paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol

PMI Piranha USP Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha USP Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha USP Pistol
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Semi-automatic
# Uses .68 caliber paintballs
# Powered by 12-gram Co2 cartridges (not included)
# Fast threading Co2 cap for quicker cartridge changing.
#Fixed 9 round spring loaded ammo tube.
#10 shot capacity - 9 in tube + 1 in chamber.
# Capable of shooting 8 balls per second.
# Fixed 5" barrel with threaded tip
# Vertical feed, closed receiver
# Durable space-age polymer grip frame with single trigger and guard
# 13" total length, 7" tall
# Rear velocity adapter.
# Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
#Extra cupseal, main spring, o-rings and other small parts included.
# Weight without paint or air: 2 pounds
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha USP Pistol is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Lenday666 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
No Pistols (First One)
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr1 With 12" - 24" Barrel Upgrade
Red Dot System
Laser
Remote Coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Good Feel, Accuracy, Range
Durable, Nice Overall Gun
Holster And Belt Included!!
Weaknesses: You Dont Get Many Shot From The Gas,
Abit Difficult Reloading But Not Too Bad
Review: Originally i was goin to buy the Pt. Jr paintball pistol but after being F*KED ABOUT! With the warhouse stock, i decided too change the order and get a USP. I orderd it with 40 Co2 sparklets and a case...Anyway eventually it arrived, when i first put a sparklet in it, it started p**sin out , so i tried a second and after the first it was fine. The first place i took it was a local plot of woodland and tried it for the first time, i was amazed it went nearly as far as my original marker and it was pretty accurate, the only down side was the ammount of shots i got from the sparklet after about 20 shots the power dies, but i did have the high velocity spring in so this is probably why. The other good thing is that you get a holster and belt with it which i found sh*t hot!! I admit i was dissapointed when i had to choose this gun over the Pt. Jr But i have to say overall i was impressed with the gun, from its looks to its feel, it shot well and i can see it coming in handy in some senario play (even though i hav'nt used it in a game yet :-( ) Now ive tried it im not dissapointed at all!
Conclusion: having not tried a Pt. Jr i cannot compare, but from what ive tasted of this pistol im far from dissapointed, i would recommend it if you are considering getting a side arm, For the price you cant go wrong!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

themonkeyman Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
since this is the only paint pistol i have yet used i cannot compare to anything
Marker Setup: all stock with a 25 loop shell belt
Recommended
Upgrades:
just a few custom modifications so it can be loaded witha 10 round tube
Strengths: accurate for a pistol
affordable
durrable
FUN
Weaknesses: Cant be 10 round tube fed
difficult to learn with
Review: This thin is incredibly fun and the price is right. At first i was intentionally using it as a secondary, this was only until i found out how much fun it was to use. Once you get the feel of it, you will be turned into a lightwieght low profile fast moving pistol wielding god. I did a custom modification(removing a screw from the feed slot so it can be removed)after this i could reload in about 8 seconds flat. It gets about 20 rounds to the 12 gram(this isnt very efficient but should not detour you from the product) this forced me to make my shots count which i was against at first but now would never go back to accuracy by volume again. Not to mention getting 4 eliminations to 4 shots is a major ego booster.
Conclusion: This is a must buy for pistol collectors for all reason stated above
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kainexile Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, PGP II, Zeus (various models), Overlord, PT Extreme, and others.
Marker Setup: Carter Buzzard

SP Ion
-Ricochet Apache
-SP 14"All American Rifled
-Check It Drop Forward
-Dye Throttle 91/4500
-Dye Throttle 48/4500
-Critical S-trigger

2000 Spyder Compact
-SP 14"All American Rifled
-Java Drop Forward
-Pure Energy 20oz Co2
-32Degrees Expansion Chamber

PMI USP (2X)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stronger Magazine spring
Dye Sticky Grips or 45 wood grips
Evil Pipe tip
Strengths: Light weight
Accurate
Reliable
Weaknesses: Weak Magazine Spring
Difficulty to reload paint
Review: I've shot many paint pistols, and I am very impressed with this one. With a few simple upgrades this will be a great marker on the field. I usually play stock class and occassionally wind up in situations where I would like to have a back up to get myself out of trouble without having to call for covering fire from my teammates. Having a couple of light weight semi pistols on my hips give me that option. I really like these guns. They are light and don't hinder the movement and speed that I've gotten used to in stock class play. They are as accurate as they need to be, but I do like PMI's foresight of being able to add Pipe tips.

