paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye C5 Knee Pads / Dye C5 Knee Pads / Dye C5 Knee Pads / Dye C5 Knee Pads

Dye C5 Knee Pads Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye C5 Knee Pads

Paintball Knee and Elbow Pads

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye C5 Knee Pads
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The best just got better. Redesigned with new technology for 2005, the Core 05 knee pad is the ultimate in knee protection. The exterior is what usually catches people's eye, but it's everything you can't see that puts the C5 Knee Pads in a class of their own. The airprene base construction gives you the most comfortable fit with ample circulation and ventilation. Internal metallic side tension bars provide maximum support for your joints while giving you the ease of flexibility. The knee cup area has been upgraded with a new open-cell high-density foam, which provides more cushion from direct impacts. We have integrated a flex pattern into the center of the pad, allowing the pad to bend with your joint to work with you, not against you. Topping it off is a heavy duty abrasion-resistant outer skin which will provide the ultimate in durability. New microinjection logos, silk screened pattern graphics and matching piping finish the C5 Knee Pads in utmost style.
Product Availability 
The Dye C5 Knee Pads are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Soul06 Sunday, October 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Skinz
Marker Setup: 1) Dark Timmy (Desert Digi Camo w/ white parts), Dye UL's (matching ano'd), White Reloader B, Crossfire 68/45

2) SL66 Ego (Krypton Ice), Green Reloader B, Crossfire 68/45
Strengths: Exceptional padding
Stays in places
Very Durable
Stay in place (yes, said it twice)
Weaknesses: Mildly uncomfortable until broken in
No ventilation
Can be alittle skin irritating
Review: I have own these for about a year but didn't use them until yesterday. This is because when I first got them and put them on they felt so tight and uncomfortable. But I recently choose to try them out.
First I would wear them around the house to get use to them and kinda of get alittle stretch/wear into them. This greatly help to improve their comfort on my knees. When I played in them I was use to them enough to run easily without feeling like I was in anyway restricted by them. Before yesterday I have never really been much of a diver/slider because my old pads (skinz) weren't to good protection wise *my opinion*. However I quickly found myself taking serious dives and slides on my knees yesterday with no problems.

The pads have lots of paddign for protection. Enough so that you could likely drop to your knees on concrete and not hurt yourself. After being worn in they became very flexible and I found myself being able to run normally without problems.
The only drawback I found was the lack of ventilation and the fact that the back of my left leg began to get alittle irritated by the material. But that was a very mild irritation. Nothing that would really deter me from using these again.
Conclusion: I won't give these a perfect 10 because of the lack of ventilation and the irritation that I experienced but all in all they are a very good pair if not one of the very best knee pads available today.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CAOL_98 Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Empire Ventz
Marker Setup: '06 Red to Black Fade Black Magic

Stock Titanium '05 Karnivor w/E2
Strengths: -Looks
-Feel (comfort)
-Padding
Weaknesses: -Shape (read review)
Review: My first thoughts after putting on my new Dye knee pads, was like a breath of fresh air! I owned some Empire Ventz before these (which do not even come close to comparing.) These definitely fit my body type. The Ventz are better left to individuals that have smaller legs.
These are some of the better looking kneepads on the market...although functionality is more important then looks when it comes to kneepads (no one's going to see them, unless you've got your pants down for some reason.) But it's worth mentioning that you won't look like you're putting some cheap Wal-Mart volleyball pads on, when you get to the field.
They are also very comfortable, even after extended wear. They do get a little hot, but that's expected when you have something hugging your body so tightly. Also the padding is exceptional! No worrying about skinned knees and discomfort after sliding into bunkers all day long! Also, they won't be around your ankles like the Empire Ventz, after you've played a few games...they stay where they are supposed to stay: on your knees! Amazing!
My only complaint is that they are almost built a little to stiff in a slightly angled configuration. When you put them on, you feel like you've got a permanent, slight bend at the knees. Which is wierd off the field, but think about all the time you spend kneeled and/or crouched slightly behind your bunkers. I mean how many times are you standing perfectly straight during a game (well besides on back bunkers.) Also, they do not restrict movement whatsoever...I can run just fine with them on.
So all in all, I'm very happy with Dye's contribution to the padded community. Nice product!
Conclusion: If you are looking for a reliable knee pad, spend a little more and check out Dye's product. You'll definitely be happy with your choice! Plus your knees will look really cool!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego59 Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Skinz Knee Shin Padz- look good padding wore down and they always ended up around my ankle
Redz Knee Shin Padz old style werent comfy at all
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse 05 EGO Dust Black with Silver Dust Color Contrast Kit, DART bolt, Silver Eclipse Grips, 14inch Shaft Solo .689 Polished Black Barrel, New Designz Ram Adjuster Dust Silver, New Designz Delrin Bolt Pin,CP Short Reg Dust Black, CP Direct Mount On/Off in Dust Black. Halo B Blue Shells, Shocktech Drive Cone and Rip Knob in Silver, Shocktech Spring and Speed Wheel, Empire Lid. ACI 68 4500psi Bulldog 3 with Blue Dye c5 Tank Cover

