2 tank and nothing else real special
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing. It's a pistol I don't think there are many upgrades anyway
Strengths: SIMPLE, Easy to Use and Lightweight
Weaknesses: Loading Paint could be easier.
Review: This is a very nice marker. It shot well, I have put about 500 balls thru it and didn't break a one. It fits very well in the provided holster and since I bought it as a backup for when my main marker runs out of air or jams up beyond a field repair this is a very big plus. CO2 lasts about 30 shots but I was shooting a metal target and could hear the last 2 or 3 were very weak so lets say you get 27-28 quality shots from one 12 gram co2. Accuracy is less then with my smart part barrel but it was still very acceptable. I hit a 4" x 4" post in my yard from 60 feet away about 1/3 of the time.
Conclusion: Do not buy this marker for your main marker. Do buy this marker if you have been wanting a pistol for scenario play or as a backup. This marker only cost me $89.50 online and is worth every penny!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nick19196 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: R-6 with E-force razzor barrel exp chamber
pirahna USP as sidearm
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Easy co2 change and easy maintence and 25 shots per co2
Weaknesses: Hard to reload can be fixed with customizing
Review: I got this a few days ago and it leaked co2 right out of the package so I wasted a couple co2s tryin to get it to work and i finaly got it it just needs to be allighned right. next it may look a little bulky but its abeast its powerful and so accurate its unbelievable. loading it may be hard but you can fix that with a little self customizing. and the shots i got out of a co2 are good 25 out of one co2.
Conclusion: This is a great gun its a beast and its accurate the only bad thing is co2 leaks and loading
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media