I would like to have a stronger spring in the magazine to feed these pistols faster, but as long as I alternate fire between these guns it hasn't been a problem.
Conclusion: This is a great, light, and reliable marker. Especially if you sometimes like using pistols as a main.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kioti Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreme
Marker Setup: Custom 98 Prolite Piranha USP
*Cyclone feeder * Polished bolt
*GTA R/T Trigger *16" J&J ceramic barrel
*Armason Riffled barrel *Bi-pod
*Raider Mag Kit *Raised Sight rail
*Raider Raised sight rail *9X32 Scope
*M4 hand guard *Carbine collapsible stock
*Gas Thru Saw Stock *10 rnd clip
*remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster, 10 rnd pods
Strengths: Durability, cool looking, pretty accurate, will compete with primary weapons
Weaknesses: Hard to reload, clip dosn't come off.
Review: Well the first thing i did out of the package is dremel the right front side of the clip so the end of it would come out So you could load it fast with a pod. the original way you have to hold your finger in the right place, push one ball in the chamber and then giggle it around to get the rest down. Now I can just hold the gun straight up and tip in the pod all fall, ready to go!
Conclusion: Other than that this is a great gun just the only thing i seen wrong. would still buy this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballjames Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other pistols
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
J&J ceramic
Richochet Apache
some kind of drop i forget which
72/3000 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
none needed
Strengths: -Light
-Fast firing
-Durabilty
-Accuracy
Weaknesses: -Limited mag
Review: Yesterday i used the USP as my main(stupid idea...right??). Actually it performed very well against two 98 customs and an a-5. For a pistol it was very accurate. It was like i had my custompro. The only problem i noticed was the limited mag. I was constantly getting bunkered while reloading Co2 and paint. For a pistol, once you practice, doesnt take too long. its manurverability was a major bonus. without the Co2 tank or long barrel on it i could move much easier. The Co2 usage is pretty average. I got 25-35 shots per 12 gram. I put about 800 shots through it yesterday and i think only one broke. but thats because i had a gun shot and it got all sticky in the feed mouth so the ball didnt feed all the way.
Conclusion: other than the limited magazine which all pistols have this is a great gun. It has saved me many times in woodsball games. I give it a 9 for its accuracy and manurverability
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 3rd, 2007 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fathom Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: BT-16 Tactical, Mokal Fokus, Piranha USP. ACP Coiled Remote, Mokal 3000 psi HPA tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None that I know of.
Strengths: Compact, lightweight and comfortable grip.
Weaknesses: 12 gram Co2 can leak.
Review: I got this pistol second hand from a guy at a local field. It's in mint condition and I've had to do nothing other than routine maintenance. Though I've never used any other pistols, I find this one to be a great value. It's accuracy is surprisingly good over a reasonable distance. The loader is a bit cumbersome at first, but after awhile I got the hang of tilting the pistol while I put in the paint. It fires plenty fast for me and I haven't had it chop or mis-fire on me yet. The only other thing that I had to work on was loading the Co2. At first I would have about half the cartridge leak out before I got it tightened down. After some practice I've gotten to where I have no problem getting the cartridge in without it leaking.
Conclusion: I love it. Good price point, very accurate for a pistol, very reliable and it's great to have something to haul out when your main axe runs out of air.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintguy1 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No Pistols!
Marker Setup: Viewloader Orion (main)
Stock Barrell --> Self Ported
9 oz. Co2 Tank

PMI Piranha USP (secondary)
Extreme Rage Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster (there's a kit that comes with one)
Tube/Cartridge belt or vest
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got the USP for Christmas and unlike most of the other reviews there is no problem with the Co2 seal! It worked amazingly strait out of the box..like it should!