Back up: 03/04 Silver Dust Angel Speed lots of ups but to lazy to list
Strengths: Awesome Padding, Stay on ur Knees, Look great
Weaknesses: If you dont get the right size they can be too tight lol
Review: Well i have bad knees from an old football injury and i was finally tired of my jts always ending up around my ankles when i slid and going home with skinned and beat up knees. Im a front guy so im always sliding and beating my knees. These kneepads are great. The padding on them is super soft and comfy. the best part is they actually stay on my knees when i slide. Im on my second pair. My knees are kinda big so i got XL my first pair was M/L and they were great but ended up being to tight and cut into my legs. Get these they make all the difference in the world.
Conclusion: Buy them. Worth every penny. They will save your knees.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 6th, 2006 at 9:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

midnightrida Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto pretty much the same
Marker Setup: 03 cocker no part of the gun is stock besides the frame its the best and i got the palmers pum and up'd empire
Strengths: Strong thick look tight sexy
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: These are very nice strong thick dont rip and ya il love them they go along good with all of my dye gear

Cons -Just a little hard 2 get on new mine stretch out/ make ur legs sweaty /i got a leg irration thing (but went away after 1st use) i liked them and i think ur gonna have the same problem with every other brand of knee pad w hat do u exspect its neprone
Conclusion: I love these u just need 2 brake them in
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Saturday, February 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Marker 1:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Designs APEX
Expansion Chamber
Response Trigger
Shocktech Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
12 Volt Revy

Marker 2:
Smart Parts Ion
New Designs Saw Trigger
48ci. Pure Energy
VL Revy.
Strengths: Don't Slip
No bruised knees
Looks
Padding
Weaknesses: Need to be stretched out when new.
Review: These knee pads are awesome. These are the best money can buy.

+Don't Slip
I wore these to a scenario game and they didn't move at all through 2 hours of sustained play. These don't move at all.

+No Bruised Knees
My knees used to have mud soak through my pants and have bruises from landing hard on my knees. Not any more with these.

+Padding
The padding on these is perfect. It's thick, but dosent constarain movement at all.

+Looks
These look cool. Too bad they go under your pants. Oh well. Thats really all there is to 'em.

-Need to be streched out.
Fresh out of the package these are TIGHT. It's very hard to get them on at first. Just wear them around for about a week and they're fine. Also when they were new I would stuff 3 Dye LLP's in 'em to strech them out.
Conclusion: I would highly reccommend these pads.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 28th, 2006 at 5:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pumper_rob Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Knee Pads
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom
custom Slate annoe
.45frame, detent rings, trigger shoe
Strengths: Padding
Weaknesses: Breathability
Mobility
Hard to get on/off
Comfort
Review: I got these pads for an early Christmas present, and my first impression was wow. These things have some major padding! These knee pads have very, very, very strong knee padding, which is why many people buy them. But they lack in other areas that some other knee pads have. For one thing, these pads are very itchy, which gets quite uncomfortable. I got a rash wearing these things! They're also very hard to get off and on, I got size m/l and I'm only 5 foot 3, 100 lbs. I couldnt even move around in these pads, I have to waddle beacuse they're so stiff from all the padding. Hopefully they'll break in though, I'm not sure if they'll get any less itchy or I'll get used to them.
Conclusion: Although they have very strong padding which is a key factor in good knee pads, they lack other necessities, so I give it a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