The USP is larger than some other pistols because it uses full-sized internals and comes across as somewhat heavy. Has a standard 45-grip and is very solid when you hold it. Feels tough and is built nicely. Stripping the marker to clean is easy, with a small pin at the end. Loading the gun whether paint or co2 is somewhat difficult. The Lever to tighten the Co2 cartridge into place helps a bunch, but has a magnet on it so that the cartridge won't fall out. Believe me..it won't fall out. Because the cartridge is loaded into such a small space, it is not easy to pull it out with your hands. To fix this? Take a key and lightly pry at the back of the cartridge by the magnet until it falls out. Watch that you don't scratch the side of the gun. Problem fixed. You load the paint at the front of the magazine. Since loading is slow, I find that when you place the tip of your finger in the grove by the feed-neck and tilt the marker and the paint tube back the paint slides in a lot easier. The last ball is tricky to put in, also don't forget to release the sight screw/spring back so that it pushes the paint into the chamber and push the door back into place to keep the paint form falling out of the magazine. Since the USP has a longer reloading time, I wouldn't use it as a main marker..sucks getting shot out when your helpless, and trying to duck from fire while reloading.

Gas efficiency is alright, but not as amazing as it could be. When deciding what 12 grams to buy, go with the Crossmans. Don't buy the Brass Eagle 12 grams. There is a very noticeable difference in gas efficiency when going with Crossman. I loaded a BE cartridge in and got around 15 shots off in cold weather. The first 10 shots were pretty good, then the other 5 started to drop off. When using a Crossman, I was able to get about 20 shots off in cold weather. All 20 shots had almost equal kick and I could put the ball wherever I wanted it to go within about 70-85 feet. During shooting I was using the red high-tension spring and I had the velocity adjusted to 250-265 fps, in cold weather of about -1 degrees Celsius.

The kit I got came with a Extreme Rage Holster and is good quality, which I'm surprised with. If you get the holster with the package, I would not recommend upgrading it. It's awesome, fits the marker well and has ten slots around the belt to fit cartridges and tubes in. They won't fall out because the bands have a good tight squeeze. You need to tie the sting that holds the holster in place tight to your leg or else it won't support the weight of the marker and the holster will start to fall lower. Also be sure to tighten the belt for the same reason.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend upgrading the gun any..it's a pistol, that's what it's ment for! You could put an e-grip and pipe barrels on it, but again what for? Funny to aim after I've been playing with a semi-auto for two years, takes a day or two of getting used to. Good quality, built tough, looks alright, goes for around $172.20 Canadian (taxes included) @ FlagRiaders in Cambridge, Ontario. If your looking for a status quo marker that delivers when expected, be sure to pick one up!
Sidenote---> Read the manual (has some pointless stuff in it) and don't forget to cock the marker before you air it up!!

Now, im off to finish Watching Napoleon Dynamite..see you in the field!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 1:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snyper Dude Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Tiger shark
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98
-Halo Hopper backman led
-Response Trigger
-16 ounce CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend that you get the extended barrel even thought this gun is already pretty accurate. I have also heard about putting on a E-Force trigger but then that would more or less take away from the fact of it being a PISTOL! The adapter for this gun to use tanks is also too exspensive considering it cost about as much as the gun.
Strengths: This pistol is very accurate and it also feels great.
Weaknesses: Upgrades are too exspensive
Cold weather extremely effects air efficiency
Slow loading
Review: This pistol is extremely accurate, however do not depend on it in cold weather because the 12gram CO2 will only get about 5 shots off. I did notice though that for a pistol i could suprisingly hit what i was aiming at. The hopper is not removable for quick mag exchange like on other pistols. It does have a solid feel and look. If you plan on using this in cold weather though i would recommend that you wait to screw in the CO2 until you are going to use it.
Conclusion: This is an ok pistol, granted i have never used any other paintball pistol before. The air efficiency is quite terrible in the cold though making it a liability for survival. I do not recommend this for those people out there who want a pistol to use as a primary. The loading speed is far to slow to use as a primary. If you do decide to use this as a primary especially in colder weather make sure that you load a new CO2 in before every game unless you didnt shoot at all and only depend on getting about 10 balls out of it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 2nd, 2006 at 11:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paul Hewson Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Delta
Marker Setup: (primary) Timmie ECX, empire reloader pure energy 5000 Ci, (freak A.A. barrel) (Backup) impulse vision **retired**, blade trigger, (freak AA barrel). 3rd Tippmann A5 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its a pistol, I'd recommend leaving a pistol
Strengths: Cost, Reliability
Weaknesses: Low velocity compared to full size marker. needs a rail to mount laser.
Review: I purchased this about a month ago, and so far its worked great for me. It was reliable everytime I used it, and although you have to be closer then you normally would to use it effectively, thats sort of the fun of it.

Key points:
1) You get about 18-20 useful shots out of it.
2) Conventional stacked tube design
3) It likes bigger paintballs (the barel is fairly wide)
4) Comes with its own holster! (thanks PMI)
5) Holds 9 in the clip and one in the chamber
6) It does take a little finesse to insure you seat the
CO2 cartridge properly., once its seated it will
not leak
7) Comes with differrent velocity springs, about 8
O rings, and a good manual. again very cool PMI
8) When you fire it it will alert anyone within 100 yards
where your position is (its loud, but no louder then
a stock 98)
9) It is basically a chopped Pirrhana (Sp?), so I guess
in theory it could take an E-grip to make it fully auto
(let me know if anyone has tried this)
10) Allows the player to "keep it real" in situation where
their primary marker craps out

**anecdote** (read only if your bored) I never really thought I needed a back up until some touney guy [not that I don't like touney dudes; all different players makes the sport fun, but I digress] I had posted in woodsball could tell my main marker wasn't working (the halo smashed a ball inside the neck, always fun!). So he decided to bunker me.
I placed my ECX on the deck, unlatched the holster strap and drew the USP. I waited until I could pick which side he was going to come around, tucked in aimed, and... Shazam! fired when I saw the first hint of color on his jersey. He was dissapointed and surprised, but like a professional didn't fire after he was hit first, which I thanked him for. The USP is now permantly attached to me when I step on to paintball field
Note: During a game I reccomend having it gased up,loaded and holstered with the safety off. If you do need it you'll need it fast. Its saved many a welt :)
Conclusion: Buy it and have fun. Pistols tend to have more leaking issues then other markers, but I haven't had any issues with mine, I give a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 13th, 2005 at 9:10 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

azncowboy Thursday, September 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WarSensor Zeus G2+
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
ProTeam 98C M4 f/x Stock
Crosman Red-Dot Sight
Lapco Big-Shot 14"
WarSensor Zeus G2+
PMI USP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really out there.
Strengths: Light, simple design.
Weaknesses: Long reloading times (awkward), CO2 takes a while to change. Leaks.
Review: It's a nice pistol for starters. Quite a good price tag and there's a kit out there that has the holster as well. The only problems I had with this is the long reloading times when you run out of paint. The balls will get stuck after one enters the chamber and then the rest of them get caught on the feeding port.
The other problem is the CO2 seal. I've had to change it twice and it still leaks after a few cartridges. Quite annoying.
A quick fix for this is to make sure you use the Brass Eagle co2. I've had the best results with these.
The best i've gotten from the gun is about 20+ shots with the high tension spring.
Conclusion: If you want to get a sidearm this would be a good start. If you're willing to save up some more money then I'd go with the Zeus G2+.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media