gumball Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
plastic knee pads
Marker Setup: A5, all american, e-grip, hpa
Strengths: Great protection
Easy to slide with
Look damn good
Thick padding
Durable
Weaknesses: Hard to get on
Bit pricy
Review: These are amazing knee pads, once you get them on then they are great, no more fear of diving as you know it won't hurt.

The've got great thick padding, complety inpenatrable the pads are as tough as anything. There's not much to say apart from they are great, i can slide on my hard wood floors at home without feeling a thing so that kinda proves they are great. Oh yeah and they do acctually work with your knee, its kinda strange but they spring back when you want to and easily bendable.
Conclusion: No more bruised knees with these, great, get them if you have the cash.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Krumbs Tuesday, October 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 05' Rodeo
ACS Bolt
Boomstick
Strengths: Comfort
Protection
Weaknesses: Cost
Breath ability
Review: The Dye C5 pads were recommended to me by a friend, and they are worth their weight in gold. I have played in them in the summer and fall and they work great. Yes they can make your knees sweaty, but I would rather have sweaty knees at the end of the day then knees I can't walk on.

The level of protection is high; you almost don't feel the ground underneath. They don't twist or fall down. They do run a bit on the small side so I have to wear them underneath my camo. If your like me, one bad day with your knees may mean no work and no play for a while.

Some people suggest airing them out post game, but I use the washing machine on the gentle cycle and air dry them without a problem, and no funky odor.
Conclusion: If you are going to play hard, get these pads, your knees will thank you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

black flag Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 Dye Knee Pads, crappy other knee pads
Marker Setup: Ego
Strengths: Adequate padding
Weaknesses: Tend to ride down. sweaty, poor craftsmanship
Review: This is my second pair of Dye knee pads: the first pair I assumed started to fall apart because I was putting them through the washer and dryer after each use. Once they stretched out I sold them and bought these C5 pads.

They fit snug and protect the knees but there a few MAJOR issues that have to be addressed here;

-Everyone I know who has these pads complain about them riding down after slides - no matter how snug they fit

-There is inadequate ventilation which is not nice nor pleasant smelling on long hot days

-Both of my pads had stitching that began to falls apart immidiately. i returned the pads to Dye because the metal spines on the sides fell out of the pockets because of poor sewing.

-These are extremely uncomfortable in a crouching position

They look cool and they do the job but there are much better pads on the market (check out the new JT memory foam pads - 20x better than anything I've used in the past.)
Conclusion: I would say stay away from these overpriced pads and get some JT or Redz pads instead. Although DYE was more than helpful and was gracious enough to replace (which means a lot) I don't have a high opinion of the soft goods anymore after these pads and my C5 pod pack both fell apart after only 6 months of use.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8ntball-kid21 Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Kneee/shin pads- These are great for general kneeling and sliding on your knees but the Dye's excel when you superman or go down hard.
Marker Setup: Dm4
Musashi
CP reg
Strengths: Protective, Supportive, Stay put, Look Nice, Gel Protection
Weaknesses: Cost but not when compared with other paintball knee pads, Gets sweaty like any pad
Review: Got these to replace my Redz ones b/c i was still getting a swollen knee. I do alot of super manning b/c I play snake and up front. The Dye pads seem to be working very well. My knees feel fine after a day of play which are what knee pads are for. Some people say just get Proto because they are cheaper. I examined both pads side by side and chose the Dyes because of the gel padding which the Proto doesn't have. For me, I need maximum shock absorption.
Conclusion: Buy them cause they are in my opinion the best knee pads out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media